42

4.4 based on 42 customer reviews

27
10
2
2
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very good size for traveling and huge rich bass

SRS-XB01 19 September 2018 by Freek382 (USA)

I buy this SONY Speaker few days ago and so happy, coast=quality!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Portable yet less than satisfactory

SRS-XB01/BC E 19 December 2018 by Karen AP (Singapore)

XB01 is good as it is portable. However, I am unable to track the (battery) power level of usage. Also, there is no indication as to whether the device is fully charged or not? Initially, I faced a problem one week after I bought it. But the sales person refused to let me replace the device for a new one. I was facing charging issue as it seemed like it never stop charging after 8 hours. Currently, I am still monitoring the charging feature of this device. Hope that the problem gets resolved within the warranty period. Overall, I am a little disappointed about the whole issue.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

42 Customer Reviews

0

Decent litle speaker

SRS-XB01 11 May 2019 by bloxie64 (USA)

Pros: Decent battery life, water resistant, hand-strap and charging cord included in box. Cons: no skip function, speaker does not get very loud. I did notice it has a passive bass radiator on the back, nice touch sony. Got this because I needed something small that is easy to travel with.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality; easily portable

SRS-XB01 18 April 2019 by minnie37 (United Kingdom)

Bought to use with mini-iPad, mostly indoors. Strap for hanging / carrying fits around top of end of stair bannister, and signal strong enough for me to have iPad anywhere in the house. Only downside so far is that whilst playing music, it also "plays" every keyboard click when I'm using other apps like YouTube/ email.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony speaker

SRS-XB01 03 April 2019 by tillcoma (United Kingdom)

I love this speaker,compact size with a big sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great small speaker

SRS-XB01 31 March 2019 by Fox26 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic sound for a small speaker, and size makes it very portable

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

XB01 Bluetooth Speaker

SRS-XB01/YC E 28 March 2019 by Nicklau (Singapore)

I am happy and impressed by the sound and battery life of this speaker. Definitely a recommend to friends.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So Dope

SRS-XB01 27 February 2019 by Uconn (USA)

This speaker is so dope, the sound quality is amazing for as small as it is. Not that it needs it for what I use is as mostly, but to improve the quality of the sound I push it up against the wall to make the sound really pop. Sony always has great speakers and I'm very rarely disappointed with their products in general. I've noticed in the past that you pretty much get what you pay for. You may pay a little extra when you buy a product like Sony, but you get quality sound with a water-resistant durable speaker that you could take anywhere. My only gripe would be the buttons on the top should maybe be a different color so they stand out more or backlit somehow. Other than that, Bravo Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound but

SRS-XB01 26 February 2019 by supermariusas (USA)

Good sound but - no sd card slot, battery can be a bit bigger, is hand strap keeper is enough strong?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice sound for the convenience

SRSXB01/B 13 February 2019 by kenmc0003 (USA)

I’ve been listening through my speaker for a couple of days and am exceptionally pleased with the quality of the sound and the speaker itself. I had no problem pairing the speaker to my iPhone and began to listen to it right out of the box. I purchased this to listen to tunes in my office. It’s not so loud as to be heard in adjacent offices, but just right for listening at my desk. Thumbs are definitely up!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

No battery status

SRS-XB01 13 February 2019  (USA)

I need battery status, and 1200 mha battery. I like the sound of this product. But it's short life. And i don't know battery status. I also have xb 30 , sound so deep, i don't like that. I like sound of xb01 more than xb 30, but battery life make me sad

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A miniature miracle

SRS-XB01 10 February 2019 by East Anglian 44 (United Kingdom)

The speaker arrived safely, and the packaging was strong and kept the product free from damage. All accessories arrived including charge cable and wrist strap. The speaker was charged immediately, and was then connected via Bluetooth to a variety of devices, including an older Windows 10 PC, a new Windows 10 gaming machine, a Windows phone, an Ipad Pro, an iPhone 6s and an iPhone 5. All devices connected correctly, although there were two occasions of very brief signal drop out to the iPhone 6 and the older Windows PC. The only minor criticism was that, with the gaming machine, maximum volume was too low to give an immersive gaming experience but for all other normal uses (listening to music, youTube and other video sources) it was amazing. Playing the famous bass line (Formula 1) in The Chain by Fleetwood Mac produced great clarity of bass, which in such a tiny enclosure was phenomenal. In summary, this is a truly portable and powerful device in a tiny package. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

This amazing little wireless speaker

SRS-XB01 10 February 2019 by HEAVY 66 (United Kingdom)

This wireless speaker is very compact .but has the most amazing sound for its size , i connected it via bluetooth to my android mobile to listed to music and the radio and the sound was clear and the sound range was truely amazing I also used in using a cable to conect to my Sony mp3/mp4 player and yet again this little speaker did not fail , the clarity of sound and clearness was truly amazing For a speaker that is so compact and well built , when connected to any of my devices either via Bluetooth of via a cable the sound and quality of sound was truly amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB01 10 February 2019 by Liz1481 (United Kingdom)

This is such a compact but excellent sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Surprisingly Good!

SRS-XB01 08 February 2019 by SgtStressUK (United Kingdom)

Initially surprised at how small the SRS-XB01 was when i opened the box. However, in some case it seems good things really do come in small packages! This unit puts out sound way above its size. Its punchy with decent bass. Your not going to run a party with this little speaker but its certainly more than enough sound for a picnic, sat around with some friends or just to pop into your bag to take away with you. The fact its splash proof is another great feature - perfect for taking into the bathroom to have some music whilst you have a shower or bath. Bluetooth connectivity is quite and easy to setup, and seems very solid - i've not experienced any drop outs thus far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Surprisingly big sound!

SRS-XB01 07 February 2019 by Haiiro (United Kingdom)

I think the first thing I will say right away is how amazed I was at how BIG the sound is for such a small speaker! I and my family were incredibly surprised, to say the least. We use the speaker in the bathroom and due to it being a Water Resistant Wireless Bluetooth Speaker we were not at all worried about if it would get damaged. It was handy to be able to hang the item too. Colours wise, there are so many to choose from, I have the vibrant Green/Yellow option! Super easy to connect to using Bluetooth. It's incredibly lightweight so hanging it, to say a bicycle, a backpack or anything really, shouldn't cause any struggles. Handy buttons make it easy to control, such as volume and skipping tracks or even taking phone calls due to its built-in microphone. Another great use I found was hooking it up to a Laptop via an Aux cable to give my laptop better sound! Battery wise, a good 6 hours or more is easily achieved as advertised and it charges quickly too via USB cable. The performance of this small speaker is well above my expectations and is easy to recommend for all the above reasons!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Sony SRS-XBO1 Disappointing

SRS-XB01 04 February 2019 by BobA6 (United Kingdom)

I started using this wireless speaker with enthusiasm, and was impressed with its ease of use and the way it connected easily via Bluetooth to my phone etc. the sound quality was good too although I did not detect the claimed "Extra Bass". However, after using over the weekend frequently, it has stopped working today. The speaker is fully charged and has not been mishandled, it connects with devices and starts to play, but then stops. Maybe there is a fault with this one, but it certainly fails a usage test.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

1

0

Portability is really great

SRS-XB01 04 February 2019 by fixit9 (United Kingdom)

Small enough to take anywhere ,with a big sound that s hard to believe from such a small good looking speaker and no wires at all! My grandchildren love it and are forever trying to borrow the speaker, so I am going to have to buy nine more over this year at birthday time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Impressive sound from something so small

SRS-XB01 03 February 2019 by Fella6969 (United Kingdom)

Very impressive sound from this speaker that is no bigger than a satsuma, it’s not room filling by any stretch but is perfect for a camping trip or packing into a suitcase to take your music away with you. Incredibly easy to pair up with any device via Bluetooth and was up and running within seconds of unpacking it. Great for use in the bathroom with it being splash proof if you enjoy listening to music / audiobooks when in the bath.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Size isn’t everything with the SRS-XB01

SRS-XB01 02 February 2019 by Fulkingmarc1 (United Kingdom)

It turns out that size isn’t everything, as reflected in the Sony SRS-XB01. When I excitedly received my delivery, I thought they may have forgotten to put anything in the box, as it was so light! Relief, as I opened it up to reveal my new, blue, “friend.” Set up and connected to my phone in under a minute and I was pleasantly surprised with the ample volume as it filled our kitchen with ease. Sound quality is great for such a small speaker, I love the blue colour (others are available) and with such a small footprint and handy carry strap, it will be simple to take anywhere, attach to your bag or simply place on the garden table. All in all, I am extremely impressed with the ease of use, quality and overall experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Small and mighty sounding

SRS-XB01 02 February 2019 by Stevenm2 (United Kingdom)

I’ve used this for a week or so now, it is pretty small but that makes it ideal to carry in a coat pocket or a handbag, easy to connect via Bluetooth and sounds better then I expected, the battery lasts and lasts, my granddaughter who’s 12 loves it and it’s colour (green) and has more or less stolen it from me, she says her friends love it as well, she has it dangling from the handlebars on her bike, so much safer then in ear earphones as she can also here what’s going on around her

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Dynamite

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Stevieh57 (United Kingdom)

Was surprised at first on the size of the speaker, but was blown away by the sound they say dynamite comes in small packages. Battery lasted longer than the six hours advised. Thought the charging light was supposed to go out when fully charged but it stayed on for longer than the 3 hours charging. Easy to use and easily fits in a bag or coat pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Wow

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by The blue koi (United Kingdom)

I must admit I wasn’t expecting much from a small speaker but this thing is fantastic, great sound with plenty of bass, and long battery life. It’s just the thing if your on the go, just the right size It doesn’t take up much room, easily fits into a pocket, and for the price you can’t go wrong. Well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

So easy

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by tomyboy (United Kingdom)

I have been using this bluetooth speaker for a couple of weeks now. First impressions were that it's so small it couldn't possibly be of any quality. I was wrong about that. Firstly I connected it to my computer to see how it would rate against my more expensive wired speakers. Via bluetooth it connected first time without any setup issues. I was surprised by how clear the sound was, punchy bass and bright treble and compered favourably with my wired setup. Next I wanted to find out it's range. I tried it in every room in the house and to my surprise there was no loss of sound, next I tried it in the garden and managed to get a fair distance with it. My favourite use was having it on in the kitchen when I was preparing meals. It is small enough to not get in the way and no chance of loosing it due to the bright colour it came in. It is easy to control the volume with biggish buttons on the top and loud enough to be heard over any background noise. Recharging was easy by plugging it into the USB port on my computer. Over all I was impressed by how easy and portable this small unit is and I can see it replacing my wired computer system just for its ease of use.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Great for voice, acceptable for music.

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

This was provided by Sony for review and I have to say that I was very surprised at the sound quality from such a small bit of kit. It is a little limited for loud music but is excellent for listening to radio drama and spoken word, with an impressive depth of sound. Bluetooth link was easy and made listening to anything over my phone a far better experience - this was how I used it. Charge held well and having used it for around 6 hours it has not yet needed recharge. Too chunky for the pocket but the weight is reasonable and probably needed for the good sound quality. Depending on the price point it is a remarkable little speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Great little bass speaker

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Pablo 1 (United Kingdom)

Very neat and compact with non slip feet Easy to set up for blue tooth Even played my guitar through it Many uses splash proof too Simple instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Super versatile speaker - XB01 Extra Bass

SRS-XB01 01 February 2019 by Geoff05 (United Kingdom)

An amazing good looking and lightweight portable speaker which produces a great sound for its size. I've being using this for a week and found it an extremely good speaker. It looks good and generates an unexpected volume for its size. I mainly use it in my home-office but I have used it for background music in a large church hall and it coped remarkably well. Its battery life is brilliant and the set up was very simple. The Bluetooth connection has been stable without any problems on a phone, tablet and laptop. Another great product from the Sony stable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Good mid range speaker

SRS-XB01 31 January 2019 by Drew2 (United Kingdom)

Tested through Sony Product Tester Panel, the device arrived, was easy to set up and performed very well particularly in bass notes with tablet (iPad) but not so well with Android phone as volume was limited and bass didn't come through strongly. However, a good all round speaker and nice design to fit with any room

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Excellent product

SRS-XB01 31 January 2019 by Kccts (United Kingdom)

Very easy to setup instructions are clear and simple. For the size the sound reproduction is great and as its small can go everywhere with you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Lovely little speaker

SRS-XB01 30 January 2019 by ChrissyLM (United Kingdom)

I've had the SRS-XB01 for a week and the 1st thing you notice is the sound quality, very clean the highs, lows and mids are not muddled together, the unit has two speakers the one in the back has a slight gap then the back plate to reflect the bass back, which is nice as I would place it by a wall to do the same thing (as I do with my SRS-X55), it's not super loud but for use in and around the house its more than enough. I like that I can use it in the shower as it is splashproof I put it on the windowsill and is fine. I don't play music out loud outside so I'm not sure how it would preform. My niece's use it when they are listening to YouTube they are 5 and 8 and they love it. I haven't played music on full volume for mor than a few minuets at a time when I'm using it but I get very close to the 3 hour play time. Likes, price, colour, sound quality, splashproof Dislikes, no party chain Overall for the price it's more than worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0

0

Music in any room in the house.

SRS-XB01 30 January 2019 by Pete in Wales (United Kingdom)

I’ve never got on that well with headphones so a small portable speaker was always going to appeal and this little box doesn’t disappoint. 1st off don’t be fooled by the ‘Extra Bass’ displayed so prominently on the packaging, a box this small is never going to warranty the description bass rich. That said the sound from this little box is much fuller than its size would lead you to expect, not at all the tinny little sound you may have expected. The added bonus is that for such a small box it is capable, when fed with a decent signal, of a respectable volume, not loud but definitely achieving a comfortable listening level. The sound is somewhat dependant on the surface it is on, sounding clearer and louder when on a hard reflective surface than on the carpet. It is particularly good when sat on the cistern in the bathroom, which is great because with this little box I can now have music while soaking in the bath!

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge

0

0