193

3.8 based on 193 customer reviews

88
41
22
12
30
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Meets the basic requirements

CFD-S70/BC SP5 31 January 2017 by TJ Chua (Singapore)

Cassette output is not as good as in the past which was the main reason why this model was chosen. Would be great if it comes with feature such as output to external speaker at such pricing.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

193 Customer Reviews

0

Disappointed

CFD-S70 26 February 2020 by NYLady (USA)

Thought this Sony boombox would last longer then the cheaper ones I had in the past but the same problem happened. I listen to books on cd's because of eye problem. The sound is great, nice looking item. Eventually when placing a clean cd the boombox said NO CD. No matter which cd I tried I got the same message. The cd's played in other players but not this one. This part of the boombox is not warrantied. Now I have a boombox that only plays tapes and radio. For the price and life of the boombox cd player I I might as well buy 2 cheaper machines which would last longer. Also, I would like to know why put black buttons on a black cabinet making them harder to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Product

CFD-S70 24 February 2020 by Sally Tony (United Kingdom)

We were looking for a Cassette player, as the ones we had we had to get rid of, and this was the only one we could find locally. So far so good with the cassette side and have set the radio to station we listen to. ALSO TRID THE cd PLAYER ONE.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and Smart - Great Quality Sound!

CFD-S70 15 February 2020 by zg215 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this for my Grandma's 83rd birthday, her old tape and CD player had come to it's end and was ruining her tapes. She absolutely love this new boombox, she can play all her CD's now and the sound quality is excellent. It's actually quite compact too, very smart device. Sony proving it's worth once again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 14 February 2020 by Miming (USA)

I bought this month ago im so happy to bought this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

shame about the instruction manual (s)

CFD-S70 13 February 2020 by JayWW (United Kingdom)

I'm still trying to learn how to use it as only 7 manuals were included - nothing in English

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great little product.

CFDS70BLK 13 February 2020 by Suzebroc (USA)

My son bought me this for Xmas. It works very well, it’s nice and small, but does a great job. I like Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bought for the cassette function

CFD-S70 08 February 2020  (USA)

Sony always made great cassette players so now that many of my favorite artists are releasing cassettes I needed something to play them on in 2020. I only wish they would put out a portable cassette player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

frustrated

CFDS70BLK 06 February 2020 by vic871 (USA)

The trouble with this product is I can't turn the radio off. I have to unplug the radio to so I won't have a high electric bill.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great little boom box

CFDS70BLK 01 February 2020 by Jmiklety69 (USA)

Compact but sounds great. Plays all CDs including mp3, which most cheaper brands don’t.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

good

CFD-S70 29 January 2020 by joan222 (United Kingdom)

only just about to stat using it, so far so good plays CDs fine

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Waste of money

CFD-S70 27 January 2020 by Jimoke1526 (USA)

Purchased unit 6 months ago poor sound and cheap plastic case. Cd motor stop working after 5 months and no product support or warranty

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Lovely sound & easy to use.

CFD-S70 26 January 2020 by Mr Gaz (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace the previous model (exactly the same!), as the laser on the CD player packed up just outside the warranty!. This time I purchased a extra warranty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to operate..

CFDS70BLK 21 January 2020 by Ramarruth (USA)

I bought it for myself after searching other options.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

nice featacers

CFDS70BLK 13 January 2020 by titch 45 (USA)

I bought this to play my old tapes and CD that I kept around a long time

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All in one

CFD-S70/BC SP5 09 January 2020 by K TAN (Singapore)

When i purchased this boombox, its for the convenience of having everything in one machine. Because i still have cds and cassette tapes, didn't want to not use them. But regarding the sound, its just normal which i really don't expect much, just the convenience.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent replacement

CFDS70BLK 27 December 2019 by Pastor John (USA)

Excellent choice for our needs, actually surpassed our previous equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD/Cassette Boombox CFD-S70

CFD-S70 22 December 2019 by Pict (United Kingdom)

I bought this for recording CDs to cassette tape,it seems to do its job.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0