56

4.1 based on 56 customer reviews

22
25
3
3
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22 March 2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

FE24-240 Lens

SEL24240//C SYX 24 October 2016 by Andypad (Singapore)

Good piece equipment. Provides good range for an all in one lens for traveling. Feels solid and well built. Need to use it more before giving more feedback.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

56 Customer Reviews

0

Not to good

SEL24240 28 April 2019 by Henry36 (USA)

Focus slow sometime I took the pictures not sharp,need updates version.

0

0

0

Great for travel

SEL24240 20 February 2019 by Archibald R (United Kingdom)

Transportability and quality of outcome were the two dominating reasons for the purchase and both achieved for an amateur photographer like me. Economic purchase for the range offered was also a consideration.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Versatile all-rounder

SEL24240 10 February 2019 by Kenny7357 (United Kingdom)

In today's cheap and easy travel get-a-ways and escapes, all is not really that cheap when it comes to baggage. I have been caught many times for extra payment, primarily as I travel with 12 -15kgs of camera gear,(includes underwater housings, strobes, etc.). This lens allows me to cut my weight without too much compromise on getting the quality shot. It is wide angle enough for landscapes and a great zoom range for getting in a bit closer or pulling the frame in. I'm not a pro, so I can't go into techie speak, but this is my main lens for land based pics. I have taken shots of a village near Exmoor from a hill 1200m from the church, to zoom in on camera screen and read the time on the clock. A great feature is the lens has a very positive wind in and out for zoom. I use a quick fire shoulder strap and despite the camera dangling, there is no lens creep.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony FE 24-240mm

SEL24240 08 February 2019 by JosV (United Kingdom)

Very useful walk-around lens, a bit heavy. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

24-240mm lens

SEL24240 27 January 2019 by philslizzy (United Kingdom)

Compact for what it does and quite heavy. I bought it to use as my 'standard' lens. But the AF is sooo slow. I've pretty much gone back to using a manual focus 28-200 for many things

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Exellent versatile lens

SEL24240 25 January 2019 by Paul7745678 (United Kingdom)

I bought the lens over a year ago and have been very pleased with the picture quality and sharpness. The wide zoom range means I don't need to carry a variety of lenses around. The steady shot works well. I have just changed to a A7M3 from a A7M2 and so far results have been just as good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fe24-240 - excellent travel lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

Purchased to compliment my Video equipment and pleasantly surprised at its versatility, edge to edge sharpness is great from f4 to f11 - that said in difficult low light it still gives usable results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Mauve (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have used it in low (winter) light and bright sunlight, across the full zoom range and haven't found any problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost perfect

SEL24240 08 November 2018 by Jean Luc Oregon (USA)

I love the versatility of this lens and the image quality. I wish it was lighter weight but I can live with that. However I am disappointed in focus speed as it has a hard time keeping up with my a6000’s ability. I have three other lenses which are very rapid focus which I use when I need fast focus speed. A little disappointing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

From Wide to Telephoto

SEL24240//C SYX 17 October 2018 by ShenYL (Singapore)

It is the only lens that covers what I am used to on the A6000 (18-200 = 27mm-300mm in 35mm equivalent). But the weight is twice that of the APS-C 18-200mm lens. Sharpness is good from wide to tele. When wide open there is a little CA on the edges, esp on the wide side. I am bringing this for my 3 weeks trip to Japan for the autumn coverage, but frankly I am worrying of carrying this heavy weight for some of the days where I have to hike for several Km.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Many features but unfriendly manual

SEL24240 03 October 2018 by Manny c (USA)

After one month I am learning the many features of this camera and lens combination but the instruction manual is hard to follow and using the camera built guide is very unfriendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great All Round Lens

SEL24240 20 September 2018 by msp0924 (United Kingdom)

This was the first lens I've ever bought. I bought it for my Sony a7rIII camera. I've only used on one road trip in the US. I had a lot of fun using it. Very comfortable and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything I wanted and more...

SEL24240 25 August 2018 by Longbowman (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a good quality lens better that the 24-70mm f4 that I bought with the camera. This is that lens. Better reach and image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

One lens for all type of photography.

SEL24240 01 August 2018 by Ajay P (USA)

I bought this lens, 20 days back, just before going on vacation and used it on my Sony A7iii. +Ve: Excellent performance. Amazing focus tracking. Very sharp, Vibrating colour reproduction. -Ve: Very heavy to carry. Little soft at 240mm Lens jets out at longer range- so difficult to rotate polarized filters if one is using

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Much heavier then expected!

SEL24240 08 July 2018 by Sam552 (USA)

Lens is awesome. Too heavy. Wish it did not wiegh so much. Hard to change big lens on small a6500 body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

10x Zoom

SEL24240 23 June 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

Great quality lens for a 10x zoom. I bought to use on holiday and as a walk around lens on my Sony a7mk2 and possibly my a6300. It's a surprisingly large lens and heavier than expected but I'm pleased with the AF speed and sharpness. It's the best 10x ish zoom I've used. On the a7mk2 it's reasonably well balanced. On the a6300 acceptable. APSC focal range is 36-360mm so pretty good for wildlife and nature. Great addition to my e mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Travel Lens For Daytime Non-Tripod Use

SEL24240//C SYX 22 June 2018 by Tri Sukamoto (Singapore)

24 mm wide end is very useful and at telephoto end of 240 mm it's very useful for travelling. I just wish the lens doesn't have to stop down all the way to 6.3 at telephoto end. But reasonable price for the performance and zoom range making this a very good value buy. I experienced some vignetting in my first use, not sure if it could be due to the CP-L filter I attached, haven't tried just with UV filter yet. Pros: 24 mm wide end, 10x zoom, good pricing for FF lens, good image quality Cons: stops down to F 6.3, a bit heavy but should be expected for this zoom range

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Super functional

SEL24240 11 June 2018 by mikeygrn (USA)

I recently switched from Nikon D700 to a Sony A7II. Over the years I had acquired a lot of lenses for my Nikon. Starting over was rough but I am so happy I did. I know I will invest in some quality primes over the next few years but because of my previous experience I knew that starting with a long range telephoto zoom was a no brainer. It’s the type of lens that was kept on my Nikon 80% of the time. Dxomark has the 24-240 ranked last for all of the tested Sony full frame lenses. I have never been a pixel peeper. I am an avid hobbyist and I primarily shoot my family, vacations and the awesome activities we get to do living in Alaska. Whatever technical quality and sharpness you sacrifice with a long range zoom is easily outweighed by the convenience of having one lens that can do it all. Another feature that I appreciate is that the barrel extends ever so slightly (maybe 2-3mm) as you widen out fully to 24mm. This prevents the possibility of lens creep without the need for a locking switch. The A7 series of cameras are amazing and the photos that I get out of Lightroom definitely exceed all of my needs for quality. I have yet to take a picture and think to myself, I wish the corners were a little sharper. By winter I will pick up an ultra wide prime because the only photos that I take where I value that corner to corner sharpness are of the night sky and the aurora. For the first lens after the kit however, unless you have a primary type of photography that you shoot an overwhelming majority of the time, it only makes sense to start with a decent quality lens that can do it all. I can’t imagine any photographer not having use for a lens like this in their collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Takes great pictures

SEL24240 01 June 2018 by Millerhill (United Kingdom)

One of the best zoom lenses I've bought. Takes great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

A great fit for my sony alpha

SEL24240 15 May 2018 by vwbeetle (United Kingdom)

I needed this lens for my new sony frameless camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

General purpose zoom

SEL24240 30 April 2018 by Delboy321 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought a Sony Alpha 7ii body and wanted a broad range zoom to go with it. This 24-240mm zoom lens was the perfect solution given the limited supply of zoom lens designed to work with full frame camera’s. The lens is slightly bigger, and heavier, than desired but still gives me the versatility that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great multi purpose lens

SEL24240 11 April 2018 by Ralston88 (United Kingdom)

Brought it to travel Thailand with, got some fantastic shots on the A7ii, only issue is that there is heavy vignetting on certain zooms / aperatures, although easily corrected in post editing can be annoying to some. Buy a pack of Globe fliters, essential add on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great lens!

SEL24240 17 March 2018 by Gehr (USA)

I bought this lens to use on my Sony a7r. This is a great, all-around lens. It resolves the 36mps quite well, and the fact that I don't have to keep changing lenses is a super reason for my buying this lens. I am quite pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERSATILE BUT HEAVY

SEL24240 15 March 2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom)

I bought this versatile lens for my A7Rii body because it offered a wide range of focal lens and because, given Sony prices, it was the only one I could afford. In use, its proved its worth with excellent quality shots across its range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Like very much

SEL24240 11 January 2018 by Mojazz (United Kingdom)

I bought in December I really happy with it a good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Overall good for every situation

SEL24240 06 January 2018 by dujekavier (USA)

A fantastic lens that covers any situation.Landscapes, Portraits and even some macro situations. Could be a tad sharper, though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 25 December 2017 by Island scot (United Kingdom)

Needed a zoom lens to take photos of red squirrels that come into my back garden Great with my A7ii

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Superb

SEL24240 12 December 2017 by JayAP (United Kingdom)

Very handy as a travel lense with no need of carrying different zooms. Very good picture quality and solid built. Very much impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Lens does not produce sharp photos

SEL24240 21 November 2017 by dobrorod (USA)

The lens does not produce tack sharp images that I would expect from Sony equipment. It is good for snapshots but not for art work.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

5

0

Great versatility

SEL24240//C SYX 10 November 2017 by Keithtty (Singapore)

Bought this one month ago. Originally worried not fast enough, not sharp enough. So far so good. Concerns have proven unfounded.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very versatile

SEL24240 28 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom)

Sharp enough across the zoom range on both full frame and APSC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very slow

SEL24240 11 July 2017 by Ashuuk (United Kingdom)

Compared to the cannon very slow very basic and not very easy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

20

0

Good zoom range lens

SEL24240 03 July 2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Excellent zoom range and very good picture quality. Not excellent, but very good. Build quality superb. The only minus "is big and heavy"...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Way Better than Expected! I'm Very Impressed!

SEL24240 13 June 2017 by AFREEMAN (USA)

This was the first lens I bought for the A7RII when I switched over from Nikon June of 2016. I was amazed how sharp and how fast the focus was. It got even faster after the software was updated on the camera. I have seen some youtube reviews of this lens where they try and talk down it's abilities due to the fact it's not a 2.8 lens throughout the zoom like on the G Master zoom lens. Don't listen to this as this lens performs fantastically! Well worth every penny! You will use this on every trip you take where you don't want to keep swapping lenses! Also I shot in the rain, at night, holding an umbrella, at DisneyWorld during the fireworks at a 1/50th of a sec, 6400 ISO and the shots were excellent! Get this lens! (OK, it is a bit heavy but you won't miss the shot!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great All-Around Lens

SEL24240 26 May 2017  (USA)

After soaking my and frying my NEX-5, and selling my Nikon stuff, I decided that the a7 was the choice for me. A quick stint with the kit lens left me disappointed, a new lens was needed. The 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS immediately caught my eye. I love the extreme versatility of the lens, and the 10x zoom makes it great at tackling all types of challenges. I use it form sports to astrophotography, and everything in between. The only downfall is the weight, but I only really notice it after a full day of shooting, so nothing that hinders the lens too much. It was my only lens for about 1.5 years, and even now, with two other lenses in my kit, it still likely spends the most time on my camera than any of the other two. If your looking for one lens to cover all bases, this it the one for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Excellent versatile lens

SEL24240 24 May 2017 by Dashy (United Kingdom)

A heavy lens with a good solid feel, I use it with my Sony a6500 camera. Slightly heavier than I would have liked but worth it for getting close to the subject. You can also take reasonable wide shots without changing the lens. So far I have not used a tripod with the lens and find the photos straight from the camera need very little sharpening if any. Glad Paul at UK Digital recommended I buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

All in one

SEL24240 29 March 2017 by Garethwmj (United Kingdom)

I just got too tired carrying three or four lenses around to get that one shot. Truth is it took too long to fit the correct lens to my camera then the moment had gone and a truck load of dust and stuff ready to invade the optics. Sure the lens is big and perhaps too heavy but lighter than my previous set up. The lens is sharp from portrait to landscapes. A better than expected solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Solid Lens ideal when travelling light

SEL24240 20 March 2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom)

I have only had the lens a few weeks and have not really put it to the test. However I am sure it will fulfil the role I bought it for - maximum versatility when travelling and really only want to carry camera body and one lens, as I shall when in Italy in May. The good feature are that it is full frame - hard to find in "travel" lenses. The consequence is a relatively restricted (10x!) zoom range and size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

13

0

SONY 24-240MM LENS

SEL24240 15 January 2017 by Bogeybuster (United Kingdom)

I love the quality of this lens and it's construction. The only reason I did not award 5 stars was because it erred a bit on the heavy side but that can be a good thing meaning it is well constructed. It covers a wide range from 24-240mm which is basically all I need for what I do.However if I am shooting a very special occasion then I would put on my Zeiss 55mm f1/8 lens where the quality is just outstanding although it is limited to what you can photograph.The 24-240 gives me all the range I need with more than acceptable results. I would definitely recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

5

0

FE24-240 Lens

SEL24240//C SYX 24 October 2016 by Andypad (Singapore)

Good piece equipment. Provides good range for an all in one lens for traveling. Feels solid and well built. Need to use it more before giving more feedback.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Poor

SEL24240 10 October 2016 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Kept the lens over a weekend and sent it back to the supplier probably the worst lens I have ever had. Sad really thought this was my answer to a great travel lens on reflection the varying reports on line were correct some were good others bad I might have had a bad copy who knows. I have a great variety of Sony lenses both E-& FE mount and could not be happier with them we really need a good travel lens like a 18/24 to 105mm Sony are sadly lacking in this range and you cannot rely on Sigma to cover what you don't have.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

39

0

Practical focal range

SEL24240//C SYX 23 July 2016 by Blackgold (Singapore)

Wide angle coupled with just the right focal range allows for freedom in composition.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Versatile lens for all the purpose

SEL24240//C SYX 07 July 2016 by Klifex (Singapore)

Bought this lens for travel, i like the versatility of this lens because it gives me the range i want for travel purpose. The sharpness is best < 150mm.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Mostly good but not completely

SEL24240 13 May 2016 by Nilacop (United Kingdom)

Zoom ring very stiff to turn. Slight radial movementioned between lens and camera body when zooming in and out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

11

0

One lens for all

SEL24240//C SYX 07 March 2016  (Singapore)

Very good, no need to change lens, just the zoom scrolling is a bit tight

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Useful range

SEL24240 19 September 2015 by MicroPete (United Kingdom)

Purchased this for the A7r ii, for the price its a good lens, I didn't want lots of lenses to carry and this fits nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Fantastic Travel Kit

SEL24240 02 August 2015 by georgemeow (USA)

This is a fantastic lens for travel! It's silent, quick, and reliable. This lens is very sharp for photographing objects from the size of a grapefruit to a statue. If you're going for tons of detail and challenging situations (low light, complicated contrast) you may want to stick with your primes... but you know that already. If you're looking for a single lens to take day-time photos of a hike or tour a city, this is perfect.

19

2

0

Versatile

SEL24240 14 July 2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I have only just bought it and so far have not used it apart from in the garden so cannot give a review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

53

0

Flimsy mount

SEL24240 09 July 2015 by Mikefocalpoint (USA)

This is a great all-rounder lens - no doubt. But that is downplayed by the flimsy mounting system that shakes, rattles and disconnects the electronics. Had turn off and on once in every half hour to reconnect the electronics between the camera and lens. Decided to return the lens.

28

13

0

Disappointing image quality

SEL24240 07 July 2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom)

While I wasn't expecting prime quality from this lens I was expecting it to at least be on a par with similar superzoom I've used with other systems. While not terrible the image quality is not great and the slowness of the lens at longer focal lengths means in anything other than bright light you have to use high ISO settings which further compromises image quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

14

27

0

Nice Glass

SEL24240 17 June 2015 by GHUT (USA)

This is a lens that stands alone when you consider zoom range, weight, and sharpness. It's maximum aperture leaves a bit to be desired, but, If you combine it with the Sony Alpha 7S - this is a combo that can go anywhere and shoot in any - and I mean ANY situation. This is a perfect example of a modern, well designed, high tech piece of gear.

12

0

0

Fair all-purpose lens for good light.

SEL24240 25 May 2015 by Logan1949 (USA)

The good --- Wide range 24mm to 240mm, 10x. Extends out with firm zoom ring. Extended lens will move back under pressure from the front. I cannot judge the effectiveness of the Optical Steady Shot in the lens because I have an A7ii with Steadyshot in the camera itself (which works great unless you have it on a tripod in a vibrating car). The limitations --- f/3.5 at 24mm, f/6.3 at 240mm maximum aperture restricts your ability to get more light in dim settings requiring a higher ISO which may result in more noise. Minimum focus-able distance with zoom is about a yard/meter so macro close-ups are not an option, The bad --- Occasionally, The locking mechanism between the lens and camera clicks loose when twisting the zoom; disconnecting the autofocus, f-stop, and the shutter itself, requiring the camera to be turned off and back on to reconnect it. On average, this has happened to me about once per 1-2 hours of use. Very annoying. I would only recommend this to a friend after they fix the loose mount issue.

32

1

0

Sony Travel Zoom FE Lens 24-240

SEL24240 25 April 2015 by Procul (United Kingdom)

Bought for Travels (Holidays, Days out, etc) to replace the kit lens 28-70. Although a little bulkier and heavier, it does give me the wide aspect and zoom capabilities I have missed on holidays. I had to replace my carry case as the lens is longer than the kit one, a new skylight filter (72mm), upgrade the Gorillapod for the extra weight, and upgrade the cameras firmware for the lens. Easy enough to use on zoom and focus, I often use either auto or manual aperture (custom settings). The lens hood is very handy for the bright outdoors. Photos so far appear to be bright colours, stable aspect and good overall quality. No problems on shake or blur, and I am pleased with the lens performance in various lighting conditions. So I am happy with the purchase to date.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

3

0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16 April 2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

60

13

0

ONE great versatile lens for the A7-R

SEL24240 08 April 2015 by HomePlanetImages (USA)

This lens hasn't been off my camera since I received it. Why would it be? It's sharp at every focal length. It does vignette at 24mm, but it's very slight. The lens is heavier than I thought it would be, which just means it's a lot of glass. "Optical steady shot" seems to be working fine, whether or not the camera is on a tripod. So it's not fancy. No bells, no whistles, just a good all-purpose lens, which is what I've been waiting for.

18

0

0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22 March 2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0