260

3.7 based on 260 customer reviews

118
58
24
19
41
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony CFDS70BLK

CFDS70BLK 19 June 2020 by Boomerang (USA)

I bought this from Amazon 4/19, received it 4/28. At first it worked great then 6 weeks later (6/15) it just would not turn on. Now, It's completely DEAD!!! I do not recommend. Window to return to Amazon closed on 5/31 and the packaging has been discarded.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

260 Customer Reviews

0

Poor design causes problems

CFDS70BLK 03 July 2021 by JRDEN (USA)

The boombox is solid black. Yet, the labeling for all function buttons/keys is also in black. This makes it impossible to see and read what the function is! And do not expect the "directions" to make much sense, either.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Ease of use

CFDS70BLK 29 May 2021 by tod4 (USA)

We purchased this a little over two weeks ago to replace a unit that was no longer working. It has been a pleasure to use so far. Sound is nice and ease of use has been appreciated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

CFDS70BLK 18 May 2021 by Ms Zaturn Love (USA)

Love all my Sony products. The sound on this CD/Cassette Boombox is phenomenal. I have enjoyed listening to my music from Beyonce to John Coltrane. The price, durability that I will see in the future and the ease of use works for me. I am so happy that I purchase this product and the fact that I have no Blue Tooth interference makes this an excellent buy for my home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio

CFD-S70/BC SP5 01 May 2021 by mfws0825 (Singapore)

I am happy to spotted it at Besk Denki store, all my cassette and CD is finally out from the storage box

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exactly what I wanted.

CFDS70BLK 22 April 2021 by CaptBW (USA)

Everything works as expected. I love my new Boombox.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Basic Boombox

CFD-S70 09 April 2021 by King Willie (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my wife to replace her very old Awia boombox which she used in our conservatory for cd and tape use. This unit is much smaller with only 1,7watt speakers so the performance and sound quality is much reduced in comparison, but the trend these days is for streaming music on Spotify etc. so there is no market for making a quality tape deck or CD player. However if you have old tapes and cd's it does the job reasonably well. We have a quality twin tape deck/amplifier/cdplayer in our main lounge if we need to listen with high fidelity sound. It does what it says on the tin to a quality that reflects the price of the unit in comparison an expensive sound system. The radio reception and tuning was perfect for our area with all presets working fine. 3 favourite channels was enough for my wife as she only listens to Classic FM and Radio Scotland. The unit is quite flimsy in construction so we do not expect the same durability as the old Awia, but nothing is but to last these days unless you purchase top quality more expensive equipment.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Works well

CFD-S70 01 April 2021 by Deb491 (United Kingdom)

Brought a few weeks ago for my dad. Radio tape and cd work great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great radio, cassette player and cd player

CFDS70BLK 21 March 2021 by Granny G (USA)

Got this for my 98 yr old mom. She loves it. She can get her favorite radio station, play old cassettes, and cds. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worked great for about 9 months

CFDS70BLK 18 March 2021 by Concerned12345 (USA)

It didn’t even last me a year. Just keeps saying no CD when there is one in there

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Only 2 of the 3 features work. Tape player doesn't

CFD-S70 14 March 2021 by Sony News (USA)

I've had this CFD-S01 player since May 20, 2009 purchased at Walmart. The only problem I've had is not being able to play tapes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works a treat

CFD-S70 14 March 2021 by PepMiester (United Kingdom)

Brought this last month for something to listen to on the patio in the warmer weather. Radio picks up a treat, CD & cassettes, which I brought it for sounds great with Bass Boost on even without Dolby. Works on 6 C cell batteries out doors which can be expensive, but I have a lot of Ni-MH AA batteries with spacers to fit C Cell which works fine savig money when weather permitting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Radio is good

CFD-S70 11 March 2021 by Muffin 33 (United Kingdom)

Unfortunately, my particular purchase was one of the ones with a fault, to do with cd playback, so unable to leave a good review.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

nice boombox

CFDS70BLK 10 March 2021 by knucklesmalone (USA)

Bought this for the tuner - the size and I like Sony. Simple - works as expected. Nice sound for the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony ( 'nuff said)

CFDS70BLK 07 March 2021 by Miss Trixie (USA)

Excellent quality. I absolutely love the sleep feature!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

C d problem

CFD-S70 02 March 2021 by Sluic (USA)

C d player packed up after 2 years every time of putting disc in and displayed as no disc

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0