E 16-55MM F2.8 G

Product Reviews

19

4.8 based on 19 customer reviews

16
3
0
0
0
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

19 Customer Reviews

0

Heavy but for the good and lacks OSS for some

SEL1655G 27 April 2022 by Perfect image guy (United Kingdom)

I have used many Sony lens and this one has the most build of lens elements in the design. Having used cameras for over fifty years you know when a product gives good quality images without fudging them as I say. I am one of the old school photographers where the photo you took had to be spot on so maybe twenty photos one would be the right one this was on film and that cost money where as now if I take fifty shots it does not matter . So I have only had the lens for a few hours but in that time got the feel of the weight and operation of the lens, while normally within the first hour I would have taken around thirty photos this exercise was only 20 over the twenty shots my main goal is perfection of all the colours and in focus sharpness must be spot on. I check on what colours I am photographing against the actual subjects while they are still there to see. So the lens operates as I would expect it smooth and precise when I am out and about sometime there is no second chance especially with wild life and focus is the essence. If I am photographing moving object I like to be in control while bust control is there on my Sony camera there is something special about taken how many images and the art of doing it. So onto OSS while it's in my title I was brought up to use a camera to eliminate camera shake and can say this lens on my Sony body without built in stabilising is as it should be perfect. A word on the weight it does help to overcome OSS So overall without OSS which some photographers would like it loses a star

0

0

0

Fast!

SEL1655G 21 January 2022 by why is this so important (USA)

Fast lens. A bit bulky, but a fast lens usually is, by design. Very smooth and quiet. A bit pricey, but worth the cost.

0

0

0

Fantastic optics

SEL1655G 14 July 2021 by cjmphotography88 (United Kingdom)

Got this lens for my brand new a6600 and it is the perfect lens for it, super fast and tac sharp, really compact and light, looking forward to getting out and using it other than indoors.

0

0

0

Great

SEL1655G 13 February 2021 by Elfmyra (United Kingdom)

It is amazing. I loved it quality so good even low light

0

0

0

amazing every day lens - very sharp and fast

SEL1655G 07 February 2021 by handyandyNC (USA)

I bought this about 2 months ago and it is the go to lens for the a6600. It does an amazing job, very fast, great bokeh.

2

1

0

Great all-rounder

SEL1655G 25 January 2021 by cj3t (United Kingdom)

So far so good, nice sharpness in most conditions, really appreciate the constant f2.8 aperture. The starburst effect at high f stop is fantastic and the bokeh is nice and smooth. The lens is a little bulkier than I'd like given it's a 16-55mm (doesnt fit in my camera case for my previous 16-70mm F4) but all in all very pleased with it.

0

1

0

The best Lens versatile

SEL1655G 07 January 2021  (USA)

I reviewed several lenses from Sony and Tamron but nothing comes close to this 17-55 mm lens. It doesn't great for overall any type of shooting. Whether its landscape, portraits or close ups.

0

1

0

Excellent but expensive

SEL1655G 29 August 2020 by mgster (United Kingdom)

My copy of this lens is very sharp throughout the focal range, even in the corners. Low light performance is also decent for a zoom lens. CA is well managed. Fairly small, lightweight and build quality is excellent. The focal range is good and covers the most commonly used lengths. However at £1075 it is very expensive, and for this price I would also have expected built-in OSS. Despite this, I like the lens very much and am glad I bought it.

5

1

0

Let me just tell you....

SEL1655G 21 August 2020 by Andy97 (USA)

So I paired this thing with my a6100... and even though this doesn't have OSS, its a monster when shooting stills. I have carried this thing up and down the Tetons climbing, and it works flawlessly.

2

2

0

My favorite lens for my Sony a6400

SEL1655G 18 August 2020  (USA)

Versatile and very sharp lens, even at 2.8 aperture. This is my go to lens. It's almost perfect. The only thing I wish is that it has OSS

2

3

0

Just Like My Old Nikon But At Half The Price

SEL1655G 05 August 2020 by Esoteric (USA)

I bought it as an XMAS gift to myself. I had an almost identical spec'd Nikon 16/55F2.8 with LINEAR MOTOR for my D90. It was huge and heavy. It had a relatively fast lens, and a focal length range for 95% of photos I took. The Sony is smaller, lighter, and has a linear motor. Linear motors focus instantly and silently. If shooting candid shots, you will not miss focus. Everyone rants at the cost of the Sony. Well the Nikon was $2500, 16 years ago! Even at street prices, the Sony came out cheaper.

3

3

0

Best APSC lens

SEL1655G 27 June 2020  (United Kingdom)

Bought this Lens in March for the A6600 but it ended up as my everyday lens on my A7R4, quality is superb for an APSC crop on this camera and slightly better 4K in this mode

3

3

0

Excellent

SEL1655G 01 June 2020 by jo bloggs (United Kingdom)

Does what it says on the box, extremely well, real field depth.

4

4

0

Perfect travel lens!

SEL1655G 29 February 2020 by NomadingNick (USA)

I used to travel with the Sigma Trio for Sony APS-C: 16mm, 30mm, 56mm F/1.4 and the quality was amazing. However, being the heavy traveler that I am (up to 6 continents this year, yes, I said continents, not countries!) I need something more travel friendly. Switching between 3 primes was just soooo annoying. This 16-55mm G lens gives me just as good as image quality and now the extra convenience. Also for travel, I found myself shooting a lot of environmental portraits at F/2.8 - F/5.6. For example if the background is too blurred (i.e. Eiffel Tower or the Egyptian pyramids) then it doesn't show the beautiful scenery. Therefore I am not missing out much on the Sigma's F/1.4 at all. Now all I need is for Sony to make a APSC super wide angle zoom version 2 (update the Sony E 10-18mm f/4 to a GM or G series!)

8

3

0

Stunning crystal clear sharp corner 2 corner photo

SEL1655G 26 January 2020 by macprudence1 (USA)

Yes its expensive....but worth every penny. If you own the Sigma 16mm this lens is about the same weight and length. It has amazing sharpness, color, clarity, contrast...I can go on and on. I'm very happy with my purchase and you will be too.

4

4

0

Great pricey lens

SEL1655G//C SYX 18 January 2020 by Bryan97 (Singapore)

Been using the lens for a couple of months now, build and image quality is outstanding (with a6300 body). This is the lens to get if you’re intending to stay in the Sony apsc system as an overall excellent (and small-ish) all-in-one lens that covers most of the common focal lengths you need from landscape to short-telephoto. Only gripe is it’s super pricey, look for it on sale or at a 3rd party seller if it’s cheaper!

1

0

0

A Spectacular Lens

SEL1655G 11 January 2020 by ceev (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace my three Sigma f1.4 primes and apart from the loss of two stops of exposure have not been disappointed. The lens has exceptional sharpness and contrast at all apertures and focal lengths and easily matches or exceeds the Sigma primes. Build quality and handling are excellent.

4

6

0

Lives up to its reputation

SEL1655G 02 January 2020 by andymw (United Kingdom)

My wife bought me this for Christmas and I've been playing with it since. This is definitely the best lense I have for my a6500. Very sharp at full aperture and easy to use. I love the constant f2.8. This will go with me everywhere. It'll probably not be my video lense of choice as my 24mm f1.8 Zeiss prime works better on the gimbal and is also a beautiful lense.

4

5

0

So far, so good!

SEL1655G 17 November 2019 by Txrtrider (USA)

Sold my 16-70 Zeiss f4. Zoom on this lens is much smoother and I like the f2.8.

4

5