9

3.9 based on 9 customer reviews

4
3
0
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Lovely warm sound for outdoor (and indoor) use

GTK-PG10 09 May 2019 by Flushing (United Kingdom)

I ordered this product specifically for bbq days, those days when friends and family are round and when you spend more time outside than inside. Luckily it arrived in time for the recent bank holiday weekend, and this was the perfect opportunity to put the outdoor speaker through its paces. My initial impression as I unpacked the unit was that it was much lighter than I had imagined, lighter didn’t mean flimsy; this product is well built, very sturdy and nicely finished and due to its relative low weight would be easy for all members of the family (including my 4 year old) to move it outside when needed. The setup process was dead easy, I downloaded the Sony app and connected my tablet and phone to the device and within minutes a nice warm sound appeared. I’m a bit of an audiophile and like to think I have good ears, the sound produced was way better than I expected of a product at this price point and for its convenient size and weight. Before I knew it, the children had relocated it to the patio and were in control of their own mini disco! Bingo. This is what I’d hoped for, that the family would engage in the product. I eventually managed to wrestle back control and had the opportunity to play with some of the settings, the use of the app made this really simple and I spent some time analysing the different sound modes and set up features. Luckily the product arrived almost fully charged so it wasn’t until midway through the weekend that I realised I needed to plug it in to top the battery up. Again a very simple process and the unit charged very quickly. I guess for me the product came into its element later in the evening when the kids were exhausted elsewhere in the house and the adults were still relaxing outside - it was time for a change of tempo and tone and this great little box turned from being the mobile disco to the early evening chill out compliment to the candles my wife had lit. The warmth of the sound should not be underestimated, many portable products are tinny and never quite fill an area with sound - the Sony not only filled an area with warm sound but an outside area at that, something that’s tricky to achieve. I’m yet to reveal to the kids that there’s a karaoke feature, which they’ll love - I’m saving that as a surprise for next weekend. Overall I’m delighted, this is a product that punches well above its weight in terms of its price vs its sound quality and features. I love the portability and I love the noise it produces from multiple input sources. I’d highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The WORST Bluetooth Connection EVER

GTK-PG10 29 April 2019 by Kkay (USA)

My issue with this speaker is simple. The Bluetooth connectivity SUCKS!!!! Unless my phone is sitting directly on top of the speaker, I lose connectivity. If I have my phone in my hand and I turn my back to speaker I lose connectivity. I considered purchasing a Bluetooth device specifically for this speaker, but why should I have to?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

4

9 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound quality

GTK-PG10//C SP6 04 September 2019 by 86Jacjac (Singapore)

I used it for my karaoke singing sessions. It has 3 different types of echo to chose from and can adjust the sound pitch. Value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good features, but could be better

GTK-PG10 21 August 2019 by rlj1965 (USA)

Sony does not bother to list the voltage for the unit. Is it 110v or 100v-240v? Why is there no NFC? Why no ip68 water rating? Sony could have used a newer Bluetooth codec. The cup holders have screws at the bottom. Even though they are painted, the screws will eventually rust. This could be prevented with a rubber insert or plug. Sony could have also made the device wifi capable, but chose not to. Lastly, the unit is not very loud and the treble and middle range makes the overall sound too bright. EQ control is only by app instead of on the unit itself. All in all, Sony missed a lot of chances to make this a great speaker. Lastly... Stop letting engineers name your products.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

GTK-PG10 NOBluetooth connectivity with NFC 1-touch

GTK-PG10 21 June 2019 by ven08 (USA)

I brought this product 1 week back and im surprised to see that it does not have NFC, I'm unable to connect/pair to SRS-XB21 & SRS-XB31. I'm bit disappointed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Great party speaker

GTK-PG10 28 May 2019 by myx13 (USA)

I use this in my backyard in conjunction with Chromecast audio. My backyard is around a 1/2 acre. This thing blasted for about 3 hours on battery and was only down 50 %. You can hear from all corners of the yard. Great little speaker. And the Bluetooth app is okay.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Absolutely great - the Ghetto Blaster is back!!

GTK-PG10 09 May 2019 by Philip57 (United Kingdom)

Modest size for the functionality and purpose. Easily connected with Bluetooth and the network for sounds. First charge took a while but it was well worth the wait, I am still enjoying the unit from the first charge. FM Radio works like a dream, simple to tune to stations; the USB facility is superb and again suits the unit well. Only concern would be the top. When the two side flaps are opened up, it begs the question can I sit on it.....there are stickers as notices of warnings about not exceeding 10Kg. I would be concerned that they are easy to miss.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Lovely warm sound for outdoor (and indoor) use

GTK-PG10 09 May 2019 by Flushing (United Kingdom)

I ordered this product specifically for bbq days, those days when friends and family are round and when you spend more time outside than inside. Luckily it arrived in time for the recent bank holiday weekend, and this was the perfect opportunity to put the outdoor speaker through its paces. My initial impression as I unpacked the unit was that it was much lighter than I had imagined, lighter didn’t mean flimsy; this product is well built, very sturdy and nicely finished and due to its relative low weight would be easy for all members of the family (including my 4 year old) to move it outside when needed. The setup process was dead easy, I downloaded the Sony app and connected my tablet and phone to the device and within minutes a nice warm sound appeared. I’m a bit of an audiophile and like to think I have good ears, the sound produced was way better than I expected of a product at this price point and for its convenient size and weight. Before I knew it, the children had relocated it to the patio and were in control of their own mini disco! Bingo. This is what I’d hoped for, that the family would engage in the product. I eventually managed to wrestle back control and had the opportunity to play with some of the settings, the use of the app made this really simple and I spent some time analysing the different sound modes and set up features. Luckily the product arrived almost fully charged so it wasn’t until midway through the weekend that I realised I needed to plug it in to top the battery up. Again a very simple process and the unit charged very quickly. I guess for me the product came into its element later in the evening when the kids were exhausted elsewhere in the house and the adults were still relaxing outside - it was time for a change of tempo and tone and this great little box turned from being the mobile disco to the early evening chill out compliment to the candles my wife had lit. The warmth of the sound should not be underestimated, many portable products are tinny and never quite fill an area with sound - the Sony not only filled an area with warm sound but an outside area at that, something that’s tricky to achieve. I’m yet to reveal to the kids that there’s a karaoke feature, which they’ll love - I’m saving that as a surprise for next weekend. Overall I’m delighted, this is a product that punches well above its weight in terms of its price vs its sound quality and features. I love the portability and I love the noise it produces from multiple input sources. I’d highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

0

Disappointing Technology

GTK-PG10 04 May 2019 by Blobbi (United Kingdom)

The first thing you notice is the size of the speaker - it is in a world of micro or nano it is BIG. This is no problem personally and certainly where it is designed for not an issue i.e outdoors indoor would be an entirely different issue however. It is attractive in black with the SONY logo contrasting well against the speaker. The LCD display showing the current connection is also good as there are numerous options including bluetooth and USB. It is extremely easy to set up and is very portable at only 10 kg. The opening top with the four can or bottle holders is a great idea. I was happy to see it splash proof as inevitably someone will spill some type of liquid on same! Having an outside power point I used if mains connected as I did not then have to wait for the battery to charge. It connected with my smartphone seamlessly and as suggested I downloaded and used the Sony Music Centre app. I have a very wide selection of music on my phone from Abba to ZZ Top and everything in between including a lot of film scores. For my personal taste the music was very well balanced and on any tacks that need same the additional bass the switch certainly worked. It is surprising that no treble adjustment is available on either app or speaker for those who would prefer sharper sound. THe speaker performed really well even at the higher volume that is required in most outdoor spaces without any real distortion being noted in the five hours I listened to the speaker. The radio is without doubt the most disappointing feature of the speaker - I was genuinely expecting it to be a DAB in 2019 - however it is FM ONLY though works very well with a first class reception especially with the antenna put up and the auto search feature is a great feature. This lack of modern technology is the one reason why I rated the product as a four star and it is something I fail to understand. Maybe Sony believe that people only listen to FM? Perhaps the radio will change in the revamp and upgraded which I am sure will be done. I was also surprised that no docking station for the like of a nano player was provided though with the tabletop design this may never have been an option available. To summarise if you are looking for a speaker with FM radio capabilities then this product is good - if you are looking for more then this then this is not the one for you sadly. I enjoyed this product a lot..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

6

0

The WORST Bluetooth Connection EVER

GTK-PG10 29 April 2019 by Kkay (USA)

My issue with this speaker is simple. The Bluetooth connectivity SUCKS!!!! Unless my phone is sitting directly on top of the speaker, I lose connectivity. If I have my phone in my hand and I turn my back to speaker I lose connectivity. I considered purchasing a Bluetooth device specifically for this speaker, but why should I have to?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

4

0

Great features

GTK-PG10 28 January 2019 by Sava142 (USA)

A friend gived this speaker as a gift... Im excited of it's performance!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

12