308

3.9 based on 308 customer reviews

129
97
36
8
38
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of a Select Group

4GB 03 June 2016  (United Kingdom)

I have had each iteration of this MP3 player as Sony has in my opinion produced the best music player for gym users such as myself. But. The competition is very limited for wearable MP3 headphone combinations and by no means is this Sony item perfect. It is however, a considerable improvement on the previous version which had a grim power on/off button and serious failure issues whereby it would simply stop working - which happened to mine. First off the buttons are much nicer to use and that makes a real difference. Once you have got the muscle memory in place it's all good. The overall construction both appears and feels very good and Sony seem to have moved back up a step from the previous model fortunately. It is also very secure on the ears and there is an additional rubber adjuster that can be fitted along with different ear buds to turn this into a MP3 player suitable for swimming with. And Sony seem to have worked out that they can't make software and this is a simple drag and drop operation for compatible files or you can sync using Microsoft Media Player which I do. But - like each version Sony have made there are improvements and retrograde steps. Whilst there is no doubt this is a much better player than before Sony have taken away the storage/charging cradle which held the player together securely which was ideal when being dumped in a sports bag. This player has a very small charging-transfer unit that fits to one side only meaning you have to be very careful when removing it from a bag in case it is pulled apart too much. In use the sound is good not brilliant. For my ears slightly bright. And not loud enough as Sony being a responsible company adhere to the dB safe levels which may not be loud enough to completely drown out the piped in stuff in some gyms. For use outside it would be fine I guess. There is a function to allow ambient noise to be heard which is something that road runners may find useful as cars etc. can be heard. Overall though, this is my gym player of choice because it sounds good and I don't have faffy wires hanging around me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 2 uses

4GB 23 September 2016 by musicless (United Kingdom)

A present for me to use when swimming. Followed all instructions and began to use it, but after 2 30 minute swims, in fresh water, it just gave up and became completely unresponsive despite all fixes / advice, including from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

309 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones-won’t swim without them!

4GB 15 September 2020 by Heva (United Kingdom)

I’m on to my third pair. My first lasted 3 and half years, second pair I used once and they stopped working so they were returned to the retailer. The latest pair seem to be working well so far!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Voice Assistant

4GB 08 September 2020 by Muhd (Singapore)

Bought a couple months back, all is good except for certain minor flaws. Lack in bass, sound stuttering during running or during high intensity training. Would recommend it for walk or during gyming that involve less movement. Eartips doesn't fit snugly regardless from what is provided.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exceptional quality

4GB 28 August 2020 by Billo11 (United Kingdom)

Had eh e old version for over 10 years and lost them recently. These are things upgraded version and the sound is so much clearer. Adapts to sound of water too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great underwater earphone

4GB 18 August 2020 by Souler (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago, sound good but recently it is having some issue with the sound when swimming.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It doesn’t work with Mac Catalina

4GB 27 July 2020 by Arceo (United Kingdom)

I can’t transfer my music from my computer into it I can’t see the last update was made in 2018

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Portable Music Player

4GB 14 July 2020 by viv88 (Singapore)

(1) bright and sporty green colour - matches sporty lifestyle (2) convenient and light - makes jogger happy - handsfree, no messy wiring on the body, function buttons neatly positioned (3) could include a few more sporty colours - example: neon / bright pink, neon / bright orange (4) could include radio option in the Walkman without having to bring along mobile phone - otherwise too heavy and cumbersome for joggers

0

0

0

Great for running...

4GB 17 June 2020 by mcmxcii (Singapore)

...but that USB Cradle gets spoiled very easily: My computer keeps getting a USB error whenever the walkman is connected to it. I now have to buy extra third-party cradles. This is a great product. I can't live without it because I need it when I do my running/HIIT workouts. But that cradle! Argh.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome kit

4GB 16 June 2020 by fiveonefive (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of weeks ago - glad I did. Everything in one compact item for stress free running! Sound quality is good and the ambient setting means I can still be safe. One small gripe, doesn't sit round the top of my ears properly because of the shape of the item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound quality good

NWWS413BM 11 June 2020 by Garron (USA)

The main problem I have is I wear hearing aids. I use it when i swim laps only and I cannot tell the regular sound from ambient sound. The main problem is the rubber ear plugs come off frequently and either stay in my ear or fall out. It would be nice to have ones the are shaped like triangles large at the end that fits on the earphone, so if they come off they would be easier to remove from the ear. I have had about 6 different water proof headphone units and none have lasted very long. At least this one is going on 5 months.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound and battery life for a sports earphone

4GB 09 June 2020 by Jackkoon (Singapore)

Great sound and battery life for a sports earphone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit!

4GB 20 May 2020 by Richard210958 (United Kingdom)

Very good piece of kit. Very comfortable to wear and, as long as you know your left from your right, very easy to use. Music transfer software takes a bit of getting used too but sound quality and additional ambient noise feature are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

8GB 12 May 2020 by JellieBean (United Kingdom)

The headphones and earpieces are sized for men so not comfortable for a woman to wear. The sound quality is good though. Functionality is tricky to use, particularly when swimming - fiddly to skip forward and change volume. The biggest problem is that you cannot listen to Audible audiobooks because there is no easy conversion software to MP3.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great little gadget

4GB 10 May 2020 by Clare 50 (United Kingdom)

Great little walkman I have a problem putting earphones in my little ears but I don't have to with this, great sound, easy To use, well worth the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says it will

4GB 18 April 2020 by Brooksy67 (United Kingdom)

Brought this after trying a few they are fab typical Sony great product well described

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A legit waterproof earphone

4GB 31 March 2020 by aHFa (Singapore)

I went swimming with it but the problem is that it doesn't hook well with my ear. There is a few time, it flip up after some swim.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Working in good condition

4GB 16 March 2020 by Jolene (Singapore)

Bought similar model 2 years back but sound is having issue on one of the side after using it at least once a week in the swimming pool.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ear hook and volume

4GB 04 March 2020 by fishytay3 (Singapore)

can swim and drop off in water max volume not loud enough accidental press and battery depleted unknowingly

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just not up to the job

4GB 02 March 2020 by MrSpence (United Kingdom)

It is heavy, cumbersome, inaudible and hurts my ears. It is not as described. A very poor choice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

sound stopped in one earphone after 4 months

8GB 29 February 2020 by ant07 (United Kingdom)

still trying to get it fixed or refunded from pcworld

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to use

4GB 23 February 2020 by Glyn1 (United Kingdom)

Have tried 4 swims with this machine but had to return it today. Despite changing the ear plugs it just did not work for me well enough. Vert quiet sound and up full. Easy to use and set up and so wanted it to be the best gadget every but just not for me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My next Gen walkman

4GB 12 February 2020 by KS Chew (Singapore)

I bought this in Jan using my birthday voucher and I am happy with my purchase. I had an older bulkier version that is still working perfectly but I wanted a new one to indulge myself for my birthday. This product did not disappoint. It was lighter and more compact, there is an hard case holder assessory that I can purchase to protect the walkman from being crushed in my bag. The music sounded good and it did not have song latency when I am listening to it when running unlike the older version. Overall, happy with it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worked for about one year only

4GB 11 February 2020 by Chabarek (United Kingdom)

It is not working any more, with out any physical damage

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

love it

4GB 10 February 2020 by dee1960 (United Kingdom)

this was a Christmas present from my daughter to help me go swimming as I think its so boring but with these I love it , the only problem I have is I want to sing to the music but cant sing and swim !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great but...

4GB 03 February 2020 by m_s_montenegro (United Kingdom)

I really like it, is solid, easy to wear, nice sound, but I would love it if I could have my Spotify playlists easily transferred.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgraded version

4GB 02 February 2020 by Hohjm (Singapore)

Much better fit compared to the earlier version. Buttons are also better accessible. Good value for money for someone who sums with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality and great value for money

4GB 27 January 2020 by Kazy (United Kingdom)

I use this headset for swimming both in door and out door. The good thing is that you don’t get any back ground noise from others in the pool, even when played at a lower volume. It is easy to use and also transfer music onto. Great value for money. I had a similar model previously and it lasted for about 3 years and was used on a regular basis at least twice a week.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sturdy built

NWWS413BM 25 January 2020 by Cray24 (USA)

I have had this for around a month and love the ease of use and the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very low volume

4GB 24 January 2020 by Deaf Swimmer (United Kingdom)

I bought this for swimming, but with the swimming ear piece on, volume is so low it’s hard to hear the music. I have disabled the noise limiter but still it’s not really fit for purpose. Disappointed. Also the software does not work with latest Mac OS. Refund please ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Shocking product, controls difficult to see, Bose

4GB 16 January 2020 by eddie3105 (United Kingdom)

I am unable to download any music form either Itunes , or Amazon music, totally dissatisfied with his product

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great fit in ears and good sound quality

4GB 14 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

It was a gift for Christmas and battery lasted about 10 gym sessions before a re charge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average Product

4GB 13 January 2020 by Stay Silence (Singapore)

I bought a few but it lasted for about six months and the faulty units have to be discarded. I find the Walkman useful while swimming as I enjoyed the music. However, there is no other better brands in the market than SONY. It is use for short period, discard and buy new one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than anticipated

4GB 08 January 2020 by Phil in (United Kingdom)

These were a birthday gift and not something I was looking for or something I needed as I already had two mp3 players. When I saw they were only 4gb and had what I would call the gimmicky usp of being swim friendly my heart sank (no pun intended). Would I actually use them, ever? Mmm... Anyway, I made the effort to charge them up and load them with songs (extremely easy, even with the software, although I didn't realise you can actually just drag and drop). Since then I've used them in the gym, at work and whilst out walking and I've been pleasantly surprised by the sound quality. Fit: pretty standard, not too obtrusive on the ear although I do seem to be between bud sizes. Sound: good (very good if you actually consider the package as a whole); Ease of use : good once you become acquainted with button positions. Swim option: untested but limited in practical use I would suggest. I swim a lot but I can't see these ever getting wet, limited depth and perhaps a faff to dry. Overall rating 4+ when you review them for what they are and what they cost. The instructions aren't great but there isn't much to learn. The buttons are quite logical but I'm not really sure how best to set up my folders /albums/playlist for maximum ease of use. At present I am mainly using shuffle mode because the thought of trying to find an album without a display is perplexing and I haven't looked at playlist yet. Overall a good present for someone who isn't phone-centric and I think I'll definitely get my use out of them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The life span if product is an issue

4GB 08 January 2020 by JPSing (Singapore)

I have bought 3 devices as of date and all of them have an issue after close to 2 years of use. The devices stop turning on although full charged and no amount of “Re-Setting” helps !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i am pleased

4GB 06 January 2020 by nappermike (United Kingdom)

At 76 I wanted this to help me at the gym, also for swimming, walking and working in the garden (music helps me focus and eases any boredom). It sits comfortably in the ear and despite rigorous movements does stay put, sound quality is very good. I am pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top product

4GB 05 January 2020 by Listy63 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, great sound and stays in place throughout an hour's run

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

4GB 01 January 2020 by Bekky (United Kingdom)

Only had for a few weeks but sound quality is good and work fine under water. I have got really small ears, the small buds fit fine but only just! Defiantly glad I bought them!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

4GB 31 December 2019 by SarahJ (United Kingdom)

Really nice to get rid of all wires for working out in the gym. Headphones stay in place and are easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All in one

4GB 30 December 2019 by Happy Skier (United Kingdom)

I bought this MP3 as its an "all in one", no cables. Once I had accessed the on-line instructions, downloading music was easy. The ear buds take a bit of getting used to, they seem uncomfortable at first but I've only used them a couple of times.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Changed my morning swim forever.

4GB 19 December 2019 by Ata_1989 (United Kingdom)

I love these headphones. I use them everyday in the gym. They make my morning swim amazing. I have loaded them with an audio book and I love being able to learn while I swim. I also use them after in the jacuzzi, sauna and shower. Best investment. They could be a bit loader but I’m a bit deaf anyway so it might just be my ears. I’d prefer the fast forward/backward buttons to be swapped sides with the volume controls so when I pause what I’m listening to I don’t accidentally skip ahead and rather accidentally increase the volume. Just one little thing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

4GB 11 December 2019 by Dave108 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product a week ago, wasn't sure about it but it looked like a good idea, so glad I did, so easy to use, music transfer is fast, excellent features and great sound. It comes with various size ear buds so you can get a comfortable fit. No more cable hang ups or snagging. Brilliant no complaints so far despite nearly constant use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It works

nwws414 05 December 2019 by Pinotage (USA)

This is my fifth one it works great for downloading music great sound has a limited shelf life they break very often and service is not good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too soon

8GB 27 October 2019 by Toosoon (United Kingdom)

I only bought this a week ago and have asked to review it, I don’t know how I am supposed to review a product after I week. The packaging was good I managed to load music on eventually although help from Sony was pretty useless for me, it does play music when I go swimming ( so far ). What else can I say about a product I have had for a week?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great product

4GB 17 October 2019 by Lep23 (United Kingdom)

I use them to swim with and they do the job. No problems downloading music. Very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony earphones

4GB 17 October 2019 by charleshby (United Kingdom)

i brought it for a swimming purpose, but the sound quality is not satisfying 

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound on one side

4GB 11 October 2019 by Nikon Ireland (United Kingdom)

Only worked on one side and still waiting for support

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Product;hh;

4GB 07 October 2019 by jp1971 (Singapore)

Bought this one month ago. No regrets. Better than the previous version in terms of friendliness of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Totally waterproof

4GB 02 October 2019 by Davycrocket (United Kingdom)

Had it 6 weeks use it every day in the swimming pool

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

swimming just became a bit less boring

4GB 30 September 2019 by drdvn (Singapore)

This is my 3rd pair and the quality has improved over the years. They last about 2 years. Then again, I swim at least 4 times a week up to 1.5 hours per session. Chose the earbud with the best fit, to make sure water doesn't get in your ears, else there will be little sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good item

4GB 27 September 2019 by SG ALVIN (Singapore)

I have been using the older version. Tried using some other Bluetooth earphones but still prefer this product for its convenience

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

problem at solt water

4GB 21 September 2019 by abdheg (United Kingdom)

I BOUT IT 9 month AGO AND I WAS HAPPY BUT I WANT TO SWIM AT THE SEA AND IT IS NOT WORKING OR ACCEPT CHARGES

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worth the price

4GB 20 September 2019 by oliviaoh (Singapore)

easy to use and good soundproof definitely will be using for a long time

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The software is clunky and doesn’t work on Mac

4GB 15 September 2019 by ShaMack (United Kingdom)

I have no complaints about the actual Walkman but the software is surprisingly basic and interface doesn’t work on Mac.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Wouldn’t be without it

8GB 06 September 2019 by Hobbit100 (United Kingdom)

I love this product. I put my audio books onto them and relax in my hot tub every weekend. They are my must have for holidays, lying out on the sun lounger and then going for a swim, absolutely perfect. Cannot recommend enough!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 06 September 2019 by Fiona27 (United Kingdom)

I've been using another brand of waterproof headphones whilst swimming for years but these are so much better. Having a range of sizes of ear buds means they stay in place whilst swimming and the sound is great. I'm really pleased with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0