Search button in the site


The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

June 18, 2010

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan - Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 93rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company's Chairman of the Board, Chairmen and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

‹Members of the Board› (*Outside Director)
The Board Members are as follows. Three new Board Members have been selected (**).

  • Howard Stringer
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
  • Ryoji Chubachi
    Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Vice Chairman
  • Yotaro Kobayashi (*)
    Former Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
  • Yoshiaki Yamauchi (*)
    Former Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
  • Peter Bonfield (*)
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board, NXP B.V.
  • Fujio Cho (*)
    Chairman of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation
  • Ryuji Yasuda (*)
    Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University
  • Yukako Uchinaga (*)
    Director and Executive Vice President, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
    Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President, Berlitz International, Inc.
  • Mitsuaki Yahagi (*)
    Chairman of the Board, The Japan Research Institute, Limited
  • Tsun-Yan Hsieh (*)
    Director Emeritus, McKinsey & Company
  • Roland A. Hernandez (*)
    Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telemundo Group, Inc.
  • Kanemitsu Anraku (*)(**)
    Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.
  • Yorihiko Kojima (*)(**)
    Member of the Board, President, Chief Executive Officer, Mitsubishi Corporation
  • Osamu Nagayama (*)(**)
    Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer,
    Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • (*)An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan

‹Chairman of the Board›

  • Chairman of the Board
    Yotaro Kobayashi

‹Chair and Members of the Committees›
Nominating Committee

  • Chair
    Yotaro Kobayashi
  • Members
    Peter Bonfield, Fujio Cho, Roland A. Hernandez, Yorihiko Kojima, Howard Stringer, Ryoji Chubachi

Compensation Committee

  • Chair
    Ryuji Yasuda
  • Members
    Tsun-Yan Hsieh, Osamu Nagayama

Audit Committee

  • Chair
    Yoshiaki Yamauchi
  • Members
    Mitsuaki Yahagi, Kanemitsu Anraku

‹Corporate Executive Officers›
Representative Corporate Executive Officers
(*concurrent with Director)

  • Howard Stringer*
    Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
  • Ryoji Chubachi*
    Vice Chairman
    Officer in charge of Product Quality & Safety and Environmental Affairs

Corporate Executive Officers

  • Yutaka Nakagawa
    Executive Deputy President
    Officer in charge of Manufacturing, Logistics, Procurement and CS Platform
  • Hiroshi Yoshioka
    Executive Deputy President
    Officer in charge of the Consumer Products, Professional Solutions, and Devices businesses
  • Keiji Kimura
    Executive Vice President
    Officer in charge of Intellectual Property and the Disc Manufacturing business
  • Nicole Seligman
    Executive Vice President
    General Counsel
  • Kazuo Hirai
    Executive Vice President
    Officer in charge of the Networked Products and Services businesses
  • Masaru Kato
    Executive Vice President
    Chief Financial Officer
Page Top