615

4.2 based on 615 customer reviews

338
176
45
26
30
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02 October 2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29 September 2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

615 Customer Reviews

0

Nice and compact

DSC-W830 14 October 2021 by Mazzman (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a proposed holiday, which didn't happen. Some nice features, easy to use. A little disappointed on the auto focus though, and resolution doesn't seem to be that much better than my old Samsung Galaxy 2017 J3! Expected better with a camera that had a Zeiss lens! Also, On/Off and picture take buttons are difficult to depress.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A small unit producing good photographs

DSC-W830 13 October 2021 by James 10 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera pre Covid as a spare pocket unit. It has many features and produces good quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average

DSC-W830 13 October 2021 by Contestant 456 (United Kingdom)

Not impressed, very average all over performance and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

nice but ackward shoot button

DSC-W830 18 September 2021 by marped5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

overall the buy is ok, but only use it once so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent small product

DSC-W830 04 September 2021 by twdsamy (United Kingdom)

Not the cheapest on the market, but for the price the dfinition is stunning

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Impressive

DSC-W830 18 August 2021 by John Todd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my wife who prefers a simple camera. The functions built in are so good that I slip it in my pocket and use where I would not normally take my bulky DSLR. The quality is very good and it IS simple. An excellent choice and very good quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

DSCW830 17 August 2021 by averagejoe2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am just starting to use this camera, and it is working great i have not tried to many features yet, .but over time i will get to them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cannot download pictures

DSCW830 22 July 2021 by Evanwood5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Right now, I cannot download any pictures to my computer. I want to print a picture, but I cannot do that with this camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Quality

DSCW830 18 July 2021 by JayvinDavonte (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 months ago and i;m already loving it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not downloading pictures to my computer

DSCW830 23 May 2021 by SunnyK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this months ago and went through all the info I could find on Sony web site to download pictures to my computer. It just won't load. My computer is brand new. There is not simple "walk through" instructions to troubleshoot the issue.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Disappointed

DSC-W830 18 May 2021 by Pads (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set camera up but lens kept going in and out so returned it to vendor for a refund.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

good value

DSC-W830 21 April 2021 by wasting my time (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good value for money good value for money repeatig myself to fill space

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

It can be very complex or easy. made for all kind.

DSC-W830 08 April 2021 by ferna71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the pictures dont seem very good, viewing them by the camera but, after, at the pc are of excelent quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good value at price

DSC-W830 07 April 2021 by melypoo (United Kingdom)

initial views good build quality reputable brand yes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-W830 05 April 2021 by Ze83 (United Kingdom)

Only brought it today loved using it straight away very easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Lovely little camera

DSC-W830 29 March 2021 by Lynne2021 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased mainly for use on holiday, so not had much chance to test it out yet, but initial impressions favourable. It's very light & compact. Fits in my old case (previous non-Sony camera died) & is intuitive to use in auto mode. Picture quality so good I can obtain 'close-up' shots by magnifying the image, which is helpful as it saves having to use the optical zoom feature or get close to the subject. I'm sure more sophisticated users would find even more advantages, but for me it works perfectly as a 'point & click' camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT FUTURES

DSC-W830 17 March 2021 by TUNCGEDIZ (United Kingdom)

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE PRODUCT EASY TO USE ELEGANT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact digital camera

DSC-W830 13 March 2021 by Rhino 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a similar older camera and this is just as good, the camera is slightly more compact but that makes it more portable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a pain

DSCW830 25 January 2021 by bob7thousandand 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 & 4 years ago. It was registered on my old computer. I don't have a proof of purchase from that time so please excuse me from that. I am just trying to down load some photos.

0

0

0

Not 20 Megapixel Images

DSC-W830 24 January 2021 by mfhalb (USA)

Over the course of four years I've been through two of these. Oddly, the first one lasted much longer before succumbing to the Utah dust. Although image quality never equaled my partner's iPhone, My Little Sony was smaller and cheaper. When the first one gave out research disclosed it was STILL the best choice for the money. But I was disappointed when it pooped out after only six months. Same issue: the lens had increasing problems while focusing and retracting (at shutdown) and eventually just stopped. The zoom is amazing and the video is pretty good too. But given the increased susceptibility to dust of the newer model, I can't recommend it, unless, of course, you're somewhere where there's no dust. Two stars for good intentions.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic - Once I got to grips with it

DSC-W830 02 January 2021 by locolady (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First I need to say that I have never had a camera before - I am 60. It has taken months for me to 'get-to-grips' with the camera simply because of my perception of the lack of 'use' information (i.e. manual). and my own ignorance, so experimenting has been the order of the day. Now I have even the basics to work I have to say this camera is a little gem! It is light weight, easy to use and the battery lasts really well - but I do have to say here that in the early weeks I did not use the camera a lot. The more I get to know this camera - the more I like it. As a complete novice I love the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great!

DSC-W830 12 December 2020  (USA)

Pretty Good the photo is 750p l wanted 1080p but it is still ok!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Digital Camera

DSC-W830 05 December 2020 by EasterRoad1980 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent purchase which I am extremely pleased with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camera

DSC-W830 27 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife wanted a good camera for trips out that could fit easily into a handbag or pocket without the need for a separate "piece of luggage". She had used an earlier version of this model that worked well for years and so decided to purchase again. So far seems to fit the bill.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good starter camera

DSC-W830 27 September 2020 by Cfc 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this camera brought by my wife and its replacement for my old broken one a good starter ca8

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0