52

4.5 based on 52 customer reviews

36
10
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

best surround sound

HTS40R 19 July 2021 by ChelleBelle (USA)

I recent had tried another sound bar and then I tried this one and Sony for sure hit the bar just a bit higher. Easy to put together and easy to hook up. The sound quality is amazing. You can feel like you are watching at home in a nice toned down evening or you can feel like you are at the theater. The blue tooth option is also amazing, I can listen to my audio books on my surround sound or even just youtube and it is easy and not a hassle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Did not work out of the box

HTS40R 05 October 2021 by masterj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar did not work right from the box hdmi or optical zero sound need to ship it for repairs should be replace not repaired

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

52 Customer Reviews

0

HT-40R

HTS40R 22 October 2021 by cradad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I called Sony to find a surround system that had wireless rear speakers and the agent I talked to recommended the HT-40R. I purchased the HT-40R to replace a BVD-E770W DVD surround system with wireless rear speakers. With the original system I could adjust each individual speaker for distance from the listener and the db level for each speaker. The new system you can only adjust the distance for either the right or left set of speakers. Most people are sitting closer to the rear speakers. The sound is decent but could be better if the adjustments were individual for each speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Did not work out of the box

HTS40R 05 October 2021 by masterj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar did not work right from the box hdmi or optical zero sound need to ship it for repairs should be replace not repaired

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

What it says on the box!

HT-S40R 11 September 2021 by Mike2311 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up, straight out of the box. It took about 10 minutes no more. Instructions were simple to understand, no problems. Looks good, much smaller and neater than my previous sound system. No wires between front and back speakers. The sound is good as well and certainly loud enough. The various modes, cinema, music etc all work well with audible differences between them. Overall very pleased

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

20

0

Disappointed with clarity

HT-S40R 08 September 2021 by DeltaY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system is of the usual high standard which one expects from Sony. The system worked and synchronised straight out of the box, and when connected with an HDMI ARC connected cable is controlled from the TV remote and goes into standby when the TV is switched off as described in the literature. However I find the dialogue sometimes is muffled and when speech is important, such as on chat shows or news reports, I have to turned the system off and revert to the TV speakers which have greater clarity; In addition, irrespective of which setting or 5.1 source I use, from DVD or broadcast film, the sound from the rear speakers is not unique or different just a lower volume from the front sound bar. I have owned a surround system before which actually makes you feel you are the middle of the action or film - this system does not, it is more like 2.1 not 5.1 but perhaps I have yet to find the ultimate setting.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

9

0

Phenomenal Sound Quality

HTS40R 14 August 2021 by Dombomb (USA)

This sound system is nothing short of excellent. Super sharp quality. Crisp, clear sound all throughout the audio. The bass within the speakers are perfectly tuned. The Dynamics are all just perfectly pitched. The setup was simple as can be with wireless setup and color coded connections. Both movies and music sound flawless coming through the speakers. The surround sound with multiple speakers is similar to that of being in a theater or I can simply adjust through the enhancement for a simpler sound effect. I couldn't ask for more. I'm stunned by the quality of sound that comes through this system. Absolutely phenomenal. My entire family is loving the setup!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

1

0

Great sound, minimal wires

HTS40R 08 August 2021 by Dallasdave (USA)

Had this for about a month. Admittedly I am not tech savvy so the length of time (2 or 3 hours) to set everything may seem long. Overall not difficult, wires fit together with a simple push and everything was color coded. I didn't find the syncing to my TV via HDMI audio return channel all that easy, after reading instructions twice I figured out that I had to turn tv on first then the speakers. 5 stars on sound from a low profile minimal wiring setup, minus 1 star overall for technical setup and trouble pairing the rear speakers. Otherwise I do like the installed product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Excellent sound quality!

HTS40R 03 August 2021 by Ben R (USA)

I really like this Sony Home Cinema. It was really easy to install by just pairing to my smart tv via Bluetooth. The two back speakers connect to the amplifier by wire but via Bluetooth to the subwoofer which is nice, less wires to run and hide. The sound is great when watching TV and my wife likes to connect her phone and play music. I like that it turns on and connects to my TV as soon as I turn the TV on. I don't have to have the remote to turn it on, and the volume is controlled with my TV. Best experience when watching movies with the kids, definitely feels like a home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Great surround sound system for the price!

HTS40R 01 August 2021 by Jeremy81 (USA)

I've been wanting a nice surround sound system for awhile now and decided to give this one a try. I like that there are no wires to run between the tv and the subwoofer. There is a little box that you attach the side speakers to so they are attached to that and not the subwoofer giving more flexibility for speaker placement. I had a much more expensive system years ago that was very difficult to set up and now no longer works. This system is extremely easy to set up only taking about 30 minutes. Love that I can also use the Bluetooth feature to connect it to my phone to play music. The overall sound and quality is wonderful for the price!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

1

0

Not wireless speakers.

HT-S40R 01 August 2021 by Dizzy di (United Kingdom)

Bought this a week ago. Looking forward to being able to place speakers back of room in desired place but unable to do because of wires, and where mains plug is situated in house.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

25

25

0

Nice sound.

HTS40R 30 July 2021 by Alaoiswolf (USA)

It's a great little system for those not looking for super explosive sound. I love the look of the sound bar and sub. Speaking of the sub everything is control thru it, minus the rear speakers. The only negative I can give it is the rear speaker are very light weight so if you have a busy home with kids or animals, it would be a good idea to wall mount them. Overall I'm very pleased with the unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Immersive Cinematic Experience

HTS40R 29 July 2021 by Felix (USA)

I absolutely love our new Sony HT-S40R sound bar system! This slim profile sound bar is perfect for our setup as we lack ample wall space. The wireless amplifier can also be wall mounted or just resting on a table or shelf. Setup between the two satellite speakers is simple and pretty much mistake proof with the color coding. I do wish the wires were perhaps of a thicker gauge though this doesn’t seem to impact performance. The sync between the amplifier and the subwoofer is seamless as I did not have any issues with pairing. The sound quality is superb with the 5.1 surround setup. Our master bedroom tv is a bit dated so the sound quality passable but really needed some help. With the addition of the Sony HT-S40R, it feels like it’s practically a whole new television (while display quality hasn’t changed, the sound has dramatically improved). While I appreciate the feature with USB Bluetooth connectivity, this is not really something that I find myself using but is certainly a nice perk. The remote works well and is responsive but I think a bit over complicated with so many different buttons/features. All in all, this truly is an immersive sounds bar system that’s not only powerful, ergonomic, but also aesthetically pleasing. This is definitely a good value and priced reasonably where you won’t have to break the bank for superior sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Works great

HTS40R 28 July 2021 by Christa17_81 (USA)

It works really great. It was pretty easy to set up. We did have a few issues but to me that is normal. Like at first out tv had no sound at all but we were able to fix it. I personally do not hear as well as I used to so I love it. My kids say it shakes their rooms and is too loud. It's a great addition to our livingroom.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sounds good

HTS40R 28 July 2021 by Jennka (USA)

This is a pretty solid surround sound system. I like the bass that this gives as well as the sound all around. This was very easy to install and really gives me a more clear sound when watching tv, movies, and listening to music. I do wish though that the rear speakers were actually wireless. Due to them having wires, I had to put them on a platform so I didn't have wires coming down my wall. There are times where when I am not watching anything, random beeps come from the rear speakers, but it may be just some interference with other chords. Overall a very nice system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Huge upgrade from 2.1 soundbar

HTS40R 27 July 2021 by sgrr (USA)

Initial setup was a pain with HDMI ARC. I had problems getting it to connect through HDMI-CEC Anynet+ on my Samsung TV. Finally got it connected, but the next time I turned on the TV, it couldn't even read the soundbar. Tried to get it working, but it just wouldn't connect. I have a lot of patience, and this was really testing it during setup. Not sure if it was my TV or the soundbar that was having issues with HDMI ARC. Switched over to Bluetooth because I didn't have an extra optical cable. The back speakers would make popping noises, ruining the surround sound experience. Plus, when switching apps (within Amazon FireStick) the soundbar would switch inputs for some reason. I was about to give this a bad review and switch back to my old soundbar. But.. Got an optical cable a few days later and it has worked flawlessly ever since! Even got the FireStick remote synced up because Amazon makes it extremely easy to do. What I like: Sounds great! It's a huge upgrade from a 2.1 soundbar. Instruction booklet is comprehensive and very helpful. I recommend keeping the manual close for awhile - there are many settings you can calibrate. What I didn't like: Bluetooth connection wasn't stable with rear speakers. The text interface is on the subwoofer - not the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great product and super easy to setup!

HTS40R 27 July 2021 by Aaron (USA)

I got the product several weeks ago and just got around to setting it up. I was blown away by how easy it was to setup and how great the sound quality is. The sound bar is low profile and fits very neatly on my media stand. Setup was a breeze and the system immediately integrated with the tv. The rear speakers were automatically linked to the woofer and sound bad so there wasn’t the typical troubleshooting headaches that I’d normally have with something like this. Very happy with this product and would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

I love my home cinema!

HTS40R 26 July 2021 by zacg6 (USA)

I have been wanting to purchase a speaker system for our living room for quite some time. I don’t know why I waited so long, because it is a total game changer! Setting everything up was what I was looking forward to the least— but it’s truly a piece of cake. We host movie nights and having the awesome sound quality from the sound bar, the subwoofer, and the two rear speakers makes such a difference. I can’t recommend this product enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great Quality Sound

HTS40R 26 July 2021 by Jwyand1 (USA)

This home cinema system is simply amazing! The quality is so good and really does give you a cinema experience right from your own home!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Nice solid home theater system

HTS40R 23 July 2021 by Matt278 (USA)

I was excited to get this set up and compare to my Bose Cinemate 15 single sound bar and subwoofer system. I was impressed how easy the installation was and the Bluetooth and USB integration. Unfortunately it did not compare to the quality and clarity of my Bose system but to be fair it cost $100s more. I decided to keep the Bose in our living room and setup the Sony in our bedroom which with a smaller space and positioning the rear speakers on each night stand proved to be an impressive upgrade in our bedroom. Using the ARC HDMI input was a single input connection which is great and best of all my TV remote controls the volume and power of the system. My biggest complaint is the lack of clarity more treble is required to my ears and the sound is a bit muddy even with the subwoofer turned down. After a few days I adjusted and a huge upgrade over the TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Just wow

HTS40R 23 July 2021 by Chrissy11 (USA)

Got this a few weeks back and let me me tell you movie night had gotten more exciting. The sound is crisp and clear. What I like about this product is that is isn't too bulky and goes with any rooms decor..This product is definitely a go to for a over all great sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Worth the wait

HT-S40R 21 July 2021 by amigos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, and no wires between the front and back. The subwoofer and soundbar share a single power connection and those with a Sony Bravia TV that supports "TV wireless connection" can beam audio between the TV and HT-S40R wirelessly. I thought it would be any Sony Bravia TV, but mine must be a budget version. Not a big problem as I still benefit from the lack of wires between front and back speakers. I find the rear speakers a bit too directional, as I can only ever hear one side (depending where I'm sitting), but I'm new to 5.1, so maybe that's just me. It doesn't support Dolby Atmos, but at this price, I think it does a great job. I find it a bit difficult to read the display when using the remote control, but you don't have to use it very often, so again it's not a big problem (for me). And I had to buy speaker stands for the rear speakers at an extra cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Great Sound

HTS40R 21 July 2021 by Clawbennett (USA)

Out of the box everything went well. The install was almost plug and play even with a different brand of TV. We hooked up to a Samsung branded TV and the install was very simple. After a little tweaking of the sound and placement of the speakers we got everything working for our space. The sound is clean and crisp. The bass at first was a little too boomy but we made the necessary adjustments and it sounds good. We have no major complaints. I would say that the wireless connection seemed iffy at first but things worked out no problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Quality Sound

HTS40R 19 July 2021 by Thecoolmom (USA)

I recently received the Sony Home Cinema and the sound quality is really great. I haven’t fully installed it into my walls yet but the set up to connect it took all of 10-15 mins. All of the cords were included but an additional optical digital cable is needed. The back 2 speakers are wireless and connected (by wire) to the wireless amplifier. They don’t need to connect to the subwoofer which is nice when installing. I am also happy to have the template for the wall mount when I am able to install soon. The other feature I really appreciate is being able to adjust the subwoofer volume separate from the speaker volume. I love the Bluetooth feature. It’s a quick connection to my phone for music. Great for entertaining! The style and look of the speakers are sleek and simple. I do wish the back speakers were a bit smaller but the sound is so good it makes up for it. My new stereo definitely makes movie watching much more exciting and realistic. I would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good sound!

HTS40R 19 July 2021 by Genbra (USA)

Overall, the home theatre system is decent quality and sound.  It came efficiently packaged. Instructions were easy to follow. It didn't take long to setup as the audio connectors are color coded so it's hard to get it wrong. The system has various input options so I was able to configure my tv and Bluetooth devices and use the home theatre system for sound. Also, it has a usb and other options e.g. analog. The system supports hdmi arc but you will need a compatible tv. Comes with rear speakers and they are wireless so I was able to strategically place the speakers throughout my living room. I like the different sound experiences! I can choose from auto sound, standard, cinema, music, voice or the night option depending on what type of sound I desire. Also, I like that I can control the volume using my smart tv control. The home theatre system has Dolby audio not Dolby atmos so the sound is not as crisp as Dolby atmos and it can sound muffled at times. It's not the top of the line but it takes the home theatre experience to the next level!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Crisp and Clear

HTS40R 19 July 2021 by Waka (USA)

Th sony home cinema sound system is the audio system I've dreamed of. The entire setup took me no more than 10 minutes from unboxing to getting audio out of the speakers. The subwoofer packs and amazing punch and the sound bar has an amazing LCR that really feels like an actual LCR. The rear speakers also give an amazing surround sound feel that gives for an immersive movie experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

best surround sound

HTS40R 19 July 2021 by ChelleBelle (USA)

I recent had tried another sound bar and then I tried this one and Sony for sure hit the bar just a bit higher. Easy to put together and easy to hook up. The sound quality is amazing. You can feel like you are watching at home in a nice toned down evening or you can feel like you are at the theater. The blue tooth option is also amazing, I can listen to my audio books on my surround sound or even just youtube and it is easy and not a hassle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Overall a good choice

HTS40R 18 July 2021 by heathermthomas (USA)

The entire 5.1ch Home Cinema with Wireless Rear Speakers system was easy to setup and get working, took us about 30 minutes to set it all up with the clear instructions, after disconnecting our other system. We connected to our Samsung TV wirelessly, super nice to not see cords everywhere, by the TV itself. But there are wires to the back speakers, therefore you will see those connected still from those. The sound bar is not covered in fabric so no need to worry about that ripping at any point, gives it a nice sleek look. And it has HDMI ARC, optical and analogue input connections. There’s also bluetooth (so you can plat from any device) and a USB port. We’re able to see what input is being used with the monochromatic LCD display. Just a heads up, this has Dolby Digital audio not Dolby Atmos, but honestly this is so awesome with sound that the Dolby Digital is impeccable. We also have our Xbox One connected and when playing this, watching movies or any show it feels like we’re a part of the entertainment. Very nice sound. The remote allows you to select different sound options. It has 4 modes Cinema, Music, Standard and Auto Sound. Night and Voice modes are also included and you can adjust with the sub’s volume control. We set it on the Cinema sound, since it seems like the best and usually keep it there. Although, comparing to our other system, this one sounds muffled when we tested with the exact same song. Which is the reason we decided to take away 1 star.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Love it!!!

HTS40R 18 July 2021 by Trillnita (USA)

This sound bar is everything!!! The volume on my tv isn’t the best but after hooking up this speaker it’s amazing!! This makes watching movies sound like I’m in the theatre!! Nice sound and great quality! Not only that but it’s Bluetooth so now I can listen to music from my phone on the speakers as well and it’s incredible!!!

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Amazing Sound Quality

HTS40R 18 July 2021 by Tommy S (USA)

This device was easy to set up. Long wires enable far reaches for the speakers. A blueprint of where to set up wall screws in order to wall mount was provided. The sound was extraordinary after setup, easy to use. The sound bar easily fit underneath my TV that was already wall mounted in a way that looked natural.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Love it

HTS40R 17 July 2021 by Gekigangar (USA)

Using a sound bar takes some getting used to since it's a fuller, richer sound than the tv gives. This product is nice and I especially love it when playing my video games. It has a few different modes that optimize sound based on what kind of program is on. I also love being able to adjust the subwoofer volume on its own. I actually would rate it 4.5 stars because: 1. You can't adjust the volume of the surround speakers. It increases and decreases with the main volume. Not everyone can have the speakers right next to the couch. 2. There should be a way to tweak the sound manually. Adjust the bass and treble as we like for example. Those are minor inconveniences for an otherwise awesome sound system. It's great to be able to put the surround speakers in the back of the room without having to run a wire from the main unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Discrete and Foolproof, the Sony HT-S40R

HT-S40R 17 July 2021 by beastobadness666 (United Kingdom)

As a person who has never owned a surround system before, this review is coming from a complete newbie to 5.1 surround sound systems. My expectations of a professional surround sound system are relatively large numbers of speakers spread around a room, usually attached to an A/V receiver by a spaghetti of cables needing management. So has the Sony HT-S40R 5.1 surround system changed my expectations? The fact that the rear speaker assembly has no wires connecting it to the forward speaker set should give you a big clue! The HT-S40R system is so discrete it's scary and as the rear speaker amp is wall mountable means it can be effectively hidden from sight behind a sofa, for example, if required. OK so it does require two power outputs but it's totally worth it for the lack of stress from cable management. I recently purchased a Sony Bravia XH92 TV but was a little underwhelmed by its internal speaker power probably due to its table top corner placement not helping the audio project properly, this is why I decided on this surround system and I can say without a doubt, I have no more issues! Initially, when I first received the S40R system I hadn't taken into account that the rear speakers would require a set of stands to position them correctly, at the time this didn't really matter as the surround system allows you to run in effectively a 3.1 configuration by switching the rear speaker capability off. This was impressive enough on its own but once I mounted the rear speakers in place the HT-S40R became a different animal. Note that regardless of surround system, your speaker placement is very important for multichannel audio focus. So how does it sound? Well the sound is as immersive as you would expect, it is just everywhere! Movies are a totally different experience, the rear and front speakers are crystal and well defined, the subwoofer gives a beautiful low rumble (just be wary of the volume on this one), for the money, it does a fantastic job. Music is very well presented and gives a well rounded experience however you must rely on the preset music EQ to deliver on this which if you are a traditionalist or audiophile probably wouldn't fulfil your expectations. I am curious as to whether the HT-S40R would output multichannel music but that is for another time. A note about the EQing of the system, usually a lack of control over a systems EQ is a bad thing but in this case it works, Sony, as you would expect, have done a very good job of tuning the presets and it adds to the S40R's simplicity of use. My feelings on surround sound systems are they should be set and forget, it should never be about pumping out watts at huge volumes but common sense tells you the system should have enough power to fill the room, something the HT-S40R system has plenty of at 600W RMS. I must mention my only annoyance with the HT-S40R and that is the remote and this is nitpicking!! The remote is nice and small but muscle memory is a thing when you use remotes, menu buttons like up/down (left/right don't apply to this remote) should be placed centrally on usually a large round arrow pad with select in the middle, which on the remote is right where the volume up/down is instead, rewiring my brain to use this remote is an absolute nightmare because each time I stray and hit the volume up instead of menu up say, it kicks me out of the menu tree to begin all over again. First setup was definately an OMG moment with expletives. Would I recommend the Sony HT-S40R 5.1 Wireless Surround System? Comfortably YES. The HT-S40R system is a true 'all-in-one-box' solution for discrete 5.1 surround sound, pure simplicity, everything you require is in the box and no extra cabling is required apart from maybe an HDMI cable to connect via the TV's ARC but a modern TV with a bluetooth connection (like my XH92) negates that and means the HDMI connection is not required. This does mean however that the system is totally proprietary, the cables can't be switched out and are hard-wired to the speakers, the connectors for the speakers are also proprietary but this is the difference between this and way higher price points. So if you need a 'plug and play' surround system that requires minimal setup and tinkering, the Sony HT-S40R 5.1 Wireless Surround System is a great option for anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

3

0

Easy set up, real surround sound

HTS40R 17 July 2021 by Junkyarddawwgg (USA)

Kudos to Sony for delivering on this product. It is SO easy to get set up and finally have a simple surround sound with a high quality speaker at a reasonable price. The bar itself and the speakers are very light and slim. I am wishing I had a Bluetooth compatible tv but I don’t so I had to run the wires behind the dry wall. This was pretty easy since I already had the setup on my current tv (wires suck!) I was floored with the surround feel in my living room. It could definitely work in a smaller room but these things really pack a punch even in a larger room. Love this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Sound is amazing~

HTS40R 16 July 2021 by lucky4eva24 (USA)

This sound bar system is exactly what we were looking for for our home entertainment! It is very simple to set up, using the included instructions. Setup was a breeze and we were able to listen to it within minutes. We love that this system is wireless, and has Bluetooth connectivity for listening to our favorite music whenever we want without the hassle of needing to hook up the stereo we can just connect our smartphones with the push of a button. The sound is phenomenal, crisp, clear, and everything we've been looking for. The pieces are not very heavy, and can be moved around whenever needed. The subwoofer really adds to the effects of a movie, or song and enhances the experience!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Easy to set up, quality sound!

HTS40R 16 July 2021 by aliciastaff87 (USA)

I needed a sound bar for my rather large front room.  As already owning a Sony Bravia TV I thought I would try the Sony HT-S40R.  The system was well packaged and had a quick setup instructions and a regular users manual.  As having owned a LG sound bar and a vizio surround sound.  This is by far the easiest to install surround sound setup.  All plugs are color coded and easily identified.   I really like that the wires to the soundbar are in a flat loom.  This was helpful to easily hide the wires.   The rear remote speakers have a wireless receiver that has wires going to the speakers.  These too are easily identified.  I did mount the rear speakers on stands as my front room has a weird layout for remote speakers. It took longer to inbox than to set up this unit.  The setup is very stylish with a wire mesh aluminum grill.  As a automotive enthusiast I was drawn to this system.   I turned on the TV and the system automatically configured its self! This might be my favorite part as previously I have spent quite some time configuring inputs. Out of the box the audio profile is very good.  I tweaked the system to my liking and have listened to music and watched an action film.  I would highly recommend this setup. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Love it

HTS40R 15 July 2021 by Kat77 (USA)

As soon as we received this, We immediately set it up in our living room and was very surprised at the sound effects from such a valued item! It only took us about 10 minutes total to put it up, such a easy set up. I am in love with this. I highly recommend this, you will not regret it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

What a powerhouse!!!

HTS40R 14 July 2021 by Rdj3000a (USA)

Holy cow! I was super surprised at the “Umph” this sound system has considering it so small (which I love)! The set up was quick and easy. Although instructions came with it I honestly didn’t need them. I love how small the remote is. I love that it has a Bluetooth connection so it was super easy to connect to my Sony tv. Let me tell you this little system gives the best sound of any system I’ve ever owned. The quality is crystal clear and it does allow for you to change the settings if needed. It easy to change your output with the small lcd screen on the subwoofer. I am super impressed and love this entertainment system!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Best sound system I have ever had

HT-S40R 14 July 2021 by Hannah41 (United Kingdom)

I was pleasantly surprised to find the sound bar and rear speakers were quite small compared to others I have had. The set up instructions provided a fast setup, and was easy to understand. There was a sound demonstration on the subwoofer but I was unable to get that to work. Anyway the sound was coming through perfectly in any case. The remote control was fairly small but easy to use. Sound effects can be changed individually or you can use an automatic button if you want. These tailored sound effects were a breath of fresh air and not complicated to use. I tend to watch some older programs by recording them and the sounds can be awful. However using the voice control made them easier to watch and enjoy. Bluetooth function was easy to use as was the handy USB slot on the subwoofer. My Blue ray player worked perfectly and the sound was superior. Finally this is a great Home Theatre System and I take my hat of to Sony for producing a first class product with an easy setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

1

0

Great surround sound, with a punch!

HT-S40R 14 July 2021 by DoctorSimon31 (United Kingdom)

This 5.1ch Home Cinema with Wireless Rear Speaker system from Sony was very simple start up to use with my TV via the provided optical cable, working first time in just a few minutes. You will need a room with a power socket behind your seating area to power the wireless amplifier for the rear speakers. I added an HDMI cable to "Interlock" the controls, which works seamlessly, allowing volume control of the system through the TV remote, as well as starting up and going into standby mode in sync with the TV. There is a template for wall mounting the speakers, if required. This system connects easily to Bluetooth devices, following the theme of one remote to control the volume. It will also connect to an aux cable for other wired devices. There is a very small rolling display at the top of the subwoofer speaker (below a set of function buttons) to show status, volume, menu options, etc. It is maybe too small and obviously positioned on a speaker at floor level, to easily read regularly, but I have found that after "fine tuning" the speaker system there was little need to look down at it. Within the settings menu are many configuration settings that you can alter according to speaker separation, audio preferences, etc. It is well worth spending some time experimenting with these settings to get the best sound for the room. I have two TV setups in my house: I found this system worked better in a smaller 3m setup than the larger room. The volume scale is literally 1-100, taking some time to move up the range with a remote, but 100 is extremely loud with little distortion, when tested with music. But I have found a disappointing lack of higher frequencies, this being my main criticism of the sound system. The remote control is simple to use and absolutely necessary for the menu options. You can change the type of sound setup you want, like night, voice, cinema, music, etc. with a single push of a button. There is also status and input buttons that require the visual feedback from the display. Overall it is an impressive system, easy to setup and use, powerful and versatile to different inputs, but I would like more higher range sound, and maybe put the display on the sound bar... just an idea.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

1

0

The best

HTS40R 14 July 2021 by Detroit Willy (USA)

My Sony 5.1 channel home Cinema delivers probably the best sound I've ever had in a surround sound system. Setup and connection was simple. The 2 wireless back speakers are a game change. The sub woofer delivers rich and clear base. I couldn't be happier with a sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great Product

HT-S40R 14 July 2021 by Simm1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome piece of kit for the price, turn the SW upto 12 and WOW !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Product!

HTS40R 14 July 2021  (USA)

I received this product in the mail today. The setup had the directions on how to do so and it was an easy connection. I was able to connect it to my phone with the Bluetooth option and I was able to connect it with my tv! It has an amazing sound to it. I would now have to have a movie night and have my family it enjoy the sound as well! I would recommend this product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Disappointing

HT-S40R 13 July 2021 by The blue koi (United Kingdom)

Firstly this arrived well packaged and on opening I was please with the look and build quality, with one exception the little plastic push connectors on the speaker wires feel flimsy and the tabs probably won't last long if others of that type are anything to go by. Once everything was assembled (their is nothing in the instructions as to where the rear speakers should be positioned, height etc) I turned it on with great anticipation only to be disappointed. This system does not produce true surround sound, instead it just plays the source music from all speakers. If your expecting to hear sound effects that move from speaker to speaker like say an airplane pass over then this is not the system for you. I found the menu and very small display a pain to use and setup. I had to refer to the manual in the end to figure out how to get to the settings I wanted to change. I tried all sorts of different settings but still no true surround sound. The rear speakers are very quiet even when fully turned up in the settings. Although my son did like it for gaming. If your tv has bad speakers and is not huge as the soundbar is only 900mm long then this would probably be an improvement for you, but if you are after true surround sound then this is not for you.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

7

0

Wonderful

HTS40R 13 July 2021 by Hoully111 (USA)

I am absolutely blown away by the quality and numerous options given with this Soundbar. The sound quality is absolutely amazing it makes me feel like I'm actually in the movie or in the show. It was extremely easy to set up I had it all set up in less than 20 minuets. I highly recommend for any home entertainment system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Absolutely Brilliant, Stunning Quality

HTS40R 12 July 2021 by VideoGameMaster777 (USA)

I am thrilled by this sound system! It only took me about 30 minutes to take everything out of the packaging and set it all up. I think it could be setup in less than 5 minutes once you know what you're doing. In my case, I wanted to be careful and do everything slowly. The entire system was easy to setup and get working, everything is clearly labeled and obvious to avoid mistakes or confusion. The instruction manual was very simple to follow and understand, which is a huge plus. I connected it to one of my TV's via wireless Bluetooth within seconds and was blown away by the sound quality, truly amazing! I connected it to another TV via HDMI and an audio optical cable, works flawlessly! So far have tested the system with video games on my Playstation 4, with various movies, and with different types of music... everything sounds better then I could have ever imagined. Leaps and bounds better then my TV speakers. Sony really nailed it with this model. For the retail price point, is thing is a WINNER. I couldn't ask for a better sound system. The subwoofer bass hits hard in the best way possible, not too loud or too low. I love how more or less everything is matching black, it looks super luxurious. The remote control takes two AAA batteries and works great. I am thoroughly impressed and recommend this product to anyone looking for a new soundbar home theater speaker system. 10 out of 10 from me. Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great quality and sound

HT-S40R 12 July 2021 by Gadget it 42 (United Kingdom)

I've been using it for a couple of weeks now build quality is excellent setup is super simple for the rear wireless speakers. I'll start with the soundbar its got great solid feel to it no fabric cover as with many soundbars which give it a great look the subwoofer is also sleek looking with a little LCD panel for source and volume which is great addition on to the sound I've had a few bars over the years but this one even out of the box sounds fantastic the movies really come to life with 5.1 setup and for gaming it was awesome the bit I was really surprised by was how good it made normal TV sound speech was so clear better than any I've had before so if you're looking for a good quality looking setup and no wires and sound to match then have a look at this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Sound bar

HTS40R 12 July 2021 by Carebear (USA)

Very nice high quality sound bar. Very quick and easy to understand instructions. The remote came with a set of batteries. Has different options on the remote for whatever sound preference you would love to hear. Since we have a big flat screen television we put ours on the cinema sound like your sitting in a movie theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Surround Sounding Great!

HTS40R 12 July 2021 by mmhollywood (USA)

We just moved into a new home and of course after furnishing comes the electronics! We picked up the Sony home cinema to create a surround sound experience in our living room. We particularly liked this one because of the wireless rear speakers that could be place behind the couch. It was super easy to set up and once we got it all set up and configured, we turned up the sound. WOW! The sound is super crisp and provides a great sound experience for both movies and music. Sony delivers again!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great Replacement cinema kit

HT-S40R 12 July 2021 by Chuckie832170 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love this cinema kit. It's easy to set up as the cables are colour coded. The sound is so much better than my previous kit (Sony HT-MT300) The subwoofer was easy to connect my phone to and play music via the speakers and at 600w output its better than my hifi. Although the soundbar is bigger than my previous model, it still fits in well with my TV and sits nicely in front of it. The subwoofer though is too big to fit at the side of my TV unit as I would have liked but although I've put it at the back of the TV it does not detract from the sound quality. The rear speakers were a welcome addition to my previous setup and the quality is apparent when watching an action film or concert. The only way this could be improved for me is that I would have liked the soundbar to have been wireless as well as the rear speakers, so I wouldn't have been so restricted as to where I could place the subwoofer. It would have also been good if the attached cables were detachable so that if any damage occurred they could be easily swapped/replaced. All in all a great piece of kit and a welcome addition to anyones viewing setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great value cinema quality sound!

HT-S40R 12 July 2021 by Michaelw77 (United Kingdom)

Sound is one area of my AV set up I have neglected. I had always considered a home cinema surround sound system but I ended up staying with my TV speakers or headphones. One reason was I have a fairly small living room and didn't want cables everywhere or speakers that dominated the room. Another was expense. When I saw the HT-S40R I immediately thought it looked compact and good value! Both a win, but after using it was it a worthwhile addition to my living room? The package as a whole is quite weighty mainly due to the Subwoofer although the soundbar itself also has a nice weight adding to the quality feel. The design of each component is fairly understated and would blend in with any other AV equipment you may have. The surrounds of the speakers, soundbar and front panel of the subwoofer are all finished in a black brushed metal effect which is very subtle. The grilles are all finished in a dark gunmetal grey. The two rear speakers are a nice small size perfect for my room. Other than the deep gloss black vent on the front of the subwoofer, nothing shouts 'look at me!' Perfect if you want something to just blend in to your surroundings. Initial set up was extremely easy. Due to how I have my TV set up, I decided to connect the amp using an optical cable. You can use HDMI if you have an ARC compatible TV, however that input on mine is already in use. Three connectors from the soundbar then plug into the rear of the subwoofer. The two rear speakers, whilst wireless from the subwoofer have to be plugged into the wireless amplifier. The wires are quite long so you have a fair amount to play with in terms of positioning the speakers. It means you don't have wires trailing across your from room from the sub which is a definite positive. The actual wirless set up was extremely easy with small link button the rear of the wireless amplifier. Worked first time! Now to find out what it sounds like! The subwoofer has touch sensitive buttons on the top and a small led display which tells you which mode and settings you are using. A small lightweight remote is also included. Turning on for the first time the TV sound was immediately pumped through the system. No issues at all, very fast and easy. You can also connect via Bluetooth and there is a USB port on the front of the Sub for playing back music. Using the remote you can choose four different sound options, Auto, Standard, Cinema, Music plus two other modes, Voice and Night. More on these later. You can also set up the wireless speakers in a couple of different ways. Firstly once you have them in the position you want you can then select the distance they are from where you are sat. This helps calibrate the sound to your own personal space. Secondly there is the option of changing the surround levels on each speaker individually in 0.5dB increments. All set up I wanted to try a couple of different films and see what difference it made to the experience, if any! The first film was The Dark Knight. Wow! The opening sequence came to life! Not since watching it in the cinema have I felt that immersed. The Dolby Digital 5.1 really surrounds you and the bass from the sub pack a punch with every gunshot. You can actually feel the vibration across the floor so if you have neighbours close by beware - or invite them round for movie night! I then gave BladeRunner a go. An old film now but the 5.1 really brings it to life especially the amazing soundtrack. Lastly was John Wick 3. Obviously not a subtle film which is backed up by the thump given from the Sub for every kick, punch and throw. A lot of glass is also broken (!) and you can hear it all around. Even though the rear speakers are small they do a tremendous job! That includes quieter more subtle noises as well. All sound effects are crystal clear and do actually sound like it's in the room, such as aa door closing behind you. Crystal clear sounds effects do unfortunately lead me onto my only real criticism of the HT-240R. Although it isn't really the fault of the system per say. The problem is dialogue. Films recently seemed to have got harder and harder to hear what the actors are saying. This can be an issue at the cinema not only at home. The Dark Knight is a case in point as are most Christopher Nolan films! I used just the cinema mode to start with as wanted to get the 'full effect' but ended up using the remote to turn the sound up during talking and down all the rest of the time! I then tried Voice mode which enhances voices which did help to some extent. You can also turn on the Dynamic Range Control so there is less range between loud and quiet passages. It may take a while and change with each film as to which combination (if any), is best. On top of that you also have Night mode which optimises the sound balance allowing you to hear everything clearly. Definitely trial and error. I have always been one to watch a film as the director intended which means leaving it on full cinema sound. It's not really the fault of the speakers as I have even had the problem on my TV and having to put subtitles on to understand what is being said. One thing that is missing from the speakers though is that there is no option to adjust the centre channel which could have helped. I would drop half a star on the review for this if possible but have leant towards the full five! Other than that though the HT-S40R is a great piece of equipment. The compact design really does help blend in, yet it still packs 600w of total power output, with true 5.1 Dolby Digital. It is tremendous value for money and will transform your listening experience especially for films. It really does feel like being in the cinema - just make sure you have the popcorn in if you invite those neighbours!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

23

1

0

Love it!

HTS40R 11 July 2021 by LadyAmbi (USA)

This Sony 5.1ch Home Cinema with Wireless Rear Speakers is really amazing with the quality of music and bass! We immediately set it up in our living room's entertainment center and was very surprised at the sound effects from such a valued item! Yes of course I would recommend this item! Just buy it and enjoy it too! You won't regret it! Very easy to setup as well and the wireless speakers just makes it soo much more neater for the eyes. No wires!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Superb Home TV/audio system

HT-S40R 07 July 2021 by Drew2 (United Kingdom)

Having used a Sony Soundbar and woofer in the past, this new S40-R was a big step up in sound quality, depth and it is feature rich. Easy to set up with an optical connection (I have other items on ARC and prefer separate control) it is pretty much plug and go. The TV sound is superb in the right modes for what you are watching (speech, music etc) and the rear wireless speakers add that depth for cinema type experience. Playing music via Bluetooth from my phone almost rivals my hi-fi separates system with deep bass and sparkling treble. A delightful product well recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Excellent mid level system

HT-S40R 05 July 2021 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

Design/Functions/Accessories: - 3 inputs to suit everything from modern TVs(5.1 surround sound: BT, HDMI ARC or optical) to old jack analog input(stereo) - a decent subwoofer 20cm in diameter - a 3 speaker soundbar - single drive for each center, left and right - a wirelessly connected to the main sub amplifier with 2 rear speakers - single drive each to position behind the field of view for full surround sound - remote Control, optical cable, quick setup guide and user manual - Volume range is 0-100 and is changing quite slow providing smooth adjustment levels - Night mode reducing volume levels - Extra small monochromatic LCD display showing the input used currently when not operating the menu: TV, BT, Analog, USB. It is the only way to work with the system menu as well. Power/Battery Life/Charging: - uses direct AC current, no battery - UK only cables provided Connectivity: - bluetooth - play from any device - USB(type A, FAT32/NTFS) thumb drive with limited support for audio files: WAV, MP3, WMA - Audio IN via audio jack - HDMI ARC - Optical Audio quality: - fair low and mid range quality for voice and cinema - no clear high frequencies due to lack of tweeters - love the bass in movies and for music, not going to blow you off but is very deep and enough to bring movies to life. - if your system supports DD5.1 or better you will experience excellent audio for movies etc. Music playback will be decent but not a HiFi quality OVERALL: If you don't care about high frequencies then it's perfect. Voice is clear and it provides really pleasant audio experience for anything you watch.Dolby Digital audio sound great. My TV seem to refuse to deliver DD5.1 through optical so I had to use HDMI ARC in order to enjoy DD5.1 on this system. Through optical it always reported LPCM for some reason. Loudness is more than adequate. I listen between 40-60 volume set for DD5.1 movies. Cons: - future firmware updates only possible through manual update via USB - No custom EQ - Outdated display technology lacking breadth of information - single line 5 character scrolling display, no multi-info capability making it confusing and difficult to operate the menu - anti slip stickers on the product are very basic and one got off as early as during unboxing Pros: - great feature to be able to adjust what the distance is between the rear speakers and the user. Also provides ability to adjust the preamp for the rear ones. - have basic controls on the sub in case the remote is out of battery - automated on/off/volume when using HDMI ARC(with compatible smart TVs only) so you don't have to use the dedicated remote but only the TV remote. That way when you switch on/off your TV the Sony system will switch on/off as well as when adjusting the volume. Very handy. But again, this is available when using the HDMI ARC only. - given there is a separate amp for the rear pair of speakers it means less cable management cross room. Have not noticed any input lag for the rear speaker given they are wireless. - quite dynamic volume range - ability to improve voice with a single button. Works best on Dolby Digital only. - can use to play your music from either laptop or mobile device if you wish via bluetooth Wish list for future product development: - Modernize the display with multifunctional (colour) one: use icons for input and audio format/type - mp3/aac/ac3/wav, Stereo/DD2.1/DD5.1/DD+ etc. as well as multiline text for the menu - this will speed up navigation and task completion as well as be more clear as to what this menu is for reducing/removing any abbreviations - add support for lossless audio playback through USB - internet connectivity for automated firmware updates - ambient rgb light would be great idea Very pleased with the product! Recommended.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

1

0

Amazing purchase

HT-S40R 03 July 2021 by PedroTM87 (United Kingdom)

I bought yesterday. The sound is perfect. My living room look like a stadium, a cinema..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

139