155

4.4 based on 155 customer reviews

102
30
9
6
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03 July 2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

156 Customer Reviews

0

Great product

SRS-XB12 14 January 2021 by DLzO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is the best speaker I have ever had I wish it can connect to my PS4 wirelessly but That’s not a problem cause I can use aux cable from my speaker to tv and the quality is way better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB12 12 January 2021 by Maceymo (United Kingdom)

Just purchased this amazing little speaker to play music on both my Samsung S20 & Ipad mini. It was unbelievably easy & quick to set up. I can play my amazon & apple music.The sound is good too. May even buy a second one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple Tool for my RodecasterPro

SRSXB12/B 09 January 2021 by Underdog_JoeCool (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed this simple tool to help me analyze my audio. Awesome device and it is very small.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Christmas gift

SRSXB12/L 28 December 2020 by XGrease (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My mom bought me this for Christmas. It so far seems to have a solid sound but I haven't used it much so can't really say. It's Sony tho so I know it's good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Love It !

SRS-XB12 23 December 2020 by Cru333 (USA)

Perfect Bluetooth speaker especially if your looking for a small affordable one with great sound !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

All great

SRS-XB12/BC E 22 December 2020 by WilliamKyaw (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont want to upload photo or video but all are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT BASS

SRSXB12/B 16 December 2020 by Annette97867 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product last week and I love the bass. excellent quality and very portable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good quality sound, great clarity, last up to days

SRS-XB12/BC E 13 December 2020 by MG Clementi (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, bluetooth feature works really well too, sound is loud enough and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good buy

SRS-XB12 09 December 2020 by SRGW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound for the cost, plus reduced in sale. Would recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony!

SRS-XB12/GC E 08 December 2020 by ahlee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Handy, great bass sound. Now able to hear better when the source video is unclear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Speaker.

SRS-XB12 27 November 2020 by Jafe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace the speaker I had given my son. I have to say, it is brilliant. The music tones are really very good for it's size and power. Just need to save to get another to pair up and get it in stereo!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Experence Feed Back

SRS-XB12/LC E 23 November 2020 by Moorthy Anu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound was good. After 4 months of usage the speaker spolied

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little purchase!

SRS-XB12 21 November 2020 by GinaGee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking for a little speaker like this for a while and this has done the job perfectly! Light, cool-looking, lots of colours, love the handle that makes it easy to carry around, connects easily via bluetooth, and helps boost the sound when I play thing through my phone. Haven't tried the waterproof capability yet so cannot comment on that. Great value too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent little speaker

SRS-XB12 06 November 2020 by Ld52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very neat and small but really good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Problem with connection

SRS-XB12/LC E 27 October 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not pleased with the bluetooth connection that is unstable & unreliable. The sound quality is ok but the volume is too soft!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Unbelievable!

SRSXB12/B 21 October 2020 by HotPinkyBean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little speaker packs a punch. I've loved it since the day I got it. Shortly after I got it, I noticed it had a feature called "Add A Speaker." Unbelievable! I had no idea I could wirelessly connect two speakers to my smartphone simultaneously! I immediately ordered another one. It's like having portable surround sound! Amazing! Great product with amazing sound quality and my very own "portable wireless surround sound!"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great

SRS-XB12 12 October 2020 by Suzi B (United Kingdom)

I like the sound. It was easy to start up. It is portable and easy to carry about with my I pod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0