55

4.5 based on 55 customer reviews

38
11
2
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best Pro Device

ILCE7RM4/B 15 December 2019 by harshavardhan (USA)

I am so happy with the handling and the performance it will be my camera fir next couple of years MP , power , handling , speed all in one package Try it , you will love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09 February 2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom)

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

55 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 23 March 2020 by Hunter7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago brilliant in every way apart from the menu the menu needs sorting out its way to hard to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing camera, world beater

ILCE-7RM4 19 March 2020 by Keva (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera, changed my photographic life. Recommend to everyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great images but very buggy software

ILCE7RM4/B 18 March 2020 by Street photographer (USA)

Great images and video so far. But the biggest problem is the flimsy OS. Whenever I use the product with the imaging edge app it constantly fails to connect. What’s worse is that this app seems to be damaging the firmware. For example my start stop trigger stopped working after using the application. And I had to load an older “cam set” which got it working again. So the firmware seems to be very flakey. Menus are improved but at the cost of stability. I would wait to buy until these bugs are worked out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Wonderful Experience !

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 16 March 2020  (Singapore)

Superb focusing, metering, punchy colours and sharpness !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great image quality with good performance

ILCE-7RM4 10 March 2020 by snerkler (United Kingdom)

Overall I am very happy with this camera, image quality is excellent as you would expect. Ergonomics are vastly improved over earlier models and I can finally fit my fingers comfortably between the grip and lens. Feature set is impressive and I really like the customisation. Eye-AF is insanely good. The only cons are that AF accuracy in AF-C burst mode is not as accurate as other models when subjects are moving towards you (such as a running dog), and not all functions are assignable to the Fn buttons or Fn menu, the biggest omission for me being the AF with shutter option which is useful to toggle BBF. Another thing that could be improved is that not all settings are stored in the user memory (memory recall), for example you can't store AF with shutter off so that that particular setting sets to BBF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Short of AMAZING!

ILCE7RM4/B 09 March 2020 by SamS1 (USA)

I've had this Camera since September 2019 and have put to some good use since. I'm a landscapes and travel photographer and have paired this camera with the Sony 16-35mm f2.8 GM and the 24mm f1.4 GM. The camera performed beautifully and with many more refinements that it's predecessor. All from minor ergonomics changes to buttons placement to overall performance with its fantastic autofocus; this camera is certainly a game changer. My only gripes with this camera, hence, being a bit short from "5 Stars" are some improvements that Sony should make before the competitors catch up with their systems such as, better menu system, replacing the current "atrocious and clunky App", improve the touch screen capabilities to current industry standards (take a lesson from FUJIFILM), offer smaller uncompressed RAW files and revise the shutter speed to allow longer than 30 seconds instead of always having to go to "Bulb" (like up to 10minutes options will be great); this is just to mention few!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Brilliantly Versatile

ILCE-7RM4 08 March 2020  (United Kingdom)

This camera is versatile and packed full with latest tech and features. The 61MP allow you to shoot incredibly sharp pictures as well as able to crop to your hearts desire while still being able to use images for professional use. On top of this, the APSC-mode and the ClearZoom functions allow you to get an even better reach for those times where you feel your focal length isn’t enough without having to sacrifice too much on image quality. The IBIS is good but compared to other camera manufactures could be better. The 10FPS both mechanical and electronically is also incredibly useful whilst shooting fast moving subjects, especially sports and wildlife photography. Also, due to the maturity of the Sony mirrorless line-up the lens selection is excellent from both a first party as well as third party perspective. Overall this is an excellent piece of versatile kit which has everything for every occasion and more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent High Resolution Camera

ILCE-7RM4 28 February 2020 by Peter2204 (United Kingdom)

Terrific camera in almost every respect, it would have been perfect if you could use Animal Eye with tracking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Almost there

ILCE-7RM4 20 February 2020 by DSNOIR (United Kingdom)

I bought this item 4 months ago, the image quality is no better than the riii, with noise and focusing being an issue. The rear screen is as ever a disappointment, other manufacturers make far better use of it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Advanced

ILCE-7RM4 13 February 2020 by T Money (United Kingdom)

Great piece of equipment. My online content is going to the next level. Really looking forward to this new adventure...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09 February 2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom)

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Impressive!!

ILCE7RM4/B 24 January 2020 by BigBrownBear (USA)

Upgraded form the sony a6000 and wow!, big difference in a good way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Loving It

ILCE7RM4/B 21 January 2020 by RichTimm (USA)

I have been on the edge of moving from Canon to Sony for quite some time. Not an easy move for me. I have been a Canon shooter since the 300D. I had a lot of Canon L Glass as well as 3 cameras. 2-5D Mk IIIs and 1-7D Mk II. After following Gavin Hardcastle and Nick Page on YouTube for almost a year I felt more at ease making the switch. I am so glad I did. I am just loving this camera. It has a few things I really need to get used to but I am very thrilled with the images I am getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Wonderful grip

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 20 January 2020 by gainleem (Singapore)

After using this a a couple of months the speed and convenient features are a upgrade from my other Sony’s.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Resolution beast

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 18 January 2020  (Singapore)

Amazing amount of resolution to play around with in case there’s a need to crop your shot it will still be crisp and sharp. Night photography just got a whole lot better with Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Noisy

ILCE-7RM4 12 January 2020 by Jtucker57 (USA)

I bought mine right as it arrived on the market and I wish I would have waited. The noise level seems to be worse on my previous cabers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic Sharpness with Sony Lenses

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 11 January 2020 by ShenYL (Singapore)

I bought this A7R4 for my recent trip to Japan - 23 Oct 2019 till 12 Nov 2019, as a replacement for my Sony A7R2. Just the battery life for the A7R4 is sufficient to brighten up my trip. In fact I hardly need to use my spare battery during my 21 days. The sharpness with my existing lenses (16-35 F4, 24-105 F4, 28mm F2) simply improved due to the higher resolution. I uses a tripod for most of my landscape shots. The My Menu feature helps alot as I don't really have much time to explore the features before going for the trip. To me personally it is well worth the upgrade from A7R2 to R4. Only issue is that the higher resolution also means you have to be extra careful when using handheld mode. However even blurry 60MP shots when scale down to 4K, they still look pretty good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A big improvement over the a7Riii

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020  (Singapore)

I purchased this camera in late-November 2019, and have been thoroughly impressed with it so far. Other than the obvious jump in megapixels (from 42 to 61), there are many other improvements that I feel are more important. If those improvements do not do much for you, the a7Riii is STILL a very capable camera and I am still holding on to mine. So on to what I feel are the more noteworthy improvements other than the increase in resolution. 1. Dual UHS-II card slots. Now both card slots are making use of the much improved UHS-II speeds. 2. Bigger and beefier grip. Helps when you handhold the camera for most shots. 3. Better port doors and accessibility to ports, especially where the multi-use terminal (micro USB) and USB-C slots are. I can easily open the port doors and get access to those 2 ports without having to shift my L bracket out. 4. More tactile feel in the buttons. The buttons feel less mushy and there is definite feedback when you press the buttons. 5. Better resolution in the viewfinder. It is very noticeable especially when you are focusing manually. 6. Doors for the card slots also seem to be beefier and feel more robust. I have not had an opportunity to test the other features, such as improved Pixel Shift, but so far, I am very happy with the purchase. While the price is obviously higher, it is not by much to be fair, considering the improvements over the previous versions. I have included a few photographs made with the camera here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A complete package!

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by isaacmatthew (Singapore)

I've had this camera for about 1 month at the time of writing this, and I can truly say that its a beast of a camera. People complain about why this camera has 61MP but honestly, even if it retained the 42MP of the A7RIII, you'd still buy it for all its other improvements. The image quality and dynamic range of the camera is excellent. The 61MP gives you tons of room to crop your images. The AF system for both stills and video performs exceptionally, to the point I feel its closer to the a9 than it is to the a7R III. It's almost always finds and locks on to the subjects' eyes and even when it doesn't, it locks on to their faces. One area of concern I had before purchasing this camera was its high ISO performance. Traditionally, having all that resolution meant that noise would become more obvious at high ISO values. I was pleasantly surprised to see that images were usable all the way up to ISO 16000, after which the color fidelity of the images start to get compromised (a green tint starts creeping into the image) In conclusion, you're not going the get the same kind of high ISO performance as say the A7III. But its definitely competitive, especially when compared to other cameras with high resolution. (eg. 5DSR and D850) Video performance of the camera is also very promising. 4K footage is stunning in both full frame and Super35/APS-C mode. When it came to 1080p video I was a bit surprised. Full frame mode looks amazing but when I switched over to Super35 mode, the video quality dropped drastically, to the point it almost looks like 720p. Moire and aliasing was so prominent. I'm unsure if this is an issue specific to the a7R IV but I've ended up just using the full frame mode when shooting 1080p. If there is one thing I wish Sony could address in a firmware update, it would be to enable medium and small RAW shooting options. Though 61MP is excellent it'd be nice to shoot at a lower resolution and to perhaps attain better noise performance. All in all, its an amazing camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by Zantistic (Singapore)

Have been using this beast almost a month now, and I have say it has lives up to his name "Alpha" and expectation. Coming from someone who have been using Nikon DSLR for years, well I'm very please and impressed with this mirrorless performance, on how it focus, tracks and detects face and eyes with ease. I'm always looking forward to shoot more pictures with this camera cause I know I will get amazing result. Here are some samples on what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This makes me feel like a god.

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by babamonkey (Singapore)

Top of the line features. Super sensor. Pictures OOC is better than RAW. Paired with a GM 24mm F1.4, I died and went to heaven.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A stunning piece of hardware...fantastic!

ILCE7RM4/B 06 January 2020 by LGabrielPhoto (USA)

As a professional photographer, I can appreciate the amazing IQ and features that this camera offers. 61MP is enough to print VERY large and crop at will. Then you have the Pixel Shift which is amazing for product photography as well. Really, aside from a possible 36MP version of the A9, this camera is at the top of my favorites list!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Suspect & inconsistent focusing

ILCE-7RM4 27 December 2019 by Rip2ley (United Kingdom)

I've only had this for about 5 weeks having moved up from the A6500, first impressions, I was blown away, loved the bigger body, the deeper grip, the amazing EVF, the 61 mega pixels full frame, the 26 mega pixels in crop mode, the gorgeous colours. Prior to purchasing I'd read forums and reviews so I knew what I was getting, I expected more visible noise & I expected the focusing to be several milliseconds slower than the A9 but I didn't expect the focus to be quite as suspect and inconsistent as it is. I'm not sure if the firmware update has affected it, it sure seems to have become worse following the install but sometimes the camera just won't focus on the subject at all, I'm pressing the back button focus & nothing happens regardless of the focus area in use, I have to move the camera away from the subject, quickly focus on something else then back to the subject, missing the shot. I've also noticed that it doesn't track well, especially on small birds and the focus point tends to jump around, you can point it at the birds head & it will jump off onto the branch, if the bird moves off, it doesn't go with it. (I have the focus setting at 1 locked on) My most recent use of the camera was in woods in the Cairngorms, I had locked the ISO not to go about 4000, it was fairly dark and overcast so every shot was taken at ISO4000, could it be the dark conditions are affecting the camera? I wouldn't have thought so given Sony's rating of it. Now having said that, before the firmware update was released I photographed red kites and I was thrilled by the amount of keepers I got, way more than I did with the A6500, the example attached was shot using the 100-400 at ISO 4000 and it's sharp. I've read that having 61MP will show up any flaws in technique, you need to up your shutter speed to compensate but using it in the Cairngorms I was getting inconsistent results at 1/1000, not many were critically sharp while some were, example 2, but I really struggled to get anything small, the focus system simply didn't seem fast enough to lock on before the bird was off. So in summary, am I happy with my purchase, not really, would I recommend it? Possibly for landscape works or where something is static but not at this time for wildlife or nature. I'll keep testing and if the focus still provides inconsistent results then I'll sell it and get the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

6

0

Best camera I've ever owned!

ILCE7RM4/B 19 December 2019  (USA)

Switched from Canon 5D MK II and 6D MK II. Absolutely incredible. Resolution and detail is beyond what I could've ever imagined.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good but not perfect

ILCE-7RM4 18 December 2019 by Booo (United Kingdom)

Traded in a Nikon z7 for this for the auto focus which is fantastic but colour and noise at hi iso not up to Nikon standards

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

14

32

0

Beautiful Camera

ILCE-7RM4 18 December 2019 by MALKI (United Kingdom)

Looking forward to using this new Camera next year when time allows

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

7

15

0

Amazing

ILCE-7RM4 16 December 2019 by Ron19578 (United Kingdom)

Love everything about the camera and the focus system for Birds in flight. It's another world makes photography fun again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

11

0

Best Pro Device

ILCE7RM4/B 15 December 2019 by harshavardhan (USA)

I am so happy with the handling and the performance it will be my camera fir next couple of years MP , power , handling , speed all in one package Try it , you will love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Absolutely the best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 14 December 2019 by chumph (United Kingdom)

This camera is without a doubt the best camera I have ever owned. The detail in the images form the headlining 60MB sensor is astonishing, while the autofocus modes are varied and very quick and accurate. The amount of customisation available is staggering, and it will take time to find all the available options and set the camera up in the best way for you; but make no mistake: this is currently the best landscape camera that money can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

10

0

Great improvments. Buttons and dials much better.

ILCE-7RM4 04 December 2019 by auchlunies (United Kingdom)

Owned for 1 month. used for wildlife photography. Excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

18

0

For those who want the biggest

ILCE-7RM4 03 December 2019 by jackie27maybe (United Kingdom)

61Mp is a thing, and this camera manages it very well. Slightly noisy if you pixel peep, but the focusing and the image quality is immense. The menu system sucks, and Sony need to address that sometime. Overall very happy with camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

BUILD QUALITY

ILCE7RM4/B 03 December 2019 by WAGWAN (USA)

AWSOME BUILD. FEELS AND LOOKS VERY SOLID. I LOVE MY NEW SONY A7RIV. THANKS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Beautiful in every way

ILCE-7RM4 02 December 2019 by Zed007 (United Kingdom)

I bought it today and I can not compare it to any camera I have used before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

Superb definition from cropped images.

ILCE-7RM4 26 November 2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

I love macro photography and the superb crop factor of the camera gives me extra magnification without loss of detail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Let me down on a 3 week tour

ILCE-7RM4 25 November 2019 by Pwruss (United Kingdom)

Fantastic camera in terms of features and performance but seems to have caused my 24-70GM lens to fail. If so want Sony to help. In any case, such an expensive pro lens should never fail for light amature use and it has not been abused in any way.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

Fingers crossed

ILCE-7RM4 24 November 2019 by Delboy23 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a supplement to the A9 for the extra megapixels

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

This camera and the 200-600 are a great birding pa

ILCE7RM4/B 22 November 2019 by Ebird (USA)

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very disapointed it it.

ILCE-7RM4 21 November 2019  (USA)

- Does not focus properly in Low light (I'm not talking about focusing in dark night scenarios). I'm talking about focusing in well lit conditions where A7III and D810 has no issues. - Sony claims has made improvements with the grip. Well, not unless you buy the Battery grip for this camera. It's still very front heavy (when having a 24-70mm or 85mm Gmaster on it). It'll be great to have a deeper grip. - 10 FPS is great but only if the focus can keep up with it. Experimented with different Fucus techniques (AF-C, AF-A, etc), for some reason even when the focus is locked on the eye or simply an object that doesn't move, You'll still have only 2 of the 10 pics locked. - Finally, THIS IS NOT A CAMERA FOR EVENT PHOTOGRAPHERS. I'm a part time Wedding, Event photographer. Since mirrorless cameras don't have a way of using the AF beam coming from Speedlights (that works perfect in DSLRs) these cameras would not event be useful for events. Only 25-30% of my images could be useful since on the rest the focus is way off. For instance, it takes a D810 a couple of miliseconds to lock the focus, where an a7rIV will still be hunting. So what is the use of this camera on low lit events, I can't turn on an LED to ruin the vibe on the dance floor only because I want to take a picture, Or ruin a moment when I want to take a candid shot.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

7

0

This camera is way too hyped. I'm returning it.

ILCE-7RM4 20 November 2019  (USA)

Before I give my review about this camera, I have to mention that I'm a Sony A7III owner, and also a D810 owner. I use the Nikon D810 as my event photocamera and the A7III for Movies and Photos as well. Now, since I invested into Sony lenses and felt like it's time to upgrade to the A7RIV, I did the move. But since I got it, only 2 days past and here are the main issues with it: - Does not focus properly in Low light (I'm not talking about focusing in dark night scenarios). I'm talking about focusing in well lit conditions where A7III and D810 has no issues. - Sony claims has made improvements with the grip. Well, not unless you buy the Battery grip for this camera. It's still very front heavy (when having a 24-70mm or 85mm Gmaster on it). It'll be great to have a deeper grip. - 10 FPS is great but only if the focus can keep up with it. Experimented with different Fucus techniques (AF-C, AF-A, etc), for some reason even when the focus is locked on the eye or simply an object that doesn't move, You'll still have only 2 of the 10 pics locked. - Finally, THIS IS NOT A CAMERA FOR EVENT PHOTOGRAPHERS. I'm a part time Wedding, Event photographer. Since mirrorless cameras don't have a way of using the AF beam coming from Speedlights (that works perfect in DSLRs) these cameras would not event be useful for events. Only 25-30% of my images could be useful since on the rest the focus is way off. For instance, it takes a D810 a couple of miliseconds to lock the focus, where an a7rIV will still be hunting. So what is the use of this camera on low lit events, I can't turn on an LED to ruin the vibe on the dance floor only because I want to take a picture, Or ruin a moment when I want to take a candid shot. What a disappointment, Sony. What a loss.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

6

0

Sony does it again.

ILCE-7RM4 19 November 2019 by jloz (USA)

When I purchased the A7RM3, I told thought it would be my camera for at least 5 years. Then came along the A7RM4 and I could not contain myself. This camera exceeds my expectations. The grip is so much better. The resolution is fantastic. I love that I can crop like crazy and APS-C mode is still in the 26 MP resolution. It's like having two cameras in one. Pair this camera with the 135 GM lens (or any GM lens) and have an oxygen tank ready, because the IQ will take your breath away!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It's like cheating

ILCE-7RM4 05 November 2019 by GMphoto65 (United Kingdom)

After 15 years with Canon i jumped to Sony , I'm a unit photographer on TV sets . To say that Sony is ahead of the game is like saying a Ferrari is ahead of a Go-Kart . Yes the Menu's take a little getting used to but once you are there are no issues . The quality is astounding , i can't believe 61 million pixels works so well in low light .... this is by a distance the best full frame camera around ..... the surprise bonus tis the APS mode , would never ever had considered it but it packs 26 million pixels and i use it all time for theatre stuff ...... i'm not sure Canon and Nikon will last if they don't up their game

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

9

0

Excellent camera

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 27 October 2019 by Danny_1sg (Singapore)

The resolution and quality of the photos are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I totally love this camera

ILCE7RM4/B 21 October 2019 by Alpha_Seanbo (USA)

I own an A7r and A7s. Finally decided to upgrade my A7r for the A7r IV. It is such an improvement! Auto focus is amazing, and the ability to crop in on 61 megapixels is truly mindblowing. Yes it's pricey, but I am so glad I went for the upgrade. Totally awesome camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

I am a Nikon user, but now I have my sony a7riv

ILCE-7RM4 17 October 2019  (USA)

From Nikon to sony... I had my Nikon D5 and also Has my Z7! But got my A7RIV today! and sony is one 1 step up than the other Brands! SO excited to make my portfolio with sony cameras! Yeah I will sell my NIKON Gears and stay with SONY!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Photography made easier

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 12 October 2019 by dee_eye_en (Singapore)

I bought this camera 2 days before I have to do a commissioned shoot at the recent Singapore F1 Grand Prix as I wasn't confident of nailing the shots I needed with the gear I already owned. It was a risky move, but to put things in perspective, I had been using a trusty camera from a well known staple brand with 50.1 megapixels to back it up, but the lack of FPS was a huge problem for shooting fast cars. The A7R4 10 FPS made it a breeze! This camera not only has more resolution, the auto-focusing system absolutely a dream to shoot with! Object tracking was amazing and within a few minutes into the F1 shoot, I was already nailing amazing shots. I was able to still the motion when I wanted to, and also pan accurately to get some great motion filled shots without having to spend months getting accustomed to the new set up. I have since done studio shoots, outdoor portraits in daylight and at night, and also events. I am already blown away by the quality of the images and the ease of which I can get the shots, even though I am using adapted lenses. The next goal is to go native lenses. That would be the next milestone for me. I am a happy camper thus far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great upgrade from my A7Riii

ILCE-7RM4 08 October 2019 by Pasbags (United Kingdom)

Well worth the upgrade from my A7Riii for the auto-focus alone...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

7

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 03 October 2019 by Andy 61 (United Kingdom)

I've only had it since Saturday but what a fantastic camera easy to set up and use great quality pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Best sony camera

ILCE7RM4/B 28 September 2019 by jas photo (USA)

I have had 6 sony cameras. Each one keeps getting better than the last. I have no idea how they can improve on this camera. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Mind Blowing Camera! Massive Leap In Technology!

ILCE-7RM4 20 September 2019 by SnowKat (USA)

THE A7RIV LIVES UP TO THE HYPE! This camera is incredible and doesn’t disappoint. I have the A7RII, A7III & the A7RIII; all amazing cameras. And I wondered like maybe some of you do— Is the A7RIV really going to be so much better than the prior versions to warrant buying it? YES! The 61MP resolution is mind blowing! The Eye AF/Animal Eye AF is so fast and accurate. The camera’s speed is really amazing, no buffering delays (thus far in testing) like the A7RII. It does action really well especially given that it’s not designed specifically for action. The new redesigned build is awesome. Dual memory cards. The camera is truly amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 12 September 2019 by Pipanacious (Singapore)

Bought it for my 70th birthday and I have no regrets. Seriously awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

It is a thorough bred Alpha who needs new Lenses

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 11 September 2019 by Konain Saif (Singapore)

I got this camera right after using the 7iii as the resolution is just amazing on this camera. It has higher resolution in crop mode than full frame mode of a7iii. Two thing are holding me back from a five star rating 1. Sony should have launched new lenses that would be the perfect companion for the A7RIV, currently only lenses that can manage to get sharp focus are G master and 2. Compatibility with light room and Photoshop is still basic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Just pure beauty!

ILCE-7RM4 02 August 2019 by Daniel613 (USA)

such a brilliant camera!!! I love everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

25

0

lol just wanted to be first :) I Win

ILCE-7RM4 16 July 2019 by Gabrieldaniels (USA)

Love Sony they are so awesome just wanted to be first to write thank you the amazing camara

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

51

0

i dont know why sony did that

ILCE-7RM4 16 July 2019 by peter 651 (USA)

i know that a7r iii and a7r iv are both full frame camera but we have a big deference when we came to the sensor we notice that the sensor of a7r iii 35.9 x 24.0 mm is bigger tha the a7r iv 35.7×23.8mm one/ i don t know why sony did that ????? guys can you give me an answer ????

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

51

0

Is the raw file 16 bits?

ILCE-7RM4 16 July 2019 by sajad (USA)

Is the raw file 16 bits? if record 16 bit raw file is the best full frame in the world for ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

44