FE 24MM F2.8 G

Product Reviews

13

4.8 based on 13 customer reviews

10
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

13 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Prime Sony Lens

SEL24F28G 24 September 2021 by equipe9 (USA)

I have been very pleased with my new Sony lens. The autofocus is quick and smooth. Pictures are crisp and sharp. The size of the lens is also good. It is nice and compact and fits in my bag with my other equipment. I also like the feature of being able to easily switch between manual and auto focus modes with ease. I would highly recommend this lens to anyone looking to upgrade from their own standard lenses to this prime lens.

0

1

0

Amazing quality from a compact lens!

SEL24F28G 24 September 2021 by JCorreia1985 (USA)

This is my first, non G-Master lens from Sony. I was thrilled to try out the lens and was pleasantly surprised by the amazing picture quality from such a small lens! It is the perfect lens for capturing images on the go. A must have for anyone who is traveling or likes to carry around a versatile lightweight setup. I now reach for this setup over my iPhone!

0

0

0

Glass a pro can be proud of

SEL24F28G 24 September 2021 by GadgetGuyAddict (USA)

A great mid-range lens is what Sony has come out with in the 24mm G series. This is not only a good midrange for quality but also for the price. Without going into the technical details let me explain my experience in a simple way. I have used the basic kit lens along with some APC lens in order to find a more compact solution to a full frame camera. The 24mm G series is the best one by far. When you use an inferior lens you restrict the quality and drop the capability. I feel like I have not sacrificed anything with this lens other than spending more money and even that I did not have to do. The thing that most do not talk about is the quality of the glass in a lens. Here you have a great quality and if they are not talking about it then you might want to look elsewhere if you look at other products. I have sharp images all around. If you read the tech reviews the bottom line is for a lens like this you are getting a great value, I have to agree. You get the best of most worlds. Clear image, low distortion around the edges and a compact factor that is great for landscapes and street photography. What I really love about this lens is that it is compact, full of features that you can really apply even as a novice. The compatibility of a great lens with great glass is what really stands out on this form factor. I hope that Sony continues to provide this amazing line up and adds in a broader line up. Grab it if you want to experience top notch performance as a beginner or hobbyist with out paying professional prices. Attached are several photos that show from afar and what a closeup will provide.

0

0

0

excellent quality camera

SEL24F28G 24 September 2021 by hyde52292 (USA)

I have always loved taking pictures but i always settled for cheap cameras because it was just a hobby and I did not think it was worth the investment to dish out so much money for something i may lose interest in, but i finally decided to take the plunge for a new Sony lens and I am so glad I did. This made the pictures I took so crisp and high quality and I wish I had made the commitment earlier. It is so lightweight and I love that it has settings built right into it for easy access. My favorite feature other than the portability was that it focused on the object i was taking a picture of so fast, almost instantly. If i had to pick anything bad it would be that i did have a slightly harder time doing that when it was not as bright. I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

Lightweight with nice build (24mm)

SEL24F28G 24 September 2021  (USA)

I've only used budget lenses before and it was nice to try out this new "G lens" series. The aperture ring has nice clicks and it looks and feels solid. I got the 24mm and because I don't have a full-frame camera, the crop factor made it more like 36mm. Because the aperture is f/2.8, the bokeh wasn't as noticeable as I was hoping for, but I'm sure it would've been better on full-frame. I plan on using it for product photography and I've attached photos for reference. The images were sharp when hand-held and I'm definitely curious about other focal lengths like 40mm and 50mm! I've received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

Perfect lens for everyday use

SEL24F28G 22 September 2021 by mystermo31 (USA)

I have been using Sony FE 24mm F2.8 G Lens for more than 4 weeks now. It was mounted on my A7R3 almost the whole time except few cases I needed telephoto lens. It is very familiar focal length for me, and it is great pair with Sony full frame mirrorless bodies. Image quality wise, this lens has no slouch; very sharp at wide open. I cannot give any professional opinion, but it is definitely as sharp as G-Master 24-70mm at less than 20% of the weight; How crazy it is !! Another point I want to make is its design and build quality. It is very well-made lens. Even though it is very light weight, it is made out of metal, and has de-clickable aperture, AF/MF switch, and focus hold button. Maybe manual focus ring is too small for some people, but I never really use it anyway. Overall good looking lens. I would definitely recommend this lens to anyone who wants compact, but sharp wide angle lens for everyday use. Disclaimer: I received this product at a discount in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

Small but powerful

SEL24F28G 15 September 2021 by DeeRay (USA)

I have a Sony a7c body and this lens works well with that. This lens, physically, is a lot smaller than all my other lenses. I really like the compact design, since I am usually on the move. This lens is very easy to carry and take with you. It's also not very heavy too. This lens supports manual adjustment to the aperture and focus which I also really like. The lens also is somewhat protected against dust and water. Again, a plus for my on-the-go outdoor shoots. Overall, a small but powerful lens. Disclaimer that I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion

0

0

0

Ultra-light, ultra-compact, ultra-images

SEL24F28G 08 September 2021 by safxtacy (USA)

First thoughts on this lens is that it is small! Especially for being a f/2.8. Along with being small it is super light, but that's not to say it isn't sturdy as I banged this against a door (by accident of course) and had it fall from about 4 feet and it still kept chugging along. The pictures this takes are crisp. I did notice that it had some hard time focusing in super dark light at one point, but it might have been an anomaly as I went out the next day for the same shot and didn't have any issues. Likely user error and I don't remember the settings I was using. The aperture adjustment ring is my favorite. I like that you can have it smooth or click. I still haven't decided which I like more. Click allows me to quickly go back, but smooth just allows a more refined adjustment. Overall this lens is awesome. I've used it on my A7C as well as my A7R3. With the A7C it's the ultimate portable power set-up. Ultra-light, and ultra-compact. With the A7R3, it holds it's own with a bigger frame. Definitely nice to have the option. It lives on A7C, but "visits" my A7R3 when I need to take a few other lenses, but am restricted on space, perfect for that role to have the ability to get the shot I need. Disclaimer: I purchased this lens at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

Finally, an affordable prime full frame lens!

SEL24F28G 04 September 2021 by NoTalk (USA)

I was so excited to add a full frame 24mm prime to my collection! I've been using a different prime 24mm that wasn't full frame, which was very limiting and hardly actually a wide lens once the crop was on. This lens doesn't disappoint! Unlike other lenses in this price range, this lens is very solid in construction. Even though I received this lens at a discounted price, the value at retail is huge! I received this product at a discounted price through a product testing program in exchange for my honest opinion. It's fully capable of being used completely manually, or locked into auto for the camera to control. There is a button for toggling between AF and MF. I use Sony cameras, so all the features work flawlessly. It's fairly quiet and the picture is more crisp than previous 24mms that I have owned. It's still a little soft around the edges, but it is definitely an improvement! I immediately locked in the E-Mount and used it for a green screen shoot. Using the camera sideways I was able to capture a full subject in a relatively small bedroom! It looks and works wonderfully and didn't cost an arm and a leg! I am so far very pleased and would recommend to anyone who needs crisp, wide, full frame images. Especially, videographers who are shooting interior and need 4k from their cameras!

0

0

0

Great wide angle option for full frame Sony

SEL24F28G 01 September 2021 by Veloce916 (USA)

I have never spent much time with a wide angle prime so it took me a few shots to figure out the best ways to use this lens, but once I did I found it pretty rewarding. It's a 2.8 so it does a nice job with light and I was also happy with the colors. Post editing was really light, and in some cases not needed at all. The lens is light, compact and relatively inexpensive by Sony standards. It made my full frame A9 feel much smaller than I am used to. In short this lens is a great addition to anyone's kit from new user to pro. I found it a perfect landscape lens, good at full body portraits and anything large like statues or yachts. I can't imagine I would pack my camera bag for any sort of travel without it. I should mention that I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

So Far, So Good!

SEL24F28G 25 August 2021 by stephenmilner (USA)

Although small / lightweight, this lens is solidly built and features great manual controls (aperture ring, focus ring, etc.). The body seems rock solid and it is a fun and easy lens to use for everyday photography. Although designed for a full-frame sensor, I am using this lens on a Sony A6000 (APS-C), and it’s performed great so far. Sharpness is good and the bokeh is nice and smooth. Though I haven’t shot with it much yet, I can see this becoming one of my go-to lenses when I just want to get out with the camera and not haul a bunch of gear around. The lens is somewhat pricey, and there are obviously similarly positioned 3rd-party lenses that can be had for a bit less, but this little lens checks a lot of boxes optically in a lightweight, easy-to-handle package. **I purchased this product at a discounted price, in exchange for my honest appraisal of its performance.**

1

0

0

Good for video and compact size

SEL24F28G//CSYX 19 June 2021 by Moe Hnget (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is good for photo and video and compact size. In the future we hope to get better with f1.4

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light , water resistant & sharp!

SEL24F28G//CSYX 27 May 2021 by emm73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and other primes to add to my collection of primes and zooms!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0