27

4.6 based on 27 customer reviews

18
8
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

27 Customer Reviews

0

Great Little Speaker

SRS-XB13 01 December 2021 by Jaygeebee (United Kingdom)

I first bought a cheaper, known make, well-rated speaker which was OK but crackled every now and then so sent it back and exchanged it for the coral pink Sony one, about a month ago. For such a small, neat and portable speaker, I am very impressed with the sound quality. It was very simple to set up on Bluetooth and connects every time. Good to know that Sony haven’t lost their touch!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

SRS-XB13 19 November 2021 by LJG53 (United Kingdom)

Only tried it out tonight, bought to take on holiday and I think it will be perfect!

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Waterproof, excellent bass

SRS-XB13 18 November 2021 by Halse (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and it's absolutely amazing. Although it's too quiet if more than 3 metres away. When you decrease the volume it doesn't sound clear enough. But overall it's fun for listening to music

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound

SRS-XB13 12 November 2021 by Mital (United Kingdom)

I buy for someone present amazing speaker. V nice .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bass output, great party centre piece.

SRS-XB13/LC E 10 November 2021 by AGKS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about a month and many friends were asking where to buy. They commented on the quality of the bass and clarity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sounds

SRS-XB13 08 November 2021 by Dicky1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this as was going away, easy to use great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound is not great

SRS-XB13/CC E 06 November 2021 by PS4PS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker a month back, sound is not that great, not worth the price. Could try something better

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

XB13 Extra Bass Portable Wireless Speaker

SRS-XB13/LC E 07 October 2021 by Lawrence77 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is clear and good. The bass is solid and power. Myself and my wife love it a lot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very good product

SRS-XB13/LC E 30 September 2021 by LVBSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product was brought to be used for calls during the WFH use. It does a good job of a speakerphone by picking-up the voice and helps me to be hands free during long calls. Long battery life, good bluetooth connectivity, USB type C port for charging all add to the ease of product use. Few improvements to consider. 1. The strap can come out of the plastic loop very easily. Needs a fix here. 2. I would prefer a front facing speaker instead of ceiling facing speaker (something like JBL GO 2 / 3). 3. The Sony name has been printed on the other side while all the, microphone, the LED lights, the USB connector are placed on the opposite side. If you are regularly increasing or decreasing the volume, then it feels like you have fiddling on the back side of the unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Just what I wanted.

SRS-XB13 10 September 2021 by Kathy17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have severe tinnitus and had been using mobile phone during the night to generate peaceful relaxing sounds. Having been told this was not a good idea to do this for 8hrs a night with my phone I purchased this and it was easy to set up. I open app on phone and sound comes out of this speaker The sound is great. It's very easy to use by

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Sony SRS_XB13 Excellent quality.

SRSXB13/B 07 September 2021 by JG1986 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is actually my 2nd Sony SRS_XB13 Extra Bass speaker in the past 2yrs. I used my first one almost 2yrs ago. A lot on construction job sites, canoeing, swimming, socializing and having beverages this little speaker has lived up to its name. I think it's great actually when one of my friends has a "Full size pill speaker and thinks it's top notch" and I'm not one to boast but I'm like "... hey man, check out my little speaker for real. And if you place it evenly especially on a thin wood table surface it will even amplify the bass through the surface it is sitting on. And I'm always wanting to be the ""d.j."... I do not like that term I just love music and this speaker is worth every penny. I wouldn't hesitate purchasing another Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound!

SRS-XB13 06 September 2021 by RosiesSony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is much louder than my phone's volume & good bass..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great features

SRS-XB13 27 August 2021 by Dekker52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic product all round . Just wish it lasted all day.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Looks, Good Sound & Good Price (updated)

SRS-XB13 17 August 2021 by Mstansmith (United Kingdom)

My original review is below this updated comment, I just wanted to add that the bluetooth range of this thing is brilliant, I seem to disconnect wherever I am in the house! Again you won't be disappointed with this little beauty. Looks - Out of the box it feels well made, sturdy and looks like a premium product better than its £50 ish price tag. It's not heavy and along with the IP rating this makes it a great travelling companion. Battery - Coming with a good charge you can get going straight away. The unit boasts up to 16hr battery life and having had it a week or so I have yet to run out so this can't be far off the mark (although my listening hasn't been at full volume). Sound - You might forget this thing only cost you £50 at times as in the right conditions it sounds great. You need to have the right cavity to make use of the sound path but no matter where you put it (including hanging in free space) you will probably be pleasantly surprised. Don't get me wrong it won't blow you away but, at this price you wouldn't expect it to. I found that the sound was better from a standard good quality FLAC music file than any 360 music files and can only assume there is something with the structure that doesn't translate without LDAC or APTx HD. I own a few bluetooth speakers both high quality and small travel size and this thing occupies the space inbetween quite nicely. I only have one other speaker in this bracket and it was more expensive (albeit a couple of years ago) but can honestly say this performs better. Overall - I don't think anyone would be disappointed with the value for money and sound quality this offers and because it is a Sony you get build quality and reliability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive bass

SRS-XB13 25 July 2021 by Davesee62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compact speaker packs a punch! Looks solid, bass from such a small unit is impressive, easy to set up and easy to keep close by.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent outdoor speaker

SRSXB13/B 20 July 2021 by Garye301261 (United Kingdom)

I bought this in June 2021 and it has proven an excellent quality speaker for playing music via Bluetooth in the garden. For such a small speaker, this packs quite a punch. It is obviously not going to have the bass power of a larger product, but it does deliver clear, quality sound that does not sound tinny/underpowered. It is not designed for a high energy party sound, but it certainly does the job for a smaller gathering/dinner party or if camping, where you want good quality background music that can be turned up but will not upset the neighbours. It is easy to set-up by pressing a button and then pairing with your phone. Re-charging is via USB-c which allegedly provides 16 hours of battery life - although I have not timed it yet. It's also apparently waterproof in case of any accidents - e.g. by river/garden pond/swimming pool. The speaker has a carry strap that can be used to hang it from a hook/other garden feature such as a pergola. It is small and solid, with a carry bag, making it ideal for packing for trips. Apparently, if you buy 2, you can pair them for stereo sound as well! All in all, I am very happy with this product and would recommend it as excellent value for money if you are looking for a good quality, portable, Bluetooth speaker for personal use. It's not for you if you are planning a mobile disco!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

A very nice speaker

SRSXB13/B 19 July 2021 by ChrissyLM (United Kingdom)

I have been using this speaker for a few weeks and I am very impressed. The build quality is excellent from the soft touch rubberised texture, a waight that comfortable and satisfying, the large buttons and a nice strap. This is great upgrade to my XB-01 which I have been using previously it isn't much louder but the bass is more defined. The handsfree calling is fantastic with the XB-01 you would need to be aligned with the mic and quite close but with this XB-13 it can be placed in the centre of a table and easily have multiple people speaking through it from all angles picking up everything. The soud is clear and for its size it handles eveything I played on it from hip hop, house and drum 'n' bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Good sound, small speaker.

SRSXB13/B 18 July 2021 by Delboy (United Kingdom)

When I seen this speaker I wasn’t really expecting much due to my experience with small speakers in the past. Now let me clarify this isn’t going to make you feel the bass in your chest but I was surprised how good it sounded for it’s size. It connected easily to my iPhone and sounded reasonable in a living room. The one thing I was very impressed by was the lack of distortion at full volume and the bass sounded better at this level. I took it to my sons wedding recently as he wanted to play his music before and after the ceremony. This was a large roomin a country house, 70feet long, 25 feet wide and very high ceiling at easily 20 feet high. While it didn’t fill the room with sound it was good enough to play music at a decent volume to be heard over conversation. I had a few enquiries as to what it was and a friend is going to buy one for his young daughter to use in her room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Portable and still powerful!

SRSXB13/B 15 July 2021 by crump5911 (United Kingdom)

Portable, compact, sleek yet powerful …. An accurate description of the SRS-XB13 Wireless speaker. Firstly, the box is well packaged, sturdy, offering ample protection with minimal packaging and I especially loved how there was no unnecessary plastic inside the box! Great move by Sony as all packaging is recyclable. The speaker is smooth to the touch, with a sturdy strap securely connected to the device to support either holding the speaker in hand which is especially useful when travelling or safely attaching to a secure object (think hanging from a shelf, or the inside of a tent). I found the strap very beneficial as this is a portable device, it allows for confidence in its use knowing that it will not be damaged by accidentally falling or being knocked over. The bottom of the speaker is rubberised, making it sturdy to freely stand. There are easy to read control buttons on the speaker which include power, Bluetooth and volume with the power & Bluetooth having their own lights to confirm they are active / in use – great simple visual aid. The Bluetooth connects easily to your phone, I had no issues with the ease of this and the device was very responsive. When I changed soundtracks there was no delay from the speaker, it was prompt, clear and free from interruption. The sound quality is clear, the bass is not the deepest and it is not the loudest speaker either however I fully appreciate that for the size and portability of this speaker both the volume and the bass are more than impressive and necessary. Realistically, I see the purpose of the speaker being for personal use or for intimate gatherings where the sound quality would be more than adequate, if you required more power, I believe you naturally would be looking at an entirely different style of speaker. The speaker is waterproof, I found this handy when trialling the device. I had used whilst it is having a couple of drinks outside in the garden while the kids splashed in their pool, obviously a few splashes headed my way and I completely forgot all about the speaker. When clearing away at the end of the evening, the speaking had been splashed, it had water around it too, yet it was playing away as it had done all evening – the fun had continued without panic or concern! So, to me, it’s a family friendly device as well. You can take calls through this speaker; they were crystal clear and again responsive with a great call quality. Your phone shows you the battery level of the speaker, so you do not need to guess the power left. The battery level for me was great, I had it playing away from afternoon to evening and had no issues at all. To recharge it is a simple case of USB charging, so again simple and straightforward. To summarise and conclude, the device is portable, sturdy and produces impressive sound quality for its size. It is user friendly with its power indicator and waterproof feature. Would I recommend? Yes, if you want ease of use, if you want to pick up your speaker and take the great quality sound with you. If you want a powerful bass to blast out at a party then look for a different product, but this will be great at a beach, in your garden or off camping etc, just think of this as your own private intimate speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Good Sound, Good Looks, Good Price.

SRSXB13/B 12 July 2021 by occasionalstan (United Kingdom)

Looks - Out of the box it feels well made, sturdy and looks like a premium product better than its £50 ish price tag. It's not heavy and along with the IP rating this makes it a great travelling companion. Battery - Coming with a good charge you can get going straight away. The unit boasts up to 16hr battery life and having had it a week or so I have yet to run out so this can't be far off the mark (although my listening hasn't been at full volume). Sound - You might forget this thing only cost you £50 at times as in the right conditions it sounds great. You need to have the right cavity to make use of the sound path but no matter where you put it (including hanging in free space) you will probably be pleasantly surprised. Don't get me wrong it won't blow you away but, at this price you wouldn't expect it to. I found that the sound was better from a standard good quality FLAC music file than any 360 music files and can only assume there is something with the structure that doesn't translate without LDAC or APTx HD. I own a few bluetooth speakers both high quality and small travel size and this thing occupies the space inbetween quite nicely. I only have one other speaker in this bracket and it was more expensive (albeit a couple of years ago) but can honestly say this performs better. Overall - I don't think anyone would be disappointed with the value for money and sound quality this offers and because it is a Sony you get build quality and reliability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Tiny Compact Speaker with Large Sound

SRSXB13/B 12 July 2021 by MarkyMark (United Kingdom)

This speaker is a very small and relatively light but solid feeling, finished in black. Not with the usual Sony design flair. It weighs just 270g and measures 9.5cm high and 7.5cm in diameter. It came attached to a nice strap emphasising it’s go anywhere portability. It is IP67 waterproof and also dust proof. The initial charge up time took just 2 hours with the supplied but short 30cm USB-C cable. It took just 2-3 seconds to link up by Bluetooth to my iPhone. (Blue light stays on). In fact connection and disconnection to my phone was very quick and seamless. This small speaker gives a typical warm Sony sound with excellent mids for vocals. I found I had to turn the volume up to maximum to give a fairly room filling sound. This will affect battery life which Sony quote as up to 16 hours. I found the treble quite harsh and thin which may make it tiring to listen to for long periods. The base was not that impressive but as expected for such a small speaker. The bass effect can be altered by careful placement of the speaker. You get more base by placing it in the corner of a shelf or a windows sill for example. The sound would definitely be more impressive if it was paired with another XB13 and Sony makes this easy to do. Not sure if it can be purchased as a 2 speaker kit. As they are wireless you can then place the speakers where you want in the room to improve the sound. The Bluetooth range is excellent. I could even walk out the front door of my house with my phone and my wife said that it was still playing the music upstairs without dropping out. Telephone call quality is ok. Perfectly audible but had a typical nasal quality with a bit of crackle. Nice to have but the XB13 is far better suited as a speaker for music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Absolutely surprised how good AND useful this is…

SRSXB13/B 12 July 2021 by ChrisH (United Kingdom)

When I opened the box, first thought was that something that small couldn’t be great sound quality-wise. I also wondered - given we have radios and smart speakers in the house - whether it would have much use other than for the odd picnic. It IS small - smaller than a soup can, but sound could not be faulted - really good bass, but equally good for listening to news etc on the radio. Very easy to set up….much quicker than many other bluetooth items I have had. Handle is really useful and a neat design - and the rubber base means the speaker stays firmly on a table or desk and doesn’t slide at all. Found myself using the speaker paired to my phone in all sorts of applications…great in the bathroom, very good when gardening…may even get to use it on the beach when the weather improves! All in all excellent performance, easy to use, great value and something we would not want to be without.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Excellent outdoor speaker

SRSXB13/B 08 July 2021 by GrenA (United Kingdom)

I bought this in June 2021 and it has proven an excellent quality speaker for playing music via Bluetooth in the garden. For such a small speaker, this packs quite a punch. It is obviously not going to have the bass power of a larger product, but it does deliver clear, quality sound that does not sound tinny/underpowered. It is not designed for a high energy party sound, but it certainly does the job for a smaller gathering/dinner party or if camping, where you want good quality background music that can be turned up but will not upset the neighbours. It is easy to set-up by pressing a button and then pairing with your phone. Re-charging is via USB-c which allegedly provides 16 hours of battery life - although I have not timed it yet. It's also apparently waterproof in case of any accidents - e.g. by river/garden pond/swimming pool. The speaker has a carry strap that can be used to hang it from a hook/other garden feature such as a pergola. It is small and solid, with a carry bag, making it ideal for packing for trips. Apparently, if you buy 2, you can pair them for stereo sound as well! All in all, I am very happy with this product and would recommend it as excellent value for money if you are looking for a good quality, portable, Bluetooth speaker for personal use. It's not for you if you are planning a mobile disco!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great little speaker

SRSXB13/B 08 July 2021 by James (United Kingdom)

It’s a lovely portable bluetooth speaker, very easy to pair via Android and iOS. It’s pretty loud and the bass is punchy to its ideal to attach to your backpack okay so you’ve got music on the go really like the fact it’s waterproof and dustproof to with is a really bonus to no worries if your out and it start to rain. It’s got a usb-c connection so easy to charge up when fully charged you have got 16 hours of none stop music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great sound

SRSXB13/B 04 July 2021 by Madjim1 (United Kingdom)

Perfect portable Bluetooth speaker classy design Easily pairs via Bluetooth to both Android and iOS Not too loud to annoy the neighbors but definitely good enough for in the garden and bathroom/ bedroom excellent sound quality An exact same speaker can be added to it to give the user stereo sound pretty cool feature But can not be added to a chain of speakers Overall a great small travel speaker with easy usb charge cable included and 12 hours playback

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Great features

SRS-XB13 21 May 2021 by bobby1298765 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very good, easy to use and the sound quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased.

SRS-XB13 18 May 2021 by Caretta22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality from such a small device. Unlike many other similar products does not switch itself off if idle for extended time which I find very annoying. A good product and recommended.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4