121

4.4 based on 121 customer reviews

70
39
4
5
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Handling!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 September 2014 by ctid666 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality, great handling & takes superb pictures, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Pictures are very low quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 December 2018 by Crick5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this instead of the a-6000 because it had the same MP and I was especially keen on the "selfie-screen" However, it is very disappointing as the picture quality is worse than, for.eg my iPhone X which has a 12MP. Totally not worth the money! Very disappointing really.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

123 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Excellent, even better than I had expected

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 24 April 2019 by Craig51559 (United Kingdom)

I’ve never really been into photography, but I wanted something better than my phone camera to take away on holiday. I’ve always been put off DSLRs because thought they were too big to carry around, but when I came across Mirrorless Cameras I thought they seemed ideal for what I wanted. I read a lot of reviews online and this one seemed like it would be best for me with a combination of its small size and good reviews. I couldn’t be happier with it. I expected it to take much longer for me to get used to using it, but the automatic modes make it really easy to take great photos with very little effort while I’ve found the manual setting very intuitive and they give a great deal of freedom to customise and experiment. The camera itself feels very solid and the build quality is great. The app that lets you transfer photos to iOS devices is also very good, though it was a bit fiddly to set up the first time as the instructions weren’t that clear. Most importantly I have been very impressed with the picture quality, the photos are full of detail and look fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2019 by Johnboy aberdeen (United Kingdom)

As an older Sony model I was surprised by the quality of the shots I took.A bit diddley to set up due to lack of buttons and the menus not accessible with the touch screen.But the size and quality makes this camera a must for travellers. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great features

Body Only 07 April 2019 by DonishaC (USA)

I bought this about a month ago and I never knew it would be so small. The camera after a while feels like your holding a clutch! This little baby has everything worth your wild like the interchangeable lens, wifi, flip screen and apps! I didn't expect this camera to have that in it. I would say it's an intermediate camera. You have to play with the settings to get feel of what is going on with it. I had a small problem sometimes when I shoot with outside the camera goes black on me. It's not all the time but it's been on my mind lately. I think because it does get overheated. Although, it's a great camera to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 March 2019 by Lensmanmike (United Kingdom)

Although an older model now it is everything I wanted in a carry-every-day camera suited to so many situations. Packed with features but taking only a small space it is versatile and gives pin sharp images. Love it.!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disapointed

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by Moortosea (United Kingdom)

Purchased just under 6 months ago from new ( Argos ) the standard lens has not been removed from new, The camera has not had a lot of use and it has already developed a fault, When I try to retract the lens from max to min zoom it does not always retract and I have to turn the camera off to get the lens to retract, very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 22 February 2019 by FraserP (United Kingdom)

Great little camera, loads of features, best in class.

0

0

0

ONE Star

Body Only 06 February 2019 by Kirian_13 (USA)

Bought this camera brand new and has given me so many problems since then. Starting with the camera over heating after the 10 min. mark. It is not charging properly, and looses all my data from the memory cards. Bought this camera for vlogging purposes, never again. Still seeing what I am going to do since I have to keep uploading content every week.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Over Heats

Body Only 03 January 2019 by alexandriarose (USA)

I can not film for more than 20 minutes before my camera shuts off due to over heating. This is so frustrating and it's been more than 2 weeks so I cannot return the product either. A complete waste of money for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Pictures are very low quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 December 2018 by Crick5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this instead of the a-6000 because it had the same MP and I was especially keen on the "selfie-screen" However, it is very disappointing as the picture quality is worse than, for.eg my iPhone X which has a 12MP. Totally not worth the money! Very disappointing really.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

What a change from my DSLR

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 16 December 2018 by periwinkle (United Kingdom)

Excellent product. The usual high Sony quality. Very pleased so far, only had it a few weeks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 10 December 2018 by Tz8nnx (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on impulse last month at a discount of 30%. It has been a revelation with all the features and how easy it is to use. I'm very impressed and will probably buy the e-mount to a-mount adapter so I can use my minolta lenses with this hybrid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

ilce5100lw 28 November 2018 by RoyMK (USA)

Love the camera, works great and easy to use. Very manageable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well balanced

Body Only 23 November 2018 by PatchMan (USA)

Very great features for the intermediate to professional user. I love the affordability of this mirrorless Dslr. Professional quality at affordable price

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good camera

ILCE-5100L / ILCE-5100Y 20 November 2018 by Little Elf (USA)

Great lightweight camera. However the lens cap is not attached so lost it in the second week after I purchased it. A little piece of string would make all the difference. Another issue is that I lost sll my videos when coping the files onto my laptop and no idea if that can be recovered. The pictures I took in China were of great quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to use

Body Only 08 November 2018 by alex0002 (United Kingdom)

The camera is simple to use although I found the screen scratched quite easily so would recommend fitting a saver film

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

functional

Body Only 11 October 2018 by a1bp (United Kingdom)

I bought just a few weeks age. happy with camera but the manual is confusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great everything camera!

Body Only 30 September 2018 by ladyO (USA)

We bought this camera for our 2 week vacation overseas. It was perfect! We enjoyed using the selfie feature more than we thought. It took beautiful photos in all lighting. The only thing we couldn't figure out is how to take better photos of backlit scenes, but I think that's a user errors. It takes photos quickly. We couldn't be happier. Perfect for a a novice who wants great photos, and wants to learn more about photography without being overwhelmed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, useless instructions

Body Only 29 September 2018 by PAGB (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on a friends recommendations. It appears to be a great camera. I wanted a camera that was light, easy to carry and portable which it is. But also has a great zoom facility. However the documentation is abysmal and so is the web site. I have no idea how to use all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 22 September 2018 by Leonafi (United Kingdom)

My husband bought me this camera for our wedding anniversary. I love it! I've been using it as often as I can

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really pleased but,

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 26 August 2018 by Bandjie (United Kingdom)

Quality of the build is excellent. Features are excellent too, i personally would like a better manual focus facility. The biggest hang up is the lcd screen on a sunny day, a real pain but apart from that it’s a great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Everything you need except...

Body Only 12 August 2018 by TaylorMatson (USA)

A viewfinder and 4k 30p video. 1080 120p would be nice too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 June 2018 by idf75 (USA)

I bought this camera 5 months ago.Before this, I couldn't take a picture to my daughter because she is allways in movement.. With this camera I can take excellent pictures to my daughter even when she is running.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera but with important features missing.

Body Only 14 June 2018 by Ofiaich (United Kingdom)

Good camera but but the viewing screen is useless in bright sunlight. An electronic viewfinder is needed and surely would not have increased the price by much. Also a stand alone charger should have been included so that a spare battery could be charged and the camera still be usable. The battery is currently charged with it inserted into the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent but...

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11 June 2018 by cl22cl (United Kingdom)

Went on holiday recently taking my new purchase with me. I was impressed by the speed of the camera especially in good lighting conditions. Remember to remove the lens cap before taking a picture, I did this twice and the camera became extremely confused and brought up a message on the screen saying "processing" that lasted a while even after the lens cap had been removed. The second issue was the lack of a separate view finder as in bright sunlight the screen becomes a mirror and all you can see is yourself. I'm looking for a cover to screen the display in bright sunlight. Overall I'm very pleased with the camera and quality of the pictures taken both with and without the flash. The ability to manually focus comes in handy when you want to take a picture of something where there are foreground items that always attract the attention of the automatic focus. Haven't tried any other lenses other than the stock one that came with the camera, but I can't see the need for a different lens for the type of pictures I take.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Huge step up from mobile phone camera quality

Body Only 01 June 2018 by BR1996 (United Kingdom)

Recently bought this camera with no previous photography experience and skills. Great little camera which is easy and simple to use, image quality is of a really high standard and is certainly a huge step up from a mobile phone camera. Only thing I could criticise the camera for is the lack of viewfinder, sometimes it can be difficult to see the screen in the sunlight. Along with having to go into the main settings of the camera to alter the shooting mode. A dial would be much easier and quicker to do this. All in all, really great camera and I am extremely happy with the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first mirrorless just love it!

Body Only 20 May 2018 by Mrsg88 (United Kingdom)

I spend some time researching which camera to buy, I needed something light weight for traveling. This camera is very small and light and takes some amazing pictures and videos, has lots a great setting to take pictures in lots of different settings. I’m new to mirrorless cameras however I’ve watched a few videos and finding it quite easy to learn the basics, I’m sure it’s capable of much more but I’ll keep learning! Found it easy to upload pictures on to the computer for editing, great little camera for a beginner I would say!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good

Body Only 16 May 2018 by septjoeng (USA)

Happy to use this Camera,and we want go vacation

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to handle

Body Only 16 May 2018 by Beingakat (USA)

Bought this a little over a week ago and after experimenting with it on a recent trip, I'm starting to really like this camera. I love it's features and how compact it is compared to a DSLR. I'm using this camera primarily for vlogging my trips so the video quality and the microphone are great on this camera. I also love how the lens of this is interchangeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great variety of features via apps

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 27 April 2018 by mdaly (United Kingdom)

I bought this from my daughter to replace a compact camera and it has opened up a new world of possibilities

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pretty good

Body Only 15 April 2018 by Sheld (United Kingdom)

Nice intermediate camera that is quite easy to use. Menu could be a little more intuitive though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just love it.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 13 April 2018 by CarolF (USA)

LOVE the simplicity, comfortable hold, quality of photos. I looked for months comparing every camera with features I wanted and this was absolutely the best. Constant advances in technology from most manufacturers forget that most of us still want high quality without insanely complicated directions and gimmicks. So happy to have chosen this camera after sending another one back because it was complicated. I was not only a photographer, but also a photo printer and still do complicated photo-shopping. However, as time passes I find simple and easy mandatory!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera!

ILCE-5100L / ILCE-5100Y 10 April 2018 by ph256 (USA)

I have been using this camera for about 6 months now and love it. Being a busy mom, it is great to be able to carry this small camera everywhere and capture great photos everywhere we go. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone wanting to capture excellent photos of family and would recommend the 35mm lens to go with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Punches above its weight!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21 March 2018 by khaa7377 (United Kingdom)

First "proper" camera after phone camera fiddling. Immediately much better photos even in automatic. Allows easy adjustments to take great movement/slow shutter/night photos with very little effort. Lightweight, compact and easy to use. Easy sync with iphone & iPad. Has since been removed from sony website - don't know why and couldn't find a brown one anywhere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love my Sony

Body Only 19 March 2018 by Bill28 (USA)

Great camera I replaced my Sony DSC-HX200V it also was a good camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great #2 camera.

Body Only 03 March 2018 by Rich in Lukang (USA)

I bought this camera while my DSLR was out of commission. It was also an experimental purchase to check out whether or not I wanted to go mirrorless with my next major camera purchase. It's a great little camera with only a couple of hang-ups. #1 No viewfinder. #2 No flash shoe. I'd wanted to purchase the a6000, which has both a viewfinder and a flash shoe, but it wasn't available and I desperately needed a camera. Regardless, I've been using it for about a year and it's turned out to be a nice little back up camera to my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Cam!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 February 2018 by Tinanana (Singapore)

I have bought this a month ago and I'm really happy with this camera. Great photos produced, easy to use and convenient selfie! Lots of plus points in one!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great piece of equipment

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09 February 2018 by mediace (United Kingdom)

I bought the device 2 weeks ago and it's already love at first glance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

awesome camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09 December 2017 by themovement (USA)

i just bought this but ive been playing around with it and sending the pictures to my phone and so far im loving ittttt. so happy with this purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent upgrade camera from a cel phone.

ilce5100lb 28 November 2017 by Old Traveler (USA)

I Love this camera! The quality is outstanding and it is easy to use. I have used a point and shot camera for 30 years. This is an easy upgrade and being a mirrorless camera it is very small and portable. A very easy camera to take on your travels. This camera also has many high quality lenses and accessories that you can use on a upgrade camera. Has fun.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great feature

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21 November 2017  (Singapore)

The picture quality is excellence even it is so tiny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could be perfect

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 October 2017 by Mozz (United Kingdom)

Perfect image, if it had an external microphone jack and in body stabilisation it would be my absolute perfect camera and Sony would dominate the market. Maybe for the a5200? I can dream.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25 September 2017 by kleesm (USA)

very handy and have good features that you can find in DSLR cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful photos

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 August 2017 by Nepal (Singapore)

I bought this camera mainly to take photos at low light and it does not disappoint. The photos came out very nice. Their quality far exceeds what can be achieved by the phone camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Quality

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20 July 2017 by Ernyvil (USA)

I was looking for a good quality camera. I read the reviews and decided to purchase it. It's an amazing camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointed

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 15 July 2017 by Yammy Yam (Singapore)

The quality of the photos taken using the kit lens provided with the camera is not up to my expectation and I need to spend money to buy better quality ones. Sony should offer options for customers to upgrade.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Best product for the price

Body Only 21 June 2017 by PiluLost (United Kingdom)

For this price you never gonna get a better camera from competitors. The quality of the product is really very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

value for $

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 16 June 2017 by Leong183 (Singapore)

Great! Worth the value and user friendly... Except first time try wifi ..hence take some time to figure out how to connect n wifi pictures to my smartphone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Smart and Fast

Body Only 01 April 2017 by JToeppen (USA)

This is a fast light weight camera with a great sensor with high speed and low light capabilities. The fast high ISO are no noisey joke, one can take waterfall shots by moonlight and get nice starfields. Mirrorless has a clear form advantage and the reliability of the focus is very good, which is great, because you can not set it yourself. The manual modes are not very manual. However, the "superior auto settings" will bracket for you if necessary, and make that decision quickly, well under two seconds. And you do have some nice bracke modes for RAW work. This is a good value for those who want a big sensor in a small body and want to use other lenses. I might buy a second one of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Overwhelming!

Body Only 20 March 2017 by IndraWP (United Kingdom)

I love this camera, I really do! It does pack a punch in a little package, so many professional features in this small camera, even though it can still be improved on some side, let me give a summary, Pros : + Compact, lightweight, fit in the pocket. + XAVC-S 60fps, wow! + The lenses are compact too. + So many features (Zebra, peak focus, guideline) + Amazing sensor, really works in low light. + Easy control Cons : - Overheat (The a6000 is fixed with firmware update, what about this one?) - XAVC-S only on 64GB or more SDCard (SDXC) - Few budget lens choices - Some guideline is still not in the right aspect ratio (I've tested it) - Some feature only available as purchasable apps. - Touchscreen only for focus, not in menu

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

1