162

4.4 based on 162 customer reviews

97
50
6
4
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic in every aspect

Body Only 07 October 2019 by ArturoN (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to travel light. I'm a user of DSLRs .... and until now almost no small cameras could compete with the fast focusing of DSLRs. Well.... this small wonder can! Really top quality images and amazing fast and precise focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

163 Customer Reviews

0

A nice bit of kit

DSC-RX100M7G 02 June 2023 by dronepilot (United Kingdom)

Bought it to use with the Ronin Mini 3. Seems to be a sturdy piece of engineering. Well manufactured. My initial use confirms very fast AF but I haven't yet tried it in low light or high contrast. If everything else is as good as the build quality I don't expect to be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best compact camera...

Body Only 14 May 2023 by Ash176 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had sold off my trusty RX100M4 the week before and felt something is missing in my pocket as an everyday camera. Decided to get the RX100M7 for the upgrades and eye focusing. Been using it and testing it and planning to make this my travel camera due to the 200mm focal length (max zoom). Even with the 200mm zoom the camera form factor is still the same as the M4 although the lens is a bit slower now but I think I can live with that. Remember to get a couple more spare batteries if you plan to use it the whole day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact with good features

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 13 May 2023 by atlanca (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago and was amazed of the excellent photos taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent compact camera

DSC-RX100M7G 05 May 2023 by Bertiie (United Kingdom)

The Sony RX 100 v11 is now my main camera that I use. It is very neat and fits into my pocket . It takes beautiful pictures. It has a lot of very useful features including very good cine . My DSL camera with all the lenses is now too heavy to carry around especially going on holiday . I do belong to a photo club and phots with this camera do very well in competitions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M7G 01 April 2023 by Old pro photographer (United Kingdom)

Bought this a week ago I've been in photography over 59 years as a photographer had most top brands this is my first pocket camera. I find it simple in auto but a bit complicated in manual but once I sorted out the menu and settings it has lots of good features but if you dont have a good grasp of a modem digital camera without a good instruction book people might struggle with it for a while But for me it's just what I was looking for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Review for RX100 VII

DSC-RX100M7G 19 March 2023 by PhotoMoto (United Kingdom)

Negative - Expensive for a travel camera - no geotagging - more advanced features than are needed for type of camera - Lack of grip requires separate purchase. Lack of touch facility to select menu items. Positive - advanced camera in a very small package - well made - good lens - good image - many advanced settings if needed.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great small camera !

DSC-RX100M7G 01 March 2023  (United Kingdom)

I am afraid of scratching the screen, I am still waiting for the free screen protector that the retailer promised me. But I have made hundreds of pictures at home and in the garden, with very satisfactury results. The prefix of the photo's I have set to TST. In the summer we go to Lapland and I hope to have mastered by then all the features of this great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb bit of kit

DSC-RX100M7G 22 February 2023 by Tony with a Sony (United Kingdom)

Amazing what Sony have fitted into such a small, beautifully made camera. I can’t fault anything. Results are terrific and the suite of menus give you everything (and more) than you could ever need or want. And an excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little discreet camera

DSC-RX100M7G 15 February 2023 by motacyclist (United Kingdom)

This camera, for its size, takes excellent photos. The image quality and rapid focussing is everything the reviewers say. Some say the zoom is too long but I disagree, it gets you right up close and produces images you would otherwise not have got. It sets it apart from a Smartphone. It feels solid, but the buttons are small with little feel. It's also a little slippery, the Sony grip (which costs an extra £12) should be included as part of the package.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pocketable power

DSC-RX100M7G 03 February 2023 by Ricky70 (United Kingdom)

This was the very pocketable camera I was looking for to compliment my a6400. This albeit expensive compact digital camera is very powerful and has a lot of the same menu functions as the larger one. It is so easy to learn as a result and can go where I need to travel ultra light or in crowded environments. The picture quality is outstanding and the ability to shoot RAW photos is a welcome addition. Although not the smallest or lightest in its class, it will fit in any pocket I have and be unobtrusive. I am very happy with my decision to buy the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A brilliant compact!

DSC-RX100M7G 23 January 2023 by BlackSquare (United Kingdom)

I used RX100 IV for many years with its versatile 28-70 zoom lens always helpful as a second and compact camera. I recently upgraded to VII. Its even more versatile 28-200 zoom lens and improved responsiveness, it is a fantastic compact to carry in my pocket and also accompany my main camera. Its features are excellent, beautiful rendering of colour, and autofocus speed sometimes it beats my main camera. I love it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality compact camera

DSC-RX100M7G 26 October 2022 by Spoff (United Kingdom)

Amazing camera I love the view finder (main reason I choose the camera) 4k video is great I use the Sony touch sd card Most pics come out great from the box where some dark lighted pics have taken adjustments in the settings which is a little fiddly tbh, But with time to get use to this little beast, it will be my best friend I’m sure

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

good but could be better

DSC-RX100M7G 26 October 2022 by PppSsss (United Kingdom)

great camera but a couple of niggles - fantastic focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2022 by TesBi (United Kingdom)

Still getting used to it...many options in set up some not as easy as described in manual.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect for Travel!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 01 October 2022 by BAMBU P (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its light weight, easy to use and easily transfers to phone via wifi connect so I can post it on my social media. Its perfect for travel!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera but one button badly placed

DSC-RX100M7G 19 September 2022 by Dronernator (United Kingdom)

Bought the M7 a few weeks ago, great camera, amazing photos but a silly design issue. The movie button is right next to the thumb rest and, from experience, very easily pressed by accident. Missed a few photos because while carrying the camera, I've caught the button. Checking the manual there's an option to diable the button unless in movie mode, that's now set. Could I have read the manual first? The last page of the pdf is page 634.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not disappoint

Body Only 04 September 2022 by Sony Kiat (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago for a mountain hiking trip as I did not want to lug my mirrorless A7II with a large lens, up the mountain. This little pocket camera saved me over 1kg of bag space, which was better used for carrying supplies. The image quality and AF are superb too. Used full AUTO all the way as I was too tired to bother with the settings, and I'm glad I trusted the camera to figure out the optimal settings as the images were sharp and crisp. If you can afford this camera, it truly is the best compact camera around which can replace your DSLR/mirrorless. There's gonna be a high chance my mirrorless will be neglected from now on.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality small camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 26 August 2022 by ChrisIrv (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently. It is an excellent camera with a real quality feel. The resolution is excellent and colours are very true to what you see.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect take-anywhere camera!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 12 August 2022 by SedonaUKguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a recent upgrade from my RX100 V which I carried everywhere...... I was really only interested in the extended reach of this lens and was surprised to find a whole bunch of additional new features which although welcome, resulted in the setup and menus much more complicated. However, once set up with configurations I like in the memories, it's a lot easier to use, although I occasionally hit a wrong button by mistake! My preference is actually for a much larger camera which I can hold without fear of dropping, and with a much larger electronic viewfinder through which I can clearly see what's going on. But here's the bottom line for me: in general this camera has a similar featureset to the full-size Sonys, all crammed into a pocketable body. No other camera is like it. It's a winner.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lovely and Compact

DSC-RX100M7G 06 August 2022 by Greige (United Kingdom)

Great camera with features of a DSLR that can fit in your pocket. Fantastic zoom and autofocus.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and great performance

Body Only 03 August 2022 by CHTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a few weeks ago and have been exploring the features in RX100vii. I like it because of it compact size and I brought it along during my morning walk. I like the sharpness of the photos. However, the battery seem like draining out faster than expected.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic piece of kit

DSC-RX100M7G 17 July 2022 by JJJ 1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to replace DSLR only had it for two weeks does every thing I want and more

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bought for hiking

DSC-RX100M7G 12 July 2022 by HelBreWalks (United Kingdom)

I am already a Sony a7iii convert however I wanted something a little more lightweight for hiking without having to sacrifice too much on quality. It's taking me a little longer than I expected to adjust to the size and I'm almost afraid it will slip through my fingers, however it handles well and I'm confident it will meet my needs when I get back on the hills. I look forward to sharing my views with this beauty!!

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Terrific travel camera, tons of features.

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 29 June 2022 by Chuck M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this RX100 VII camera recently after being on a vacation trip and feeling that my RX10 IV was a little big to carry around. The RX100 VII has all the same features (some even better) with less but adequate zoom range for vacations. 4K video is great with Active Image Stabilization. I am used to the Sony menus so that isn't a problem. I did buy a Small Rig wooden handle for the camera and really recommend it since the camera is hard to hold onto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and light

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 02 April 2022 by EMGC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The RX100 VII is great complement to the cameras on my smartphone. The unit is small and light. The physical zoom and the larger sensor provides are an improvement over those offered by a smartphone, but easy to carry and use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 23 March 2022 by Buddhabodhi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received my camera as a gift and have had a wonderful learning and taking simple professional shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M7G 22 March 2022 by Mster60 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago. I’ve had this range before and decided to go up a grade to the Nikon Z range, after a year l swapped back to the compact Sony. I’m so glad I did, it’s light weight, it has the same lens as my Nikon but for me the fact that I can put this smart camera in my handbag is a winner, also it does everything l need and a lot more. I’ll so glad l return to the new version of my old favourite, that will teach me never to change again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GEOFF'S REVIEW

DSC-RX100M7G 12 March 2022 by Chelsea Pensioner (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact camera to use for ad hoc photographs on a daily basis. I don't always carry my mobile phone with me. The RX100 VII suited my purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Battery power is poor

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 07 February 2022 by Victor 888 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The battery cannot last long while I need to transfer back photos to my mobile by WiFi, I even don’t use this as video shooting , for photos transfer, not user friendly while I just want to choose few and not all in the same day, while I need to transfer the same day photo by bulky, it will repeat the sent photos and sent again to my mobile

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Terrific little camera

DSC-RX100M7G 04 February 2022 by Lark sailor (United Kingdom)

I bought this in December and have been very pleased with it. The picture quality is superb and it can be carried in my pocket rather than being loaded down with a bagful of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No matter what setting - it's all bad

Body Only 03 February 2022 by k8lyn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tedious and time-consuming to change settings in manual mode. Pictures are overexposed no matter the adjustment. No fine focus. Pictures require ample editing to look mediocre. I took the camera back to best buy and they suggested a factory reset which didn't help much. Would give 0/5 stars if possible considering how much I paid. Very disappointing. I purchased this camera as a median camera to take on vacation since it was compact but still had the ability to shoot manually. My honeymoon pictures are wasted. I can't salvage them with editing they are so overexposed. I have taken the camera on 4 trips now hoping each time I would figure out the settings. So many missed opportunities for great memories.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Easy use

Body Only 01 February 2022 by Wendy22 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1month ago.. with promotion price. Easy use and easy bring out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M7G 24 January 2022 by Jadecraig58 (United Kingdom)

It is early days: initial impressions are really good. I've upgraded from the Mark111 and really like the extended lens range. The quality of the images are good with a fast autofocus. I'm still wading through the instructions - this is not very user friendly not intuitive. As others have commented, the casing is 'slippy' so care needed at all times. Looking forward to more trips with this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony RX100 M7

DSC-RX100M7G 21 January 2022 by Addicktedtored (United Kingdom)

I have now owned this for a year and love it. I take it everywhere even though I have an I-Phone 13

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Pocket Camera with Advanced Features

DSC-RX100M7G 20 January 2022 by coulan_mk (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera during the Black Friday sale, plus a £100 cashback from Sony. This brought the price down to a competitive level. The camera has not disappointed me: very good focus and picture quality. I took it to a concert and got some excellent shots of the performers on stage from 100m.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100M7G 15 January 2022  (United Kingdom)

I got the camera as a present for christmas. It is easy to use. The pictures can be send to my smartphone via WLAN.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

DSC-RX100M7G 14 January 2022 by Brian7105 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera a month ago because of its size and image quality. Definitely top quality images with a camera that easily slips into jacket pockets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic compact camera!

DSC-RX100M7G 08 January 2022 by Lynneth (United Kingdom)

I was previously using a DSLR camera, but the motherboard went. I mostly used it on auto settings and never really used it to it’s full potential, so I made the decision to purchase a compact camera. I did my research and this came out well. I’ve not yet been disappointed at all! The quality of the photos I have taken so far is amazing. And it’s so easy and intuitive to use. I would recommend buying a grip as it’s quite slippery otherwise. I agree with some that the buttons are close to one another, but I have small hands so this isn’t an issue and you do get used to them. I’m still learning about some settings, but once I do, this camera has so much scope. It also has a fantastic zoom! I would highly recommend this camera. You won’t be disappointed! (I’ve added photos so you can check out the quality!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good “emergency camera”

Body Only 05 January 2022 by Mau Photo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m usually shooting full frame and film, and the RX100 VII is a good back-up pocket-size for the moments when I do not want to carry my gears, or just need to take a few first impressions of the location for a further professional shooting

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost as good as the RX10m4

DSC-RX100M7G 12 December 2021 by Daninet (United Kingdom)

I use a lot my RX10M4, my wife uses the old yet still very good tiny Canon S120. The S120 can produce good pics, with it's F1.9 lens, but it is no match for the 1" sensor of the RX100 and it's superfast focus, the viewfinder etc. etc... So I replaced the S120 with RX100, and decided on the m7 version because of longer zoom and maybe better tracking, while still keeping a good Image quality. Since I am familiar with the RX10m4, it was is easy enough to set the menus to my liking. To my surprise, though the RX100 wrights significantly more than the S120, still it is very compact and fits into the S120 small belt pouch.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All the camera I will ever need

DSC-RX100M7G 11 December 2021 by DougieK (United Kingdom)

I received this camera for my 60TH birthday and it is all I hoped it would be. I don’t think I will ever need or use all its functions. All my cameras in the past have been better than the old ones they replaced and the step up was noticeable, and always pocket zooms. However, with this camera the improvement was huge, particularly indoor/ low light photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lovely compact camera

DSC-RX100M7G 10 December 2021 by Simon25 (United Kingdom)

Having had previously the versions 3 & 5 this version 7 was a natural progression. So far I’ve been very pleased with this camera. The longer zoom is impressive in such a compact body, as well as the cameras specification! The detail in the photographs is very good and sharp! It makes me wonder why I used to lug SLR’s and lenses around. The RX100vii makes photography enjoyable again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent mini camera - image quailty outstanding

DSC-RX100M7G 10 December 2021 by JoeDole (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago to replace my Lumix LX-100, with Sony's promise of a £100 refund in 30 days, it was almost cheaper than a replacementr LX-100. It drops easily into my coat pocket and is read to shoot instantly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small but extremely capable

DSC-RX100M7G 07 December 2021 by Countryman (United Kingdom)

I have only been using this camera for a couple of weeks and in that short time have found the camera to be a most versatile and capable camera. I am an experienced photographer and found that this little camera is the perfect one to take out when your larger system equipment just seems unnecessary. An ideal camera for those wishing to travel on light or on holiday and still be able to return with excellent images.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic speed of focus..

DSC-RX100M7G 05 December 2021 by LesJ5794 (United Kingdom)

I have been buying these 1" sensor camera ever since they came out. I upgraded almost all of them. I was not sure whether I would see any benefit moving up to the VII but boy was I wrong. This is a wonderful tool that can be as simple or complicated for truly exceptional photo's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic compact

DSC-RX100M7G 20 October 2021 by The Swan Lady (United Kingdom)

This little compact does a fantastic job of most photography genres. I love the telephoto lens that in this model v 7 is up to 200m. It also has a digital viewfinder which is perfect when the sun makes looking at the lcd screen difficult. It has many automatic functions that help the inexperienced photographer but these can also be turned off when you just want to do things manually. Both the still image and video quality can be tuned to the users needs and multiple connectivity options allow you to upload your content easily, if required. A great compact for walks, travel, wildlife and landscape needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Too Small

DSC-RX100M7G 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

When it first arrived I thought great, it will easily fit in my pocket though it is a bit heavy! However after a few months I find I can't really get on with it. There are too many buttons so for my fingers there is not enough room to properly distinguish between them so I'm for ever pressing the wrong button by accident or I have to look to cover the right button with my finger first. I then bought the hand grip GP-VPT2BT; this works OK but then you lose the convenience of carrying it in the pocket. I've given it to my wife, her hands are half the size of mine so she has no trouble operating it, I'll stick to my 7R. When you make something small you have to make it simpler to operate so there are fewer buttons to fit on the smaller space.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Reasonable performace but expensive compact camera

DSC-RX100M7G 14 October 2021 by Jonesthescience (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months ago as a second camera for when I don’t want to take my DSLR. It’s easy to handle and I don’t feel that I need the extra handgrip but would have been nice to have it fitted. Battery life is poor and the menus almost impenetrable. Images get very noisy above ISO 1000 and is far more noticeable even at ISO 100 than my old Poweshot. AF is fast and very impressive but the lens doesn’t seem to make the most of AF lacking sharpness on distant objects. Out of camera JPEG are very good but you need post processing of RAW files to get the best out of the camera, esp noise reduction. The pop up evf is very useful in bright conditions and just about fully readable with glasses

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera I carry most often (besides my phone)

DSC-RX100M7G 14 October 2021 by Erich S (United Kingdom)

I bought this two years ago, upgrading from the version iii which was getting wonky (rebooting itself). I choose to shoot raw, which means I can't use super-intelligent mode. If only there were a simple way to switch. The camera is not that great in the dark -- my phone seems better. Close-ups are also difficult: many are blurry. There is probably a way to prevent the shutter snapping if it is not in focus, but I have not found it. Anyway, it doesn't get very close. My waterproof camera (Olympus Tough TG-5) takes much better close-ups, as does my Pixel 5. The camera is very hard to hold in my big hand without inadvertently touching something active. I have turned on video many times by mistake. On scene mode, I often lose the scene I want (usually sports) because I lightly graze the control ring. Very annoying. The touch screen is a pain for similar reasons. The version upgrade (3 to 7) picked telephoto over wide aperture. I do like the telephoto. But the poor performance in the dark is a drawback. I have taken to carrying this camera on big trips rather than my Nikon D810 and its array of lenses, which are a big commitment in size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This is a fabulous camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by Nadoligllawen (United Kingdom)

This is a fabulous everyday carry camera. I am a professional photograher and spend my days using full frame DSLRs with really heavy lenses. When I'm out and about this is my go to camera. I also use it to shoot B roll at weddings and events and it has performed perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Splendid all round camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by fbphotos (United Kingdom)

A brilliant camera for wide angle subjects and 200 mm fir slightly longer subjects eg. farm animals plus good portraits very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect travel companion

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by miwilli65 (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera since April 2020. It was a replacement/upgrade for my RX100 (Mk. 1). The Mk. 7 is a truly great little camera. The extra 'reach' of the lens over the Mk. 1 means that many shots that would have been difficult with the Mk. 1 can now be easily taken. It is worth taking time to set it up for your personal needs and preferences (there are plenty of articles on the internet which help this). The only grumble that I've got is that the lens is unsealed and after a year or so of use I can see dust particles inside the lens. This has so far not impacted on image quality, but is a cause for concern. I imagine that the 'zoom-action' must have some sort of a 'bellows' effect, drawing dust in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It is almost too small

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by roger2021 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a bit before lockdown for two purposes: trips abroad when I am traveling light, and photos of a grandchild, taking advantage of its autofocus capability. It is good as it is claimed to be for both of those purposes but lockdown put an end to travel, and I did not get to see the grandchild for over a year, so the camera was used much less than I expected. One feature I do not like is the way the viewfinder works. To hold a camera steady, I like to hold it firmly against my head (or glasses) but if you do that with this camera, it pushes the viewfinder in a little, so you cannot see through it properly. When the image looks blurred in the viewfinder, you have to hold it a bit further away from your face, and hence less firmly. As a result, I am less confident about holding this camera steady than I am about holding a more traditional camera with a rigid viewfinder. I also find I miss having more controls (I am spoiled by having a Sony A7R3). I have the dial round the lens set to adjust the exposure up or down as needed, which is very convenient, but ideally I would like it to be easier to adjust the aperture without changing the exposure. On the other hand, depth of field is so great, aperture is less of an issue than on a larger format camera. I would also like an easier way to move the focus point around the screen, so as a result, I leave it in Wide mode more than I would like. But despite these minor niggles, the camera does what it is designed to do extremely well and so long as you understand the inevitable limitations of such a tiny camera, I would certainly recommend it. I rarely use video so cannot comment on the sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous small quality camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by MikeNorfolk (United Kingdom)

This is a truly amazing camera with a perfect range of 24-200 lens for 90%+ photographic situations. Image quality is most times indistinguishable from my mirrorless camera making it the perfect go anywhere or travel camera. The menu is complex but that means you can have lots of individual control or customisation if wanted. Results on auto are nearly always perfect straight out of the camera requiring little tweaking. Overall a pocket miracle that produces very high quality images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and light

Body Only 08 October 2021 by Oldmetan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very small and light and fit into pocket Its has reach better distance closer Flip screen at hip level shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect camera all round performance

Body Only 03 October 2021 by philtaro (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this camera as a webcam. As it has 1 inch sensor it performs much better than standard webcams. Even the sony iimaging Edge webcam feature works better than expected. Even with 575p it looks better than the 720p on laptop cam and 1080p from normal webcams. But to maximise the potentials i am using it with the clean HDMI output. With the zoom range i am able to capture at a much further distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not fool proof

DSC-RX100M7G 24 September 2021 by RX107 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a family wedding, as I wanted a fool proof camera that would capture all the great moments without any effort. I wish I had experimented with it before. I read all the great reviews and sadly it just didn't hit the mark a lot of the time. I used the auto settings outside in daylight, but the focus was just a bit out on many shots. If I could go back I would use the S or A mode and set the ISO. Indoors the camera was really disappointing, results reminded me of my 110 film camera in the 1980's. Maybe once you get used to it, it's fine. I like the tiny size and it feels good quality, no plastic, but It's not £1200 worth.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M7G 05 September 2021 by Barbara1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera but haven’t found out how to transfer photos onto my iPhone 6s yet. Instructions very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Exceptionally valuable considering the small size

DSC-RX100M7G 14 August 2021 by Joerg730 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For a long time I was looking for a pocketable camera to bring along bike rides and mountaineering trips. Used to the fotographic feeling of a SLR, I hesitated a long time to look into this size camera. But now, I am happy I made the step; the results are truly astonishing; the autofocus is simply marvelous. Nothing more to say; can recommend to everybody looking for a lightwight but capable camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Being aged 92 I takes me time to work out the vari

DSC-RX100M7G 13 August 2021 by Web48d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel there should be better instruction on how to Format the camera When I formatted the camera it did NOT delete the old pictures. Better instruction on the different uses of the various buttons could be useful

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Powerhouse in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 20 July 2021 by Gazmac10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The latest iteration of Sony’s wonderful RX100 the mark vii is the best yet. They have packed so much into such a small body it’s the perfect carry always camera from its burst mode with no blackout and continuous af to its 4k video. Highly recommended once again, well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic quality

DSC-RX100M7G 06 July 2021 by drchrismk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have really only tried this camera on its auto settings, the results I am getting are exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Advanced and Fully equipped

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 24 June 2021 by Atsu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 3 days back I tested and it’s working perfectly just need to check battery life because I am a Vlogger

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerhouse!

DSC-RX100M7G 22 June 2021 by cfg25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from M3 for extra focal length plus the eye AF to help capture images of granddaughter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good allrounder

DSC-RX100M7G 01 June 2021 by moonshot1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera to replace my aging RX100m1. The new camera for me is easy to navigate and set up for shots. So far I have had some success at getting amazing snaps. of course to get that snap I may have taken 6 photos. I find the OLED view finder to be an outstanding tool for taking the shot and then view the taken picture. The view finder can also be set up for your vision. Yesterday I had the opportunity to use the slow mo and shoot a Midges swarm over a small brook @ 250fps and its a keeper. I also got a good moon shot setting the focus to manual and the ISO to 100. I'm looking forward to testing other features of the camera when the opportunity arises. Also I have been using the RX100 for years now and do not struggle with its ergonomics. The camera is so easy and convenient to use by the way it sits in your pocket to the way the view finder and zoom just pop out and are ready to go.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Reliable and useful tool

DSC-RX100M7G 26 May 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product, use it a lot and has been reliable and very useful. I had the original RX100I so this has been a great upgrade with the new features such as 4k, clean HDMI and audio input.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0