FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

115

4.8 based on 115 customer reviews

100
12
0
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

115 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant portrait lens!

SEL85F18 12 August 2020 by James NS (United Kingdom)

Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blown away

SEL85F18 25 July 2020 by Cinema Donut (United Kingdom)

Bought it a couple of weeks ago, and it just keeps blowing me away. I did a photo shoot recently and also did some interiors, and oh boy I have never been more hyped about doing photos than now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp

SEL85F18 24 May 2020 by Grumpy 007 (United Kingdom)

This lens is sharp and focus is fast and spot on the DOF is out of this world. a really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works superbly

SEL85F18 27 February 2020 by Maurrro (United Kingdom)

Love using this lens at wide open fabulous feel and superb quality at an excellent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredibly sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 26 February 2020  (Singapore)

Bought it this month. Excellent lens. Ease of use. The sharpness at 1.8f at min focus length... is a wow factor. Focus is fast and smooth. Love the lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SOLID BEAST

SEL85F18 SYX 17 February 2020 by Dyzawa (Singapore)

The Sony FE 85 is my bread and butter and i could not be so happy after purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 09 February 2020 by PFL01 (United Kingdom)

Excellent portrait lens for reasonable cost. Very sharp images and good bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast AF, very sharp and good value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 02 February 2020 by bharathgh (Singapore)

Really sharp lens. AF with my A7R2 is really fast. I use it primarily to photograph my kid and it does a great job. Eye AF works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, fast and stealthy!

SEL85F18 01 February 2020 by imacdaddytony (USA)

I have had the lens for one month now. Primary use is shooting high school indoor sports. Focus is quick, silent, good tracking, nice build and image quality is nice. I am pleased with the lens performance on my A9.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL85F18 SYX 29 January 2020 by mcrksman (Singapore)

Great lens for the price. Sharp and light. Good for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First play!

SEL85F18 15 January 2020 by Doubled58 (United Kingdom)

Bought this late Nov as Christmas present to myself. Thank you Santa! So far it is providing very sharp photos covering varying subjects. Might end up being my fav lens which I now have 3 off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

SEL85F18 15 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

purchased for portrait photos and am happy with the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great value lens

SEL85F18 SYX 08 January 2020 by A Rahim (Singapore)

The lens focuses fast and accurately and good value for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

85mm f/1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 08 January 2020  (Singapore)

Brought this lens half a year ago and it is creating stunning images for both my own collections & customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp, super fast.

SEL85F18 19 December 2019 by Dotingdad (United Kingdom)

Great lens and excellent value for the money. I’ve used a lot of portrait lenses over the years and this is one of the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp and fast lens

SEL85F18 16 December 2019 by bilalm (USA)

Extremely sharp and fast! I’ve gotten my best pictures with this lens probably. Produces a really nice bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Razor sharp

SEL85F18 30 September 2019 by Geotzen (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens after reading various reviews for 85mm category. Did not want to spend a fortune so this lens had the best price/quality ratio for my budget. I'm extremely pleased with image quality. Also AF, build quality, and overall feeling are great. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14 September 2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom)

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Portrait Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 07 September 2019 by W C Tan (Singapore)

The prime 85mm lens is considered optimal focal length for portrait and head shots. This 1.8mm lens is light weight, the optical quality and field depth do not disappoint given the lower price than f1.4 GM version as shown on the below images taken at night time under indoor lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31 August 2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom)

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Amazing quality at budget cost

SEL85F18 29 August 2019 by Sunflower_pics (USA)

This lens is best for portrait photography and outdoor photography. There is no other option available at this prices yet. Loved it's sharpness, bokeh and smoothness. Weight and grip is a good for handling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 26 August 2019 by ringme5am (Singapore)

Love the depth of field this lens gives. great for photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

OUTSTANDING Len for its price-point

SEL85F18 SYX 18 August 2019 by WayneLLC (Singapore)

I have bought this Len just about 3 weeks ago and it has been my go-to Len due to its form factor / weight and how accurate and interesting it renders an imagery. The shots were just so sharp with buttery bokeh and very quick to focus that it is so intriguing how much this costed. This may be a similar purchase consideration for some of you out there... As a trinity GM owner, I did find myself pondering back and forth, if I should buy this since I already have 85mm covered and primarily I don't exactly do portrait (being a Landscape-first guy) - But i am really glad to have push through with the purchase. The aforementioned merits of the Len really made me a very happy shooter and has renewed my creativity-flow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best image quality

SEL85F18 20 July 2019 by ClydeA (USA)

Ive been using this for almost a year. Its the best on the market in terms of image quality and AF. Just 4 stars because compared to other brands, this is almost twice the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality

SEL85F18 18 July 2019 by Alexg8254 (USA)

I purchased this lens 1 year ago and all of a sudden stop working not focusing, wasn’t drop or anything it looks like new for it not to work very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

A perfect portrait lens

SEL85F18 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

A truly excellent lens for the price, cannot find any negatives with image or build quality, even shooting wide open at f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Lightweight & Excellent optics

SEL85F18 SYX 11 July 2019 by _rnzw_ (Singapore)

Bought this lens for its weight and although it is not in the Zeiss or G-master range, the optics is still excellent. It gives me a nice reproduction of sharpness that I am looking for. It is a value for money lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness

SEL85F18 SYX 10 July 2019 by MavWee (Singapore)

Bought this recently, and cannot be amazed enough with the sharpness and the compactness of the lens as well as fast and accurate AF. Given the price, it is really value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 09 July 2019  (Singapore)

I bought this last month and i'm in love with it. My pictures are super sharp and produce a very nice bokeh. Really recommended for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL85F18 08 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

I'm very happy with this lens, is excellent I love !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28 June 2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom)

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24 June 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features and value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 17 June 2019 by 85mm Value for money (Singapore)

Couple with A7III with the price you pay, it is as good as it get compared to GM lens. Bokeh, sharpness and auto focus is excellent!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 June 2019 by J McG (Singapore)

I'm really happy with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. It fits my needs exactly for the type of portraits I like to take. Especially Street and low light shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08 June 2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07 June 2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom)

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21 May 2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom)

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget 85mm that’s on par with more expensive tier

SEL85F18 SYX 20 May 2019 by Kunioo (Singapore)

Not yet using the newly bought 85mm f/1.8 extensively. Autofocus is fast, images are sharp and get super sharp by 1 or 2 click stop down, bokeh is creamy and very good build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features , value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 May 2019  (Singapore)

Very happy with the focal length and speed of the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12 May 2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom)

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus

SEL85F18 11 May 2019 by Edgar25943 (USA)

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus. Fast and quiet, great for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04 May 2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

SEL85F18 01 May 2019 by Mila7 (USA)

I bougth this lense for portraits and close up photography and happy with result. Reasonable price. Beautiful bokhen. Good for low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07 April 2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom)

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01 April 2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom)

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31 March 2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portrait Perfection

SEL85F18 30 March 2019 by Ajbrickyard (USA)

An excellent piece of glass and is a heavenly match with my a7iii!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24 March 2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom)

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More than worth the cost

SEL85F18 17 March 2019 by Azenturi (USA)

Not to diss Sony's higher-end lenses, but for most people, this is a better idea than the 85mm G Master. It's unbelievably sharp wide open, only gets better as you stop down, it's light, it's small, and it's built solidly out of metal. Focus is super quick in bright light and acceptably fast in low light. Said focus also needs your ear literally pressed against the lens to hear it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small form factor and very sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 17 March 2019 by juan2888 (Singapore)

I bought the 85 1.8 and not the 85 1.4 GM from positive reviews around the world. Haven’t tried the 1.4 GM but am loving this lens. It’s super light weight and works a treat with my A7M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 11 March 2019 by Trubshot (United Kingdom)

This lens is light, super sharp, lovely bokeh and on my A7iii 75% of the time, with a fe 35mm f2.8 in the pocket. Switch between full frame and apsc (super 35) and I'm covering 35, 52.5, 85 and 127.5mm with 2 primes. Ideal travel set up with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 85mm F1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 28 February 2019 by Adry Azri (Singapore)

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Sony 85mm F/1.8 . It is a fantastic lens at a very reasonable Price. Sharp and lightweight lens overall i love it and looking forward to purchase another good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Prime

SEL85F18 27 February 2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

85mm is my favorite. This lens does the job. I like small and high quality primes and don't feel the need to have a 2lb lens for my type of shooting. This lens looks very inconspicuous and unobtrusive and the image quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very sharp,

SEL85F18 22 February 2019 by Trubs (United Kingdom)

I purchased this 5 weeks ago, and its on my A7iii 90% of the time. Its light, f1.8 , very sharp and worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by RichardFoxPhotography (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as a replacement for my old canon 135mm to use natively on my a7r3. I wanted a sharp portrait lens with great bokeh but the 85mm GM was out of my price bracket. AF is very snappy, it's very sharp with low CA and great bokeh for a 3 figure lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Costasa (United Kingdom)

This lens is a much have in any photographers bag, amazing value for what you get. Beautiful rendering, nice bokeh, the picture quality is not far from the gm equivalent and very similar to the batis version, comparing the differences in terms of performance and the price is a no brainier, this is the lens to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just awesome

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Dre2020 (United Kingdom)

I got this lens a while ago and have put it through its paces. I have to say it’s brilliant I wanted to get the GM f1.4 but for now this beautiful lens is doing the job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

My First Sony Lens

SEL85F18 09 January 2019 by GMWdesign (USA)

My first native Sony lens to go with my A7R2. Images are crisp. Auto focus is quick. I need to play wit the settings more because the eye-auto focus is not as quick as I've seen in demo videos from other photographers on youtube. If the eye-auto focus was working as I've seen in demos I'd give this lens 5-stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 85 F1.8 FR

SEL85F18 SYX 06 January 2019 by Kelvin G (Singapore)

Great picture quality and size of len !!! Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Bokeh

SEL85F18 SYX 30 December 2018 by AlvinLim (Singapore)

I use it with my a6000, taking with F1.8, nice bokeh. but it is difficult to use when the background is too bright.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and Sharp !

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by abhipro (Singapore)

Excellent sharpness and great Sony colours ! Great for Potraits and street photography !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore)

Bought this after reading reviews and recommendations. Best value for money lens for me so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens. Great Price

SEL85F18 SYX 24 November 2018 by ziggyzag (Singapore)

Bought it about 5 weeks ago and absolutely no regrets. Sharp, quick AF, light, small, and great price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 01 November 2018 by DJB609 (USA)

This is my first prime lens and after reading many reviews and watching countless videos I took the plunge. Amazing quality, tack sharp focus, quick in low light and the detail is sharp even at 6400 ISO. Not disappointed in this lens selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Jury is Still Out

SEL85F18 28 October 2018  (USA)

Not long after purchase, I noticed the iris rapidly opening and closing while my A7RII was in aperture priority mode, AF-C mode and with the aperture set between 9 and 22. It was like the camera was rapidly zooming in and out even though it is a prime lens. With direction of a Sony representative during a chat session, sent lens and camera in for service at a service center in Connecticut. Both returned "cleaned" and "set to factory standards", but the aperture pulsating continues. I am unable to use this lens between f9 and f22 in A mode and AF-C mode. VERY UNHAPPY since it cost me $111.00 to send it in. Very possibly, it could be the camera, but I don't know since that is the only lens I have currently.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Superior optical quality at a affordable price

SEL85F18 SYX 21 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

When attached to the third generation Alpha 7 camera series, the focusing is fast and accurate. Sharp images with high resolution from this lens. Need features like the AF/MF toggle switch and the AF button. Very light and compact. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is the 2nd one I bought - I like it that much

SEL85F18 SYX 17 October 2018 by Keithtty (Singapore)

For the size, the performance is really good. I’m not sure how much performance improvement 1.4 would get me. From sharpness perspective, this is excellent to me, so the only other thing might be bokeh? I don’t want to carry that additional weight for that. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbeliveably sharp lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 03 October 2018  (Singapore)

85mm primes are always appealing for portrait shots, but using it as an everyday lens gives you a new fun to the shots you take. You can shoot it even as a street photography and being at a distance while still being discreet lol.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

SEL85F18 29 September 2018  (USA)

I own many FE prime lenses and wanted to add this one as a lightweight option to my bag. It's sharp, has good bokeh and I actually like that it's not as creamy as other FE lenses though it can be a little soft on the edges. I love it for natural light and editorial, street or travel photography and reminds me a lot of the 50mm APS-C 1.8 which made me fall in love with Sony cameras and lenses. It's not a G master but if you're starting out and want a great portrait lens I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03 September 2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom)

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing.

SEL85F18 29 August 2018 by EddysEng (USA)

All the superlatives are true. This is an outstanding lens. Small. Light. F1.8! Great optics. Awesome bokeh. What more could you ask for -- especially at this price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0