682

4.2 based on 682 customer reviews

421
126
54
26
55
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26 September 2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

NEEDS HDR AUTO SWITCHING

UBP-X700 28 November 2018 by Isaac112345678 (USA)

I love my x700 player. The picture quality on Dolby Vision titles is AMAZING; however, the Dolby Vision feature must be manually switched off for non Dolby Vison titles (HDR 10 or non HDR video), and back on for the Dolby Vision titles. If turned on the Dolby Vision feature with a non Dolby Vision movie, the picture does not look its best. Some movies with Dolby Vision don't even show on the box if the movie is in Dolby Vision (so I don't know if I should turn the feature on or off). Sony NEEDS to in the future update its filmware so the x700 can detect when a blur ray is playing a non hdr image, an hdr 10 image, and a Dolby vision image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

682 Customer Reviews

0

Great quality stunning detail .

UBP-X700 24 January 2023 by Mark 21 (United Kingdom)

Breathes new life into older dvds and enhances color and sound. B&W dvds look enhanced ...blacks are true blacks and whites stand out. Make sure you get a multi regional version and it will effortlessly play any region Blue ray or disc. Not all are multi region.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4k player with lots of features

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 24 January 2023 by JGCT (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this player, great sound and video output. Look forward to upgrade to newer model. Highly recommended.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Crash. Crash. Crash

UBP-X700 15 January 2023 by Phil Clay (United Kingdom)

I've had it for a couple of years. It crashes every day. It crashes then doesn`t remember where the disc was so you have to find the same place. It crashes when streaming. It crashes sometimes and needs a power of reset. Its dreadful and a lot of reviews say the same. I am a Sony fan and this product is disapointing

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Most affordable player with Dolby vision

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 14 January 2023 by Ash_99x (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's the most affordable player that has Dolby vision. Fast loading and read almost every disc format.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Features I wanted

UBPX700 29 December 2022 by Maya Nightwolf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to upgrade my system and I am very pleased with it.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Missing HDMI cable

UBPX700 29 December 2022 by Natalie5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item from Walmart and in the instructions booklet it says that the HDMI cable was supposed to be in the box however it was not. Not to mention that the tamper seals were in tact. The blu ray DVD player cost $70.buyer beware.

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great unit for the price.

UBPX700 26 December 2022 by AlbertaJim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have it paired up with a Sony 65” Full Array TV and Sony soundbar system. This sucker rocks!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very short lifespan

UBPX700 22 December 2022 by Turfinator (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the 3rd UBP-X700 we have purchased in the list 4 years. The first one lasted 2 years. The second one 14 months. We are hoping for better luck with this one. If this new unit craps out we will have to re-evaluate our loyalty to Sony. We are not going to give any rating on this unit at this time, sure you can understand why. John and Sandi Kane

0

3

0

DOES NOT OPERATE!

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 20 December 2022 by Francis WK Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the Blu-Ray player earlier this month and to date it does not work on my Sony 55" TV.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Great pics

UBP-X700 13 December 2022 by Carps (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up and great picture quality also looks good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

great features,ezsy setup

UBPX700 06 December 2022 by jamu00742 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

hook up fast connections fast login fast .great picture good sound to speakers

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Easy set-up and operation

UBPX700 05 December 2022 by Syko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the Sony DVR for several months since purchased back in September and enjoy the quality and ease of set-up. The area I live in loses power occasionally and it requires reprogramming. Very easy with this unit.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great remote

UBPX700 04 December 2022 by MMDD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this blue ray, but hate that hulu is not supported anymore. That's why I gave 4 stars instead of 5.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Blu Ray for now and 4K for future

UBPX700 02 December 2022 by JG48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a Blu Ray player that stopped working. I wanted a replacement for what I have now, Blu Ray, and for the future, Blu Ray 4K, when I purchase a 4K TV. This model fit perfectly. Set up was fast with easy set up and finding the internet connection was quick. I have both older DVD and Blu Ray movies and after set up put a Blu Ray movie in and playback was great. It also worked well with my receiver and home theater speakers.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Compact and gets the job done!

UBPX700 01 December 2022 by Latony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sleek, Simple to use, Great quality!! So glad I purchased this product!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Excellent high quality player when it works

UBPX700 25 November 2022 by Caprice88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player in August it worked great for about 8 weeks, then wouldn't play it said the data on this disc is unreadable ,unplugged it and powered it back on and worked great again for 2 weeks or so but wouldn't read my disc again last night, unplugged it again and it played for a while then stopped and everything froze i couldn't get my disc out and now it does the same thing .it was an excellent player just doesn't work I know sometimes there are factory defects and i understand, just disappointed and I'm not upset with Sony they are an excellent company .

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Good things come in small packages

UBPX700 08 November 2022 by LJ nova (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 10 year old Sony was getting a little dated so i upgraded to this one! Great choice! plays anything and picture is fantastic !

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

A good product with useful features. A good value

UBPX700 02 November 2022 by Jimi Sonic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a retired A/V sales/service person. Sony is one of my favorite brands. I own many components and Sony products are always above average. This unit was just what I needed for my system. I really like the separate HDMI audio output. My last Sony DVD lasted more than 10 years.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Missing Dolby vision

UBPX700 31 October 2022 by Davetip (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit performs great like all Sony products. I expected Dolby vision but gave heard it will have an update on the future.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

UBPX700 Streaming BD Player

UBPX700 07 October 2022 by BD314 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the X700 a few years ago. We used it primarily for streaming Prime content and secondly for Netflix. It was excellent until the firmware update came along. It’s no longer streams Prime but will stream Netflix well. We purchased a fire stick and serves our needs well.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Nice and cute

UBPX700 25 September 2022 by ibolya1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought today and I so happy with the Sony DVD player 4K Ultra HD

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Good product. Value for money!

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 25 September 2022 by EthanC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent video and sound for watching 4K Bluray discs

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Best Blu Ray for the money.

UBPX700 22 September 2022 by Joe ABC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plays all movie DVD's: Blu-Ray, store-bought formats.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great picture quality in 4k and the audio quality

UBPX700 12 September 2022 by Romy 313 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased it several hours ago and I just tested the unit let see in a couple of days

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Very liable

UBPX700 04 September 2022 by X1928 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony products are very good. I've been using Sony over 10 year's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good quality

UBP-X700 03 September 2022 by aristarc091 (United Kingdom)

I've purchased this Sony UPB-X700 nearly a month ago. So far I have no reasons to complain about it.Easy to connect to my Sony TV and quite straight forward to use it.So far so good .Only time will tell.Before this model I had a Sony UBP-X800 4k ultra bluray player.Hardly used.To my surprise after a long period of not using it , when I've tried to watch a bluray DVD it didn't start.No power whatsoever .I hope this new model it will not have the same fate.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7

0

Easy to hook up and use

UBPX700 24 August 2022 by tonysauce (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a 4K OLED TV, had to update Blu-ray DVD player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Updates will not apply

UBPX700 03 August 2022 by G001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I worked through support, tried to apply update online and via usb, no luck. Support said work with warranty under 1year. I purchased new but from an eBay retailer outlet, so was denied. So no updates for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Some good features, 2 problems

UBPX700 02 August 2022 by spacepope68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First I really like this Blu-ray player, it does a good job of upscaling my DVDs. It has one feature that my previous player didn't have, it has Dolby Vision. Now fort he complaints, first it can be a bit noisy when there is no sound, you can hear it humming, it's not usually a problem since there is almost always sound either form the movie or the A/C. Second in order to play Dolby Vision you have to turn it on(and off), which is a problem if you don't know which of your discs have Dolby Vision. While some of us have found lists of D.V. discs online, I thin many of us wouldn't bother, and unless you use a magnifying glass you won't easily see which of your discs have D.V. . Other than those this is a very good player, it also plays music(including my FLAC and HD music) and movies from a thumb drive, I haven't checked how well it plays audio CDs yet, but I am sure it will do a very good job of it. I would recommend this (I forgot to mention the remote is a bit confusing for me, because the power and eject buttons are on the opposite sides of my previous player's remote)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Does its job at a overprice

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 28 July 2022 by nccng2001 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the only product in the market I can find that plays 4K UHD, Bluray, CD and other format of discs. However, it comes with a hefty cost, considering that there are not many output and input options available. It is also pretty light, thus feeling that it is a cheap product.

Performance

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Works very well

UBPX700 26 July 2022 by GammyB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is our second purchase of the same player...we have one on both TV's...wonderful!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

UBPX700 24 July 2022 by Gbabyy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love it it’s lousy have a good things on it my kids love it also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Great Affordable 4k Player

UBPX700 16 July 2022 by Shen88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, light and great to use. Great video quality. Best 4k player you can find out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Features

UBP-X700 05 July 2022 by buckers (United Kingdom)

High quality player, easy to use and to setup. I am glad I purchased it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

234

0

Great Blu-ray Player!

UBPX700 28 June 2022 by kma57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Connected and set up without a hitch. Picture is beautiful and sound is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product, but having difficulty with coding it

UBPX700 20 June 2022 by Shondore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having a problem with coding my Samsung tv. The stab icon keeps popping up and necessitates having to use the Samsung remote to erase it, consequently involving extra steps to the operating process.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Luv it!!!!!

UBPX700 18 June 2022 by Kev17911 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a UHD player and since I'm a Sony fan, this was perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Blu-ray.

UBPX700 16 June 2022 by Tony575 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works as advertised with simple to use with a lot of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Basically, similar to my previous model.

UBP-X700/BM2SP6 11 June 2022 by Hopeful123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just hope that this model last longer than the previous one which did not last very long.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

4k

UBPX700 01 June 2022 by Sam126 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

4K Blu-ray player is working great but this is my second one the first one or last year and a half it was working great until it stopped working but this was a great deal on this one I like the features on it but I got a warranty on this one I hope it lasts longer than three years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Staying Current

UBPX700 28 May 2022 by JoeCool007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed something to replace the old BlueRay DVD Players. I selected a Sony this time, and it has not let me down yet. I am able to play 4k, BlueRay, and regular DVDs without having any issues. I purchased one for the living room and my master bedroom and the price was great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Quality 4K UHD Blu-ray player

UBPX700 18 May 2022 by Santa John (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SONY made a very nice 4K UHD Blu-ray player with the UBP-X700 /M. It even makes old DVDs look and sound great. I did have a little issue getting it set-up properly. Intial set-up was a breeze including logging into my home Wi-Fi, which is nice, because it can be set-up to automatically update its software / firmware, which it did during the set-up process. My issue was totally on me as I had 4K HDMI cables from the player's Audio Only output port connected to the CD HDMI 4K input port on the receiver and the player's Video / Audio output port connected to my receiver's HDMI 4K Blu-ray input port. When I played a recently purchase DVD, I saw the video, but did not hear sound, nor did I hear any sound when playing a CD. SONY Tech Support asked me to plug the player directly into the TV - It worked, both video and audio! Tech Support then had me unplug the Audio Only player output port cable so that I only had the player's Video / Audio player output port connected to the receiver's HDMI 4K Blu-ray input port - It worked, both Video and Audio. I don't know if it was the player or the receiver that got confused with my simultaneously connected cables, but it's ostensibly a mutually exclusive (either/or) proposition. My experience might just help with someone else's connection process. I consider my purchase of this player to beat good one. BTW - SONY Tech Support was superb, patient, helpful, and understanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great quality

UBPX700 10 May 2022 by E_Rod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this 4k Blu-Ray player for about a month and I am extremely happy withit. The picture quality and ease of use are incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A bargain

UBPX700 06 May 2022 by Music nut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 5 months ago. Plays most every type disc I have and well. Pictures great. sounds great. However, it froze and shorted out and crashed after 4 months.I returned it to Sony. It was easy to contact them and they provided prepaid shipping.I was sent a new one which I have not yet hooked up.I cannot complain about their service. I’m hopeful this one works better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product for the money.

UBPX700 18 April 2022 by Apache6f1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned Sony products before, I’ve never been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok

UBPX700 16 April 2022 by Shore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely Slow in moving from one show to another while using tubi. Size is OK. No controls on actual unit. Have had to sign onto wifi several times. Unit is not holding wifi info.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

UBPX700 08 April 2022 by Dunerider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this unit to replace a very old blu-ray player. Great features and the picture and sound output are great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great upgrade from our old one

UBPX700 01 April 2022 by Skychief (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after our old player got zapped by lightning. After checking some other reviews decided this would be the one. What a great upgrade from the old player, which was a good one several years ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good player - but important feature not working

UBPX700 18 March 2022 by swordspirit80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good player for blurays and playing HDR. However, I REALLY wanted it to be able to play my discs in Dolby Vision! They will play, but there is an annoying flickering on the top and bottom of the screen. I've tried forum after forum, setting after setting even working with Sony and can't get this to go away! When I switch off DV and just play it in HDR...no problems at all. I really wish Dolby Vision worked properly!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features Easy to hook up and use

UBPX700 16 March 2022 by Movie nut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about a year ago, still working great. Very satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent UHD player

UBPX700 14 March 2022 by ted98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent player. Not only does it play UHDs well but it enhances the video and audio quality of 1080p Blu-rays and DVDs. It also includes a number of streaming services if you have WiFi connected. Overall, this player earns my highest recommendation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features. W

UBPX700 03 March 2022 by DUDE2480 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony Blue Ray player UBP-X700/M TO GO ALONG WITH MY SONY KD 55X85J TELEVISION. THE SET UP WAS EASY WORKS GREAT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0