62

4.6 based on 62 customer reviews

44
13
2
2
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13 June 2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

62 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp on the left side, Blur on the right side

SEL1670Z AE 26 September 2019 by seaflat (Singapore)

Tested the shot on a calendar poster and found the wordings with obvious blurring font on the right end side compared with left end side. Seems like not consistent image quality on both left and right side.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Produces wonderfully natural looking images

SEL1670Z 07 September 2019 by Buddhamakessense (United Kingdom)

This lens isn't known for its sharpness, and often gets bad reviews by those who are slaves to fashion and tests that have no real world relevance. It's not soft; it's just not razor sharp. People focus on razor sharpness because it's unnatural...we don't notice such details with our own eyes, day to day, and so it gives us a sense of the exotic. But if you're focusing on skin pores, you're not really looking at the picture are you? Pictures from this lens draw your eye to the subject instead, and the luxury of light and colour surrounding it. The micro-contrast and smooth colour gradients give a wonderful sense of depth. Its representation of light and colour is natural in a way that other zoom lenses for APS-C E-Mount can't match, and can render a scene more real than razor sharpness ever will.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Versatile

SEL1670Z AE 02 September 2019 by tntrue (Singapore)

I decided to get this lens in spite of some less-than-favorable reviews, and I'm glad I did. Performance is superb for a 5X standard zoom. It covers everything from across-the-frame sharpness in landscape shots at the wide end to excellent subject isolation at f/4 at the telephoto end, all with great Zeiss colors and micro-contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lens with excellent colors

SEL1670Z AE 23 July 2019 by lkoh1618 (Singapore)

This Sony Vario-Tessar E16-70mm f/4 lens is great for both landscape and street photography. The compact size makes it very convenient to carry around and less obvious when prowling on the streets. The coated lens gave a rich color on my photos. Unfortunately, due to the small file size uploaded here, the resolution is not as good as the original photo taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absolutely delighted

SEL1670Z 04 March 2019 by Rae58 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens over a month ago to replace the kit lens supplied with my Sony a6300. Am absolutely thrilled with it as photos are much sharper and the zoom gives me greater versatility for taking pictures. It was very expensive but I can't see any need for another lens in the 16-70mm range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great walk around lens for daylight shooting

SEL1670Z AE 17 December 2018 by abhipro (Singapore)

The images are trademark Zeiss quality ! Renders Skies, landscapes etc very nicely. Amazing Micro contrast! Very light and zoom equivalent to 24 - 105 for full frame ! Stays on my A6500 all the time ! Can get a decent bokeh at 70mm f4 for potraits !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great quality

SEL1670Z AE 08 October 2018 by XiangSG (Singapore)

I bought this lens with A6500, which can provide a good quality pics and SUPER high speedy auto-focus. Easy for me to take pics for my kids.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like the versatility, had a warranty issue however

SEL1670Z 15 August 2018 by Txrtrider (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Forgot to register it. Really like the versatility, but had noticed that the zoom ring stuck, between 50-70mm. Thought it might loosen up after a while. Ended up sending in for repair. They replaced the Optical Block Assembly, whatever that is. Great all around tense!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 31 July 2018 by Naughty Nige (United Kingdom)

Bought yesterday to complement A6300 Camera and my Hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Small size and quality pictures

SEL1670Z 02 July 2018 by Maurice 45 (United Kingdom)

Had the lens only a few weeks but I would recommend it, quality is very good, small in size and picture quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp and Vibrant photos

SEL1670Z AE 01 July 2018 by sky91 (Singapore)

The photo shot by the lens is very good. Sharp and vibrant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp Images

SEL1670Z 27 June 2018 by JakBux (United Kingdom)

Great lens to travel around with on the sony a6000 compact and sharp across the board

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My Zoom... oooOO

SEL1670Z 19 May 2018 by Naboo (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago along with an A6500 cameea. So far very impressed. Only criticism so far is the lack if a lock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb SEL1670Z AE

SEL1670Z AE 12 May 2018 by Coolnegotiator (Singapore)

Bought about more than a month ago to take shots in an auditorium. Color reproduction is good and sharp. Street photos in the day was bright and clear. The zoom range is also user friendly range, only regret is I pondered TOO LONG before buying. My passion for photography is back!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Review for Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL1670Z 24 March 2018 by Rochebois (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens three months ago.It has performed superbly well.The only draw back is an absence of a macro setting.This is an odd omission on a £700+ lens, this is the only reason why i am not awarding it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disapointed with this lens

SEL1670Z 15 March 2018 by WB_stl (USA)

This lens has two things going for it: it covers a useful range and it is compact and light weight. Unfortunately the copy of the lens I have does not produce sharp images. I have other Sony/Zeiss lenses which are outstanding in image quality, but not this one. Given it's price and Zeiss badge, I would not recommend it. I can not in good faith sale this lens to someone else and it will be awhile before I can command the resources to replace it - but it will be replaced.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Very versatile lens

SEL1670Z 15 February 2018 by Alan 79 (USA)

I bought this lens to pair with a Sony a6500 for travel. I wanted something with quality glass that covered wide angle to short telephoto and this lens covers it perfectly. I am getting beautiful results through out the zoom and aperture range. I have been using it for about a month now and could not be happier with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great universal lens

SEL1670Z 27 January 2018 by billhg (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera & lens for about 2 weeks, but I am just learning to use it, however this lens has a great zoom range, perfect for keeping on the camera as a standard lens. The fact it is f4 through its zoom length means it is ideal for low light photography. It is pin sharp right to the edge& the telephoto end is great for distance shots & even half way is perfect for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great lens, not in size, but in every other way.

SEL1670Z 14 December 2017 by Paolo the Snapper (United Kingdom)

My taste in photography is wide and after ditching my life-long camera manufacturer in favour of Sony, I needed a lens for my new a6500 which would give me options for Landscape, Street, and above all, Portrait photography. One of my big asks was for a lens which isn’t too big as on holiday I want to carry it around all day in a coat pocket or small bag. I also needed a lens which can focus quickly and accurately in order to take great pictures of my grandchildren, particularly as my current compact camera (not Sony) fails miserably as it is so slow - by the time I have pressed the shutter the children are out the door! I've only had the a6500 and this lens for less than a couple of weeks but I've already taken hundreds of pictures, all so far indoors and mainly of the grandchildren. The results are extremely pleasing. The lens copes with multiple shots well, and the images are very sharp. Only yesterday I was reviewing some shots and was amazed as to how much I can crop without any degradation of image quality. The 16-70mm zoom range is very good too and is just about right for my needs as it goes from a 35mm full frame equivalent of 24mm at the wide end to a portrait pleasing 105mm at the other. Finally, colour rendition is very good and my pictures look very pleasing. Although it isn’t a cheap lens, I chose to buy it in favour of the kit lens often sold with the a6500. I am very pleased I did and I know that moving to Sony has been a good decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A quality product

SEL1670Z 28 November 2017 by mamba20 (United Kingdom)

Not had it long, but the balance and feel on my A6000 is great and the telephoto action is very smooth and quiet. Results to date just what I expected. Look forward to putting t through its paces

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and Compact Lens

SEL1670Z AE 10 October 2017 by vphtan (Singapore)

Bought the lens not long ago. Good lens to pair with my A6000. Practical and handyfor travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27 August 2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

4

0

Great picture quality and sharpness

SEL1670Z AE 19 August 2017 by Xinmao (Singapore)

It is a very good lens for traveling. Easy to use. The OSS feature of the lens help me take some photos which cannot be taken by phones. However, it is very easy to get into the dust (inside, not just at surface). I bought it two months ago, but it has more than 4 dusts inside the frontier lens group. I have sent it to Sony service to clean.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens worthy of Zeis

SEL1670Z AE 23 July 2017 by VBlaster_W211 (Singapore)

Great lens with constant aperture. It's definitely better than my 1855 kit lens. Sharp and great build quality. Wish it has a wider aperture than 4 (would be 5 stars if it had f2.0), but with OSS, it can be shoot focused pictures at a low SS, so it compensates somewhat. Bokeh is good, but driveline not at the Sony 35f1.8 prime lens level (my favorite prime). Now looking for a good wide angle lens. And maybe a longer telephoto than 70mm to complete my lens for Sony APS-C.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light and easy to use

SEL1670Z 23 July 2017 by Nonick (United Kingdom)

Bought from the Sony Centre in Carlisle where I received excellent customer service and advice on the use of this lens. I have now had the lens for three weeks and I am very pleased with the sharpness of the photographs and the fast focusing of the lens. Although it is not a macro lens it does produce excellent close up pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Overpriced,but sharpest zoom lens for Sony E mount

SEL1670Z AE 20 July 2017 by haikallp (Singapore)

Excellent build quality. Sharp lens from corner to corner and at 24mm to 105mm fov equivalent, it is versatile. Quality seems to degrade at 50-70mm, but the Zeiss colours are still there. Constant F4 aperture means it's not as good in low-light. Wished it was F2.8 instead. Vignetting is minor, compared to the SEL18105G and it's also more compact. Overall, its a great lens for travel and a good replacement for the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all round lens

SEL1670Z 19 July 2017 by JAM13 (United Kingdom)

Had this a few weeks now and it takes Sharp photos and I use it as my "walk Around" lens. All was ready to take a shot. Just wish it had Power Zoom with in the price of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Sony Vario-Tessar 16-70mm F4 Zoom lens

SEL1670Z 03 June 2017 by Chrispen4 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens about 2 weeks but the pictures I have taken are so sharply focussed - almost unbelievable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Good quality, good range

SEL1670Z 24 May 2017 by fiftysixa (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens, build quality good, crippling price the only negative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazed myself

SEL1670Z AE 28 April 2017 by eunice (Singapore)

Bought this a few weeks ago and used the lens under various conditions including low light and produced good quality photos (that I didn't think I could have done it myself).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good lens

SEL1670Z AE 24 April 2017 by Cyberfrog (Singapore)

Well-built. Camera is nicely balanced when fitted to my a6300. Optics is good... Pin-sharp pictures, accurate colors. OSS works well. Good value overall, for a ZEISS-stamped product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

First Sony Lens that I've Owned

SEL1670Z AE 30 March 2017 by 48kgproduction (Singapore)

I've owned Canon cameras and lenses for most of my career. This is the first Sony Lens I've ever owned... I must say how surprised I am at how this Lens is every bit made and functional as any of the top Canon lenses I own! Highly recommend this one for sure!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Little gem

SEL1670Z AE 28 March 2017 by Maxctl (Singapore)

I bought it a week ago, like it is Impact yet powerful. Focusing part need sometimes to get familiar for DSLR user, Low light performance is good, 16-70 zeiss lens is sharp but got no macro. Overall, I am satisfy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better zoom range over kit lens

SEL1670Z AE 20 February 2017  (Singapore)

I bought this with a6000 body in Jan'17. Pris: It offers a nice balance over the kit lens due to more zoom range, constant aperture across, Zeiss coating offers wide colour and higher IQ overall, sturdy build Q. Cons: slight barrel distortion (left and right edges), out of plane focus (at F4.0 and AFS & Wide focus area), casts a shadow on lower left corner (at 16mm) with built-in flash (longer lens barrel).

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome portraits

SEL1670Z AE 12 February 2017 by SonyUserSingapore (Singapore)

Bought this lens for portraits and am blown away by how easy it makes photography. Being new to the camera scene I wanted something that would make me better than I really am! It did just that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very good quality lens

SEL1670Z AE 24 December 2016 by Vicky2886 (Singapore)

Bought it and used it. It really have a sharp result. Have better color and contrast compare other lens (1650PZ). You may check in Photoshop not at your camera screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice lens

SEL1670Z 03 November 2016 by Jeremyg (United Kingdom)

I bought this with a A6300 to replace a large DSLR that didn't shoot video. Since I was intending to use it more for video than stills the smoothness of the zoom was important but I found it was pretty graunchy, also the lens suffered from shocking chromatic aberration, and this from a lens with Zeiss glass? Surely not! After a couple of weeks I thought this simply can't be right and took it back to the dealer - who swapped it out immediately and cheerfully. The replacement has a silky smooth zoom and I have seen no aberration since, though I haven't been forensic about it yet! The fact that f4.0 is available throughout the zoom range is great for video, not massively fast for stills work and sometimes I would like to be able to get a shallower depth of field, but as a first lens for the camera I find it a very good compromise. (I use my previous camera's 35mm/f1.8 for critical fast or shallow images on an adapter mount). It is light, the zoom doesn't slide about when pointing the camera down (my previous camera's zoom did). I happily recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

Great Lens

SEL1670Z 13 October 2016 by Greg NW Indiana (USA)

I use this lens on a A6000. This has become my go to lens with this camera. This produces images that are sharp at all levels from 16 mm to 70 mm. I am quite pleased with the quality. However, I feel that the color quality is significantly improved from the lens that came with the camera. The colors are so vivid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

A serious lens!

SEL1670Z 05 September 2016 by pmacnight (USA)

Nice heft to it, feels like a serious piece of equipment. Beautiful Zeiss colors. No problem with center focus. This lens was factory inspected for those of you Leary of this lens because of bad center focus reports as I was.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great travel lens

SEL1670Z AE 28 August 2016 by ThWa (Singapore)

Very good lens for travel. Compact, easy to use and excellent photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travelling lens

SEL1670Z AE 08 July 2016 by mimin5zidane (Singapore)

I jump ship from a competitor to Sony. Shall not name the brand. However, Sony's lenses are fairly good but the price point made it just an okay. This lens is sharp due to the Zeiss badge. Hence it cost me quite a bomb. It is no doubt a traveler's lens. The downside is that the biggest aperture is F4. Even though it is constant. With this price, they could have made it a F2.8 aperture. However, the size of this lens is great. Ideal for walkabout, travel and even a selfie with some effort. :)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent quality photo

SEL1670Z AE 07 July 2016 by Ghost000 (Singapore)

Great lens, image taken was sharp and color is great! Definitely good for daily usage!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sharp and fast lens

SEL1670Z 18 April 2016 by TerminalUnit (United Kingdom)

Brought this on the advice of my dad and glad I did, it is a fantastic sharp and fast lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Early days but the lens is proving top notch

SEL1670Z 29 October 2015 by Scouser38 (United Kingdom)

Only had the Sony 16-70 for a few weeks, having made the move to the CSC platform recently. The lens has proved to be on par with my L series Canon glass it seems as sharp and is extremely quick focusing with no hunting. I'd certainly recommend this as an essential piece of glass to have on your A6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

3

0

Super nice lens

SEL1670Z 03 June 2015 by OsoTejano (USA)

Using this on my a6000 and am very satisfied with performance of this lens. Very good image quality across the full focal range. This lens is on my camera most of the time and works great in most situations.

14

8

0

Excellent lens which covers a lot of bases

SEL1670Z 31 May 2015 by Silverscreen (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I wanted the low light capability throughout the zoom range and also because of the very positive reviews I'd read online about it. I've had it a couple of weeks and shot landscapes and portraits so far - I'm delighted with the sharpness and quality of the images. It offers wide angle and a decent zoom for walkabout purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

A great all round lens...

SEL1670Z 20 May 2015 by roryo (United Kingdom)

Excellent picture quality and compact. Perfect for when you only want to carry the camera and one universal lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

A very good match to the Nex-7.

SEL1670Z 29 March 2015  (United Kingdom)

I had a clear objective when I bought this lens. I wanted to achieve a lighter compact camera with a performance similar to my full frame SLR. I think I have done that. I am very impressed with the results. It is very sharp, enabling heavy cropping if required . overall it requires less adjustment in light room & gives very good colour rendering. It is also helpful to me that it covers the same range as my canon EF 24-105L f4 & its much lighter to carry about ! . Altogether a brilliant lens if rather expensive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

4

0

Great walkaround lens

SEL1670Z 21 January 2015 by Akihabara168 (USA)

This Zeiss lens is a great walkaround lens and as a replacement for the kit lens. While a bit pricey, the improvement in image quality as compared to the kit lens (SEL1650 for my NEX6) is leaps and bounds. A f2.8 aperture would make this lens even better, but then the lens may end up too big and heavy to be useful as a walkaround lens.

21

4

0

Fantastic Lense

SEL1670Z 16 January 2015 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about a month ago and it is now my main lens for my A6000. The quality of the images is excellent making full use of the A6000's 24mp and the images are sharp - The build quality is great too. I highly recommend this lens to anyone with a Sony Nex, A6000 or A5000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

1

0

Fab!

SEL1670Z 05 January 2015 by Hnetting (United Kingdom)

Fab lens which is as fantastic as the reviewers say. Is expensive it worth it for one really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Very sharp lens

SEL1670Z 22 December 2014 by birdieee (USA)

Tested this lens on a6000. The pics are very sharp.

28

11

0

Take Everywhere Lens

SEL1670Z 05 December 2014  (United Kingdom)

Been using for a couple of months now and delighted with the overall image quality and functionality of this lens. Bigger and heavier than the Sony kit zoom lens, but attached to such a small light weight camera as the A6000, this is hardly an issue. I have a few prime lenses too, but short of macro facility... this lens gives me pretty much all I need for day to day travel photography... even used in studio for portraiture and product shots and the results were crisp with excellent colour clarity when processed through Lightroom as raw file. The native jpegs are fabulous too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Sony Zeiss 16-70

SEL1670Z 08 November 2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom)

Bought a while ago as a replacement for the 16-50 kit lens, which although compact is a bit "soft" for more high quality use. The Zeiss lens is amazingly sharp and the colour transmission is excellent, clearly very pleased with this lens so far, obviously this is an expensive lens but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Cracking little lens

SEL1670Z 04 November 2014 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

you'll read a lot on the web about this lens. Lots photoistas waxing about soft corners etc. We'll I've been a Olympus & Contax user in the past and a Nikon user for 30 years and this is a great lens! If you have an 'a' series Sony with an E mount you must have a Zeiss lens - and this is the most versatile one in a VERY limited range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 09 October 2014 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for about a year. It has a useful zoom range and it is sharp even at maximum aperture. Definitely worth the money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

First thoughts on Sony 16-70mm e-mount lens

SEL1670Z 05 August 2014  (United Kingdom)

Whilst it is early days, I am very pleased with the images I have taken with this lens on my Sony 6000. The sharpness, clarity and colour output appears to be significantly better than the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great lens but heavy

SEL1670Z 16 July 2014 by cormudgeon (USA)

A really great lens living up to the Zeiss tradition. My only niggle about this lens is its weight. But, then again the weight is a result of how well made the lens is. Zoom and focus are tight, no lens creep

18

6

0

Great lens

SEL1670Z 23 June 2014 by Ruadhan (United Kingdom)

Finding this lens a great companion to my a6000, it hardly comes off the camera! Crisp sharp photos with a solid sturdy build.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13 June 2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

0

Brings out the full potential of the NEX7

SEL1670Z 03 November 2013 by DeanInCO (USA)

I searched high and low this year for a great lens for my NEX 7 that I have had since it was released. And this is truly one fantastic lens. It truly brings out the full potential of the NEX7, making it a fantastic travel camera. I pop iy in my bag with my iPad and macbook Pro and I am good to go without having to lug a ton of gear around. I own a Nikon D800, D7100, Fuji X100s, and my iPhone, and I have more fun with this lens and this camera combo than any of the others. The only drawback I have seen so far is autofocus in AF-C mode. At times the camera hunts and focus is slow. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever. It is truly great fun to shoot with this combo.

50

6