FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

95

4.0 based on 95 customer reviews

40
28
17
5
5
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA)

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

4

0

95 Customer Reviews

0

Great portrait lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 06 May 2022 by Milo Van (Singapore)

Great budget portrait lens with a fast aperture for nice bokehs.

0

0

0

Nice lens for general photography

SEL50F18F 06 April 2022 by Lalitjee (United Kingdom)

good build quality at a reasonable price.Fast focus lens

0

0

0

Light and great

SEL50F18F//CSYX 12 March 2022 by Canon switcher (Singapore)

I bought this lens after reading some very informative reviews. I like the small size, light weight n sharpness at a great price.

0

0

0

The 50mm

SEL50F18F 31 December 2021 by PhilipProcter (United Kingdom)

Cheap and rock solid 50mm, does everything a 50 should, results are decent , this lens is a workhorse and lightweight enough to just chuck in the bag just incase

0

0

0

A suitable lens for Street Photography

SEL50F18F 30 December 2021 by reynolds_desi (United Kingdom)

This length is very light bright and sharp. I use it coupled with my Sony A7C, obtaining an extremely versatile and portable kit. The only defect is related to the presence of the stepper motor, that makes the autofocus quite noisy and a bit slow. Despite this, the lens has a great quality over price ratio.

2

0

0

Good lens!

SEL50F18F 16 October 2021 by Coxie37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the A7iii body as a basic lens, but honestly hardly used it as I tend to use my 24-105mm lens mostly. However the quality etc is excellent.

0

0

0

Hunts like crazy

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Gary1978 (United Kingdom)

I shot with Nikon for about 15 years before I went with Sony. When I purchased my first Nikkor 50mm 1.8, it was like finding photography again. Sadly, when I purchased the Sony 50mm 1.8, it was a terrible let down. This lens spends most of the time hunting for focus. Even in brightly lit conditions and stopped wide open at f1.8, it still struggles unless there is obvious contrast. Lower the light and shut the aperture down and you're in for a nightmare photo shoot. I have no idea why this lens is so bad as I've heard the 55mm 1.8 is fine. Firmware? Hardware? Who knows. It's just a poor lens. Nikon's 50mm1.8D can be sourced for about £80 new and it is blindingly fast. Sony's AF system on my A7mk3 is much faster than the Nikon D750 I had so it's defo a lens issue.

3

0

0

Nifty inexpensive standard lens, bang on the money

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Paul13Walnut5 (United Kingdom)

One of the first lenses you should buy for A7 series, or if learning about depth of field and perspective. A sharp, compact inexpensive lens with solid if not class leading IQ (although there are lenses costing far more that don't perform any better) these got a bad rep for sluggish focus in earlier incarnations, I've found that with the camera and lens firmware up to date it's about where I would expect, rear button AF and considered choice of focus mode for your subject will also help. If you have a very high resolution camera, such as the R series, A9 or A1 you may want to look at a lens which can more closely match your sensors capabilities, although, for the money, this is pretty decent.

3

0

0

Average prime

SEL50F18F 07 September 2021 by No nicknsme (United Kingdom)

Cheap entry level prime. OK. But i need more, so have exchanged for the 55mm Zeiss lens. Much more expensive ! I suppose it depends on one's budget.

0

0

0

Value for Money

SEL50F18F 19 August 2021 by Photodojo (United Kingdom)

A a native Sony lens, for the price new, it performs very well when compared to more expensive others. Auto focus is more than adequate for day to day usage.

0

0

0

Awesone lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 July 2021 by Nidhi (Singapore)

Excellent product.Really nice product from sony....

0

0

0

Less than Stellar Features

SEL50F18F 13 July 2021 by Shomari (USA)

The Sony f/ 1.8 isn’t very sharp and hunts for focus on low light. I should have spent my money elsewhere. I plan on selling the lens probably at a loss.

0

0

0

Great Lens, Okay Autofocus

SEL50F18F 29 May 2021 by NYCStephen (USA)

This is the first lens I bought for my first full frame camera after switching from Nikon and it hasn’t disappointed me too much yet. It has great image quality, the bokeh is pretty nice of this lens, and it’s lightweight and affordable. The only thing I don’t like on this lens is that I wish the autofocus was in line with the 35mm and 85mm f/1.8. It is very loud in single autofocus and noisy in continuous focus. The autofocus is also not 100% accurate and it’s pretty clunky and slow. I take portraits, so it’s fine for now. I’d recommend for anyone starting out over the 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens.

0

0

0

Ease of use and a lightweight lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 May 2021 by andy88 (Singapore)

I needed this lens for some shoot projects and it did not disappoint except sometimes ist does take a few more seconds to find the focus point. Overall, the image quality is on par with other Sony lenses.

0

0

0

Terrible chromatic fringing

SEL50F18F 18 April 2021 by ad91 (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A7R IV and was recommended this lens to go with it. Wide open, this lens is almost unusable because of the terrible green fringing. I'm still seeing fringing even at 5.6...I wish they would have recommended a different lens.

0

0

0

Great glass but noisy and slow AF motor

SEL50F18F//CSYX 17 April 2021 by Miradj (Singapore)

I bought this together with an A7Riii. Works really great, peak sharpness at F/4 and enjoy taking portraits with it. I just find that the AF is very slow and the motor is loud.

0

0

0

junk

SEL50F18F 08 February 2021 by bill999 (USA)

Makes terrible video. Does not focus well. Focus is too slow for video. Maybe okay for photos, but not video. Get a different lens. The Sony mirrorless cameras deserve better than this.

0

4

0

It is sharp and fast

SEL50F18F 09 January 2021 by Partick Express (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a month and use it for street photography and some close ups at high aperture. It has nice bokeh, it focuses fast and it is perfectly fine.

0

0

0

Great value

SEL50F18F 18 November 2020 by Chris Bucks (United Kingdom)

For the price, a good buy. There are better options out there but not at this price.

0

0

0

Unhappy

SEL50F18F 14 June 2020 by mhunt94 (USA)

I bought this about 3 1/2 months ago and the F stop showed up with dash lines and made the picture blurry. I'm not happy with this. Something so new should not look blurry.

1

5

0

Fabulous little lens

SEL50F18F 08 June 2020 by Cameramark (United Kingdom)

I had this a few weeks now and it's well made, good value for the price and excellent in lower light, pretty much a bag essential!

0

0

0

Great Affordable Lense

SEL50F18F 07 May 2020 by Carol195 (USA)

Happy with the quality of the pictures. Sadly, 3 months into using, the lense has developed a "tik", where after focus, it jumps around. So far, unable to get the issue taken care of through original seller or Sony, and since Sony Warranty Claims are shut down, hoping I can get it resolved/repaired/replaced soon as it is entirely annoying. Even so, one of my favorite lenses.

1

0

0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

4

0

0

Lovely Lens for the price!

SEL50F18F 18 February 2020  (USA)

I just bought this lens and it is awesome! The price I paid is well worth it!

0

0

0

Nice bokeh in a small lens (and affordable)

SEL50F18F 12 February 2020 by jojim (United Kingdom)

Very handy little lens to have at hand. I use it for street photography and portraits all the time, the bokeh is good enough unless you are a professional. You need to get closer to the subject than with an 85mm but this works for me. Small lens to carry around, which means is pretty much always with me, even if the focal range is covered by some other more expensive lenses. And that's one of the best things about this lens, the price is fantastic, I bought mine for £130 on a quick sale on Amazon and couldn't be happier. For that price is a steal. Best price per value I've seen on Sony lenses.

0

0

0

An excellent value lens

SEL50F18F 08 February 2020 by scuddriver (United Kingdom)

This was on offer at Amazon, and is a great little lens for the price. To improve on it you would need to spend 4 times the cost. It is very light and compact, and I found the autofocus speed to be quite acceptable.

0

0

0

Takes great portraits on my Sony A7ii.

SEL50F18F 30 January 2020 by SuperDave54 (USA)

Good fast focus. Great lense for portraits and all around use.

0

0

0

Good lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 18 January 2020 by Naefle (Singapore)

Good lens but focusing abit slow. Would love to see a firmware update for this.

0

0

0

Brilliant Quality

SEL50F18F 19 December 2019 by DC77 (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame camera having switched from a Canon Apsc camera. I was a little concerned how I was going to cope with the change in system however so far things have been smooth running. The camera is amazingly light and the eye focus, animal and human is amazing. It is an expensive camera however well worth it and I’m looking to develop my photography skills with this.

0

0

0

Love this Lens

SEL50F18F 02 December 2019 by Spf1675 (USA)

I bought this in early November along with my Sony A7iii and could not be more pleased. Great performance in a very affordable prime lens.

0

0

0

Great optical perfomance across the aperture range

SEL50F18F 30 October 2019 by AmiranB (United Kingdom)

Great to see such a great perfomance of not very expensive lens. Thank s

0

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 15 October 2019 by aggiee (United Kingdom)

I bought it few months ago and I'm fairly happy with this lens. It is light and does have sufficient max aperture. However it is not that sharp as my previous nifty fifty from Nikon. I would say you get what you pay for and if you are able to accept that you will be happy.

0

0

0

Slow focus

SEL50F18F 28 August 2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

it have the slower focus i ever used ,and on dark is more slower :)

0

1

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL50F18F 23 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I use this lens primarily for portraits and the fact that it can open up to f1.8 is fantastic. I love the bokeh it gives and the rich vibrant colours as well. The images I have are all pin sharp. The autofocus works well and am now looking forward to trying it with my new A7iii. I would certainly recommend this lens. Great value and great pictures.

5

0

0

Good price but not the best

SEL50F18F//CSYX 21 July 2019 by johnkxq (Singapore)

I bought this last month and took it on my trip to Italy. The price was decent and the images are sharp however the autofocus is sometimes slow. While trying to find focus (even in well lit environments) it is quite slow, sometimes even taking about 5 seconds to focus

0

0

0

Great for Beginner and casual

SEL50F18F 17 July 2019 by faizan (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago for casual photography, which i was not sure my iphone was giving me the results, with variety i need. This is a great lens although the i will also be buying a 28mm FE F2.

1

0

0

Poor focusing

SEL50F18F 07 July 2019 by Compton (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my A7. But the focusing speed is abit of a let down.

0

0

0

Excellent for the price!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by michalbajza (USA)

Bought it a month ago. Very sharp at the center even at f1.8. Great value for the price but the AF is a little slow sometimes and hunts in low light.

1

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL50F18F 06 July 2019 by Ljcolina (USA)

This is an excellent lens, light, bright, and is perfect for any occasion

3

0

0

Sony-FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F 29 June 2019 by ALeebar11 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens had it about two weeks, And it is never of my camera

0

0

0

Great Small Lens

SEL50F18F 18 June 2019 by Turpin (United Kingdom)

Great quality lens as you would expect from Sony, well made. What more can you say.

0

0

0

Light and small

SEL50F18F//CSYX 11 June 2019 by Azrahmd (Singapore)

Light and small but yet great for potrait lens. Good for travelling and great for beginners

2

0

0

Great value sharp prime lens but slow focus

SEL50F18F 04 June 2019 by Benzas (United Kingdom)

I got this along with a new a7iii. It takes fantastically sharp bright photos with good bokeh, especially for the cost. My one negative is it's quite slow to focus and has to hunt a bit. I thought this was just a feature of the camera until I got a 24-70 too but that focuses instantly and silently. Still, great value and a good focal length day to day and nice and compact.

1

0

0

Not actually a 50mm - 75mm? Very unclear.

SEL50F18F 13 May 2019 by Annon09 (United Kingdom)

Sent this back because despite doing endless research and this lens being specially for crop sensor cameras such as the A6000 or A6300 - this is not a 50mm lens as advertised! It still crops into a 75mm. Not impressed! I assumed that if I bought a lens that was made for the crop sensor camera's, that the lens wouldn't crop in. Clearly that's not the case! Stupid system!

0

81

0

Excellent optics, slow AF!

SEL50F18F 11 May 2019 by snowy151 (United Kingdom)

This must be about the cheapest "native" Sony-mount lens for full-frame, so I wasn't expecting Leica-quality. However the optics are excellent and the build-quality is a notch above most manufacturers' "nifty-fifty" lenses. The only real downside is the AF which is slow but it's accurate and not particularly noisy. For the price I don't think anyone could complain.

1

0

0

Sony FE 50mm F1.8 Review

SEL50F18F//CSYX 07 May 2019 by Salty Egg (Singapore)

Sharpness and colour rendition is quite good for the price. Bokeh produced are surprisingly smooth and beautiful. Quite unique in my opinion. Distortion is my biggest issue with this lens. Compared to other brands' 50mm 1.8, the performance of this lens is a bit disappointing because of the distortion.

0

0

0

Good quality for lower price

SEL50F18F 02 May 2019 by Andre L (United Kingdom)

Best quality for Manual Focus setting, autofocus working too, but only in best light, for allday, autofocus must be off.

0

0

0

average

SEL50F18F 28 April 2019 by manage (United Kingdom)

Purchased a couple of months ago. Optically it is okay, but focussing is slow and hit and miss.

0

1

0

What do you want a title for? No title.

SEL50F18F 22 April 2019 by None again (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as a portrait lens for my 6500 a job it does very well. Good value for money.

0

0

0

Good value for the price!

SEL50F18F 19 April 2019 by Pedroteixeira (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple months ago and i happy with it because I'm using it for product pictures with static scenes. The only complaint i have is the focus delay.. Its just to much to take picures like in a weeding or for people that need a rapid response on their photo. Despite this is a quite sharp lens and overall I'm happy with this 18F50. I'm using it with v3.0 firmware and in a Sony a7ii.

2

0

0

Budget price with good image quality

SEL50F18F//CSYX 11 April 2019  (Singapore)

It is really a good budget lens for starter without compromising the image quality and focusing.

0

0

0

Protrait pics are awesome

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 March 2019 by Ooks (Singapore)

As i used it for taking pics of my family . Ghe pics are really sharp and awesome

0

0

0

Light and compact

SEL50F18F//CSYX 24 March 2019 by Ninja Scroll (Singapore)

Bought this a few weeks ago and just tried it yesterday. The lens is pretty sharp from F4 onwards with very good contrast. The lens is quite light because it is mainly made of plastic. Having said that, there are other 50 mm F1.8 lens that are cheaper than the Sony. I should know because I also own Canon system. I bought the Sony instead of the Canon because some technical reviews show it is sharper than the Canon. Overall I am happy with the lens.

0

0

0

Amazing Bokeh, good autofocus

SEL50F18F 19 March 2019 by msn815 (USA)

I bought this camera for my Sony aps-c camera. This is my first purchase of any lens. I am really impressed by the picture quality. And the best thing I liked is the Bokeh that this lens can produce.Price is a little high as compared to Canon 50mm lens.In my opinion, the size of the lens is a little big for a 50mm lens.

0

0

0

Better than expected and great value for money

SEL50F18F 10 March 2019 by Stephen67 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a budget option for use indoors without a flash. The sharpness is good, though it does hunt slightly more than other lenses and is quite noisy. I don't do clogging or video work so the noise and slight delay in focus does not bother me but something to bear in mind for others. Some reviews I read delayed my decision to get this lens. I think they undersell how good this lens is for price point. I don't regret buying it. Decent bokeh as well

0

0

0

Nice little back up lens

SEL50F18F 11 February 2019 by DC714 (USA)

Even though I am not the biggest fan of prime lenses, I enjoy shooting at this focal length very much. I got it on sale and it's a nice little back up to my 24-70 in case anything were to happen to that lens. I've taken this lens out for a few shoots around my town and it was a pleasure to shoot with.

0

0

0

Good all around lens

SEL50F18F 09 February 2019 by Blazers32 (USA)

So much fun and great in low light. You save a lot over getting the 1.4 which may be what you want if your a pro but everyone should have a fifty regardless of where you are at in your photo journey.

0

0

0

Fine backup, use 75mm cropped on FFnA7III

SEL50F18F 06 February 2019 by vanRhine (United Kingdom)

As backup travel lens, also used for portraits while waiting for my G-Master 85mm F/1.4 Great results, lightweight, sharp.

1

0

0

Fantastic lens, even better at the price!

SEL50F18F 04 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

As a professional photographer using a mixture of Canon and Sony equipment I was a bit sceptical of such a cheap lens, but I thought I had nothing to lose, and I have not being disappointed. Yes the auto focus could be quieter and quicker, but I've only been caught out a handful of times in 6 months, yes there is a bit of CA when a subject is heavily backlit but nothing that Lightroom cannot sort with a single click. I have this lens on the camera almost constantly when I'm out and about with the family, but also find it super light and easy to use when producing commercial video work.

3

0

0

Great lens for a great price

SEL50F18F 11 January 2019 by narilw (USA)

Bought in November and keep using it as it is so light and produces great photos! A must have for any Sony a7 owner.

0

1