708

4.5 based on 708 customer reviews

447
212
28
10
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing

With GPS 14 June 2014 by Alexphoto (USA)

This is the best camera I have used in years I had just a regular point and shoot until it broke then for about 7 years I have been using my phone to take pictures and they where just not enough so I had looked for a camera and saw the dslrs and I knew I would always be broke because I would want to have all the lens (it's a psychological thing I know) but when I saw this one I just had to have it for its zoom it is just amazing no matter if you shoot far away or close up I have been getting awesome shoots I'm so glad I got a bridge camera and a sony one to boot I have been a big sony fan for quite some time and I proud to say that I still am. Though there are times I'm not able to get the shoot I really want at times but that still okay I'm still new to photography and this is a bridge camera but I'm still satisfied with the shoots I produce. So this is an amazing camera for wanting to get closer to your subject if you are far away and I like that. If you are looking for something to help you to get right in the action but you are far away no worries you will get close on it and without losing detail. This camera is a great buy definitely check it out you won't be disappointed.

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

lens failure after 3 years of easy use. E:62:10

DSC-HX400V 24 October 2018 by wrs33 (USA)

I purchased this camera in August of 2015. I have taken lots of pics and vids and everything worked as expected. pic quality not the best, but decent considering the sensor size. light is your friend. setting the pixels to 5M also helps the sensor. Within the past 6 weeks an error code (e:62:10) started to display. I tired the work arounds found on the internet and that worked for about 1 month. Now I am finding that I will have to spend ~200$ to replace the lens, which is ~1/2 the price of the camera after 3 years and 1 month of use. I really like this camera and I imagine that when I look for a replacement the best option will still be this model. Hopefully this issue has been resolved. I want to stress that this camera has never been handled poorly. When I cannot clear the code you can see the lack of image stabilization in the view finder and in the pic. If I had written this review before this error occurred it would have been 5 stars. I am really disappointed that this happened after 3 years. Maybe Sony will help me out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

709 Customer Reviews

0

Smashing

With GPS 01 June 2020 by Toolie (United Kingdom)

Happy with this easy to use and not too heavy good battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent easy to use camera!!!!

With GPS 30 May 2020 by dave1419 (United Kingdom)

I decided to buy myself a new camera as my Canon was a bit heavy and this new Sony has made taking very good photo's easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tsunamis ly the best

With GPS 22 May 2020 by Carbonbiped (United Kingdom)

Simply the best camera I have ever owned producing the best pictures I’ve ever taken with easy to understand instructions and simple controls

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Probably the best camera I've ever used

With GPS 13 May 2020 by PurpleJayRS7783 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a present for my fianceè a few weeks ago and to be honest I've probably used it more than she has!! The functionality of the HX400V is stunning. It's like having a DSLR for half the price! Picture quality is amazing. 20mp feels more like 40 and the zoom puts 250yds away right beside you. The extra "gimmick" of being able to move the view screen becomes quite a useful function when it comes to shooting awkward angles and situations, great touch. Overall, you can't get a better quality camera in this price range with this many features and functions. Very well done Sony. You've done yourselves very proud with this amazing design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I’m an amateur photographer and I just love it

With GPS 01 May 2020 by Dave 64 (United Kingdom)

The photo Quality is brilliant The vivid colours come out in the photos which is what photography is all about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ideal Back up Camera

With GPS 26 April 2020 by MRL49 (United Kingdom)

Ideal Back up Camera to my a7Rii the 50x Optical Zoom is great for wildlife shots when walking the dog

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exactly what I was looking for

With GPS 20 April 2020 by diane04 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as I saw somebody's photos and thought the pictures were very good. I love the zoom lens. Unfortunately due to the coronavirus pandemic I cant use the camera to it's best advantage but I look forward to making full use of it when I can get out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice camera but with reservations.

With GPS 07 April 2020 by Ivor3648 (United Kingdom)

I bought one of these cameras when it first came out about 5 years ago. It is great as a bridge camera with its 50x zoom for taking long distance pictures of landscapes, wild life etc and this is what I have used it for. For the price it is a great piece of kit. However the camera developed a fault concerned with the image stabilisation system after 5 years and it was going to cost more to repair than the camera is worth. The fault is Error E:62:10 and commonly occurs on these cameras, so buyer beware, some have developed the fault with in a year or so of purchase apparently. Having said that I am in the process of buying another one in the hope that it lasts me another 5 years because I like the camera for its convenience.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for the price, very happy.

With GPS 05 April 2020 by Ghiorns (United Kingdom)

I bought this 3 weeks ago and am not an experienced photograper. The camera has amazing zoom and the way it transfers the pictures to my iPhone is great,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Waiting to explore

With GPS 04 April 2020 by Geoff snapper (United Kingdom)

Got this camera for my birthday and intended to use it on a holiday to the USA but locked down till don't know when. But with what I have tried looks very good. Still getting to know the layout but so far no problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

love the tilting screen and the multi shot modes

With GPS 28 March 2020 by Catp Flood (United Kingdom)

Nice bit of kit its a up-grade for me On wards and upwards

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good while it lasted

DSC-HX400V 26 February 2020 by Oldgraybirder (USA)

I bought this camera about 4 years ago based upon the recommendation from a friend. The camera worked fine until a few months ago when a 62-10 error code appeared. I found out recently that my friend’s camera also suffered the same issue and now wonder how common this problem really is. I called Sony to find out if any warranty support existed for what seems to be a design flaw but no satisfactory response.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing photo definition!

With GPS 18 February 2020 by Fred The Gardener (United Kingdom)

My local camera shop persuaded me to buy this model and I took it the same weekend to w edding in Westward Ho! As the sun set behind Lundy Island I zoomed in and took the photograph. When I looked at the view I zoomed in again to see the lighthouse on the island in amazing detail some 23 miles away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality camera

With GPS 12 February 2020 by Silverback07 (United Kingdom)

This Camera has captured the best photos I have taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sendng to smartphone

DSC-HX400V 04 February 2020 by genepsych (USA)

Have been samsung galazunable to make connection with my Samsung Galaxy 6. Always ends up trying to connect, seems to connect and then says internet not available. Have manual, followed every suggestion. Still can't. very frustrating. Other than that, love the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Camera

With GPS 29 January 2020 by Stucawth (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this camera for a few weeks now and very pleased with the results. Use it on auto mainly it’s nice and easy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Host of great features

With GPS 22 January 2020 by Degz (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace Nikon P900, so light and easy to handle. Really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Right shape

With GPS 21 January 2020 by Barneys22 (United Kingdom)

I am happy and hope to have it for many years to come

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and reliable

With GPS 10 January 2020 by Martingr8 (United Kingdom)

Bought this at Christmas 2019, not used much. But whenever I have it turns on and to the particular settings really quick. The photos are so Chris and clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good camera

With GPS 26 December 2019 by Blackflight40 (United Kingdom)

Bought this HX 4000v it had good reviews. But is better than the review once you get into its setting and there are a lot of then, in P mode the adjustments are amazing. You can even get hdri images with amazing quality. This is a truly remarkable product and well though out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

upgrade from HX100

With GPS 20 December 2019 by Murray H (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my HX100 and there are many more functions that I have yet to get aquainted with but up to now is performing very well. Having to manually pop up the flash when in autoflash mode is annoying and also no cord on the lenscap, which keeps dropping on the floor, as difficult to hold onto if you have large hands.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great camera to take travelling

With GPS 18 December 2019 by Daniel_Oxford (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera earlier this month (December 2019), to take with me on a vacation to South Africa. I wanted a camera that was not extremely expensive and not too heavy, but that would offer me reasonable capability to take on game drives (mini safaris), and visits to places like Table Mountain National Park and the Cape of Good Hope. This camera did not disappoint! The 50x optical zoom with optical steady shot stabilisation was amazing. I couldn't believe the quality of the photographs I managed to take from the back of the safari truck, without any tripod support. As an example of what could be achieved, I include a wide angle and zoomed shot of two elephants, taken from the back of a stationary safari vehicle but with only hand held stabilisation of the camera. The original images are 5184 x 3888 pixels, but due to file upload size restrictions I had to rescale these examples down to 2000 x 1500 pixels. I was particularly impressed when I managed to take respectable photograph of a bee approaching some flowers in a tree from about 8m distance. Again this image was taken with no mechanical stabilisation of the camera, just hand held from a seated position. As an example of a landscape shot where the camera is panned from left to right, I include a photo of the Cape Point to Cape of Good Hope landscape, again scaled down to fit file size restrictions. For its price, this camera makes an excellent choice for a tourist who wants above average performance, but doesn't care for all the hassle that goes along with carrying and using a fully fledged DSLR with multiple lenses. This bridge camera is great for an amateur wildlife photographer. In particular when travelling as a tourist in areas that are potentially high-crime, the relatively low cost of this device reduces the worry that would accompany carrying a professional camera that would cost three to four times as much money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far so good

DSCHX400B 14 December 2019 by Genepsych (USA)

Getting used to all thecfeatures. Have not tested all. But, was almost impossible.to attach shoulder strap. The metal (hooks?) On side were too far in, could not feed strap through. wedged them up with screw driver, holding breath that they did not break

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it!

With GPS 05 December 2019 by GlenH (United Kingdom)

Downgraded from full frame DSLR, which was a huge leap of faith, but even with the smaller sensor, this camera is producing some amazing shots. The layout is easy and logical, it's light, but sturdy and I can take it everywhere, without having to take a suitcase full of equipment. Excellent lens and zoom. Would have preferred a dedicated macro setting, but other wise couldn't really ask for more. Very capable camera at a sensible price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Zoom But No Raw

With GPS 02 December 2019 by PeregrineDevs (USA)

The zoom is fantastic. For someone who simply wants a good camera to take casual pictures this is an excellent choice. For someone who wants to get into complec photography I would reccomend something else. The camera has no raw options. Only jpegs.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

With GPS 27 November 2019 by Jim59 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a short time ago and find it vey easy to use and produces very good pictures with excellent colour and sharpness. it is a fiddle to download the pictures through Bluetooth being my only criticism.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some great features

With GPS 21 November 2019 by CJ62 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 3 months ago, have already taken some great pictures. The macro facility takes a little getting used to but works really well.. The zoom is really impressive. Only negatives would be the battery life is a little short, and the burst mode takes a long to process the batch of photos and prevents tracking between shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera great but the app lets you down

With GPS 19 November 2019 by Jo999 (United Kingdom)

Bought last month and used a few times since. Camera was as expected but I chose also on the basis of the WiFi connection for ease of downloading while on holiday. The info provided is particularly poor and took me almost a week to finally get it working by researching a myriad of chat rooms. Multiple people saying the same thing re the issues of getting the camera to connect to wifi. I think you need to sort out the instructions you provide plus also the app itself.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great camera

With GPS 08 November 2019 by geoff31 (United Kingdom)

this replaces my 2005 DSC H1 which still works fine !!,this camera is such an improvement i am still working through the features and so far it is amazing, i should not have waited so long to replace the old one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good magnification

DSCHX400B 06 November 2019  (USA)

I got this a month ago. Clear lense, good speed, plenty of memory.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It fits the bill

With GPS 05 November 2019 by bassinbottle (United Kingdom)

My Panasonic Lumix TZ40 needed a repair and I decided to replace it with something more akin to a 35mm, and something with a viewfinder. I haven't used the camera in anger yet but it seems to be just what I wanted. In fairness it won't move off the intelligent auto setting very often, but there are enough options to keep the keen camera buff happy for hours. I particularly like the electronic viewfinder, which automatically comes on when you put your eye to it, very clever. The only criticism I would make to date is the strap, it is too thin and too short.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera I have had so far

With GPS 28 October 2019 by Moriman (United Kingdom)

This camera has given me some really splendid pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy To Use

DSCHX400B 25 October 2019 by HkyPapa22 (USA)

I bought this a month ago based on a recommendation of a friend. Very pleased with the zoom features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera for the price.

With GPS 16 October 2019 by Gaberlunzie (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a back up to my main camera and also as a light weight travel camera. So far I am very pleased with my purchase and have produced some reasonable results. Pros are the 20-1200mm Leica zoom lens and coloured manual focus assist. Cons are the awful noise reduction system which makes your photos look like a cartoon. I set this to low immediately. I have found that images stay pretty sharp at 1200mm and even into the extra zoom mode. Attached are a couple of photos that show the image at 20mm and then zoomed in to 1200mm.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Nice camera

With GPS 09 October 2019 by Rosalind12345 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a Safari trip, it has a very good zoom. Nice 2 auto intelligent options, one for normal daylight and one for darker so I hope this will be perfect for my dawn and dusk shots. Good easy navigation menu for the obviuos options, still learning the others! One thing I can't work out is how to take a picture with a blurred background but a sharp image - any tips welcome ?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

DSCHX400B 07 October 2019 by CUPREZ (USA)

Just received it as a gift but need to take a class on how to use it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for beginners

With GPS 06 October 2019 by Chrome (United Kingdom)

I am a beginner and the settings explain everything on the move....fab camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Lens is good.

With GPS 04 October 2019 by Martinson (United Kingdom)

I am disappointed it does not have RAW. I expected it to as my 8 year old Fuji Bridge camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

really handy for taking quick unexpected photos

With GPS 26 September 2019 by tony348 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 5 weeks ago as a holiday replacement for my Fuji fine pix and i am so glad i did much better photos and easier to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mrs

With GPS 20 September 2019 by Kath166 (United Kingdom)

Fining it a bit tricky because I'm not very 'technical' but I'm getting there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent camara does everything i want

With GPS 12 September 2019 by 22dixie22 (United Kingdom)

i bought this camara 3 weeks ago and i am very pleased

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and get great results. Good zoom.

With GPS 08 September 2019 by Jblogs (United Kingdom)

I got this camera 11 months ago. I am so pleased with it I have sold it to a relative (the only way they could afford one), and purchased another new one for myself. The ONLY disappointment being that, I also have an S6500. When connecting to the PC the play movies home software doesn't like it. Value for money, through the roof!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

VEry good pictures

With GPS 06 September 2019 by choquoli (United Kingdom)

I hesitated a lot before buying a camera like this but I must say I am vry impressed. The quality is excellent, easy to use, zoom is very good etc...only good things to say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than Smart Phone!

With GPS 04 September 2019 by ColinG22 (United Kingdom)

Now I know the difference a good lens makes! The zoom facility has given results I could never achieve before and it’s great to be able to transfer photos using the Wi Fi facility to my apple devices. There are many features included which I have yet to use. It’s been a case of learning as you go along. There is good support from Sony on the internet if you ask a question. I have mainly used the P and movie function with good results. You need to be aware that movies can only be transferred in MP4 file format. It may be my shaky hand but I haven’t had much success using the iSweep Panorama setting. I’m still excited by the potential this camera brings to an amateur enthusiast. One pair of phi ‘tis ships the zoom potential. Wow! Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Happy

With GPS 01 September 2019 by Stevie P (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera a few weeks ago and I am very happy that I did. I found it easy to use and I have been pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

With GPS 31 August 2019 by pgmac (United Kingdom)

Bought this as I searched for features that I wanted and this camera fit the bill. GPS, WiFi good reviews. I have not been disappointed as I am having fun trying out the different modes and to be honest most are very intuitive. There is lots of Internet/Youtube help out there if required.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love the camera

DSCHX400B 12 August 2019 by capt craig (USA)

i love this camera , great zoom and takes beautiful pictures. I am a little confused by all the setting but i am sure i will figure it out. I do not like the photo program , it up loaded my other pictures and and unsure how to put hem in a file format. If i delete a picture from the Sony file it also deleted from my main file. so i deleted the Sony program.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Started off well but .....

With GPS 11 August 2019 by funkyp (United Kingdom)

I was initially happy with my purchase, however on using it while on holiday I have found several issues with it, namely the on/off button has to be pressed several times to switch the camera on, in very good light the camera doesn't perform so well, darkening the subject and the zoom has stopped working on several occasions, freezing completely and showing only a blurred image, the camera then has to be switched off and on again in order to get the zoom to work again. I presume that I have been unlucky and bought a faulty camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A trial

With GPS 07 August 2019 by Lilli60 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera last month and am still trying to work it out. So far so good however, I would really like an instruction book with the camera as I have relied on the website and youtube

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

good all round camera

With GPS 07 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

it`s a good camera i wish it had a higher f stop and raw capabilities but overall a good zoom

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I like it

With GPS 03 August 2019 by pegsy (United Kingdom)

This is the second time I have purchased this camera, i originally bought this model about 5 years ago, after much use it has a problem and for the cost to have it repaired it wasnt worth it. As I was more than happy with the first one and looking at all bridge cameras on the market came back to the Sony cannot fault it. I also have the dsc-hx90v love that too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Comprehensive features - but no instructions

With GPS 02 August 2019 by Scott F (United Kingdom)

As a first timer with such a camera, I would have liked an instruction manual on how to access and use the features. Some of the shots I have taken are of outstanding clarity so hopefully I will find out how to use it to it's full potential

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Great camera

With GPS 31 July 2019 by JoMike25 (United Kingdom)

We previously had an earlier version of this camera but this is much improved clearer pictures and particularly like being able to transfer to iPad u By wi if using the app

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Just what I want from a camera

With GPS 27 July 2019 by Maxxman (United Kingdom)

I wanted to get macro shots( non professional) without the expense of another lense. This fits the bill just right. Zoom is brilliant, it would cost a lot to be able to get the shots on my DSLR,(another big lens). All in all fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Big Bang for the buck!! Unbelievable camera!!

DSC-HX400V 26 July 2019 by LOgalinor (USA)

I bought this camera about a year ago, and couldn’t be happier, for the price I paid and received a nice Sony rebate. The zoom lens is fantastic. I had the DSC-HX80 with 30X zoom, previously. I take a lot of wildlife photography, especially eagles, hawks, and Hummingbirds, who are constantly flying in motion. This camera also serves as my binoculars, when trying to see something from afar. I do sell some wildlife photo notecards and people ask me what camera I use. They are always surprised that my photos were not from a higher end DSLR camera. You absolutely cannot go wrong with this camera, at this price!! I am hoping to upgrade to the Sony Cybershot rx10 iv, when I can afford it. I can’t say enough good things about this camera. For this price, no other brand comes close to the features offered on this Sony. Do not hesitate, highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera and Super 50x Optical Zoom

With GPS 22 July 2019 by GadgetgeekHampshire (United Kingdom)

Wanted an upgrade to my previous camera, had used Sony in the past and had always regretted moving to another manufacturer. The DSC-HX400V is easy to use and I have had some great results so far. Haven’t had the camera long and am still experimenting with the different settings but I have not been disappointed. The 50x optical zoom (up to 100x digital zoom) is fantastic, in fact it is far better than a friends 18-300mm DSLR Which has cost more than £1000, so I am very happy that I have the DSC-HX400V. It handles well, and I feel that I am not going to drop it compared to other cameras. I have a degenerative neck condition so weight was was important for me, and the DSC-HX400V is ideal, and much lighter than a DSLR. Overall I am very happy with my purchase and looking forward to taking lots of pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great pictures

With GPS 20 July 2019 by Allan666 (United Kingdom)

I have had this a few weeks very pleased with the quality and value, zoom is good. Only problem is if you take action photos processing image is slow. I come from SLR and this is a replacement for it like that you don’t have to change lenses a much more zoom than any SLR i have had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent everyday camera.

With GPS 17 July 2019 by Rob165 (United Kingdom)

I already have a DLSR but needed something for everyday use without lenses etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great feature and picture quality

DSCHX400B 15 July 2019 by dave100a (USA)

This camera has everything I need for my level of experience with photography and video. I use it for my travel log while traveling in my RV though out Canada and the USA. It has many features that require a steep learning curve that I really can use for various photo and video shots. Also I don't need photo shop or video software to clean up the results like I did with my previous camera. Great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

With GPS 15 July 2019 by Juliea (United Kingdom)

I was given this camera as a gift, its got many great features love the camera but at present I am unable to connect the camera to my phone which is annoying. Not sure if phone's compatible or its something else.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

absolutely fabulous

With GPS 13 July 2019 by woody52 (United Kingdom)

I am no way a professional, so wanted an easy to use camera without all the tech, which this camera has by the way, but it is also a click and shoot, and after playing around with it for a few weeks now I think it is great! My friend who is a photographer says its a cracking camera with all the tech if you want it, so pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

SLR results from something half the size

With GPS 01 July 2019 by Halfpenny (United Kingdom)

Having used a Nikon 3300 DSLR with twin lens for the last 3 years, and tired of carrying everything around, I needed something half the size and weight. The Zoom and quality of photos that the Sony HX400V produce is a perfect replacement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Impressed with zoom

With GPS 30 June 2019 by Jazzie (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for my existing bridge camera as I needed a better zoom facility. This camera fits the bill. Have only used it a couple of times as I bought for a special upcoming holiday but appears easy to use, just slightly heavier than my previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A light camera with an excellent zoom range

With GPS 25 June 2019 by 0000001 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a Sony Alpha 350 that due to me getting older was proving to be on the heavy side when fitted with a larger zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1