54

4.1 based on 54 customer reviews

27
14
4
7
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18 February 2017 by rpscott02 (USA)

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Can't get any audio only on Bluetooth calls

XAV-AX100 09 September 2017 by sdotjoseph (USA)

Everything works perfectly-ish with the exception of the bluetooth hands free calling, music over BT works fine. Folks can hear me just fine, but i don't hear anything from them. I've made sure that all appropriate properties are enabled(setting BT connection up for phone and media) and that the volume and all volume boosters are maxed. Other than that, the system works okay, I guess.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

54 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent integration with iPhone and superb sound

XAVAX100 26 June 2019 by EASM (USA)

I got installed it about two weeks ago, and I do not regret the buy. The quality of sound is great, and CarPlay works seamlessly. I am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Should be great but let down by flaky CarPlay!

XAV-AX100 11 June 2019 by Scrawf (United Kingdom)

This would be a good product if it worked correctly! The Apple CarPlay feature simply DOES NOT WORK reliably. Even after updating to the latest firmware it drops the CarPlay connection regularly which is dangerous as the only way to reconnect it is to unplug and replug the lightning cable into the iPhone. Not a good idea whilst driving and illegal in the UK. So not much use! THe other problem is that the fitting cage and surround are NOT a standard 2 din size so it wont fit without modifications to the dashboard. All in all I'm not happy at all with this proiduct and I wish I hadn't purchased it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I love my new radio

XAVAX100 09 June 2019 by Rey123 (USA)

This radio Sound surprisingly good and it's super easy to operate the only thing I don't like is it takes a while to connect to the Bluetooth and I like to be bumping music right away as soon as I turn on the truck maybe an update can fix that?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple design, easy to use.

XAVAX100 07 May 2019 by GMdude (USA)

I bought and installed the XAV-AX100 in my car two months ago, and I love it. I wanted a simple Apple CarPlay head unit. I compared many radios before settling on this one. This is what it came down to: 1) Simple, un-cluttered buttons on the face of the radio; a home button, volume/option control, and seek forward/back buttons. 2) Easy to navigate user interface. I hate digging through menu upon menu to try and find settings for different options. Sony took a minimalist approach and took all of the guesswork out of changing settings. There’s no extra bloatware in the menus, and it’s great. 3) Double-DIN screen with a single-DIN radio attached to the back. It looks weird, but you really don’t know the difference once it’s installed in your dash. The advantage for me here is that I was able to use the extra space of the single DIN chassis to tuck all the wiring in underneath it. Very helpful when installing the radio. 4) Response time of the radio. This is a big one for me. I cannot stand slow, laggy response time. After watching several videos on this radio specifically before I ordered it, I concluded that response time was not an issue. That still holds true. There is a startup time of about 15-20 seconds when the car is first started, but when I start my car, I’m doing other things before I focus on the radio anyway. Besides, most infotainment systems have some sort of startup cycle they go through at key on. That’s just how it is. I discovered after the radio was installed and running that there is an option to adjust the bluetooth audio level on the radio itself. I don’t use the bluetooth much, but that is a very cool feature. I did try out the bluetooth phone connection, and it works great. Again, the display puts all the information in front of me with simple, non-bloated ease of use. Easy to navigate and make calls. I only have two complaints. While the volume knob is one of the selling points for me, it’s also tiny and a bit hard to get my fingers around sometimes. If it was knurled more, closer to the top edge and a little bit taller, it would be perfect. My second complaint is the audio amplifier. It’s rated at 20 watts RMS X 4. I replaced all four speakers at the same time I replaced the radio. I was disappointed when I cranked up the volume, and wound up having to purchase an amplifier, connecting it to the pre-amp outputs, and then wired the amp to all four speakers. That brought the sound quality up to expectations. But I guess with that single DIN chassis, there’s only so much amp they can pack in there. All in all, this radio is exactly what I wanted. If I had it to do all over again, I would definitely buy this radio again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CarPlay changes everything

XAV-AX100 10 March 2019 by alex512 (USA)

I never want to drive without CarPlay again! This unit is easy to use (with CarPlay, I've not gotten Android Auto working yet, I suspect I didn't hook up the parking brake wire correctly). I have steering wheel control for the volume, but when I or others are the passenger, we love that the volume control is a real knob.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound

XAVAX100 08 March 2019 by Pitin (USA)

Just finish installing and already I'm impressed with the sound, this makes a huge difference, I bought with the expectation of using android auto, unfortunately my car is to old, at least that what's online, oh well excellent radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great head unit, but one recommendation

XAV-AX100 27 January 2019 by Julian1127 (USA)

I am in love with this head unit, its slick, responsive and easy to use. But there is one issue I do have sincd I drive an old vehicle. To have my DRL’s on, I have to manually turn them on. Unfortunately if I have the auto dimmer on, this will dim the unit even in pure daylight. One addition to this unit that I would like to see in a future update, if updates are still present, is to be able to set the dimmer to an auto dim at a certain time period.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good quality

XAV-AX100 23 January 2019 by rslcarvalho (USA)

I bought this one year ago and is very useful during driving. Very intuitive and easy to use. One more USB port will be excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good for $250

XAV-AX100 18 January 2019 by Serinnie (USA)

Good but...the downfall is that Google Maps occasionally freezes and if you want to import your own photo to use it as a wallpaper, it will look washed out...meaning you can’t adjust the brightness at all :/ Also, you can’t watch any mp4 movies or mpg. Despite the negatives, it’s still worth it because Sony rocks overall !! I just wish they can fix it with an update :( Then I will surely love you guys

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super Strong Value

XAV-AX100 06 November 2018 by Tom the K (USA)

Really like this unit in my 2015 Toyota Corolla. The interface (fonts, icons, screen quality, etc) is super elegant — much nicer than the factory unit it replaced. With adaptors I was able to retain the factory back-up camera, steering wheel controls, and phone mic. The built-in digital amp has enough juice to drive high-efficiency speakers (I chose Focal's all around) without issue and the EQ allows for fine tuning to taste. I got this unit to add AppleCarPlay to my 2015 car and feel like I got a great unit at the perfect price. The only thing missing is a Aux port for playing iPods, laptops and other legacy audio devices. I was surprised to see this off the feature sheet and I miss it a little.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

problematic

XAV-AX100 17 October 2018 by Ogar55 (USA)

I've owned this over a year. The concept is exceptional. The problem is that the Media receiver drops the USB connection to my phone frequently. With short trips around town, this doesn't happen a lot, since I often don't plug my phone in, but on long road trips, which I take infrequently, It's really bad. Bluetooth connections work well, so does the FM radio. Any device plugged in drops out eventually. Sometimes quickly, sometimes it will last a while, but it will drop out. Also, there are times when the media receiver won't recognize my phone. I've tried new cables, and even a new lightning port on my iPhone! So the unit does not do what it was designed to do. While having your music stop playing is bothersome, having the GPS quit is more of a serious problem when you're in traffic, on unfamiliar roads. I like the UI, I like the concept, the sound quality is good, but my unit doesn't work as designed, so I can't recommend it.

4

1

0

Simple and clean

XAVAX100 10 September 2018 by Macgyvur (USA)

Works great but beware of Android Auto issues with the Android pie update and phone call conversations, it doesn't work yet.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Thought this unit was amazing until..

XAV-AX100 01 September 2018 by willoughby1 (USA)

I am dumbfounded. THE most popular portable music device for the last 15 years has been the iPod.. This device DOES NOT SUPPORT iPOD. What in the world? I didny plugg my iPod Nano in to see if it WOULD work, I plugged it in to see the interface.... I couldn't believe when the screen popped up "Device not supported". Nice Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Touchscreen not working

XAV-AX100 20 August 2018 by amsfante (USA)

I bought this unit last week. the system and the ease of use caught my attention. It recognizes the iphone and the bluetooth works very well but the screen stopped responding to the touch, I can only operate with the remote control or through the cell phone. I do not have access to sound adjustment wallpaper at all, try to reset and the unit still does not work properly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Bah not worth it

XAV-AX100 15 August 2018 by AXNot4Me (USA)

Wish I'd bought another brand. This unit seems to lock up and struggles with Android auto. Frequently required to disconnect and reconnect my phone.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Pretty good

XAV-AX100 14 August 2018 by Sveinn (USA)

I like it in most senses. It is however not easy to select radio stations, and even harder to program stations. You need to hit the round button with the station number with a pretty high precision to acheive what you want. Also, I dont understand why, when listening to radio, the large screen is not used for showing RDS or something other than a big blue nothing. The last update was good, as the annoying warning startup screen now dissapears by itself. I find booting up time has improved as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Backup Camera

XAV-AX100 11 August 2018 by Sanjay01 (USA)

I bought this at Best Buy and Geek Squad installed it. They were not able to wire the camera to get it to turn on when the "Rear Camera" button on the screen is pressed. There is no guidance from Sony as to how to wire for the "Rear Camera" button on screen. Apart from this issue everything works graet so far. Would appreciate if Sony can provide guidance on how to wire rear view camera so that it can turn on in Reverse Gear as well as when the button is pressed on screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The boot time is a waste of time.

XAV-AX100 23 July 2018 by Valiantman (USA)

I have just finished installing the XAV-AX200 in my 1999 Nissan Pathfinder. It fitted perfect except the unit was installed with the original factory radio brackets. However with those brackets, the unit slightly leans to the right and is quite noticeable. Plus it is slightly to the left, making it hard to turn the volume, and also the top of the unit is also slightly outward. I had to fix it by modifying the bracket flanges and filing the holes to perfect fit. At first I switched the unit on, that stupid Sony logo that appears and then the Attention warning that appears afterwards and stays on unless the Okay button is touched is really annoying because it block the screen, the clock and station buttons. I enquired with Sony and they had this update version 1.01.00 that had to be downloaded in the computer as Zip file, then extracted and transferred to a flash drive and then the USB inserted into the USB port of the XAV-Ax200 and it then automatically updated itself. Now the warning screen appears as it did before but after 3 seconds it disappears. Nevertheless, the Sony logo shouldn't be there. We know it's a Sony, it's written on the front of the unit. And the warning screen shouldn't be there too. Who wants to wait 15-20 seconds for both Sony logo and the warning to disappear so that you can check the video when reversing? By the time all that disappears I am already on the road and gone. In today's modern cars with reverse cameras, like the Holden Trax that we have, we start it, and the moment we put into reverse the video appears on the screen. But with this unit (XAV-AX200), all that unnecessary appearance at the start shouldn't be there. For this, I don't recommend these receivers if the reversing feature is your main priority, but for the rest of the unit, it is excellent in sound and quality. I like the big clock, big buttons and cool look. However, the volume knob is too small but for the 1999 and up to 2004-5 Aussie Nissan Pathfinder it is okay due to the fact that the knob is too close to the console opening edge and is a bit hard to turn it. However, if I want to say something that could have made this unit better, it should have had a volume on screen where you touch two arrows, one up and one down to increase the volume. Why I say this? Because the unit has a built-in digital equalizer that you can fiddle with it. So, why not a master volume too? Well, Sony has done a little different. The decided to add a knob for two purpose, for a volume and to press the knob to reveal the hidden features, including the digital equalizer because while driving, the knob is usually easier to find without taking the eyes off the road.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features

XAVAX100 19 July 2018 by GVA69 (USA)

I have had this aftermarket radio for my RAV4 for approx 1 month. I love all the features. It is all I was hoping for. Great user interface. My only negative is the boot time from starting my car and when the radio starts... a very minor complaint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not Compatible with the new iTunes Format & iOS 12

XAV-AX100 12 July 2018 by Lovefire (USA)

Any good company takes the time to keep up with there products being compatible with the latest software; even betas. This way there is less work to do later on when the final release is out and we the customers don't have to wait 6 months for a fix; defeats the purpose. Even when using a public release like iOS 11.4+ there are sill issues that haven't been resolved, like the unit and the iPhone shutting off at the same time randomly while listening to music. Other then that I love the unit, its simple and clean interface is why I choose it. I just wish Sony was more of productive company and stayed up to date with things like software and features like (Wireless CarPlay) Note: I'm using latest firmware 1.02.07

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great product except

XAVAX100 10 July 2018 by Robin C (USA)

The radio as of today has no reception The rest of the features work great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Media receiver with the Harley Davidson Kit

XAVAX100 27 June 2018 by cbiggs (USA)

I bought the version that had the Harley Davidson Kit for 2014 Streetglide and beyond. Wow. Looks fantastic. Plug and play. Even my app that I already had worked great with out any extra wiring. Looks great, sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Android auto, but without pinch-to-zoom

XAVAX100 14 June 2018 by Noname123 (USA)

Product is decent for its price point. Pros: - Tuner has many options - Sound is clear and crisp - Android Auto is a huge plus Cons: - Touch screen is single-touch only. Multi-touch is essential when trying to zoom on maps. - Volume dial knob is small and hard to turn when in a mount - Faceplate is not detachable Mine died after about three months of use, so I'm also a bit underwhelmed for its reliability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Love having Spotify as my car stereo

XAV-AX100 24 January 2018 by AAAndy (United Kingdom)

So I bought this as an Xmas present to myself with the help of my family and I was really excited to update my 10 year old car with some new tech. I had already upgraded the front speakers and I had been using an aftermarket mini jack input to my stereo but the sound quality was never right. As expected the Sony unit is very capable in the sound department with a 10 band EQ and decent, clear bass enhancing modes. However, the usability and reliability seems to be let down by unstable software. Sometimes when I connect my phone to Android Auto and press play, it plays the music out of the phone. When I select to list my music by artists in Spotify, it tries to load for a while and then crashes - I don't know if this is due to having a large list of artists to load, but I don't imagine it's an unreasonable length to deal with. Now, I don't know if the software which needs updating is a part of Android (on the phone or the stereo) or Sony's software, but I'm hoping for an update soon. I would also mention the touch screen as being difficult to use when the car is moving. Obviously the car is shaking so it's hard to keep a finger steady when touching the screen, but the screen seems to default to detecting a swipe over a button press whereas it should be defaulted the other way due to the likelihood of the finger moving unintentionally. Overall it feels like the software is not to the historical high standards expected from Sony as these issues would be apparent from testing the stereo for a few hours. As the unit is really just a screen and some software, I'm hoping my issues can be fixed with a software update. But in the meantime at least I can enjoy my personalised radio and Sat Nav in the car :)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

It's Alive!

XAV-AX100 22 January 2018 by GandalfGreyhelm (United Kingdom)

A Double Din ICE driven by my XZ Premium (either by BT or, preferably, USB) with a usable touchscreen giving me album art and satellite navigation whilst listening to HiRes files from a 200GB SSD... What's not to like?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good sound, terrible camera boot time

XAV-AX100 15 January 2018 by Singtall (USA)

I bought this specifically for the reason of using a reverse camera. By the time this stereo boots up I'm already down the street. it doesn't automatically go to camera either which is yet another inconvenience. On the good side it does sound really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Great radio for great price

XAV-AX100 13 January 2018 by MaxdeJ (USA)

Recently installed this in my car, very happy with it. It changed my 2003 car into a 2017 featured car. All the menus are easy and responsive. Would absolutely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I like the DSO

XAVAX100 04 January 2018 by Michigan Rider (USA)

This really opens up the sound system in my truck with the factory speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound, great features, great value

XAVAX100 29 December 2017 by GSDriver (USA)

Bought this to upgrade the stock base radio in my 2011 Corvette. I had a previous Sony double din nav unit that I had a lot of engine noise problems with that I could never get rid of - even professional installers couldn't resolve - so I took it out and haven't looked at Sony car audio since. But when I read the features and reviews of this product, I reconsidered and decided to give Sony another chance. I'm glad I did! The most important features I wanted was Android Auto and a clean design that looks as close to stock as possible. This unit fits perfect and looks great with the matte finish that matches the rest of the center console trim. The user interface is simple and the physical volume knob is a big plus. The resistive screen is surprisingly responsive - the best resistive screen I've ever used. Sound quality is excellent. Integration with my phone and camera was seamless. Had a brief issue with steering wheel controls, but a quick adjustment on the interface resolved the problem. I would have probably gotten the XAV-AX200 for the CD/DVD slot and XM radio expansion capability, but it was just slightly too deep to fit properly. That being said, since I can probably either stream or load anything I'd want onto a usb drive, I don't think I'll be missing the extra features that much. Overall this is a great upgrade and I'm very pleased with the performance and value of XAV-AX100.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The Perfect Gift

XAVAX100 28 December 2017 by SteveQ (USA)

I bought this for my son's Christmas gift. It fit perfectly and has made his 2008 VW Passat safer to drive. Also, it sounds and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Add more customization Please!

XAV-AX100 19 December 2017 by sonycustomer678 (USA)

This is by far my favorite after market radio. It’s sleek and simple design matches well with the interior design of my vehicle. I would really like if Sony enabled the ability to move the icons around in the home screen. For example, I do not have a rear camera so I would like to move that to the second page or even delete the icon entirely. Also, if there were different themes for the icons to help match the look of my vehicle. Also, I would like a quick toggle to be able to turn Bluetooth on and off without having to go to the settings to do so. Clicking the volume wheel to show the quick menu would be a great place to add an icon to enable/disable Bluetooth quickly. Great radio overall, the best.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Clean! Good quality

XAVAX100 09 December 2017 by Foxoff (USA)

Bought a couple weeks ago. They installed quick and looks good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic Features

XAV-AX100 05 December 2017 by derenglander (United Kingdom)

I did a lot of research before buying this product and it really is what I have been looking for

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Love Carplay

XAVAX100 19 October 2017 by Mom of Teenage Driver (USA)

I bought this for my daughter's 14 year old car so it could have a back up camera and it can hook up to my daughter's iPhone thru Carplay. The car is in great shape and now with back up camera and Carplay capability- it is like a new car. You can ask Siri to get directions for you, your phone GPS shows up on the 6.4" receiver, you can don't have to touch any buttons - just talk to Siri. A great receiver if you have an iPhone - will likely get one for my husband's car for xmas

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7.

XAV-AX100 14 October 2017  (USA)

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7. I have used several different cables with same resuly. The only cable that seems to be working is 1 ft aukey cable but that also sometimes go to black screen after extended usage. On the same unit carplay works fine. Google seems to suggest that it is due to low memory on sony head unit. Already updated the firmware to latest version 1.02.06 and android version is 7.0.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Media Receiver Great

XAVAX100 11 October 2017 by Spokane Happy (USA)

Love it, lots of features, easy to use and does everything I was told by salesman

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Glitches and overheats

XAVAX100 24 September 2017 by LongdriverCO (USA)

I bought this one and it was terrible. I do a lot of driving and using maps, but that combination made it too hot and then then the touch screen wouldn't respond. It's no good. I exchanged it for a pioneer and it is so much better!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Unit

XAV-AX100 15 September 2017 by Rigoberto (USA)

I like the simplicity, the strong sound and easy installation, I would recommend it a 100%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple. Clean. Intuitive

XAVAX100 12 September 2017  (USA)

Clean and simple design that doesn't disrupt the factory dash. Intuitive interface that integrates with Android Auto seamlessly. DSO and EQ feature really makes the factory system sounds noticeably better. Lastly, incredible value with Sony quality. Can't be beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice!

XAV-AX100 10 September 2017 by Andy470 (USA)

I've had this head unit for 3 months and it works great. The apple car play works without any major issues. I would definitely recommend buying this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Can't get any audio only on Bluetooth calls

XAV-AX100 09 September 2017 by sdotjoseph (USA)

Everything works perfectly-ish with the exception of the bluetooth hands free calling, music over BT works fine. Folks can hear me just fine, but i don't hear anything from them. I've made sure that all appropriate properties are enabled(setting BT connection up for phone and media) and that the volume and all volume boosters are maxed. Other than that, the system works okay, I guess.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Can we please have a head unit with a built-in mic

XAV-AX100 27 August 2017 by Nick42 (USA)

The only thing holding me back is that I have to clip this plastic mic to my visor. Can we please have a head unit with a built in mic? Audio will be good enough.

Design

Fair

1

6

0

Great Jeep Radio

XAV-AX100 23 August 2017 by JtCe (USA)

Bought this for my 2007 Wrangler Unlimited and it provides all the upgrades I needed: Bluetooth, Camera Connection, Android Auto and great sound. There are a few bugs; most noticeable is the radio's inability to maintain time. This might be due to a wiring issue on my end but it is not a show stopper with all the other goodies. Over all it looks great and sounds great. Volume nob is nice, but a little small.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Missed opportunities

XAV-AX100 20 August 2017 by SadNCA (USA)

Why in 2017 does this not have the option for Sirius XM support and 4+ volt preouts? This is the only non-shiny head unit out right now and it doesn't even have good features. Such a waste. Also stop offering every head unit in shiny plastic. Some of us like the matte finish!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great unit, finally

XAVAX100 18 August 2017 by TechDrJohn (USA)

The XAV-AX100 is a great head unit. I said "finally" because the original device I received was DOA! Love the UI and the simplicity of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony head unit

XAV-AX100 30 July 2017 by Tony2pp (United Kingdom)

Works ok but won't connect to android auto. Have tried everything to get it to work!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Awesome product! BUT....

XAVAX100 02 July 2017 by Bigb350 (USA)

They radio works great and absolutely love it but when I went to register it I couldn't find any support to find the serial number. I had to register without put it in. I had already installed the radio but would assume the serial number would be on the box somewhere. I think I found where it should be but it is unmarked. Better support on that and it would be a perfect experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product

XAVAX100 23 June 2017 by thisnameistaken (USA)

-great EQ features and considerations for getting the most out of the sound -love the volume knob - THANK YOU -NEEDS AN SD card SLOT AND/OR FRONT-FACING USB -lawyer disclaimer screen on EVERY startup is ridiculous. Thanks america. -the screen has a different feel/look than what you're used to on a premium smart phone. that said, the price point and function are both great so no complaints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

75% there

XAV-AX100 29 May 2017 by Gloukus (USA)

Radio works well most of the time. Sometimes looses connection with phone and if an iPhone alarm goes off, the unit will need a hard reset. startup warning/ agreement screen is incredibly Ann

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Flawed, android auto is the only good bit

XAV-AX100 29 May 2017 by MarkG1234 (United Kingdom)

Fitted this last night, mixed initial impressions. Could have so easily been great, but ended up disappointing. Pros Screen very clear, touchscreen works well Android Auto is superb, really very very slick, lots of app support (Google Music, Spotify, Google Maps and more) Minimalist design which i like Great sound quality Very good video and audio format support Cons Startup nag screen (this is a huge issue for me) Only 1 USB port (and no fast charge from it) No support for playlists (m3u, pls) Embarrassingly bad USB playback modes (shuffle whole device, repeat track, that's it) Slow to boot up 1990's file system support (FAT12!! FAT16, FAT32, that's it, no EXT4, no exFAT, no NTFS). Windows 10 can't even format a large USB disk in these ancient formats anymore, they are so old. No Google Now/Siri from PTT button when connected via Bluetooth (totally possible, my old Pioneer unit worked fine, this one says not possible!!)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

14

7

0

Great integration with your mobile

XAV-AX100 24 April 2017 by toga01 (United Kingdom)

It is a best car media receiver if you are looking for integration with your mobile Fantastic ratio price - quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

3

0

Awesome CarPlay receiver

XAVAX100 19 March 2017 by jdmac29 (USA)

Simple hookup and works great with my iPhone. Love the bluetooth and now I have a microphone in my truck so I don't have to touch my phone while driving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18 February 2017 by rpscott02 (USA)

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

EXCELLENT RADIO GREAT FEATURES SOUNDS AWESOME !

XAVAX100 21 January 2017 by DKRIPPA (USA)

THIS RADIO EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS EXCELLENT SOUND GREAT FEATURES ANDROID AUTO IS GREAT .THIS RADIO SHOULD HAVE A CD PLAYER THOUGH BUT IT IS STILL A GREAT RADIO !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

9