29

4.2 based on 29 customer reviews

16
7
2
3
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Must have to complete the experience

SA-Z9R 06 September 2018 by bbnick32 (USA)

Love love love these things. I paid a pretty penny for the sound bar itself and it is a massive upgrade from my 3 year old Sony sound bar, but adding these babies really brought it all together. I didn’t realize how much I missed the old school experience of multi positioned surround sound speaker setup but it’s real and I am extremely excited for all future listening experiences with the whole set up now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low quality sound

SA-Z9R 09 April 2019 by kwab33 (USA)

Recently purchased this package along with the Z9F soundbar. Even though I am quite pleased with the compactness of the speakers, the sound lacks ALOT. Even with going through the soundbar to up the volume of the rear speakers they are barely audible unless you stand right on top of them. I have had great experience with Sony in the past which is what led me to purchase this set. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

30 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant!

SA-Z9R 19 October 2019 by Smorty (United Kingdom)

Bought these to compliment my HT-ZF9 soundbar. I'm so pleased I did. Easy to setup and the sound is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Essential for z9f

SA-Z9R 21 September 2019 by Aakar (USA)

While a bit overpriced, they do add a whole new sound experience, if you have z9F this is a must have add on. You will forget what you paid in a few moths anyway.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Total surround is good.

SAZ9R 08 September 2019 by Prplfav1970 (USA)

They don’t push sound out intense like some surround systems. These just accent the sound bar sound enough to make is surround you. There are many features that accompany the sound bar, and rear speaker setup. The ability to adjust the rear speaker volume is nice, as well as the preset ambiance sound adjustments. I like the fact that I can hear my HD movies with the Dolby Atmos, because it kind of envelopes you in sound, and you end up hearing more details. Nice. Playing video games in the video game setting is good for hearing environment sounds, but on some games I use the music setting because the game has good soundtrack music. I’m pleased over all. If you get these make your you have current firmware installed on the sound bar, and the rear speakers may need updating wireless. I don’t believe mine did though. If the price were lower, or if they just came in a total package with the sound bar they might seem more economical. Also, the install would be a lot better if Sony broke down and included a wall mounting bracket, or even just the 2 wall screws required. I had to search for the right screws based on the measurements provided in the instructions, not impossible but inconvenient. Why should I have to take a trip to the hardware store, when all I want is to install upon receipt? I’m happy now though. So overall it was a good purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ours may have had a technical problem

SA-Z9R 31 August 2019 by Cinders54 (United Kingdom)

We are thrilled with our Sony soundbar, but the additional speakers we purchased did not come close to meeting expectations. There may have been an issue with them, and we were able to return them without any hassle.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little speakers

SA-Z9R 30 August 2019 by Reecicles (United Kingdom)

Brought HT-ZF9 sounds bar and these speakers hook up wirelessly to make the sound system 5.1. Had them now for 3 weeks and what a difference it has made to our viewing of Netflix's, films and just normal TV. Very happy with my purchase but dont come cheap, then again quality dont come cheap.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

It’s true.. must get with the Htz9f

SA-Z9R 21 August 2019 by dpop (USA)

I really didn’t want to spend the money for rears to the Htz9f but I ended up doing it just from all the reviews.. I thought to myself... can it really make that big of a difference? It’s like night and day adding the rears.. I recommend turning them all the way up in the menus and from the remote setting them at 8. It was a pain trying to find speaker stands that will hide the power cable bc they need to be thick enough to feed the power plug through. But seriously I went from I’m just blowing money on these to having a much more immersive sound experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound!

SAZ9R 15 August 2019 by SonnyVerz (USA)

These two rear speakers are a replacement of the first pair I puchased from BestBuy. After about 4 months of use with great surround sound quality, they just stopped working. A Sony Technician diagnosed it using a remote access and couldn't find the problem. It is paired with my Sony Sound Bar and Sony 65-inch UHD TV. Sony representative on the phone was very apologetic and assisted me in shipping and repair. However, when the repair department couldn't find the problem, they escalated the issue back to Sony's upper management and they sent me a new pair! They work pretty awesome and I hope I won't get the same problem in the future. It's just probably one of those bad glitches in electronics but everything else is AWESOME!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound is great

SA-Z9R 24 July 2019 by Ant the man (United Kingdom)

Brought these too make my set up complete and glad I did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Love it!

SAZ9R 21 July 2019 by Bartlch2 (USA)

I bought this a month ago and am so happy I did! Very easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Sound

SAZ9R 20 July 2019 by Patsy2 (USA)

We bought this about a month ago and is enjoying the sound. These rear speakers has enhanced our Sony sound bar. These speakers delivers excellent sound in our open concept living/kitchen area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Powerful little speakers

SA-Z9R 14 July 2019 by Lowhillwalker (United Kingdom)

I love the extra dimension these speakers add to my soundbar. I highly recommend them to give a full, wraparound experience when watching movies or listening to music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sounds great!

SA-Z9R//M SP1 02 July 2019 by karthiks (Singapore)

Its a brilliant add-on to HT-Z9F, best for surround 5.1 movies. However they can not be used as standalone speakers and are priced a bit higher.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compliment to the Sony HT-Z9F Soundbar

SA-Z9R//M SP1 10 June 2019  (Singapore)

Bought it 2 weeks ago and have been testing it quite extensively. It a must if you've the Sony HT-Z9F Soundbar as it will give you a surround experience. No regret getting it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Low quality sound

SA-Z9R 09 April 2019 by kwab33 (USA)

Recently purchased this package along with the Z9F soundbar. Even though I am quite pleased with the compactness of the speakers, the sound lacks ALOT. Even with going through the soundbar to up the volume of the rear speakers they are barely audible unless you stand right on top of them. I have had great experience with Sony in the past which is what led me to purchase this set. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great surround sound

SAZ9R 09 April 2019 by purplecsharp (USA)

This completes my surround sound system with the Sony Soundbar and subwoofer! Amazing...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Easy to set up, compliments the HT-Z9F

SA-Z9R//M SP1 01 April 2019 by leekeesam (Singapore)

The wireless rear speaker does the job in completing the set with the soundbar HT-Z9F. Setting it up is effortless, connecting instantly with the soundbar. The sound quality is good, complimenting but not competing with the soundbar. I am glad I purchased it as it makes the surround sound experience much better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Rear Speakers not performing to expectations

SA-Z9R//M SP1 21 March 2019 by M Tan (Singapore)

I bought the rear wireless speakers a couple of weeks ago.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sound great, with excellent build quality

SA-Z9R 20 March 2019 by Robren 07 (United Kingdom)

I bought these optional rear speakers to go with the Sony HT-ZF9 Soundbar and I was not disappointed, these rear speakers lift the sound experience to the next level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great but bit overpriced

SA-Z9R 10 March 2019 by Everton123 (United Kingdom)

I bought these to compliment my Sony soundbar. They are neat, smaller than thought and easy to use. Need power source to each one. They do overall give good sound with soundbar and subwoofer however price wise bit expensive I feel. I kept them as a luxury gift to myself.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

3.1 Soundbar

SAZ9R 18 February 2019 by Pony 36 (USA)

Awesome sound bar!! Great accessory for my new 900F Tv. Great sound and base!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Last update ruined TV

SAZ9R 26 January 2019 by Dharper38 (USA)

I bought this TV at Christmas time one week ago there was a new update.I let the TV update and now cannot change the channel up or down without it losing memory of what channel it is on. The channel resets back to one or 135 and you have to start over to scan channels with the up-and-down button. As far as I am concerned now my TV is useless and so is the Sony support . On the community post there are several people having the same problem and still no solution from Sony

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

11

0

Decent sound but very expensive

SA-Z9R//M SP1 20 November 2018 by Limbeebee (Singapore)

Happened to buy it 2-3 weeks ago and now there is this Sony Days sales going on. I’m sad because the price dropped significantly after I bought it. The sound is decent. I would recommend it to z9f users if u can get it as a good price as it completes the surround effect and adds details to the sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent addition to Soundbar

SA-Z9R 17 November 2018  (United Kingdom)

Enable me to listen to Audio in full 3.1 surround sound

3

2

0

Fills the need

SAZ9R 16 November 2018 by DavidCS (USA)

Speakers sound real good but I have issues with them not working correctly with the Sony soundbar (HT-z9R). Cannot control rear speaker volume with soundbar remote, and when soundbar is powered off with cable box remote the soundbar & speakers power off & then come back on by themselves.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

good speakers

SA-Z9R 25 September 2018  (United Kingdom)

great sound when we play movies and watch tv in our bedroom

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great complement for the Z9F!

SA-Z9R//M SP1 12 September 2018 by Ang P S (Singapore)

Got these about a month ago to go with my Z9F soundbar. Absolutely glad I made the choice! Not only is it easy to set up wirelessly, it completes the whole surround sound experience beautifully. Love the sound effects when watching movies. And the design is nice to fit into any room deco seamlessly. Double thumbs up!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Must have to complete the experience

SA-Z9R 06 September 2018 by bbnick32 (USA)

Love love love these things. I paid a pretty penny for the sound bar itself and it is a massive upgrade from my 3 year old Sony sound bar, but adding these babies really brought it all together. I didn’t realize how much I missed the old school experience of multi positioned surround sound speaker setup but it’s real and I am extremely excited for all future listening experiences with the whole set up now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great speakers!!!

SA-Z9R 22 August 2018 by Cosmin73 (USA)

I bought the together with the soundbat HT-ZF9....and i am SO HAPPY with them. The sound is absolutely wonderful! The only lacking thing is that it has only 1 optical input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Decent sound for the size

SA-Z9R 02 July 2018 by megabit (United Kingdom)

I searched for weeks to find these and I am glad I did because they make a world of difference to the sound field out of the ZF9 soundbar I think they should be offered as a bundle with the soundbar at a discounted price instead of having to buy the soundbar from from outlet and then spend days searching for them somewhere else but overall they do improve the sound and I would say they are a must have product to go with the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

3

0

Great

SA-Z9R 21 March 2018 by kiryaserg (USA)

electronics is good i like these electronics is good i like these

5

25