288

3.9 based on 288 customer reviews

122
93
32
8
33
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of a Select Group

4GB 03 June 2016  (United Kingdom)

I have had each iteration of this MP3 player as Sony has in my opinion produced the best music player for gym users such as myself. But. The competition is very limited for wearable MP3 headphone combinations and by no means is this Sony item perfect. It is however, a considerable improvement on the previous version which had a grim power on/off button and serious failure issues whereby it would simply stop working - which happened to mine. First off the buttons are much nicer to use and that makes a real difference. Once you have got the muscle memory in place it's all good. The overall construction both appears and feels very good and Sony seem to have moved back up a step from the previous model fortunately. It is also very secure on the ears and there is an additional rubber adjuster that can be fitted along with different ear buds to turn this into a MP3 player suitable for swimming with. And Sony seem to have worked out that they can't make software and this is a simple drag and drop operation for compatible files or you can sync using Microsoft Media Player which I do. But - like each version Sony have made there are improvements and retrograde steps. Whilst there is no doubt this is a much better player than before Sony have taken away the storage/charging cradle which held the player together securely which was ideal when being dumped in a sports bag. This player has a very small charging-transfer unit that fits to one side only meaning you have to be very careful when removing it from a bag in case it is pulled apart too much. In use the sound is good not brilliant. For my ears slightly bright. And not loud enough as Sony being a responsible company adhere to the dB safe levels which may not be loud enough to completely drown out the piped in stuff in some gyms. For use outside it would be fine I guess. There is a function to allow ambient noise to be heard which is something that road runners may find useful as cars etc. can be heard. Overall though, this is my gym player of choice because it sounds good and I don't have faffy wires hanging around me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 2 uses

4GB 23 September 2016 by musicless (United Kingdom)

A present for me to use when swimming. Followed all instructions and began to use it, but after 2 30 minute swims, in fresh water, it just gave up and became completely unresponsive despite all fixes / advice, including from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

289 Customer Reviews

0

My next Gen walkman

4GB 12 February 2020 by KS Chew (Singapore)

I bought this in Jan using my birthday voucher and I am happy with my purchase. I had an older bulkier version that is still working perfectly but I wanted a new one to indulge myself for my birthday. This product did not disappoint. It was lighter and more compact, there is an hard case holder assessory that I can purchase to protect the walkman from being crushed in my bag. The music sounded good and it did not have song latency when I am listening to it when running unlike the older version. Overall, happy with it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worked for about one year only

4GB 11 February 2020 by Chabarek (United Kingdom)

It is not working any more, with out any physical damage

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

love it

4GB 10 February 2020 by dee1960 (United Kingdom)

this was a Christmas present from my daughter to help me go swimming as I think its so boring but with these I love it , the only problem I have is I want to sing to the music but cant sing and swim !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great but...

4GB 03 February 2020 by m_s_montenegro (United Kingdom)

I really like it, is solid, easy to wear, nice sound, but I would love it if I could have my Spotify playlists easily transferred.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgraded version

4GB 02 February 2020 by Hohjm (Singapore)

Much better fit compared to the earlier version. Buttons are also better accessible. Good value for money for someone who sums with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality and great value for money

4GB 27 January 2020 by Kazy (United Kingdom)

I use this headset for swimming both in door and out door. The good thing is that you don’t get any back ground noise from others in the pool, even when played at a lower volume. It is easy to use and also transfer music onto. Great value for money. I had a similar model previously and it lasted for about 3 years and was used on a regular basis at least twice a week.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sturdy built

NWWS413BM 25 January 2020 by Cray24 (USA)

I have had this for around a month and love the ease of use and the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very low volume

4GB 24 January 2020 by Deaf Swimmer (United Kingdom)

I bought this for swimming, but with the swimming ear piece on, volume is so low it’s hard to hear the music. I have disabled the noise limiter but still it’s not really fit for purpose. Disappointed. Also the software does not work with latest Mac OS. Refund please ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Shocking product, controls difficult to see, Bose

4GB 16 January 2020 by eddie3105 (United Kingdom)

I am unable to download any music form either Itunes , or Amazon music, totally dissatisfied with his product

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great fit in ears and good sound quality

4GB 14 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

It was a gift for Christmas and battery lasted about 10 gym sessions before a re charge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average Product

4GB 13 January 2020 by Stay Silence (Singapore)

I bought a few but it lasted for about six months and the faulty units have to be discarded. I find the Walkman useful while swimming as I enjoyed the music. However, there is no other better brands in the market than SONY. It is use for short period, discard and buy new one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than anticipated

4GB 08 January 2020 by Phil in (United Kingdom)

These were a birthday gift and not something I was looking for or something I needed as I already had two mp3 players. When I saw they were only 4gb and had what I would call the gimmicky usp of being swim friendly my heart sank (no pun intended). Would I actually use them, ever? Mmm... Anyway, I made the effort to charge them up and load them with songs (extremely easy, even with the software, although I didn't realise you can actually just drag and drop). Since then I've used them in the gym, at work and whilst out walking and I've been pleasantly surprised by the sound quality. Fit: pretty standard, not too obtrusive on the ear although I do seem to be between bud sizes. Sound: good (very good if you actually consider the package as a whole); Ease of use : good once you become acquainted with button positions. Swim option: untested but limited in practical use I would suggest. I swim a lot but I can't see these ever getting wet, limited depth and perhaps a faff to dry. Overall rating 4+ when you review them for what they are and what they cost. The instructions aren't great but there isn't much to learn. The buttons are quite logical but I'm not really sure how best to set up my folders /albums/playlist for maximum ease of use. At present I am mainly using shuffle mode because the thought of trying to find an album without a display is perplexing and I haven't looked at playlist yet. Overall a good present for someone who isn't phone-centric and I think I'll definitely get my use out of them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The life span if product is an issue

4GB 08 January 2020 by JPSing (Singapore)

I have bought 3 devices as of date and all of them have an issue after close to 2 years of use. The devices stop turning on although full charged and no amount of “Re-Setting” helps !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i am pleased

4GB 06 January 2020 by nappermike (United Kingdom)

At 76 I wanted this to help me at the gym, also for swimming, walking and working in the garden (music helps me focus and eases any boredom). It sits comfortably in the ear and despite rigorous movements does stay put, sound quality is very good. I am pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top product

4GB 05 January 2020 by Listy63 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, great sound and stays in place throughout an hour's run

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

4GB 01 January 2020 by Bekky (United Kingdom)

Only had for a few weeks but sound quality is good and work fine under water. I have got really small ears, the small buds fit fine but only just! Defiantly glad I bought them!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

4GB 31 December 2019 by SarahJ (United Kingdom)

Really nice to get rid of all wires for working out in the gym. Headphones stay in place and are easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All in one

4GB 30 December 2019 by Happy Skier (United Kingdom)

I bought this MP3 as its an "all in one", no cables. Once I had accessed the on-line instructions, downloading music was easy. The ear buds take a bit of getting used to, they seem uncomfortable at first but I've only used them a couple of times.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Changed my morning swim forever.

4GB 19 December 2019 by Ata_1989 (United Kingdom)

I love these headphones. I use them everyday in the gym. They make my morning swim amazing. I have loaded them with an audio book and I love being able to learn while I swim. I also use them after in the jacuzzi, sauna and shower. Best investment. They could be a bit loader but I’m a bit deaf anyway so it might just be my ears. I’d prefer the fast forward/backward buttons to be swapped sides with the volume controls so when I pause what I’m listening to I don’t accidentally skip ahead and rather accidentally increase the volume. Just one little thing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

4GB 11 December 2019 by Dave108 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product a week ago, wasn't sure about it but it looked like a good idea, so glad I did, so easy to use, music transfer is fast, excellent features and great sound. It comes with various size ear buds so you can get a comfortable fit. No more cable hang ups or snagging. Brilliant no complaints so far despite nearly constant use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It works

nwws414 05 December 2019 by Pinotage (USA)

This is my fifth one it works great for downloading music great sound has a limited shelf life they break very often and service is not good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too soon

8GB 27 October 2019 by Toosoon (United Kingdom)

I only bought this a week ago and have asked to review it, I don’t know how I am supposed to review a product after I week. The packaging was good I managed to load music on eventually although help from Sony was pretty useless for me, it does play music when I go swimming ( so far ). What else can I say about a product I have had for a week?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great product

4GB 17 October 2019 by Lep23 (United Kingdom)

I use them to swim with and they do the job. No problems downloading music. Very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony earphones

4GB 17 October 2019 by charleshby (United Kingdom)

i brought it for a swimming purpose, but the sound quality is not satisfying 

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound on one side

4GB 11 October 2019 by Nikon Ireland (United Kingdom)

Only worked on one side and still waiting for support

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Product;hh;

4GB 07 October 2019 by jp1971 (Singapore)

Bought this one month ago. No regrets. Better than the previous version in terms of friendliness of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Totally waterproof

4GB 02 October 2019 by Davycrocket (United Kingdom)

Had it 6 weeks use it every day in the swimming pool

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

swimming just became a bit less boring

4GB 30 September 2019 by drdvn (Singapore)

This is my 3rd pair and the quality has improved over the years. They last about 2 years. Then again, I swim at least 4 times a week up to 1.5 hours per session. Chose the earbud with the best fit, to make sure water doesn't get in your ears, else there will be little sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good item

4GB 27 September 2019 by SG ALVIN (Singapore)

I have been using the older version. Tried using some other Bluetooth earphones but still prefer this product for its convenience

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

problem at solt water

4GB 21 September 2019 by abdheg (United Kingdom)

I BOUT IT 9 month AGO AND I WAS HAPPY BUT I WANT TO SWIM AT THE SEA AND IT IS NOT WORKING OR ACCEPT CHARGES

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worth the price

4GB 20 September 2019 by oliviaoh (Singapore)

easy to use and good soundproof definitely will be using for a long time

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The software is clunky and doesn’t work on Mac

4GB 15 September 2019 by ShaMack (United Kingdom)

I have no complaints about the actual Walkman but the software is surprisingly basic and interface doesn’t work on Mac.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Wouldn’t be without it

8GB 06 September 2019 by Hobbit100 (United Kingdom)

I love this product. I put my audio books onto them and relax in my hot tub every weekend. They are my must have for holidays, lying out on the sun lounger and then going for a swim, absolutely perfect. Cannot recommend enough!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 06 September 2019 by Fiona27 (United Kingdom)

I've been using another brand of waterproof headphones whilst swimming for years but these are so much better. Having a range of sizes of ear buds means they stay in place whilst swimming and the sound is great. I'm really pleased with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product

8GB 19 August 2019 by Clarepickles (United Kingdom)

Bought this for work , kept getting the cable to my old ear phones caught. Read other reviews but wasn't concerned as I am not usi g it for swimming. Sound is amazing and easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far the best

4GB 19 August 2019 by Elvinswim2 (Singapore)

Bought the older model and use it for many mnay years. Recently, the old gave way so changed to the latest model. Ease of use and superb clarity much better than the older model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works but ml lh.

4GB 30 July 2019 by Jlpp (United Kingdom)

They do the trick and work very well under water. Sound is not very loud however. Explanations are pretty awful. It needs updating to management by an app so that it can access Spotify playliats and other apps. Bit outdated but it down work underwater so can swim to podcasts which I'm very happy with.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Should have bought sooner!

4GB 28 July 2019 by Janandave (United Kingdom)

I bought this after six months of deliberating which one to get as I've seen good and bad reviews on a few. Well I'm over the moon with this product, it was easy to use after figuring out how to put music on. It's took me a few try to get earplugs to stay in as I have problems with earplugs, I have use headphones in gym. Well after reading the instructions I put them in dry ears and placed my goggles on so they helped them stay in place and they did most of the time. I have found now that I can put a grip through each side of the headphone wire and my goggles and they don't move at all throughout an hour swimming head underwater and turning underwater each lap. What makes it even better is the sound is fabulous nice and clear and it's plenty loud enough. All in all a great product I'd definitely recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great While It Works

NWWS413LM 22 July 2019 by Thehag (USA)

Bought this in April and it quit working in July. While working it was great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Rubbish

4GB 16 July 2019 by ssw1 (United Kingdom)

Bought the waterproof headphones. The sound was always too low and now volume will not work at all.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Room for improvement

4GB 01 July 2019 by Vleongck (Singapore)

1st piece gone after 13 months. Bought 2nd piece and hope life span can last longer than 1st piece.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Decent pair

NWWS413BM 26 June 2019 by Drock007 (USA)

These haven’t been the best and I had to buy different waterproof earbud prices because the ones provided don’t have a good enough seal. Sound is good and easy to use. It’s still worth the buy as they have a great functionality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

4GB 20 June 2019 by Jane 53 (United Kingdom)

Use this product for swimming very comfortable to wear and a good sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Features but NOT durable

4GB 19 June 2019 by coffeemom (United Kingdom)

I've tried several different brands of waterproof mp3s. Here's the good and the bad: This one is the most comfortable, has the best features and has decent sound quality, but they just aren't durable! This is my 3rd one! They only last about a year. I swim 2-3 times/week in a chlorinated pool for 1 1/2 - 2 1/2 hours at a time. I follow the directions to a "T" in terms of care and maintenance and yet it still just doesn't last. I keep coming back to this product because I do like it, I just get tired of having to purchase a new one so frequently. I think that if Sony stands behind their products I shouldn't have to buy an extended warranty either. I understand that I am in the water for a long time, but I still think that for the price it should last more than a year!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

does what it advertises

4GB 14 June 2019 by Budders (United Kingdom)

Good sound quality, sits easily in place. Easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Product - Beat my ridiculous expectations.

4GB 12 June 2019 by JFisch (United Kingdom)

I decided to swim (in a pool) 33.3KM on June 6th (D-Day) which is the distance across the English Channel. Music was critical to my success. These performed flawlessly and at full volume lasted the entire 10 hours and 27 minutes it took for me to complete the swim. Thanks Sony, for helping me honor those heroes from our greatest generation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound quality and easy to setup and use

8GB 26 May 2019 by Mo231299 (United Kingdom)

I like the way you can just drag and drop your files on to is and the sound quality is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy

4GB 11 May 2019 by Piglet13 (United Kingdom)

So far so good, not had it that long but easy to set up and stays on when swimming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

4GB 05 May 2019 by Chepac (Singapore)

I bought a famous headset brand touted as Dive model for Swimming and it didn’t work- it cut out every time I dived! So I returned it for this Sony. Right away I could see the quality of the Sony headset and the charger is miles ahead of the brand I bought initially. The Sony worked flawlessly and even came with special earbuds for Swimming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Too quiet

4GB 28 April 2019 by Ffwc (United Kingdom)

I brought to go swimming however I could not hear anything even at the highest volume. Returned after two uses.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Improvement from older walkman

4GB 28 April 2019 by Simon60 (Singapore)

Impressive, improvement from older model of Walkman I bought previously

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0