214

4.3 based on 214 customer reviews

128
56
12
7
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Touchscreen stopped working

FDR-AX53 08 January 2021 by wesg (USA)

The camera takes great video and had good image stabilization, but once the touch screen stops working, (which appears to be a common problem) you can no longer use the camera. There are no manual buttons to get into the menus etc without the touchscreen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

214 Customer Reviews

0

Half great, half not so great

FDRAX53B 29 August 2021 by Benny526 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The AX53 is a mixed bag. I'm upgrading from an XR-500. The good... Image stabilization and 4K quality is superb. That's pretty much what you're buying the camera for. Quick auto focus, and great zooming abilities. Negatives...Exposure in auto mode is terrible. The old camera did so much better. Anything faster than the slowest pans are not clear. The design is clunky and bigger than the XR-500 to handle the huge lens. If not using a tripod, hand fatigue sets in quickly, as it never did on the XR-500. Major disappointment.... most of the "cool" features including 5.1 surround, slow motion, etc. are not possible in 4K.Come on Sony, help us pro-sumers out. If were shelling out the $ for 4K we want those features usable in 4K. Had I know this, I probably would have not purchased this camera. In a nutshell, quality is great, features are severely limited in 4K.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A+ Several annoyances, outweighed by the low price

FDR-AX53 24 August 2021 by sroot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Great picture quality on default settings Excellent battery life Built in image stabilisation gimbal (worked well for walking selfie vlog) Great zoom (stable when hand held due to the gimbal too) Cons: very little control over settings (limited to one setting at a time and everything else must be auto. EG: you can change aperture but not at same time as ISO Maybes: other reviews said no ND filter is a problem. I bought an attachable one but haven't tested for the difference yet. I watched dozens of review of this camera (and the AX43 I wanted, but was never in stock - the difference being the viewfinder this has which i didn't need) before choosing a camcorder over a camera for vlogging like the ZV1. It is slightly heavier than equivalent cameras but it has longer battery life and built in image stabilising gimbal. I saw lots of reviews having issues with maximum recording duration on the camera-as-video devices (overheating + film time limits) but this has had no limitations in my first few weeks of use and testing. The photos are OK but not amazing. It doesn't do a great Bokeh effect as everything is pin sharp. If I knew more about cameras and taking nice photos and setting things like ISO then maybe camera options would be better, but for a video first, turn on and film, don't worry about settings, have both audio in and audio out to monitor and check sound whilst recording, this has been a good choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb quality

FDR-AX53 20 August 2021 by Nickcred (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Both the lens and picture quality are first class with stunning close up images. Menus are easy to navigate and it feels like a quality piece of kit. Purchased this is July and the first one would not record in 4K and closed the camera down every time you tried. A search of the web shows this to be a rare fault and the replacement has had no issues at all. Value for money it’s not cheap but supplies of all 4K cameras seem constrained due to chip shortage worldwide and it is in my view worth the premium paid

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfection-except for the User's Manual

FDRAX53B 05 August 2021 by Tarnished Knight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 1 1/2 months ago...easy to use...outstanding product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed 4k features

FDR-AX53 15 July 2021 by 4k victim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

4k plus 5.1 surround not supported. 4k recording transfer to BluRay disc not supported. H.265 coding not built-in. Very disappointed with unsatisfactory futures and limited 4k use. Without obtaining the above no product should have been sold in the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Mixed feelings

FDRAX53/B 27 June 2021 by Darrin2402 (USA)

I've had this camera for about two weeks. The picture quality is very good, especially when coupled with the superb built-in stabilization, both mechanical and software (in HD mode, camera can use the unused sensor pixels to further steady the shot). I wanted a small form factor to shoot candidly, but Sony did cripple this camera, I assume so it would not compete with it's more robust cousins that can shoot "full manual". You can set aperture, shutter speed or gain (iso) manually, but only one at a time - the other two will always stay on automatic, and you have no idea what they are set at when shooting. A couple of ways to get around it would be to use the exposure adjustment, and to keep the shutter speed low on bright days, use a neutral density (ND) filter. The zoom is quiet - I haven't noticed any noise being picked up by the mic. There are two speeds, depending on how far you push the rocker switch - I wish there was a menu option to choose variable or fixed, as my $200 Canon Vixia R800 has. It's nice having a viewfinder, but it is small and they blew it by not including an eye cup so you could actually use it. And no lens hood? You will get lens flare shooting outside on sunny days if the sun is anywhere in front of the camera - these small things matter and I would gladly pay a few bucks more for an included hood.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great in low light conditions

FDRAX53/B 20 June 2021 by Todd27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last night. Seems easy to use, and is very good in low light. Happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat

FDR-AX53 25 May 2021 by telepath (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camcorder, just be cautious of the price you buy it at. The quality is nice, the built-in microphone knocked off a star for me, but easy fix with external options and post-processing. The manual says to use PlayMemories app, but I had a little more luck with Imaging Edge Mobile. Nice battery life, easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great produck

FDRAX53B 10 April 2021 by Ron Ron Ron Ron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd Camcorder and I love the product takes great Movies

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Outstanding video quality

FDR-AX53 23 March 2021  (USA)

I have been using the FDR-AX53 for about a month to record my YouTube videos and the video quality is superb. Ultra fast focus and crisp details. Easy to use menu make it very user friendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super

FDR-AX53 17 March 2021 by Konov (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago. It is very good for video and photo

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Camera easy - everything else not so

FDR-AX53 13 March 2021 by TomWDW (United Kingdom)

Basic shooting with the camera is simple enough, the viewfinder is excellent and the controls fall easily to hand. Where it goes to pot is in the interface to the computer. I use a Macbook Pro and to transfer video files you first need to install Sony proprietary software (Playmemories Home). This is where Sony have failed miserably. The software cannot be installed on a modern operating system computer (ie Sierra) and the Sony support pages are an unmitigated nightmare. I bought a high end SD card in the hope the movie would record onto that but there seems to be no way of actually recording onto the SD card (The camera defaults to its internal memory. This camera is therefore ultimately only any good for people shooting traditional family baby film and playing them back direct from the camera onto a television. This is not a camera for professional or semi professional use. I wish I had bought one of the other cameras on my short list. I will be seeking to return it to Amazon tomorrow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

An excellent product

FDR-AX53 03 March 2021 by Tommyp1990 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera 3 weeks ago. I have now used this camera a few times now and never fails to disappoint me with its crystal clear videos, sound and photos it creates

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Near professional quality

FDR-AX53 27 February 2021 by Happy with Sony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third hand held Sony camera and they’ve only get better. The picture quality in 4k is awesome - just like looking through a window The stabiliser is excellent even in telephoto mode It has a limited range of manual settings at the same time but can manage volume, exposure and spot focus together which is all you need generally My previous camera the AX 33 was used aa a B camera in professional productions and cuts in with my FS5 beautifully Well done Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Top notch features

FDR-AX53 27 February 2021 by WS06 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a month ago on line without seeing it first, it’s been a great buy. A lot of online reviews helped with my decision. It’s only been used in practice so far to prepare for the summer months. I’m more than happy to recommend this easy to use Handycam from Sony to anyone considering this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

amazing camera

FDR-AX53 05 February 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera to use on our paranormal investigations so mainly used to shoot in night vision. amazing quality ! (we have added and additional ir light to the camera and also an external mic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product. Better than expected.

FDR-AX53 31 January 2021 by Bustersmum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s easy to use. The zoom is better than expected and the picture quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Awesome Quality and Practicality

FDRAX53/B 19 January 2021 by DFW Pro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I purchased this product two years ago to film sporting play-by-play, I have not be disappointed! I have definitely used it for more than my initially intended use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Touchscreen stopped working

FDR-AX53 08 January 2021 by wesg (USA)

The camera takes great video and had good image stabilization, but once the touch screen stops working, (which appears to be a common problem) you can no longer use the camera. There are no manual buttons to get into the menus etc without the touchscreen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

0

Stabilisation and Quality is great

FDR-AX53 26 December 2020 by Small D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using a camera phone (S20) for a few months and have been fairly happy until you have to zoom. So started using a DSLR for more distant videos but keeping the hand shake to a minimum is difficult. Bought the AX53 as I was fed up with both of the above and the fact there is a £100 cashback offer. The quality and stabilisation is phenomenal, very happy with results even in low light. Would definitely recommend buying one even if its for a novice like me, just point and record.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Camcorder update.

FDR-AX53 19 December 2020 by IAN1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this to replace/use along side my Panasonic for my youtube channel after researching, not had chance to use it yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of gear!

FDRAX53B 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for ease of use and got more than I bargained for. Fantastic image stablilization. I shoot a lot of extreme sports and it works great, never out of focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to use

FDR-AX53 26 October 2020 by BRC0801 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my 6 years old Sony PJ530e to enable shooting in 4K. The AX53 feels comfortable in the hand and very easy to use. Compare to the previous camcorder this is a little big bigger and heavier, though comfortably so, giving a feeling of good balance and accessibility for shooting video. I have only had this model for less than 2 weeks, so haven't had the opportunity to do much other than test its capabilities. Sometime in the next couple of weeks I hope to get out and about to more fully explore the potential - mainly for own personal video work, though does have capability to be used for semi-pro work. So far I am very pleased pleased with picture quality, both video and still, though for the latter I would still use my Nikon digital SLR. Overall an excellent point and shoot camcorder, with much more ability to step up with manual controls available through the menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Like the camera

FDR-AX53 16 October 2020 by 1234tg (USA)

I think it's time to add a 4 stacked super 35 full frame film sensors and with recording in raw h.264 avc mpeg 4 And raw hevc h.265 and raw fvc h.266 all with a 1:1 lossless avi with with a maximum of 90,000GB file for a full maximum quality and a battery life of 5 weeks of straight recording non stop with a built in unlimited storage non removable and reinforced microphones for a top premium quality crisp and clear and loud sound with a raw audio format with aiff encoding with a resolution of 192khz 24bit Stereo + full range sound quality and a 8000 crisp image zoom with 8k 60fps.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

perfect camera great features

FDR-AX53 10 October 2020 by dz tlr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

hi all just to say as a real-world user of this camera must say it beat my expectations I bought mine from castle camera Bournemouth as at the present time there the only one I could find with stock if you wish to fit a lens hood then your have to get a 55mm to 72mm step up ring and a 72mm petal lens hood which works perfectly with the BOSS stabilization system of the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great picture quality

FDR-AX53 30 September 2020 by Simon57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Steady shot system is really great, keeps the image steady even when zoomed in. Not quite so good if trying to walk and film in 4K, slight side to side jitter in playback. Picks up wind noise outside. Side screen not very easy to use in bright sun light, viewfinder is fine, but need to remove glasses to use properly. Use it on fully automatic and it produces great quality film.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing Picture Quality

FDRAX53B 24 September 2020 by Mitchell Rider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been shooting Sony Video 8 for years and wanted to go HD. This seemed to be the best choice. My only criticisms are the eyepiece lets in too much light. For such a sophisticated camera, a nice eye shield could have been included. Also, it is slow in auto focus change. Prefer buttons or wheels to a touch screen for settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Excellent battery life

FDR-AX53 13 September 2020 by Shurst (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this camcorder to film our wedding with reduced numbers to play back to family that could not attend it was really easy to set up and the battery life is really good will be using this a lot it even has an external microphone socket the only down side it will only record stereo in 4K not the 5.1 but so far is a really good video camera for the price.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Outdated information on abilities

FDRAX53/B 03 September 2020 by KTD123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for mobile streaming and all this info says its possible but all the apps and services it says to use have been discontinued.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

0

I love it, but it has one flaw

FDR-AX53 28 July 2020 by Anji18 (USA)

I've had the handycam ax53 for about 3 weeks now and i love it, the images are clear, the videos are clear. My only quarrel is that i have to pay $99 in order to be able to stream live, which i feel is a bit much esp being that the handycam advertises that it has wifi capabilities. Other than that I love the camera, but one of the main reasons i bought it over others was bc of the decent price as well as the night mode feature. I hope that any newer models allow for free live streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Overall terrific with some suggestions for Sony...

FDR-AX53 15 July 2020 by MartinS45 (USA)

This camera upgrades (not replaces) my CX760 which continues as a terrific performer after 10 years or so in the field. I'll keep it to use occasionally as a second as well as a backup. I understand the AX53 is current production replacement for the CX760 and EVERYTHING is better but for two things... The feel of the CX760 is considerably more solid than the AX53; more like a 'professional grade' vs. a 'consumer grade' kind of thing. Many have complained about the flimsy hot boot cover on the 53, of which I agree. The other thing disappointing to see is that while the CX760 was built in Japan, the AX53 is made in.......China. The price point reflects these things as the CX760 10 years ago was nearly double the cost of the AX53 today. So I applaud Sony on the unit and encourage consideration for the future...build a pro-grade unit in this size & weight configuration, bring manufacturing back to Japan and charge what you need for that package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony FDR AX53

FDR-AX53 07 July 2020 by Mick 19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera a week. I purchased it from Park Cameras with a very good discount and £80 cash back from Sony. After considerable research I came to the conclusion that it’s features it’s price and the excellent reviews were a good reason to buy. The camera does not disappoint, light, and easy to use in both manual and auto mode. Over the past 20 years I have owned Canon and Panasonic top end cameras, and this is the first Sony . Colour accuracy is excellent as is audio quality. For those people who are looking for a small top end 4K camera packed with features, I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent handycam.

FDR-AX53 03 July 2020 by Socky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very recent purchase, so I am still learning its pluses and minuses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 16 June 2020 by DaveHD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this camera. I've spent my life as a TV cameraman so I wanted a camera with some manual features available and a decent zoom range. I also needed it to be small and easy to carry around. The 4K quality is excellent and gives a great finished video after editing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Quality!

FDRAX53B 13 May 2020 by Zinbad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a camcorder for streaming and the AX53 fits the need!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Professional

FDRAX53B 03 May 2020 by Fairway (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality and fantastic stabilization. Excellent lens, the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy to use and awesome videos

FDRAX53B 26 April 2020 by MikeK895 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to record church services during the COVID crisis. It is very easy to use and has awesome quality video and stills. I would recommend this for excellent quality videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awsome long distance focuse

FDRAX53/B 07 April 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. You can pick it up and go and film all day. Or take some time lapse photography. Or even still shot it's all around great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great choice for 4K video

FDR-AX53 15 March 2020 by Dick1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought long and hard about which video recorder to buy and I am pleased with this one. Easy to use, good quality 4K and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good video

FDRAX53/B 28 February 2020 by drodly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like everything about it but moving files to computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 22 January 2020 by TB2359 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product just under a month ago and so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

AX53

FDRAX53B 20 January 2020 by Spyguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had some technical issues with the camera not shutting off and having play back issues. Sony did take care of repairing it under warranty. It’s overall all a really good camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I wanted the best and I got it in the Sony AX53 Ha

FDR-AX53 10 January 2020 by Dancing Dennis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In the past I have used 35mm and 16mm & 8mm film, both professionally and as a general member of the public, as well as an assortment of Video cameras but it was time to update. I was using a fantastic Canon but this used mini tapes and so I wanted to move up to the next step without hitting the bank account too much. I searched the internet as well as speking to other people who use video and the Sony was always the highest up the list of recomendations. I have only had the Sony AX53 since christmas but have already made two videos which have been up-loaded to YouTube sand Facebook. I am very pleased with the results. We have a trip to India coming up and am really expecting the very best of video recording for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camcorder !

FDR-AX53 19 December 2019 by E456 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this very recently. So far I’m very happy with it. Helpful to have stereo mic input jack to connect with mobile receiver and 2 radio mics. picture quality and usability are great. One wish.... more detailed instruction manual. At the moment you have to work through menus and some of the things I just don’t know really what they do or show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent value

FDR-AX53 21 November 2019 by Hymer1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still early days, but the features used to date, i.e automatic focus, zoom, wide angle lens and the brilliant stability system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handheld masterpiece

FDR-AX53 06 November 2019 by Dommyp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to replace a DSLR for filming, and I could not be happier. It’s super fast auto focus, lowlight quality and just general ease-of-use, not to mention how long the battery lasts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super 4k handycam

FDR-AX53 02 November 2019 by Videoman of Leeds (United Kingdom)

Owned this fabulous AX53 over two years now, so happy to confirm it has lived up to, and beyond my expectations. It has never missed a beat. Perhaps the best thing is the ability to record 4k images, say a stage widescreen, and then to zoom and crop in post production to feature specific areas of the stage. Doing so still allows a full HD image to be created for burning to blu-ray disc, for example. While manual control is somewhat limited, the auto functions, such as focus and colour balance work seamlessly in the background, allowing glorious 4k images to be captured. I am delighted to see that this model is still available to purchase. Usually such products have a shelf life (before the launch of 'the latest' model) of around 9 months. Well done Sony for keeping what is a superb compact Handycam available for the long run. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic features, not confident about body.

FDR-AX53 25 October 2019 by Lenseman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the FDR- AX53 about two weeks ago. It's got superb feature's and the results are amazing. I love the time-lapse facility and the steady shot is truly amazing. I am sure that there are many more things I will love about this camera and hope I get many years service from it. My only concern is the actual build quality. The door covering the hot shoe seem very fragile and if an external microphone is used the door just flaps in the breeze just waiting to be ripped off, also the tripod mount appears to be very flimsy and not really fit for purpose. there is one shown on you-tube that is being repaired with plastic metal. whether the damage was caused by an heavy handed user or average use I don't know but it does pose a question. The night shot facility failed to impress me compared to the night shot on my ancient but still functional Sony DCR-TRV320E. I hope the AX53 proves my initial concerns are totally wrong, only time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could be great, But!

FDR-AX53 04 October 2019 by Pack4now (USA)

This camcorder has so much potential, but with the focusing issues after the firmware update, this thing becomes a bear to use. I try to use manual focusing but because of the firmware update, now it will loose focus and it won't come back. The focus ring is almost none usable in a video type situation as you have to turn it so many times to get it back in focus. I would not recommend this product to anyone until they fix it, which it doesn't seem like they are at all. Last firmware update a long time ago. you should take these off the shelves or fix the problems. Last Sony product I plan on buying until quality become better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great pictures at a value for money price.

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by ColCGE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the FDR-AX53 HandyCam primarily because my previous tape-cassette camcorder had become problematic due the tapes attracting moisture and dieting the Rec/Playback heads. This being a record to disk model it is really up to the task I wish it to be used for. Its steady shot design is a great boon and the Zoom is - for the price paid - impressive. Two niggles I have, are a microphone jack-input that is placed too near the space required for 'Zooming' and other recording tools needed whilst videoing events. The free software (for MAC's) seems pretty good, but would seem in need of an update - particularly in its 'How to/Help' department. Summary, a value for money product which just misses being really GREAT c/o finishing touches from Sony's design and aftermarket departments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleasantly surprised

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by RetinaGuyInLubbock (USA)

I was a little leery about purchasing a camera released some 3+ years ago, but this thing is a true “prosumer” beast. I have long shot family/recreational videos on various micro 4/3 cameras, but found the zoom capabilities insufficient for capturing my middle child’s Little League baseball exploits. What a pleasant surprise to stumble upon such a well-constructed product absolutely fit for purpose. Pluses: 1/ image stabilization— BOSS is exactly that... boss! 2/ 4K picture quality- looks great on my 75” Samsung TV. Minuses (small gripes); 1/ Monitor is VERY hard to see in bright sun, almost mandating use of the eyepiece; 2/ Sony PlayMemories is an absolute shambles. It took a bit of internet sleuthing to figure out how to upload video files to my iPad/iPhone. Sony and its codecs have never played nice in the Mac universe that I inhabit. Having said that, I LOVE this camera and am altogether delighted that I trusted the reviews of other happy fanboys and girls to take the four-figure plunge. (So delighted, in fact, that I am writing this review... almost never do that.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 20 September 2019 by Xxxxlllll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent video quality, and surround sound recording, but surround recording doesn't work when you are using 4K.. Plus no internal hard drive..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 September 2019 by Sensualize (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a quality camcorder for some time and my loyalty to SONY contued to bring me back to not only the brand but the AX53 which I can't fault! Amazing piece of kit! I love it and it's ease of use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 30 August 2019 by JLT55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 24 August 2019 by RanaImage (United Kingdom)

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

website

FDRAX53/B 18 August 2019 by Ron Ron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

your website is terrible. i can't access my account after password resets.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 26 July 2019 by whatatodoo (United Kingdom)

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 24 July 2019 by Jarapah (United Kingdom)

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 July 2019 by Vds1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

FDRAX53/B 05 July 2019 by JORTHAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

AWSOME OPTICAL ZOOM AND NIGHT VISION. ALSO, THE STILL PICTURES ARE VERY HIGH QUALITY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

decent camcorder

FDRAX53B 03 July 2019 by Yama1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for personal use. The HD video is shot in AVCHD is amazing. However there is not much support 4K XAVC-S. Even my Sony PS4 does not play the files???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, quality Sony product

FDR-AX53 01 July 2019 by lenzo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this product after buying other Sony equipment and have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well appointed easy to use

FDR-AX53 13 June 2019 by Stompanato (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for general use but it has many features that would allow me to use it to make a real movie. It is not a Pro camera but it is close, considering it is a hand held "Point & Shoot" it is quite amazing & with the best Steady-cam type suspension I've come across. the only difference between this & a real pro camera is that on the pro model you can operate it manually, with this camera you can choose one manual setting for the video & put the audio into manual mode that's it everything else is automatic. that is the type of camera it is & it truly is excellent, playback the content on your 4K TV & it is as good as a broadcast picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plane filming

FDR-AX53 10 June 2019 by nobbyt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camcorder for Aeoplane filming as the stabilizer is the best for the price out there.Would prefer the zoom rocker to be two finger rocked from front to back not side to side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Gret upgrade from my TRV-900

FDRAX53B 05 June 2019 by spt87 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this about a month now. Picture quality is amazing. I stuck with my Sony TRV-900 for a long time due to its great low light and 480i quality. I've seen video from newer cameras the the TRV-900 beat them The FDR-AX53B camera definitely blows the TRV-900 away though. Mostly I've used an external mic with it but the internal mic seems capable. Great to have modern features and 12 hours of video on 128G micro SD card

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

FDR-AX53 04 June 2019 by Arty 67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't had it long but already I can see that it fixes a lot of my issues such as manual control of exposure and focus at the touch of a button along with the great stabilisation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 23 May 2019 by Cornish Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0