97

4.8 based on 97 customer reviews

77
17
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

97 Customer Reviews

0

Great fast focus.

SEL90M28G//QSYX 05 November 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this months ago, I use this to practice home work from PSS, very helpful for macro shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best 90mm Macro for any Sony Mirrorless camera.

SEL90M28G 23 October 2020 by cnaray123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had one I purchased a long time ago when I first bought a Sony E mount camera and it started to developed dust inside. Had the pro support and sent it in for repair, but could not fix it in a timely manner. So I was offered a new one for $700 and took it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best macro lens ever I own !

SEL90M28G 19 September 2020 by sjfoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is beautiful. If your passion is macro photography this lens your needs. The G line lens of sony is really a top quality lens. From the construction and design, this lens high quality. Made of metal .The focus ring that could be retracted in & out for manual focus is a cleaver design. When doing macro photography and if you don't want to be too close to the subject like butterflies and bees, you can switch your A7 series camera to APC-s capture ON to give you a 135mm focal length and this will give you a minimum focus distance of about 17-18 inches instead of 11 inches. The lens has OSS and moisture resistance. Is not too big (for me)w hen connected to camera body but feels very stable when handling and pricy compare to canon , nikon and fuji . SJfoto

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

wonderful lens

SEL90M28G 10 September 2020 by Profdsm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is a lot of hype about this lens, and it really is as good as the hype. I am really happy with it, the one thing which I had read about which could be a criticism if you were not aware of it is the the autofcous can be quite slow. But better to use manual focus and move yourself. When you get the focus right the end result is amazing - the bokeh is so beautiful too. It is expensive, but I managed to get a cachback deal on a reasonable price (worth hunting around) so ended up reasonable price in my opinion, especially for the quality- I just hope it lasts! :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL90M28G 04 September 2020 by Marque_Images (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming over from Canon I was looking to replace my 100mm macro which I thought would be a difficult task. Oh no! The Sony 90mm blows all competition out of the water. It's so so sharp, beautifully made and just a must have lens if your a Sony shooter. This is more than just a macro lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sharpness

SEL90M28G//QSYX 31 August 2020 by Skyvows (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago and the sharpness is phenomenal

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Optically good but autofocus hunts ++

SEL90M28G 21 August 2020 by 205DH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp and can get better depth of field than I had expected but have only been able to use manual focus as in autofocus mode it hunts and is unusable even when it has a huge target to focus on. Will only be used for macro and not used as portrait prime lens due to focus issues (the other Sony lenses I have snap to focus, so the difference is shocking - it performs worse than my Canon lens with an adapter) - the next question in the review is "would I recommend this product" - well the answer is "it depends" - if you would be happy with a manual focus lens then "yes"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Easy to use

SEL90M28G 17 August 2020 by Angie k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had one opportunity to use it so far, but very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL90M28G 08 August 2020 by MartnA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is well made and the auto / manual selected is very well thought. Optically it is great, very sharp with smooth bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Crazy sharp

SEL90M28G 05 August 2020 by neilvn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is razor-sharp -- just what I need for product photography and portraits in the studio. Minimal optical distortion also helps with the image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glass - Amazing, macro results - 1:1 perfection

SEL90M28G 04 August 2020 by Benbenshow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive had it for a while and this is the lens i use the most. It is so versatile; i can take portraits and then, oh look a bumblebee and straight in fill the frame with the lil guy. Frankly i cant fault the lens in any way... I dont know what i can say about it thats bad... I wish it was cheaper???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Magnificent pics but heavy for petite size person

SEL90M28G 11 July 2020 by Nenezica (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a gift from my husband, I love the picks and quality, but since I am petite the lent is really heavy and I cant hold for so long the camera hanging on my nec, It will be great if Sony could minimize the weight of the Lents without lose quality, another point is, traveling abroad and with all the restrictions it is hard to carry on board without pay extra because of the size and weight of personal item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Best ever macro lens sharpest lens there is

SEL90M28G 03 July 2020 by PeteKLS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome after lots of reviews. This was the best ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great optics, superb design

SEL90M28G 27 June 2020 by Magnetar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens! It’s brilliantly designed, with a sleeve on the lens body that slides fractionally back for manual, forward for auto focus. It’s so easy to use and the optics are awesome for macro work. Great for landscapes too! Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superior lens to most i have owned

SEL90M28G 07 May 2020 by jax1447 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would love to do an extended review of the lens, but this is a Covid-19 lockdown version. I love it, that would in itself be a fine testament, I have never done much in the way of macro but aim to do more as the results are so much better than with other macro lenses I have had. It's also an outstanding lens for portraits if anything it's too sharp I would have no hesitation to recommend the FE90 macro to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Optics

SEL90M28G 25 April 2020 by TerryW64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens without trying it and am very pleased. I need to look carefully at how I light subjects in full macro. After two weeks I am getting used to settings I need to get the DOF I want. I really like the AF/MF switching by movement of focus barrel back/forward. Much easier than the switch on other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprisingly detailed and flexible

SEL90M28G 06 April 2020 by Mickhey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens replaced my old Sigma 105 adapted through the 11 adapter on my Sony a7riii Manual focusing is surprisingly accurate, and there are less chromatic aberrations compared to the Sigma.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2020 by GRoyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens about a month ago and have used it mainly for close up flower portraits. Superb handling, I love the AF/manual Focus clutch ring and the Focus Range switch. Build quality is superb and the whole lens has a great feel to it. At close focusing distances the sharpest apertures appear to be around f9/f13 which is fine and what you would expect. However I have found it difficult to achieve spot-on sharpness when using apertures of f18 and above at close focusing distances. Overall though a great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible

SEL90M28G 21 February 2020 by sadphil01 (United Kingdom)

So sharp you could cut yourself! Phenominal lens when partnered with my A7iii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this Macro lens

SEL90M28G 29 January 2020 by Linda571 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens for a Macro workshop I signed up for. I have some truly awesome shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really light and easy to use great image quality.

SEL90M28G 13 January 2020 by Robo17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at Christmas and taken about 50 images so far, the image quality is amazing and its so nice to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i like the balance of the lens

SEL90M28G 07 December 2019 by kev66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the only thing i don't like is the focus switch on the side of lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality photos, but beware it

SEL90M28G 13 November 2019 by Francisco J (USA)

After 13 months of buying this lens, when I changed the battery of my camera, it stopped focusing. They told me that it has a scratch and is not covered by the guarantee. Although it has some superficial scrape, the failure must be due to another cause... However, I asked for a budget to solve it. - Two months later I received a big budget. Between the price (close to a new) and the reason (literally it only has a scratch), I decided to reject it. After several conversations and mails without getting solutions, they returned it to me with three months of delay. - In the last two years I have invested a lot in photography gear of that brand (three cameras and 12 lens) and I am surprised what is happening at the first issue with a lens under warranty. - After talking with several people of this brand (conversations, whatsapp, mails) and taking another three months without any proper action on their part, they end up telling me they had no solution for my case. It has been more than six months since I started this adventure and, to help future potential buyers, these are my conclusions: 1.- Buy electronics or photography on line - With the same failure, they would have returned a new lens. In addition, they ask for "apologies for the inconvenience caused by the failure". 2.- Be aware of this lens, which gave me many joys (attached two photographs), but a great headache and grief due to this problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Macro

SEL90M28G 27 October 2019 by B1ueboy74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely love this lens, always in my bag and take it with me everywhere. Love the control of it, and it’s a lens you can use for street photography and portrait

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

One of the best lens from Sony's lineout.

SEL90M28G 24 October 2019 by Blindasabat101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sharpness is fantastic at Macro and Portraiture. Light weight compared to my Sigma 85mm Art lens Fast focusing Pull back the focus ring to go into Macro is a no brainer Eye focus is spot on Feels quality Optical steady shot Full range of focus area Depth of field at f2.8 Lusssssssssh Best of all, the price of this lens, you get 2 lens in one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Sharpness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by PepperMint (United Kingdom)

This lens is amazing, sharp, fast, the colours are great. Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by Jace751 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used all macro lenses and I have to say this lens is brilliantly sharp and provides fantastic bokeh. It is not too heavy and balances very will with my A7R IV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharpness

SEL90M28G 29 September 2019 by Yorkie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Put my Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens, plus a couple of Canon items, in PX for this lens. The Tamron was very good but this is even better IMHO. Sharpnes is very good even wide open and improves on stopping down. Well made and with nice features e.g. push/pull collar for AF/MF switching and a focus lock button. Also usable as a portrait or general purpose lens its only downside is slightly slower AF than say the 24-105mm G

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absoloutly fantastic lens.

SEL90M28G 17 September 2019 by Danny D (United Kingdom)

I Have had this Lens for over a month now and have to say, it is fantastic. Pleasing to use, nice size, comfortable in the hand and easily manageable weight. It is extremly sharp! welldone sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great macro

SEL90M28G 07 September 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Macro beautiful focus and colour rendition, very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful piece of glass

SEL90M28G 23 August 2019 by Debsdoodles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame mirrorless less , having changed gear from micro four thirds . Not regretting so far . No going back . Loving it . Good features , not heavy .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent macro lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 13 August 2019 by luxovius (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp lens albeit the AF is a little slow probably due to it being focus-by-wire. Overall it's still an affordable and excellent lens for those who are interested in macro photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazingly good!!

SEL90M28G 24 July 2019 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I only took delivery of this lens a couple of days ago but the shots I'm getting already - all handheld - are nothing short of amazing. Can't recommend the lens highly enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

2 in 1

SEL90M28G//QSYX 19 July 2019 by kfp65 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never had a macro lens. So bot this a month ago. Good for portraits too. Pics are sharp and nice bokeh. Lens a bit on the heavier side though. Overall Good value for the $!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Straight out of the box .

SEL90M28G 03 July 2019 by masterofimages (United Kingdom)

just out of the box, and seems to be working. which is nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

What a lens!

SEL90M28G 29 June 2019 by penguinclaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so impressed with this lens. Fast focus, fantastic bokeh and ease of use. I am now achieving work that I thought was out of my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22 May 2019 by Captured_By_Costa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G 12 May 2019 by Grif (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the Nikon 200mm f2.8 before. A Macro was a must as I stepped off into the Sony system. It focuses quickly with a hint of searching if the contrast isn't there. So far, I'm enjoying it to the max!!! It inspired me to shoot some of the flowers that I bought for my wife. The early end result was a very nice Mother's Day wish for her. I love having this capability and a mid-level zoom! Recommend that one adds it to their arsenal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good macro and potrait lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2019 by Old1Bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this lens for about one month and find it to produce sharp images, with accurate and fast autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06 March 2019 by Chris139 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Incredible Detail

SEL90M28G//QSYX 15 February 2019 by Kirubakaran (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Glass, Captured photos have incredible details. Autofocus speed can be improved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp and beautiful bokeh

SEL90M28G//QSYX 08 February 2019 by yekwyeo (Singapore)

I use this lens on the Alpha A7rM2 and A7rM3 for macro photography, the images produced by this lens is extremely crisp, especially when I compared it with the Nikon 105mm Macro lens. I found the color is slightly warmer than the 24-70mm GM lens. I like the bokeh of this lens, it is creamy and beautiful. When the aperture is wide opened, the bokeh is as smooth as the one produced by the 24-70mm GM lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wow!

SEL90M28G 28 January 2019 by TedA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive used many marco lens over the years, but this one is tops!! This lens will not disappoint!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb sharpness and optics but...

SEL90M28G//QSYX 02 December 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this glass for a month. The lens uses an internal focusing mechanism which is quick and silent* although you will tend to use the manual focus more. The focus 'pull back' to trigger the manual focus is neat and the scale is clearly shown on the lens barrel. The lens does not extend out as well. 2 switches at the side to toggle the OSS and the other for the focus limiter. The classic focus button that can be assigned to any function is there as well. Have to say that the lens is well constructed although I do wish that the mounting portion could have a rubber gasket to provide a better assurance against weather proofing as this lens will be used frequently in floral areas which tend to have lots of moisture so do note on that. Overall, been a native lens ensures you won't have any focus misses if you are always using full auto and do note on the size and weight, it's not a small lens. There are other third parties out there that has the same image quality but the build and not been a native lens made me purchase this macro lens. I have not regret this purchase and highly recommend for someone who wants to pursue macro photography or even use this as a portrait. *(You are able to hear a buzzing sound in a near dead silent area but in real world usage, you are unable to hear it. Do note for people who wants to use this for video work)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22 November 2018 by Marco55_1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Well built and feels nice in the hand .

SEL90M28G 12 November 2018 by gefrob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent macro and portraiture lens at about the right focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by qntt2002 (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Niely thought out

SEL90M28G 15 October 2018 by Obscura Photo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this lens. I like the 'slidein/out' for manual or autofocus. sharpness is excellent and build quality feels very sturdy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Macro madness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2018 by TheOlly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added this to my collection and used on my latest shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Very Sharp Images

SEL90M28G 01 October 2018 by Bravanboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my First Macro Lens and It's a Great Choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Good lens

SEL90M28G 18 August 2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Limited experience of this lens since buying it, but I could tell from the first few shots that it is very good. This came as a pleasant surprise as my previous experience of Sony's own lenses had not been good. I bought this lens to go with my A7lll and Zeiss 24-70 f4 combination. Whilst happy with the 24-70, I needed a little more length, and a closer focus facility. The 90mm 2.8 G would seem to offer both in one package.The only doubt being, as it is designated a "macro" lens, was it capable of delivering the goods at distance as well? The answer to that is, yes! It most definitely is capable of turning in very sharp pictures at both close and distance focus. At 5.6 it is surprisingly good edge to edge, corner to corner. I have yet to try it at 8. AF is good and accurate, reasonably "snappy" OSS works well. I suspect this lens will be getting a lot of use. Anyone looking for a quality short telephoto with close focus facility for the A7 range at a reasonable price would do well to look at this lens. I have tried to find a shortcoming to rate this lens at 4* but I can't, so, a 5* it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best macro

SEL90M28G 15 August 2018 by AZ Ron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this lens just a short time. Still learning all the settings but so far it is the best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Superb Lens

SEL90M28G 11 August 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens for macro and portrait work. Very sharp, excellent focus and very well built. Not cheap but worth the money I'd say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

My Go-To Portrait/Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 04 July 2018 by PostMark (USA)

This lens is so flexible. I can shoot the sharpest of macro with the creamy bokeh. I use it on my a6500, A7rii and A7riii I am no professional. But this lens can make you feel like one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Great Lense! Worth every dollar

SEL90M28G//QSYX 11 May 2018 by Jojo89 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this expecting a great macro lens, and it does deliver and some more! Works really well for potrait as well, superb bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

two shot in one stone

SEL90M28G 23 April 2018 by Andy2k79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i return my 85F1.8 to purchase this lens , is great for macro and portrait. very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very good macro lens, Bokeh could be better.

SEL90M28G 07 April 2018 by Linkmodo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony 90mm Macro lens is extremely sharp with minimal distortion. The build in OSS works well. The camera body is constructed of mostly metal, including the focusing ring. The push/pull AF/MF switch is convenient to use. This macro uses an electronic focus-by-wire system but with a well implimented physical distance indicator on the lens for those who need it. The focusing speed is average, not too fast but not too slow either. It uses a silent wave motor so focusing is very quiet. One thing I wish the lens would have is some more grip texture, as the lens is constructed of the smooth metal surface it gets slippery when your hand gets sweaty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sony's most versatile lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2018 by gwhale_photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I'm very happy with my purchase. I have used this lens for stills and video on a Sony A7RII and it's overall quality and sharpness is incredible. I can use this lens in various situations such as for food, macro or portrait photography with its telephoto focal length a F/2.8 aperture. This lens also has a really creamy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great!

SEL90M28G 11 March 2018 by DCCO (USA)

Got 6 4 moths ago. Superb performance on a6500 and 7sII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sharp lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2018 by AshokNair (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 90 f 2.8 lens is excellent. I have used for my macro and food photography. I am extremely pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

The sharpest lens I have ever touched

SEL90M28G 18 February 2018 by Kmanphotography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't say enough about this lens. The more I use it, the more I fall in love with it. I use it on an a6500 so a 135mm FF equivalent focal length. It's an incredible macro lens and an equally impressive portrait lens. The AF isn't very quick but that's because of obvious reasons. This lens is sharper than anything I have ever used. Sharper than Sony's 85mm f1.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing close-ups

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018 by joey005 (USA)

I purchased this lens about a month ago and I have been very impressed with the clarity and bokeh when shooting close-ups. Very easy to lock focus compared to other macro lenses and is sharp from the center to the edges of the focal plane. Although it also functions as a very sharp portrait lens, the bokeh when capturing portraits is not nearly as smooth as it is for close-ups. The further you get from your subject the more "swirly" the out of focus area gets. Nevertheless, it functions amazingly for its intended purpose as a macro lens. There is virtually no distortion, color fringing or chromatic aberration. It is an excellent product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very sharp macro prime lens

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have not had this lens very long but it is already a favourite lens for my A7R mk1. It is very sharp and it is great to use a prime lens once again after so many zooms which just make me a lazy photographer. Not over keen on the auto focus as it tends to take too long to hunt the best focus - however the manual focus is excellent and is very easy and quick to use especially for macro work. Not as light as I would like but it does produce excellent results. Rather expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great marco lens

SEL90M28G 30 January 2018 by LG71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great macro lens, would have loved a 1.8 aperture though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent macro lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 22 January 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

High-quality materials coupled with state-of-the-art optical components have created this excellent macro lens. The only thing that is not satisfied is the size is too big.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Works great kinda like a 70-200

SEL90M28G//QSYX 09 December 2017 by Nyvrem86 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m really glad I bought this with a strong metallic build and good distance to close focusing, it’s a versatile lens to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

a beast...

SEL90M28G 13 November 2017 by BatIvko (USA)

Hi there let me just say that this lens is a beast! Honestly if you can not produce a beautiful image with this one there is something wrong with you camera. I'm using this lens with a6000 and the results are great. I can only imagine what full frame will do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0