25

4.8 based on 25 customer reviews

21
3
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

25 Customer Reviews

0

When all you want is speed & more speed

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 10 September 2020 by Royfrosty (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am always doing bird’s/wildlife photography. Coming from the a7iii, this a9ii is by far the fastest camera i ever own. I love how the a9ii has a dial for selecting focus modes and shooting modes. This alone is a great feature to switch shooting modes on the fly without going through the menus. In terms of picture quality, the a9ii did improved the iso performance. Together with the high burst 20fps electronic shutter & extremely fast AF system, i got a lot more keeper rate for all my action birds in flight/action wildlife. In my opinion, i would love to own a 600GM one day to get more Image Quality for my hobby. Its only a dream to have such a good setup out there for birds in flight and action wildlife. I have nothing to complain about the a9ii. For those out there looking for a fast camera for sports, birds in flight & action wildlife, look no further. The a9ii is second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Far superior body to the A9, with the larger grip.

ILCE-9M2 06 September 2020 by Pawperso (United Kingdom)

I bought the A9Mk2 five weeks ago , having had the A9 I moved up to the A9Mk2 . It’s amazing to use , it’s much faster focus and tracking my photography has improved Exponentially . Birds in flight shots are stunning . There just needs to be more availability of advice on setting up the camera for wildlife on perhaps (You Tube). That would be helpful . I recommend the A9Mk2 to anyone who wants probably the best top range camera on the market at a reasonable price .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

fast focus

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 02 September 2020 by Hello73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replace my A9, it product great image and the focusing is extremely amazing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolute amazing for wildlife

ILCE-9M2 31 August 2020 by Rueschr (USA)

I bought this camera slightly used online. At the same time I bought a new 200-600mm Sony lens and together they are a dream for wildlife/bird photographer. I could drastically increase the numbers of focused shots with birds in flight. Even in low or difficult light, I was able to take great shots. The quality out of the camera also cuts down on the time I spend post-processing the images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

ILCE-9M2 11 August 2020 by Garycheesley (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera since June,,,AMAZING,can’t recommend this enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Blown away with the features

ILCE-9M2 11 August 2020 by Ihaventanickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 13 days ago and had lots of fun setting it up to behave as I wish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Made the bold decision from Canon to Sony

ILCE-9M2 25 July 2020 by Critchlow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been amazed by the continuous burst speed of this camera. I took it out to get my dogs leaping around and got the best results ever because it can just freeze the motion

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

20 FPS and amazing fast focus - unbeatable!

ILCE-9M2 17 June 2020 by DRG53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can’t beat the Sony A9 II for focussing - using for my Bird in Flight photography with amazing 20 FPS it rarely drops a shot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

MANY FINE FEATURES- BUT DEFECTIVE!

ILCE9M2/B 15 June 2020 by RPA1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SHARP PICTURES OF BIRDS SITTING STILL INITAL DEFECT IN SENSOR SCREEN - UNABLE SO FAR TO GET REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Got My A9II Used on amazon last few days, and.

ILCE-9M2 13 May 2020 by Dhyogophoto (USA)

Very Happy for my A9ii , and I have an A7R4 as well! A9II is a beast, great iso and reliable device! 5 stars for this camera... I loved it! I always had Nikon.. my last was Nikon D5, wich is good.. and Nikon Z7.(AF is not good for this camera)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent speed with auto tracking

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 12 April 2020 by SK Gan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I owned three Sony cameras A7SM2, A7RM3 and A9M2. Each camera has its unique functionality and capability. If you are capturing the challenging moments, you will not disappointed with A9M2 performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

a9 ii for bird and wildlife photography

ILCE-9M2 17 March 2020 by Jack Zhi (USA)

I am a experienced wildlife photographer. My shots have been published on National Geographic Top Shots. I'm recently converting myself from DSLR to mirror-less. Below are my feedback to Sony after using my a9ii and 600mm F4 lens for a few months. Things I love: * Light weight - only 8.5 pounds when paired with the 600mm f4 GM lense. * No blackout continuous shooting - love it. * Best AF tracking on the market - once AF locks on the subject, it stays. * Flip-out screen - great for low angle shooting. Some DSLR bodies also have flip-out screen but their "live-view" AF speeds are super slow for moving targets. * 20 fps high speed shooting * High ISO noise fairly low for JPEG images Things to improve: * Buffer clear is SUPPER slow! And you cannot do things like video recording while it's in progress (but you can continue to shoot stills). This is true even when the buffer is half full. So long it's clearing the buffer, you cannot shoot video! Not sure why Sony has been struggling on this, because other camera brands have resolved the issue loooong time back! * RAW images are very grainy when ISO is high and even the Sony software cannot reduce it reasonably in post-process! * While the AF tracking is the best on the market, the initial AF is not. For one, the initial AF speed is sometimes a bit slow. For two, when using AF tracking modes, the initial focus doesn't grab on the subject that's pointed by the focus point. Even when using single AF tracking mode, it many times grabs a branch or leaf next to the bird. I can understand it if I was using the wide area tracking AF mode, but I don't understand why single point or flex point AF tracking mode does that too? * Lack of third finger operation. When configured with back-button focusing (which a lot of wildlife photographers do), the thumb and the index finger are occupied during shooting. When you need to change a setting in flight while shooting, buttons located in front of the camera would be ideal to allow a third finger to press/hold and release the button. Again, other brands already offer this for a long time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

10

0

Great action camera

ILCE-9M2 20 February 2020 by Alysta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have waited a long time for the A9ii, it hasn’t disappointed so far. I’m an action photographer so I absolutely have to capture the moment. Changing from 1DX mk1 to mirrorless has meant learning new things, but I absolutely love the images. I watch lots of Mark Galor’s YouTube videos on set up. I wish there were courses that Sony ran in the UK. My only battle is setting up the Wifi to send JPEG’s to a laptop, I’m not in a studio often out in countryside or in an arena. Bottom line. I love this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6

0

Great speed and respond of the Auto tracking

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 16 February 2020 by ycpaul165 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had brought this camera about two month ago. I upgrade from A 7 III

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No Regrets

ILCE-9M2 23 January 2020 by Roseofraby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched from 20 years with Canon after doing a lot of research on Sony and I'm very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

5

0

Superb Tracking

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 18 January 2020 by steventheadventurous (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved from A7III to the A7RIV and then to the A9II mainly for its superb autofocus tracking ability. Even with the TC on, it still tracks well. The A7III is still best at high ISOs, while the A7RIV was a letdown. It couldn't autofocus in low light and the noise is terrible. The A9II bests the other 2 models in tracking moving subjects but the noise is higher than the A7III which was a bit disappointing. Nevertheless, still love the tracking

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A Real World Hands-on Review

ILCE-9M2 17 January 2020 by Wildlifephotographer (United Kingdom)

I love photographing wildlife, especially birds. My previous kit was a Canon 70D, with 100-400L IS II USM. This combination, despite the grade of the camera, gave me some fantastic shots during the six years I owned it. After some years of use though, I started to demand more, especially in AF performance. The news that Canon decided to ditch the single digit APS-C line (the 7D series) was hugely disappointing as I lost my upgrade path. In the meantime, I became more aware of lush reviews poured on the Sony A9, primarily for their insane frames-per-second performance, and somewhat later, improved AF performance post some major firmware updates. As a traditional DSLR shooter, one aspect I was very very sceptical of the A9 series was its AF performance. Throughout my DSLR years, I learned the importance of retaining total control over which AF point/area to use, and concentrating on keeping the main subject under that AF point/area no matter what. Therefore, the crazy number of phase-detect AF points over the almost entire expanse of the image sensor, and the use of AI to detect and focus on your main subject sounded too good to be true until I started using my current model, the SONY A9II. The A9II is blessed with so many different AF modes, with varying sizes of AF points, with tenacious AF tracking to boot should you need that, too. I even go so far as to say that the camera focuses perfectly as long as you use the most suitable AF setting for the scene at hand. Plus, with the joystick, it is so easy to instantaneously change and move the position of AF point, too. As they claim, the camera is massively capable of achieving and retaining focus of an oncoming approaching subject which traditional DSLRs struggled with. But one thing that could be improved in terms of the model’s AF performance is to equip its AI with more subject information. When your subjects are dogs, cats and humans, yes, the camera performs phenomenally well but when you are trying to photograph a relatively obvious and unobscured bird perched on a branch or a squirrel on the grass, it struggles. In such cases, you realise how much of the camera’s AF intelligence depends on the knowledge-base preloaded onto the camera. But in fairness I would add that when the camera struggled, I was mostly using a 1.4x teleconverter, and the atmospheric light was getting rather low. Although the camera impressed me with its insane AF performance and fast continuous shooting, as the most expensive model in the current Sony line-up, there are certain quibbles, too, which I hope will be addressed in the near future, hopefully with firmware updates if these suffice, whilst some others can only be put right by hardware improvements. One thing that bugs me currently is the colour temperature variations between the EVF, the rear LCD screen, and the real scene in front of you. I know from my past experiences that Sony tends to give their screens (TVs, LCDs, etc.) a slight cooler tinge. That is very much the case with the EVF. The thing is, when the main benefit of using a mirrorless camera is meant to be WYSIWYG, it becomes far from the truth when the picture you see in the EVF is bluer than the real scene, therefore, you change white balance accordingly, only to realise later that the picture is way too warm. It is possible to adjust the colour temperature of the EVF and I had mine set to -2 (the warmest setting available as it looks more true to real life scene), but still, some vegetation, reeds especially, carry a tinge of blue when looked through the viewfinder. This is a major flaw and I am surprised that not a single well-known reviewer online mentioned this. Another disappointment is again related to the EVF. The resolution needs to be a lot higher. A higher resolution should help the photographer know if part of the subject you are trying to focus on is in sharp focus or not. Another downside of low-res EVF is not being able to appreciate the beauty of whatever scene you are trying to capture as it unfolds in front of you - especially how the ever-changing light falls onto a particular part of your subject, etc. Photography is all about catching such fleeting beauty and capturing it at the right moment - with the current EVF in the A9II, the experience is still inferior to that through an OVF. You need a bit of guessing and imagination. I also add that the exposure compensation setting isn’t reflected faithfully inside the EVF - I tend to find that the final image ends up looking way too dark when uploaded to a computer. The rear LCD needs a higher resolution, too, for the same reason. Normally on locations, I am rarely blown away by the image quality when reviewing taken pictures as the screen lets the camera down. Only when I get home and uploaded all my pictures to a bigger screen do I get to appreciate the full capabilities of the A9II. It’s an amazing camera with tremendous image sensor inside. It’s sad that this cycle of taking a picture and reviewing it in situ before adjusting the settings is hindered by the lack of faithfulness in the way the pictures are shown on the various screens on the camera. Please fix this as this is crucial for serious photographers. Another thing I want Sony to fix is the lag from the sleep mode. I half-press the shutter button to wake my camera up but the EVF takes a bit of time to wake up. Whatever else you do before the EVF fully wakes up, such as trying to get the right AF mode, etc., isn’t met with a response. As a sports model, the slow recovery from sleep mode is embarrassing. AWB - auto white balance - is another major letdown. It performs admirably under the clear blue sky. However, the moment the light level drops, the AWB seems to get it wrong. Where the ‘Shade’ setting should have been applied, I still see the ‘Daylight’ kelvin applied. I shoot in RAW so it is possible to adjust in post, however, given the pricing point of the camera, I expect it to do way better. The only saving grace is that the Sony’s image sensor is capable of capturing so much detail and information therefore a post adjustment, if done right, can bring so much more life to a picture. Another thing is related to AF yet again. If you are into photographing small birds that like to hide in shrubs and trees, you might wish the smallest AF point to be a lot smaller. In shops when testing the camera, I didn’t think I would wish for this, but in real life situations, the smallest AF point is still big and the camera refuses to see the bird I see. I might sound way too critical of such a ground breaking, highly acclaimed camera of the twenty first century, but that’s because I know that this little camera has got a big potential to be even greater. The camera really shines and impresses when it is doing what it’s meant and designed to do in ideal situations. Dogs running, jumping, running around a tree, birds in flight with no confusing background, no problem! So I know if Sony put their minds to it, they can turn this into an even more unbelievable performer for bird photographers. The direction for the camera industry is definitely mirrorless even at the high-end. The slow response and commitment from Canon to the technology meant I simply refused to invest my hard earned cash in their dying EF mount system, which as they admitted recently has stopped receiving any more R&D money as Canon need to focus on the RF mount. If you already own a high-end DSLR system and happy with what it can do for you, then don’t consider jumping ship until the gear has failed or broken. But if you are like me, needing a high speed model/system now or soon with a future worth investing in, the Sony A9II is a very worthy addition to your shortlist.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

10

5

0

Still Learning, but looking good for the future.

ILCE-9M2 15 January 2020 by Honestman Steve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first mirrorless camera so still getting to grips with the newness of it all. A steep learning curve for us old people. Bought to take wildlife pictures but weather has been poor since purchase. What we have managed looks good, camera feels good to handle and a lot of features to master. Pleased with the decision to purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

3

0

Capturing the CommonKingfisher is the Best Test

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 14 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just upgraded from a Sony RX10M4 and decided to commit to a higher end camera. No regrets (except would like more megapixels with the A9ii). Best in class n performance for fast moving subjects! Follow me on my Instagram mc.film2019 - great Sony combination.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 12 January 2020 by Nyxeventus (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a camera we shouldn’t underestimate. Capturing the moment is always the most important thing as a photographer but capturing challenging moments the A9ii will not let you down. At the end of the day you kinda blame yourself for not being prepared so this camera actually challenges you to be faster and more aware about what is to come. Thank you Sony

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good feature

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 08 January 2020 by kimhuat (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I am happy with the purchase of the A9 II camera. Easy of operation n etc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Dream Camera!

ILCE-9M2 06 December 2019 by Justin2020 (USA)

I absolutlly love shooting with my new Sony a9 full frame camera! It has been amazing. I have only one complaint...I wish I had two :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

20 FPS with Real-Time Tracking makes magic happen!

ILCE-9M2 21 November 2019 by Gary G (USA)

I recieved my A9ii on Nov 7th and have had a chance to use it for photographing birds in flight as well as a wedding. For reference, I had owned an A7r2 and currently own an A7r3. I had been wanting an A9 as the A7r3 takes spectacular portrait & landscape pictures, but is rather hit or miss when your subject is moving. The reviews of the Ergonomic improvements on the new A7r4 sounded very positive, so when the A9ii was announced & would be using those same improvements, I decided to purchase it. It was immediately obvious the A7r3 and A9ii are both excellent tools, but for two totally different functions, one for resolution, the other for speed of acquiring and maintaining focus while delivering 20 pictures per second, albeit at 24 MP. And yes, all those ergonomic improvements ( larger grip, button size & travel in particular) are just better in all respects from the A7r3 or previous. I have no hands on experience with either the original A9 or the A7r4. The electronic shutter, when set at 20FPS (there is a medium & low setting available as well) is something you must experience to believe. Coupled with the no blackout view finder, capturing birds in flight is as simple as if using a video camera. The Real Time Tracking locks on to your target and just doesn't let go. I'm including some pictures that demonstrates just that. The 1st picture of the two American White Ibis has focus locked on the lead bird. Pictures 2, 3 & 4 are consecutive shots where the A9ii clearly stays focused on the lead Ibis, even as the trailing Ibis almost totally eclipses it. The lens for these pictures was the Sony 70-200mm GM set at f3.2 and 200mm. The A9ii was set at 1/2000 and ISO 100.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

5

0

Fab camera but read my review re raw imports !!

ILCE-9M2 18 November 2019 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I already have the a9 mk1 so know how good this camera is, At the moment though - mid Nov 2019 - the camera is not worth using due to Sony / Adobe (not sure which) not sorting out the ability to import raw files from this camera into Lightroom. There is a labourious workaround involving downloading additional software, importing the raw fils as tiffs and then importing those into LR but what a pain it is to do that. Come on Sony /Adobe please get this sorted asap

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

This camera is the best on the world

ILCE-9M2 07 November 2019 by Sharif (USA)

I loved after buy this camera This camera just made for professional photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4