71

4.5 based on 71 customer reviews

50
11
5
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

72 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Excellent TV

139 cm (55") 17 September 2021 by ironhart (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using it everyday for a month, and the quality of this TV is excellent. Good sound speaker and lots of useful features. Never regret buying this TV, there are more fun to be explored with Google assistant feature. Highly recommended for a good buy!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

missing features

108 cm (43”) 15 September 2021 by woodusman (United Kingdom)

missing apps ie youview bbciplayer itv hub channel5

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Where are apps Sony???

126 cm (50") 11 September 2021 by FedupPaula (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No bbc iPlayer, ITV Hub, My5 or All4. Selling a tv of great pictures quality is no good on U.K. market if it doesn’t have U.K. apps!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Superior Picture

43" class (42.5" diag) 07 September 2021 by sirlou (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for viewing sports, movies, or regular shows

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony x85j

139 cm (55") 05 September 2021 by Hoppey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have not found how Google works have to switch sky box and tv on separately

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

EXCELLENT

215 cm (85'') 01 September 2021 by Old boo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought tv 85 inch 2021 great easy to use great to look at…..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely brilliant

139 cm (55") 01 September 2021 by Haroon65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this tele over the samsung qled I did compare side by side instore sony way ahead picture quality wise. In my room picture is perfect and features are pretty good too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ps5’s best friend

75" class (74.5" diag) 28 August 2021 by Jjgotbars (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect tv for next gen gaming! The 120 frame rate is too nice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great product

139 cm (55") 25 August 2021 by Ivyksl (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Get 55’ for bedroom, the screen colour is neutral and soothing for dim bedroom, the quality is descent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Overall a great TV.

43" class (42.5" diag) 25 August 2021 by Greg44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once I did some customizing of the picture it is just beautiful. The only weakness is viewing from the side, during which the picture appears too bright. Setup was quick and easy with two people. One to type and one to read passwords and other info. Would definitely buy again and recommend to others.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great mid-priced UHD TV

139 cm (55") 25 August 2021 by 12bTaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV to replace a same size Panasonic which had developed issues with the led backlights diffusers (falling off again) Physically it fits perfectly in the existing position using the existing bracket fitted to the VESA mounts at the rear. I chose this from small range of similar products which I had honed down to either this Sony or a similar Samsung. I wanted 55 inch screen UHD, HDR, Freesat input, optical audio out, four hdmi and a good make. This TV achieved all of that. A little more complex to set up than upprevious perchases, but worth the effort. Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

sony experience

108 cm (43”) 25 August 2021 by frank n stine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

love the sony tv, very easy to set up, but i would have willingly payed extra for a good stand,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Absolutely amazing

108 cm (43”) 23 August 2021 by Me Chelios (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

4K is brilliant, so many options, unbelievable. Spent 12 months researching Tv’s before we made this choice, replaces smaller set.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features

126 cm (50") 23 August 2021 by OmaJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this on advice of my grandson who assured me it was the best on the market for the amount of money I was able to spend

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great...except no ability to use BBC iPlayer

108 cm (43”) 22 August 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an insurance replacement for a previous Bravia TV. It is fine, but I mostly use my TV to play catch up on BBC iPlayer.....which this TV does not support. So a great product with a fundamental flaw!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

0

Great picture quality, smooth to use

164 cm (65") 22 August 2021 by Andy31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this TV a month now, it’s very fast to boot up, get YouTube, Netflix or Amazon prime etc on. Picture quality looks great, works amazingly well with the PS5 too. All in all, very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great TV

108 cm (43”) 20 August 2021 by AWAS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the X85J as a replacement. Awesome picture quality and surprisingly pretty go sound quality from the small speakers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Brilliant picture but sound lacking & no iPlayer

108 cm (43”) 20 August 2021 by Dave590 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks ago. Upgraded from 10 year old 26" Sony Bravia. Picture is amazing and the main reason we bought it. Would have given it 5 stars except for 2 things that let it down: 1. Sound is not as good as our old Bravia, presumably because the TV is much thinner. Solved by buying a Bose TV speaker 2. No BBC iPlayer in Google TV. Already had an Amazon Firestick, so not a problem, but surprised by the omission.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Fabulous pictures

108 cm (43”) 16 August 2021 by jandav (United Kingdom)

I am so happy we bought this TV today we had a sony 43inch T/V for about 13years and it is still going strong so we needed to stick to another sony bravia so we can receive the best T/V experience ever,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Does it’s job

126 cm (50") 16 August 2021 by Faye Knewse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV is sound although I’m disappointed that apps such as BBC iPlayer, ITV player etc are not available on it. I was not informed of this when making my purchase so left a bit of a sour taste when set the tv up. The remote is well designed which is often overlooked

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Picture

43" class (42.5" diag) 14 August 2021 by D E S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not as sharp as I was expecting. It also would be nice to have a sliding adjustment between normal picture and vivid.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great buy

164 cm (65") 11 August 2021 by Kumard (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with this purchase. Colours are brilliant, subtle not garish. Really good resolution and clarity. User friendly and great user experience. Great buy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Picture

126 cm (50") 06 August 2021 by robbie 21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV yesterday only to discover today when I set it up that it does not support BBC iPlayer or ITV Hub. I now find out that this is a major problem that Sony are fully aware of but unfortunately not something that is pointed out to customers. Like thousands of other Sony customers I never imagined any 2021 TV would be without catch-up BBC and ITV and feel cheated.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

10

0

Decent TV but NO BBC iPlayer + limited to certain

139 cm (55") 05 August 2021 by Dave101a (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent model, but I'm slightly disappointed with the lack of features. There is no BBC iPlayer or any interactive TV available on this model. Also you can only install pre-defined apps (as opposed to choose your own apps in Google Play Store). Standard TV channels (non hd) picture is disappointing (worse than my old Sony TV) despite all the picture tweaking options available. High definition (HD) picture quality is fantastic with amazing colours and clarity. If your signal sources are HD or 4k then this TV will put a smile on your face. Unfortunately not so with the standard channels

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Fantastic TV!

108 cm (43”) 05 August 2021 by Raymond 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this TV! Picture is as clear as Crystal and the sound is second to none! There are loads of exciting and easy to use features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Missing catch-up apps

108 cm (43”) 04 August 2021 by M3333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality good but disappointed to find unable to access BBC I-Player and ITV Hub and Channels 4 and 5 catch-up apps. I understood these to be standard on all Smart TV's.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Love our new TV

43" class (42.5" diag) 02 August 2021 by Neko423 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We replaced an older tv with this new Sony Smart TV. We have a 65 inch Sony that we are very happy with. We love Sony products and felt the TV was worth the premium price. The TV was easy to set up. The only problem was that we still needed to rent a Comcast box since the TV would not stream Comcast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

43x85J is worse than the 43X800D

43" class (42.5" diag) 29 July 2021 by Dingle Berry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The TV displays make everything look like an artist recreated it with the pointillism style. The Google interface is slow and hangs. It is more difficult to find the things you want than the android interface. Play store is even more limited, and the only way to get to it is through settings. The memory is limited and can only handle about a dozen apps. Pic is from the Sony home page.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Great features but not so good picture quality

139 cm (55") 29 July 2021 by Lomois (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The features cover what everyone needs in today’s world. However what I am angst about is the quality. I see movements and colour is just so so. It has a grey tone on the picture and a blurry effect. Disappointed that is seems like a LCD display rather than a LED.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Love it

55" class (54.6" diag) 28 July 2021 by Gail1984 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great size great picture. Very pleased with my purchase. And love the google feature

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid TV for the Price!

108 cm (43”) 28 July 2021 by laveen29 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade for my old device, and also because after extensive research, this model emerged as one that could extract the best performance out of my PS5. It also was the only "next-gen" TV that came in a size below 50 inches and could fit my small room. Had a tiny hiccup with Netflix dying every 15 mins, but a soft reset of the TV fixed that. The Android TV interface is a thing of beauty, and the TV integrates well with the rest of my Smart Home infrastructure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

126 cm (50") 27 July 2021 by Reffie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had TV for 11 days and love it. Picture is fabulous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Outstanding Picture & Options Hookup Well 4 stars

43" class (42.5" diag) 27 July 2021 by beach1215 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

To start originally I was going for the XBR49X950H with Netflix Calibrated & IMAX enhanced viewing. With the price going up & down on holidays. It would have replaced an old Samsung 50" rear screen that died. Ended up I went from that to a 32" LG non smart TV. I really liked that still great picture with NO Apps. Why they still dont make TVs like this who knows. Theres so many devices out there Fire Stick 4K, TIVO 4k plus receivers have there own App services so why do we need them on a TV give us the option. That said I'm an old SONY fan heres what I got TA E9000ES Pre Amp, TA N9000ES Amp, DTC 87ES DAT player recorder, WMD DT1 portable DAT player. UBP X800 Blu Ray, STR DA2800ES Receiver. Tah Dah ! I have the TA E9000ES feeding the DA 2800ES analog audio & back from the DA 2800ES to TA E9000ES audio. I like to experiment since the TA E9000ES is a great preamp with PHONO pre amp while playing around with newer soundfields. I'll get back to the TV in a minute I am seriously disappointed in SONY Mobile. Recently they came out with a 8100 mobile screen. But they keep missing the mark. Why do we need a HDMI on a car system. The older car setups had a MINI plug for Aux like my DAT player I cant play but other Companies still have them & only 1 USB ? Why not HD FM/AM. I do have to say the newer mobile units are cleaner looking not all those little button crammed together. So I bought this 43X85J only because I needed something smart looking and had the ability of HDMI 2.1. I didn't see were the 950H had this plus it was a money issue. I liked that has 4 HDMI inputs. But for some dumb reason my TV tells me to connect back to HDMI 3 e/arc for audio connection. I can see video in HDMI 4 but the same message keeps popping up. I moved 1 connection to HDMI 1 video no audio message pops up again hook up to HDM 3 e/arc. Now with the HDMI 1 hookup I cant go back to it after scanning through the Input button from 4. 3 no 2 no 1 now. For now I only have the 2800ES sending info to the TVs HDMI 3 bummer. I have a TIVO 4K stick going through the 2800ES but since the 2800ES doesn't play out 4K UHD I have to wait to buy a newer receiver with ATMOS & DTS X my personnel favorite. Or just take it & place it into the HDMI 4 of the TV. I have to say the TIVO 4K stick is better picture wise than the AMAZON 4K stick I have them bought but I disconnected the AMAZON it has a past of crashing. One thing I had watched through the TVs App Disney+ Black Panther which was supposed to be 4K UHD but it looked like 1080i & not even 1080p. Well to add to this something I never saw before with my 1080p LG non smart TV is with all the devices I have feeding the X85J I'm seeing a Motion Delay or just call it skipping a Video Field/Frame delay. Not that important I have a external ATSC Amazon antenna that was hooked up to my other TIVO BOLT with great pictures got all my main channels in HD. I moved the Antenna cable from the BOLT to the X85J I only get 3 stations now CBS, ABC, WPIX in HD here in NY while I got all the major networks with the BOLT. NBC with the Olympics looks more like 1080i . All in all I'm sorry I didn't get the 50" but the 43" TV size is perfect for were it is. But what the heck I have a SONY projector for major Movies which hasn't been used in a while. Another project !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

126 cm (50") 24 July 2021 by Dave8484 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for four weeks, very happy with it. Had last tv for ten years and was still good. Watching the new tv just leaves the old one behind

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great picture

65" class (64.5" diag) 20 July 2021 by Jake1950 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy the fine picture and am intimidated by the technology needed to operate it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

TV is great - but registration in Spanish only

43" class (42.5" diag) 15 July 2021 by NanaMama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the TV, but do not appreciate that the "Guarantee" is only in Spanish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Netflix issues

85" class (84.6" diag) 14 July 2021 by GrSeda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I’m happy with the picture only problem I had was immediately after the purchase had issues w preloaded Netflix app. App would only work for about 10 minutes they switch back to live TV. and some volume button would not respond .. had to turn off and on TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it!

55" class (54.6" diag) 12 July 2021 by Adorableyoshii91 (USA)

I love this television I have been waiting for this TV since the announcement of CES. What is very apparent in the cinema as well dolby vision modes is the natural image quality and the overall color balance out of the box. What I noticed immediately out of the box is a semi matte screen coating which certainly cuts down on glare. Which is a better approach in my opinion than used on competing devices. For instance the LG CX. Although I have found some bugs in the interface, particularly as it relates to audio switching sources. The interface is very easy to use and getting in the swing of things was pretty easy. The detail of 4k quality content appears beyond what I have seen from my previous CX LG. I reccomend this to my family and friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Fantastic

215 cm (85'') 10 July 2021 by AndyB66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just an absolute beast of a tv, great features and a must have

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great features

139 cm (55") 09 July 2021 by Khokhan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am okay with this product but expensive . Sound quality need more improvement.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great 4k tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 02 July 2021 by Meako (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the TV for almost a month it goes above and beyond my expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean and vivid image

50" class (49.5" diag) 26 June 2021 by Opera168 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the TV for over a week, it’s a big upgrade for my family since our previous TV is only 1080p resolution and not so smart. It’s easy to get a hang with this TV as it guides you thru every steps to set up. Remote is easy to use. Please make sure to pair the TV with a good quality HDMI 2.1 cable, otherwise, you cannot experience the full advantage of the shape image of this 4K TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Amazing!!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 22 June 2021  (USA)

This TV is absolutely amazing. Sony never disappoints. I didn’t realize how bad my Samsung TV was until I had this one to compare it to. The picture is incredible. It makes the TV come to life. The TV is loaded with all the top apps and setup was so easy. Highly recommend!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 22 June 2021 by Chell1231 (USA)

Got this for my brother who loves gaming. The colors are very vivid and the quality is excellent. When you watch older shows you can really tell what you have been missing. Like the fact that it have upgrades later and you can get on Google easily. I would definitely recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Big upgrade!

108 cm (43”) 22 June 2021 by Idneroon (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was using a FHD previously and man was this a huge improvement, both in terms of quality and design. And with the in built Google TV and Netflix. What more cud i ask for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My view

55" class (54.6" diag) 20 June 2021 by MsLucy (USA)

The X85J 4K Ultra HD High Dynamic Range Smart Tv it’s a great quality tv it is easy to set up it has a great smart hub with a variety of apps it goes will with any decor the picture is really clear and has great sound it also has Google TV, Hulu, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, YouTube, the Apple TV app and it also has google assistance I love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Exceeds my expectations

55" class (54.6" diag) 15 June 2021 by Him17 (USA)

Let me start with the statement that it stands out within the LED family of TVs I have owned . It brings out great video quality , with awesome contrast which does not even seem to dim in our sunny like bright living room . The black levels are not OLED like but great when compared to other LED TVs I have owned . This TV comes with the Google TV interface and its charm to use it . It also has two HDMI 2.1 ports . TV border line/ bezels are also quite thin and do not bother while viewing . The TV itself is not very heavy and easy to assemble or carry /transport. Since its the LED technology it's also not that fragile . The build quality seems to be quite rigid comparatively . Here are my key Pros /Cons Pros - The colors are amazing . It even beats my other OLED TV Brightness is also very good and usable in sunny room Reflection is minimal , it does not bother you even in-direct sunlight The processor works very well . You don’t seem to get any type of jitter for fast moving scenes Dolby Vision feature, which adds the extra charm while viewing any dolby content (specially on streaming channels ) Cons Viewing angle is not very good and you tend to lose some colors when viewing from corner The sharpness could be better (though not a big deal ) Build Quality The outer area is full good quality plastic . The stand has a little metal and quite rigid to hold TV well on them . Video Quality Like mentioned above the video quality is one of the best feature of this TV , specially the colors pop out very gracefully. The black also does not seems to be grey , unless you compare directly with any OLED display. I couldn’t notice any kind of blooming either , atleast while viewing any bright over dark background content . Audio Quality This is where it lacks a bit . It does not have a very rich sound , so if you are into lot of movies watching , you might want to add the external speakers , especially for the Base enhancement . Gaming I played few of my favorite response sensitive games (like over wheel) and it does not feel laggy while playing . It performed as per my expectation . Conclusion : This TV is spectacular and will exceed your expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Easy setup!

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by dddd89 (USA)

I got this TV to replace a 10 year old TV in my in-law’s bedroom. The set up was way easier than my husband and I were expecting. There are four plastic prongs that lift the TV away from the box. The setup for wifi and programming the remote was all prompted by cues on the screen and very easy to follow. We programmed the remote so his parents didn’t have to use the clunky remote that the cable company provides any more. Google TV had Netflix, YouTube, Hulu, etc. Picture quality is amazing. His parents were so grateful for this TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Excellent picture quality; HDR could be better

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by Caly (USA)

Pros: -Excellent picture quality. Colors are bright and vibrant, and blacks get pretty black for a non OLED panel. It also gets plenty bright for SDR content. -4K 120hz actually works really well here. There’s no Gysnc or Freesync here, but I’ve not noticed hardly any screen tearing no matter the frame rate. Input lag feels just about as low as my 165hz gaming monitor. -The google tv interface is pretty smooth and easy to use. Plus the addition of Airplay 2 is a nice touch for streaming content from my iDevices and the Apple TV is on here as well for watching content from the iTunes Store. -You have two HDMI 2.1 ports that support 4K 120hz, 4 ports in total plus Audio out, Optical, two USB ports and Ethernet Cons: -Kind of expected for a tv this thin but the speakers are just... lackluster, lacking any sort of fullness or bass. Do yourself a favor and get a sound bar. -No local dimming for HDR which is a letdown, but HDR content still looks pretty decent on here. Brightness is well under 1000 nits when viewing HDR content. -The remote is way too long. They could have taken a few buttons out and widened the remote a touch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Right choice

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by etowe74 (USA)

I have been buying average tv's for a while now and the picture quality has always been adequete at best for me. I seen the picture this tv has and knew I needed this tv. The picture resolution is by far better than what I am use to. With the 120 hz makes gaming even better. The sound is a step up for me, still not the best. I have been use to a roku tv which means a small remote, so I have to get use to the larger remote. Bonus is the quick access to my apps. So over all I give this 4k ultra tv a 90 out of a 100. The picture jumps out at you, which makes me 100% happy with this tv..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great features!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by Gigi24 (USA)

Omg i love it love it love it. This tv has everything that you need on it. The picture quality is amazing so crisp and clear. I love how big the remote is. You don't ever have to worry about losing it. I love that it comes with ever app you can think of. When it say smart TV they was not lieing. This TV comes Equipped with everything at your fingertips. This tv is a must buy!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

This tv is crazy good...crisp picture & sound

55" class (54.6" diag) 14 June 2021 by aliciastaff87 (USA)

Holy moly.... this tv is AMAZING. It has such clear and crisp picture and sound, I was completely taken back by the quality of this TV. I put a movie on via Netflix that came out in 1991 (so 30 years ago) and the quality and sound knocked my socks off. It was crazy good. The set up time for this TV was less than 10 minutes, including time to sign in to all my apps (Netflix, Google, YouTube, Spotify and Hulu) and the process was very easy, even down to the typing. This TV is in my guest bedroom, but I may have to switch it with the one in the bar room, as we spend most of our time in there. Can't wait to watch football on it this year!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

0

Bright Colors

55" class (54.6" diag) 13 June 2021 by hoganj14 (USA)

I Love this Sony Google Smart TV. It has the best picture and plus it has google. It has Google Assistant Remote too. Lots of apps, so you can watch alot of different programs. But the best HD quality and High Dynamic Range that I have found in a TV. Sony Google Smart TV is the best ! To me the Picture quality is perfect ! And it's easy to use and hook up !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing!!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 12 June 2021 by Babykay61209 (USA)

Im absolutely in love with the picture quality. It makes everything look like im right there for it live. The audio is just mind blowing. Ive also tried it with my xbox and it was a joy to play on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sleek

55" class (54.6" diag) 11 June 2021 by Lori21 (USA)

This Sony tv has a very sleek look to it. It was easy to install and the lettering on the remote is larger than the usual remotes. The picture goes from edge to edge of the tv which is nice. The quality of the picture is clear even using without the 4K part of it. I can enable that feature at any time. This is by nice tv and looks like it will last a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Returning sony customer

55" class (54.6" diag) 11 June 2021 by Jordan30 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got their 4k 55' ips panel to replace a 11 yr old 1080p 55' bravia. First things i notice the x85j doesnt have GLASS panel. There are 3 stuck/dead pixels. The display is also extremely fragile, i have no idea how it will be cleaned it feels like a plastic desktop monitor. I was expecting a solid glass display like the old one. When i try to find a model that is using glass it doesnt exist. (They want to make fragile products) The sound from my apple tv not work, i didnt change anything from my old tv setup. The appletv plugs into the sony dvd player, and then the dvd eARC plugs into the tv. The tv and dvd also have an optical audio cable link. With this new one i had to plug in appletv directly to the tv to get the sound to work. No settings could fix that. The tv promises apple's airplay function but i tried it and it doesnt work, also androids screen cast is not there either. The warranty card is in spanish but i bought the tv in the usa. It says 'made in mexico' but if you sell in usa atleast provide english manuals and warranty cards.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Amazing color!

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2021 by JenB (USA)

The color and clarity of the television is amazing! Size is not too big and doesn’t overpower the TV room even though the box was huge! Super easy to set up in very little time. Also love the low profile overall. Not chunky and clunky at all. Very happy with the selection!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great picture quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 10 June 2021 by kcoch5817 (USA)

Sony's picture quality is one of the best on the market. You know when you get a Sony TV you are going to have great quality picture and this TV is no different. The picture is fantastic and clear. The sound is also fantastic. It's a nice sleek designed TV and I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Highly enjoyable user experience & excellent value

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by Juffowup (USA)

On paper, the feature set on the 2021 Sony TVs are pretty in line with the sets from 2020, but everything about the 2021 sets just exudes a level of refinement and user focus that I've not experienced before. The unboxing was super easy with well-illustrated instructions, the set up was completely seamless and foolproof, and connecting the system to your Google account and streaming services was the easiest 10 minutes I've ever spent setting up a brand new TV. The screen itself is brilliant, colorful, super responsive, and sharp - out of the box I had to touch almost nothing in the settings to get a fantastic picture. The built-in sound is slightly better than average for a set like this, but in all honesty you should really be buying this set with an eye to pairing it to a solid sound bar or sound system via the built-in eARC connection. Modern flatscreen TVs by and large just don't have the physical space necessary to put out robust sound quality. Works great with a PlayStation 5 as well! My only minor critiques are the power cable and the remote. Sony ships this TV with a 3 foot (1 meter) power cable, and the power connector is in the middle of the far left side of the TV - the power cable is barely long enough to extend past the right side of the TV, and I can't imagine most folks will have an outlet within 3 feet (especially when this thing is just begging to be wall-mounted). Every other facet of this TV seems like it was made with user experience at the core of their efforts, so it's odd that this was clearly lacking when it came to selecting a power cable for it. At the very least the power cord should be 6ft/2m or even 9ft/3m. The remote for the most part is okay, but has way too many buttons for little-used features that can be accessed via the settings menu and is *far* too long - even with my admittedly large hands it can be cumbersome to use at times. On the plus side, it's really hard to lose the remote between the couch cushions! Overall a fantastic set and highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Fantastic!!

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by NicoleElizabeth (USA)

Wow, This Sony tv is a work of art. The picture quality is perfect. I have never had a 4K ultra HD so it was new to me. The images on screen are SO clear. The sound is of the best quality I’ve heard coming from built in tv speakers. The set up as pretty easy to do and the remote that comes with it is larger which I like because I always lose small remotes easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing for the price

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by Will T (USA)

10 years ago, I got a 40" LCD for this price, now I can get a 55" 4K TV! That's insane. The picture quality is great, and the sound quality is actually good enough for most uses as well. I love the integrated Google TV and support for BOTH AirPlay and Chromecast. Comes with Apple TV app as well, which has ALMOST made my Apple TV obsolete (I still like using AirPods with Apple TV, and using the Fitness+ app). The remote is a little bit big and ugly, but I do appreciate the quick shortcuts to YouTube, Amazon, Disney, and Netflix. The bezels are thin, and the TV is sleek, sure it's not the top of the end super thin OLED, but if all you want is a modern 4K set with modern quality of life features, this is great bang for the buck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Love it !!

55" class (54.6" diag) 08 June 2021 by Mom4 (USA)

This TV is amazing . The picture is amazing ,sound clear . I have hung it in my Living Room ,what a difference to have it mounted . So happy it is a smart TV , my old one wasn’t . I have owned Sony Bravia TVs in the past , I really enjoy the high quality .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Major upgrade to our TV watching

55" class (54.6" diag) 07 June 2021 by Jessica F (USA)

Wow! I’ve never been one to see a major difference between different tv styles.... until we installed the Sony-X85J 4K Ultra HD Range Smart TV. This TV is so much better on my eyes as the colors stand out much clearer than our previous TV. The screen itself is easy to look at and at 55 inches, there is a lot to look at! The sound quality is awesome as well. I feel like I can hear the sounds clearer and no longer muffled or in a low key. That alone makes watching tv more pleasant! I call the remote control and “smart controller” since it’s already equipped with viewing programs we subscribe to. I love being able to just press the Netflix or YouTube button and I’m brought directly to those sites. It used to take multiple remotes and button presses to get to where I want to be. Perfect for those who have a hard time navigating through multiple screens. The remote is also a great size and has just what is needed on it. Bulky remotes with too many buttons are overwhelming and hard to manage. Sony did a great job designing the size and ease of the remote! Overall, we are extremely happy with our new TV! Thank you, Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0