49

4.4 based on 49 customer reviews

31
13
2
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

49 Customer Reviews

0

Difficult to use.

SEL70300G 21 September 2019 by desking (United Kingdom)

I have had the lens for one month and found it to be good quality and well made there are for me some handling issues.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Does the job well

SEL70300G 28 August 2019 by jameslf1989 (United Kingdom)

Brought this about a month ago - wanted that extra bit of reach for landscapes, and the small amount of sports photography I do for my baseball team. Considered the 70-200 F4 but couldn't justify the extra expense, bulk and weight when I don't really need the constant F4 aperture. Used it a few times and it's performed well, you get good sharpness up to 200mm, a little soft towards 300mm (and the one time I've shot distant city lights at blue hour) but overall I'm happy. Did well on my A7iii when I shot some baseball, was able to use a fast shutter speed and ISO 500-1000 dependent on light to freeze the action. Clearly anyone looking for a specialist sports lens would consider one of the other options Sony offer but I was really pleased with the results. Couple of cons - not sure how well sealed it is, worried it may have sucked in a little dust / grit already. Also wish it came with a tripod collar, it's a big heavy lens and very long when extended, hope it'll last on the A7iii mount. Won't carry it with me on every shoot but glad I have it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

All round good performing lens

SEL70300G 26 August 2019 by Les11038 (United Kingdom)

Perfect for my style and use. Sports and action, a little wildlife and landscapes. The lens is acceptably sharp at all focal lengths. It is fast focusing paired with my Sony A7III. Perfect for my needs at this time. It’s not a heavy lens but a tripod collar would be beneficial in some circumstances which Sony unfortunately does not manufacture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

GREAT IMAGE QUALITY

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by KEN206 (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS TO GO WITH MY A7RIII CAMERA SEVERAL MONTHS AGO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

This lens is a must, don't leave home without it!

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Robaudiology (United Kingdom)

Bought this one month ago and captured some amazing shots on safari. So easy to change lenses and the steady shot is a great feature.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Superb lens

SEL70300G 30 July 2019 by Arfabike (United Kingdom)

Without doubt a professional lens capable of delivering that special shot. Just been on holiday to the French Alps and took some stunning landscape shots with some fantastic wildlife shots. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Ouch - Sharp!

SEL70300G 24 July 2019 by JKPhoto100 (USA)

Lens is very sharp, results so far have been better than expected. Focus not as quick as I would have liked, however, if you are shooting in good light, the results are super sharp. Very happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very versatile

SEL70300G 06 July 2019 by Mott (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with it and now I am getting used to itmotty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great lens for both APS-C and FF Sony cameras

SEL70300G 20 June 2019 by CGEaton (United Kingdom)

I used a Sony 55-210mm lens on a NEX6 for about 5 years but wanted something with a longer reach. The 70-300 gives me that reach in a relatively compact package, so now I have 100 -450mm which perfect for my needs. Build quality is excellent and it's obvious this is a great little lens which doesn't break the bank.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony FE 70-300

SEL70300G 17 May 2019 by Fiona M (United Kingdom)

I brought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I am very impressed with it. Bonus is it is dust and moisture resistant. Light enough for my A6000 and very good for my garden birds photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

So far so good!

SEL70300G 09 May 2019 by Carter209 (USA)

Pretty stoked at the sharpness this lens gives me at 300mm. I was a little hesitant at first to purchase it but it truly is a great lens so far. I would love the 100-400 but it is way out of my price range. If your looking for the budget friendly option without sacrificing sharpness this is the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Performance and Value!

SEL70300G 17 April 2019 by RedlandsGreg (USA)

I’m an amateur photographer so I wanted a telephoto lens but didn’t have the budget to spend on the 400. I picked this lens up and could not be happier with the performance. It is heavy, but so is any good telephoto lens. I found the focus crisp, the image stabilization worked great and the 300mm zoom worked great to capture the images I was looking for. I used this lens while shooting from the deck on a river cruise on the Nile in Egypt. I was able to catch some great images on the river and on shore. I got just what I wanted out of this lens. I also picked up an aftermarket tripod mount that works great. If you’re on the fence about this lens don’t hesitate. It is a phenomenal performer and a great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Using the FE 70-300 f4.5-5.6G

SEL70300G//CSYX 03 March 2019 by Pegasus ltc 328 (Singapore)

It's a big, bulky, heavy piece of glass on my compact and light A7iii. It's more for daytime use due to its maximum aperture. But the A7iii is a is ideal for this FE 70-300mm f4. 5-5.6 with its ability to shoot good quality high iso shots. The bokeh is surprisingly nice! It's a good all rounder for a holiday lens but the weight is a disadvantage coz my RX100 VI can get the job done, if I'm not picky about the image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

the 70 to 300 is Ideal for my work

SEL70300G 17 February 2019 by MERV B (United Kingdom)

I can photograph several building defects from one spot and if I need a bit more length I switch my Sony a9 to APS/C super and they make a perfect team. I am unable to send photoes today but if you want some can send some later this week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL70300G 28 January 2019 by Sony long lens (United Kingdom)

Had it about six weeks and I use it for wildlife, clear and sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good initial impressions

SEL70300G 16 January 2019 by Noys (United Kingdom)

This review is based on the first few weeks of usage: winter months and frequently difficult lighting conditions

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good sharpness & resolution.

SEL70300G 20 November 2018 by B photo (USA)

The lens is a bit bulky as expected because of the stabilizer. Only wish the lens has a tripod mount since it was much heavier than my α6000. Taking picture with a reasonable quality tripod in a vertical position is a bit awkward to keep the lens from tipping down due to the weight. Otherwise the stabilizer works reasonably well at slower shutter speeds. The focus response is quick. Once had a similar lens from Tokina without the stabilizer. Even shooting still subjects on a tripod the quality is not nearly as good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony FE 70-300 F4.5-5.6 G OSS REVIEW

SEL70300G 07 September 2018 by Shootist (United Kingdom)

This isn’t really a review as I’ve only recently bought this lens and haven’t used it a great deal (my Sony 24-105mm f/4 being used as my regular walk around lens. The 70-300 has performed very well however, when used. Much like the other Sony lenses I purchased to go with my new Sony A7iii, I stayed away from the large/heavy (f/2.8) optics in favour of a lighter kit. The image quality has not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Great features

SEL70300G 01 September 2018 by redmum (United Kingdom)

much lighter than the 100-400, which is what I needed. I like the lock on the lens very handy. Very pleased with it, a great asset to my camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good lens

SEL70300G 01 July 2018 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I bought a fortnight ago and have not yet used it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

29

0

Longer reach

SEL70300G 18 June 2018 by mel157 (United Kingdom)

I was torn between the 70-200 f4 and the 70-300 f4.5-5.6mm after hours of soul-searching backed by dozen of lens reviews, I still couldn't split these superb lenses. In the end however I went for the longer reach of the Sony 70-300mm unit mainly for wildlife and football (soccer) photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

10

0

Lighter than my Sigma

SEL70300G 12 June 2018 by Spokekey39 (United Kingdom)

Up until I purchased this FE lens I have been adapting a Sigma 120-400 zoom lens via the LA-EA4 adapter. That worked ok for me and my A7ii but it was quite heavy. The 70-300 G lens is about half the weight of my old setup and fits niceley in my camera bag. As a result I find that I take it out with me more often than the Sigma zoom. I am also very impressed with the focusing speed and I am getting the use of all my focusing options that my A7ii can provide. I have a couple of Sony primes lenses already and after my experience with this G lens I will be adding another one to my kit in the not too distant future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

great features

SEL70300G 09 June 2018 by rdm2 (USA)

very clear focus, very quiet, lighter then most lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Dissapointing

SEL70300G 16 May 2018 by picflic (USA)

Having had the lens for about a month now all I can say is that I am extremely dissapointed with my purchase. Even to the extend that I am completely questioning my switch to Sony all together (That is how bad it is). This lens is just not sharp and every shot again gives a dissapointing result. At the pricepoint of this lens I expected a much better performance and I feel that the value of this lens certainly doesn't match the pricepoint. The lens looks and feels great but the optical performance is on par with some of the worst lenses i have ever used when i was starting out with cheap APS-C cameras.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

28

0

Overall good lens

SEL70300G 27 April 2018 by mikesnaps (United Kingdom)

Sharp across range, good contrast, quick auto-focus, solid stabilisation, BOKEH reasonable, overall a good lens. Combined with A6500 not too heavy and can be comfortably hand held for hours. Minor con, cannot access zoom ring with hood reverse fitted, so fit for sunny conditions or leave in bag. Lens Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

Terrific lens!

SEL70300G 26 April 2018 by surreality87 (USA)

I've had this for a few weeks now and I am impressed. I have it on an A6500 body and while this is much larger than the camera I have no complaints as this is expected from a zoom lens with this range and capability. An F4 constant would perfect this lens but would also drive up the cost so as it stands I'm happy with the variable aperture. The optics and image quality are stellar for what you pay for this lens but be careful with low lighting situations as this lens can suffer a bit without a tripod (you'll still get the shot but don't have high hopes for the 100% crop). Sharpness seems constant and across the whole frame but to be honest i get such beautiful shots at low aperture and wonderful bokeh that i don't find myself stopping up very often much above F8. I'm very happy with the feature set of focus limiter, AF/MF override, image stabilization which works really well in tandem with the in body OIS, and the manual focus lock (although I'd prefer a toggle switch as compared to holding the button down). The AF/MF switch is very handy due to other E-mount lenses relying on switching the focus in the camera body due to being an electronic focus (this can get old even if you have have it saved as a quick button). My one complaint, and i don't know if this would be fixable anyways due to how much has to be crammed onto the lens body, is that the lens hood is so big that when its reversed over the lens body to be stored it covers the entire zoom ring when it's at 70mm (also the only time the zoom lock can be engaged). this can be very frustrating when you want to take the camera from not in use to zooming in quickly. think of hiking along and seeing an animal in the distance for example, you don't want to leave the lens zoomed out while walking but can't get at the zoom ring to zoom in. so you're left with having to find a place to stow the hood or awkwardly disconnecting the hood briefly to start the zoom and then reattaching it in storage mode. the only thing i could think of is a slightly more trim hood or a petal style which i don't think this lens would benefit from. Overall though I highly recommend this lens for a reasonably compact zoom (smaller than the 70-200 F4 lens) with great image quality and mostly easy usability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great quality

SEL70300G 21 April 2018 by viola2572 (United Kingdom)

I needed a good quality lens that was good value, it does the job very well is very sharp and quite shallow depth of field, this ticked all the boxes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Initial Review

SEL70300G 03 April 2018 by holbrook tech (United Kingdom)

I've only had this lens for just under a month. I purchased it in conjunction with a Sony A7ii camera to utilise the full advantages of a full frame CSC. Due to the weather I've had a limited chance to fully test this combination but, on that limited basis, I'm very happy with the lens. The quality of photos demonstrates the value of full frame and a high quality lens. In addition my video is improving with the combination and the ability to stabilise by using excellent viewfinder. I fully expect the lens will justify its (to me) high cost. The lens is fairly heavy but easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great Zoom

SEL70300G 22 January 2018 by Niggly (United Kingdom)

A great lens with really good zoom range. Well made with very useful lock on the zoom to prevent it moving from any preferred focal length at any chosen time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

love it!!

SEL70300G 26 December 2017 by Fabro (USA)

I've only owned this lens about three weeks but from the pictures I've taken so far,I find it amazing! I bought an A6500 at the same time and it has been glued to it ever since! The combination is awesome! the IQ is great, the focus is very fast, [ except in very low light as expected ]. I hear people complain about the price, that Canon and Nikon sell similar lenses for about half the price but also have them for more! well, take into consideration that the IQ is better than those less expensive lenses with more ED glass and the three toggles and a focus hold button that allow you many more quick adjustments and there you have it, a better quality lens overall!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

SEL70300G 17 December 2017 by Ady669 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks so not had much good weather to get out and test it fully. From what I have seen the auto focus is quick and the manual side nice to fine tune.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Good telephoto reach

SEL70300G 30 August 2017 by Topgun11 (USA)

Lens mechanics works well, image quality is very good. Balanced and quite compact for a 300mm lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding lens

SEL70300G//CSYX 30 August 2017 by W C Tan (Singapore)

This a very compact lens but weight is slightly heavy so will need to use a vertical grip with camera body for the more even weight distribution. Good colour rendition and bokeh, very sharp at maximum aperture and all local lengths. I use this lens for candid and nature photography, see attached photos shot hand held at 300mm at F5.6.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good performance v weight

SEL70300G 28 August 2017 by Singingbike (United Kingdom)

The focal range, combined with OSS makes this a good addition to my bag. I use it with A6500 and the camera & lens combined weighs much less than my DSLR and standard lens. I can hand hold at much slower shutter speeds and find it great for close up work as well as wildlife.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

No tripod mount

SEL70300G 03 August 2017 by tfpernar40 (USA)

I could really like this lens and would give it a higher rating if it had a tripod mount. It's heavy weight requires me to aim higher when composing to overcome the tendency creep downward. It usually takes three or more tries to get the image centered. I also notice that the rear of the base of my a6000 tips up slightly even after everything is tightened very firmly. I don't think the camera with its non-metal frame was meant to stressed in this manner. I never use this lens for tripod shots, not even with my a7ii. I previously had the a-mount version and I was able to make a tripod mount, however the changes made on the e-mount made that impractical.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

6

0

Very useful

SEL70300G 27 July 2017 by HeRog (USA)

Overall it's a great lens, but there is one thing I don't like: It seems you can peel off the serial number and that is not a good thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Brilliant

SEL70300G 08 July 2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

I use this on an A6500 and so I cannot tell what the edge definition is, nevertheless, on the APS-C format, I get superb definition and high contrast across the whole image. Bokeh is good, too. This is an excellent lens but a criticism is that it does not have a tripod mounting, however that would have added to the weight and for its zoom range, this is a relatively lightweight piece of kit. The second annoyance is that although normally focus is fast and accurate, sometimes it "hunts" before finding correct focus. This is the second "G Master" lens I've used and both are truly excellent. Both are easy to manually focus, both have easy OSS, AF/MF and fix-focus buttons and the ability to set focus-ranges for speedier focussing. It would be nice if Sony would offer a 2X tele converter to go with this lens !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

2

0

Nice all round lens

SEL70300G 07 July 2017 by Lmcder (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens just over a month ago and I am really pleased with the results I am getting. The only negative thing I can say about it is that I feel it's a bit heavy for the body of the Alpha6500, and it gets heavy for me after 2-3hours of shooting handheld but this doesn't warrant rating in down to four stars. It is now my lens of choice when heading out and about and it has opened up a whole new world of shooting options including insects, butterflies and wild life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Sony 70-300G

SEL70300G 18 June 2017  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to give me the reach at 300mm it is very sharp, it's first use was at Donnington Park motorbike racing when fitted to my A6000 it makes me a 450mm lens in a very small package. The only draw back is that a tripod mount which the lens needs would make the lens perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL70300G 31 May 2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom)

I received this lens 2 weeks ago. I've taken more than one thousand images with it in this short period of time, using it with both the a7 and the a6000. Fits and balances well with both cameras though I prefer its handling with the a7. Weight and size of the lens are just right in my opinion. Optically, it performs to a high level of performance. Build quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

First Experience with Sony

SEL70300G 11 April 2017 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

Two weeks into ownership and I just love this lens. Used for architecture, landscape, wildlife it's just fun to use with good results. I would recommend this product 9/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Good zoom coverage

SEL70300G 09 February 2017 by Muggins530 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace 70-200g. Although this new lens is heavier, the extra focal length is worth the extra weight. Very good quality both in build and results. The only reason I can't give five stars is the absence of a tripod mount. It's quite a weight on the lens mount. Overall I'm very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

6

0

Great performance, exceptional sharpness

SEL70300G 04 February 2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens a few days so this review is necessarily limited. However so far the optical quality has proved outstanding. At 300mm against a bright sky the tracery of a winter tree is rendered perfectly with no visible chromatic abberation. Al round lives up to expectation and the existing reviews. Concerns - it is a heavy lens, I have used it only handheld which is fine and well balanced but I am concerned about putting the camera on a tripod. A removable tripod bracket would be nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Great zoom length

SEL70300G 27 January 2017 by Idgsd (USA)

I own the A mount 70-300G but this lens is sharper. Targeted cars 750m away (measured distance with Google Earth), with my A6500 and the built in Clearimage Zoom (2X), all handheld with elbow support. Was able to read the license plate number off the OOC jpeg photo....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent lens that compliments the Sony range

SEL70300G 23 December 2016 by Stevejd64 (United Kingdom)

I am using this lens with the original sony A7R mirrorless camera and I'm very satifeied so far. The lens is somewhat on the heavy side but that is not an issue for me personally. The only thing missing is a bracket on the lens barrel itself for tripod mounting which would be highly useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Nice lens

SEL70300G 09 December 2016 by Bird Man (USA)

Brought it 5 months ago and have had a great time with it. I use it on my A6000 mostly for wildlife shots. I wish it would reach even more than it does. Unfortunately Sony doesn't make a telaconverter that allows all the functions with my A6000. It's so much nicer to carry around this much smaller and lighter set up than my Nikon with a telephoto lens. Gets good clear images. Would like to see a tripod mount on the lens itself like other Sony telephoto lense as it gets a bit tipsy with only the camera mount.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

0

less functional than price suggests

SEL70300G 12 November 2016 by drewp (United Kingdom)

Reasonably sharp, well constructed, compact, four times zoom with acceptable bokeh

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

19

0

Sharper than you think

SEL70300G 05 October 2016 by Luccombe Lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this about 6 weeks ago. The stabilisation works a dream. Obviously not pin sharp in low light at 300mm. But, given good light, it is very acceptable at 300mm. Probably limited indoors, but for bird photography etc...it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

0

0

Very capable lens!!!

SEL70300G//CSYX 29 September 2016 by samueltan (Singapore)

Amazingly sharp lens...use it for portraits outside and landscapes. Took this on my vacation instead of the 70-200, and it gave me more reach...and great images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1