73

4.8 based on 73 customer reviews

63
5
3
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

White Wonder

SEL70200GM 14 May 2017 by kensom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hardware - Sony FE 70-200 2.8 GM OSS and A7R2. Stunning results and coming from the Nikon (almost) equivalents! Colours, bokeh, sharpness and I am just speechless at how this combo performs. Nothing in this range of equipment, no matter what brand, can compare. Every penny spent on this lens will be repaid in your satisfaction at the end of the day. As they say; 'Forget the rest, buy the best' - and it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Okay

SEL70200GM 15 August 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have enjoyed Sony cameras & lenses since coming from Canon. I am not happy with the quality. Anyone could agree that these lenses are priced very high... which is fine.... you get what you pay for. Thing is I've had this lens for around 3 years and it already took a dump. The motor went out. I baby my lenses & put them in manual when I'm done and go to any extreme to make sure they are taken care of so it was a total surprise to me that after only 3 years a high end lens motor would crash. On top of that it was a pretty penny to fix... $700 when in fact they first told me $400 at the highest. So yes I am not happy that when I do all I can to take care of my gear only to have it break down. I've had my L Canon lenses for over 10 years and not one problem so you make the choice.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

73 Customer Reviews

0

Lovely

SEL70200GM 04 November 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Canon switcher, using Canon lens, for the time being. This my first Sony lens...Superb! Now to sell the rest of my Canon stuff for more Sony lens. I am happy snapper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow, what a lens

SEL70200GM 23 September 2020 by Rabb54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple of months back as I had been using my Canon 70-200 f.2.8 on an MC-11 converter since moving across from Canon. Wow, what a lens. Absolutely a must have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BEST LENS EVER!

SEL70200GM 09 September 2020 by miller2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens, highly recommend for every camera owner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The boss.

SEL70200GM 24 August 2020 by chrismh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had an earlier version for use on my A77 and purchased the current model for my A7iii. Totally happy with the image and build quality. Th internal zoom keeps it well balanced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a tack and simply stunning on my A7r4

SEL70200GM 22 August 2020 by ChrisLPhoto (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to complement my FE200-600G for shooting wildlife. It's very early days with it but I'm simply blown away by how sharp it is on my A7r4. Focus is quick and it really does resolve well with 61MP. I've yet to try this with my A9 but I expect big things based on what I've seen so far. Yes, it's expensive but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Okay

SEL70200GM 15 August 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have enjoyed Sony cameras & lenses since coming from Canon. I am not happy with the quality. Anyone could agree that these lenses are priced very high... which is fine.... you get what you pay for. Thing is I've had this lens for around 3 years and it already took a dump. The motor went out. I baby my lenses & put them in manual when I'm done and go to any extreme to make sure they are taken care of so it was a total surprise to me that after only 3 years a high end lens motor would crash. On top of that it was a pretty penny to fix... $700 when in fact they first told me $400 at the highest. So yes I am not happy that when I do all I can to take care of my gear only to have it break down. I've had my L Canon lenses for over 10 years and not one problem so you make the choice.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Superb lens!

SEL70200GM/QSYX 12 July 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did not hesitate to purchase the 70-200 F2.8 GM after testing out a similar complimentary lens loan from Sony Singapore. I headed down to Marina Bay during the 'Circuit Breaker' period for a pre sunrise shoot. The AF was very fast and I was impressed with the image quality. This lens enables me to capture a black 'Covid Sky' signifying the current Coronavirus pandemic situation.

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 07 May 2020 by Shant151 (USA)

Bought this lens after using the 70-200 mm F4 and clearly there is a major difference between both lenses just in build and in weight it is INCREDIBILE I would recommend upgrading if possible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My new favorite lens

SEL70200GM 06 April 2020 by Bfrazar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it awhile now and find myself using my 100-400GM and 70-200G much less. I even prefer it with the 1.4 or 2 TC to carrying the 100-400 now. Great lens!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile Sports Lens

SEL70200GM 11 February 2020 by throdown (USA)

I bought the 70-200 about 9 months ago and am very happy I did. Very versatile when I shoot sports. I use it in combination with my 400mm and soon to be 600mm to shoot field sports. Spectacular glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Quality and Versatile Lens

SEL70200GM 09 February 2020 by dan0513 (USA)

This lens is always in my camera bag. It was the first lens I bought for my A7 M3. It's a little heavy and unwieldy to be wondering the streets of Tokyo with but the overall quality of the lens more than makes up for it. I use this lens primarily when I'm photographing company functions and intramural sports. The wider aperture helps me get great day or night, indoors or outdoors. Overall this is a phenomenal lens and worth the cost

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

awesome picture even for night street photos

SEL70200GM/QSYX 07 February 2020 by Komang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it in Jan 20 and the picture quality is quite sharp even at night.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding performing pro lens.

SEL70200GM 05 February 2020 by Impact_Images (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just swapped from Canon (which I have been using since 2000) to the Sony Alpha system. The FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS, is an exceptional lens, which produces pin sharp images in all lighting conditions and when coupled with the new Sony a9ii and the tracking focus, it has increased my action hit rate to almost 100%! It is also smaller and lighter than its rivals and so makes it much more user friendly. An excellent piece of glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Outstanding quality

SEL70200GM 01 February 2020 by Adrian39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A stunningly high quality tele photo lense that is also a 2.8! Build quality is superb, yes it weighs a lot but either use a monopod or go to the gym more fun Great feature like the filter window to allow changes while the lens hood is on is a great touch Combined with Sony a7riv in full or crop mode you won’t be disappointed And so glad it’s an internal zoom as it’s for using not displaying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens!

SEL70200GM 24 January 2020 by BigBrownBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few days ago and so far its been exactly what I have learn from research, sharp, fast focus, over all great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So sharp!

SEL70200GM 23 January 2020 by Snowboard Paul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replace the f4 version with this a month ago, and it’s noticeably better quality. It’s slightly heavier but the steady shot means you don’t miss a moment. I used it at the snowboard World Cup in laax in -12 conditions and it was amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Great focusing & sharp

SEL70200GM/QSYX 19 January 2020 by Jede1102 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in December during the Great Sony Sale at a good price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL70200GM/QSYX 18 January 2020 by alex_m (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sold my Sony 70-300 G lens for this Sony 70-200 GM and was taking great photos ever since. Paired with my A7III, I’m now taking brighter and sharper photos! The bokeh is amazing! This is now my favorite lens. Cons: - Quite heavy and after few hours of shoot my wrist hurts. - I also hoped the lens and hood has color black option since i shoot mostly for events and want to be discreet/hidden as much as possible and i still have to black gaffer tape just to conceal the very white lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Endgame

SEL70200GM/QSYX 08 January 2020 by kentleejoon (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

What else can I say, focusing speed, image quality, build quality. Top notch. On cons is the price and the sound it makes when it is turned on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect lens for all time.

SEL70200GM 26 December 2019 by Aleks Great (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very magnificent lens for all time using. 100% happy about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens...must have for Sony Alpha shooters

SEL70200GM 14 December 2019 by S_Foley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a must have for any Sony Alpha shooter...amazing piece of glass, tac sharp, super fast AF acquisition and tracking capability...you will not regret making this purchase...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL70200GM 29 November 2019 by Littleafroman97 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and really love the quality of the glass.

0

0

0

Gets the job done!

SEL70200GM 18 November 2019 by Dycus Vision Production (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is definitely a much needed piece of glass added to my arsenal! The price tag is pretty steep being that it’s not a cinema lens. When I received the lens, I used it for a couple days and then I started hearing a Lite grinding sound while focusing. I finally got in contact with Sony after so many other attempts and they quickly advised to send it in. So I’m doing that tomorrow and will hope to have my lens back soon. Overall this lens will get the job done all while rendering a very sharp image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Never leaves my camera bag

SEL70200GM 01 November 2019 by Chuck30 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Len a year ago, great Len. It never leaves my camera bag, my go to Len in the mountains

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens

SEL70200GM 03 October 2019 by Smudgie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a wedding photographer I consider this lens to be a vital piece of my kit. It is pin sharp, fast focusing and nails every image. Wide open at 2.8 it produces the perfect portrait. Also great for those candid images everyone loves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible

SEL70200GM 18 September 2019 by Cessna flyer (USA)

Twenty first century photography at its peak. Simply amazing sharpness, color and clarity. A world class optics lens. Priced at a premium beyond most,and a reason most customers will choose tamron, sigma and competitor brands. A choice, one of the best available in the photographic industry, or spend the same money as a down payment on a half acre piece of property in most communities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous lens

SEL70200GM 12 September 2019 by J Louis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens over a week ago for a trip in Tanzania, coupled with the A7rIII the resulting shots are fantastic. This lens is sharp, fast with beautiful bokeh isolating some of the subject bringing the images to life. Videos also comes out great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

STUNNING

SEL70200GM 11 September 2019 by Wilkinson110501 (United Kingdom)

First day I got it I used it for a horse show and wow! It is a beautiful lens that created beautiful images! If you've got the money, buy it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very easy to compose and fantastic for portrait

SEL70200GM/QSYX 17 August 2019 by jongboo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just used this lens twice. The second time, I was using it to shoot protraits at [Journey to Greatness] Portrait Photography Workshop. It is not heavy for me and the photographs all turned out very good without tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice features

SEL70200GM 11 July 2019 by Rick_J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have read many articles and forum articles about this lens and I couldn't wait to get it. Now that I've had a chance to use it I am real pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL70200GM 11 June 2019 by Topshotfoto (United Kingdom)

I have owned versions of both the Canon and Nikon 70-200 f2.8 lenses previously, but I jumped ship to Sony last year in an attempt to decrease the weight of equipment I lug around airshows. This lens is not significantly lighter than the above and it carries a price premium. The easy answer would have been to go for the Sony 70-200 F4 but I admit to being a "pixel peeper" and my 100-400 GM Sony lens is so sharp I decided to pull the trigger on the 70-200mm F2.8 GM. In the month since purchasing it I have used it in different situations and bravely in light rain! I am genuinely impressed with the sharpness of this lens. The central areas are stunningly sharp at all normal apertures and the edges likewise once shut down to F4. It is expensive but if I had bought a different lens I know I would always have regretted not paying the extra for the sharpness. I was tempted to only give four stars due to the cost but decided I was reviewing the lens not the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

A7III Perfect Mate

SEL70200GM 05 June 2019 by Edofcle (USA)

Perfect for most shoots. If you're a wedding photographer, you need this in your bag!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Item is great, sharp and quick focus,

SEL70200GM/QSYX 02 June 2019 by Xylvis (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago, item is sharp and quick focus, but came with cosmetic defect, paint peeling near the zoom ring circle, because lens is white, the paint peel became obvious, disappointed because I spend $3200 to buy a brand new lens that came with a scar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL70200GM 13 May 2019 by ianwatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant quality paired with my A7R3, it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best lens ever!!

SEL70200GM 08 May 2019 by Bob Brooks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply the sharpest lens I have ever used. It is a must have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i have to give 3 stars,i will recommend 135GM

SEL70200GM/QSYX 29 April 2019 by JackiePanSingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

As i mentioned in another review, if i bought 70-200Gm alone, then this lens is very good, sharp, fast AF and many good features. Because i bought 135GM together, this 70-200GM have to put its head down, bow to 135GM. After all, it is SONY initial GM products, can't be compared with prime lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony FE 70-200 mm F2.8 GM OSS

SEL70200GM 08 April 2019 by Eagles41 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Other than the weight it is a superb lens and IQ wise compares well with the fixed focal length lenses I own.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sony 70-200GM For Equine Photography

SEL70200GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the 70-200GM for a year now for the majority of my equine work, it produces stunning images and it's auto focus on the A7lll, A9 & A7Rlll is a joy to use and just gets the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good lens rather expensive

SEL70200GM 19 February 2019 by BGeeGee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the lens extensively. It is very sharp and focusses fairly quickly. I've tried using the Canon 70 200 2.8 with an adapter, really not worth it if you want reliable autofocus. The Sony lens is rather overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Good quality...£800 overpriced

SEL70200GM 10 February 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent lens. Good image quality. Comparing to my old Nikon glass I’d say this should be a 1500-1700 lens. Does not feel as solid and weather sealed. Mount is not as solid. Don’t get me wrong great lens for system just overpriced for overall build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL70200GM 23 January 2019 by Bonekicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned several zoom lens over my long years and not found one of them to be any good--until now--I changed from Fuji to Sony mirrorless system and just recently bought this FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS lens-- the range is perfect for me and Quality as got to be seen to believe--Just Stunning Results 10/10 -5Star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth every penny!

SEL70200GM 10 January 2019 by 1slandgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this lens mainly for sports photography and it is just about perfect. It is fast, pin sharp, well balanced and I particularly like the 'internal' zoom, which keeps the lens balanced across the 70-200mm reach. Being able to zoom the full range in a single wrist action makes this lens perfect for shooting under poor conditions and using a rain cover. I have a number of Zeiss and G-Master Sony lenses (55mm, 90mm 24-70mm etc.) so I am used to quality glass but this is quite possibly the best! Very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Unlock your photos

SEL70200GM 03 January 2019 by JohnandSue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I hesitated buying this lens ever since I moved to Sony mirrorless but took the plunge recently. The lens is fantastic. Its so fast and accurate and brings even the most lifeless pictures to life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL70200GM 31 December 2018 by Rnevert1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is sharp at all apertures. I am very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens even in Low light shooting

SEL70200GM/QSYX 08 December 2018 by Ycpaul (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy to get this lens with 2 x tele converter . I had may great shot seen I am just a beginner

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Durability and quality

SEL70200GM/QSYX 12 November 2018 by Edmund 1 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens perform well with a7 series camera. Image sharpness ok. But, the quality build of this lens externality and internally are questionable.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Superb!

SEL70200GM 11 November 2018 by jmthomas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp, fast, a bit heavy but stout. Upgraded from the 4.0 and the sharpness, contrast and and colors are such an improvement. Granted so is the price but a much needed tool for the working professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty much perfect

SEL70200GM 22 October 2018 by Designic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After experimenting with using Zeiss Batis primes (which are superb, no complaints) as an alternative, I ended up getting the Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS instead. It's like having a bag full of prime lenses. Yes, it is big and heavy, but for an event photographer like me, it makes perfect sense. I have previously owned the Can and Nikon equivalent lenses, both excellent, but this Sony lens is next level. The only thing I'd change in the colour of the barrel - it makes it very conspicuous compared to the all black of Nikon's lens. But overall, this lens is pretty much Perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 05 October 2018 by Empathphotographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing it is so sharp ! Love the f 2.8 ! Really easy to fill frame and it is stylish!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High Quaility Product

SEL70200GM/QSYX 01 July 2018 by Win Myo Htwe (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is very sharp and amazing quaility give me. I am so happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 25 June 2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens just over two months ago, I'm in love with this lens. Sure, it's a really heavy, so if you look for a light weight lens, this is Not for you and it's Ridiculous Expensive, Sony really need to review it's price, it's way above competition, but the Quality, it's amazing, it's Crazy Sharp, the AF it's a dream, works really well and fast and the Hold Buttons, man, I can't see my self without anymore, when I get my 24-70 GM I really miss the three buttons that my 7-200 has it. I highly recommend this lens if you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very intuitive

SEL70200GM 24 May 2018 by buja (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in 01/29/2018 and have been happy since. The screws on the lens mount were loose, and I had to tighten them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 70-200 f2.8 ((My prefered Lens)

SEL70200GM 23 May 2018 by Amanjain (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought month ago I love using it . Go and buy if you can ?? ..,,.sorry.... tooo expensive toooo goood

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Very sharp, wonderful build quality.

SEL70200GM/QSYX 14 May 2018  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 2 months ago and just took it for casual shoot at the beach two ago. Was very happy with the build, fast focus and sharpness. Works well wonderfully with my A7R3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

amazing shallow depth of field and beautiful bokeh

SEL70200GM/QSYX 11 May 2018 by michael997turbo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 4 months ago as my first tele zoom lens for the new A7r III and it blew me away. It costs a lot, but also delivers beautiful results. In terms of build quality it also beats the competitors and I understand it belongs to every pro selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Takes great pics

SEL70200GM 25 April 2018 by wss25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a few weeks now and very impressed with quality of pics being taken. however, the zoom ring is loose compared to the 24-70 mm F2.8 gm, on the 24-70 the zoom is where you have to actually turn it to move it while on the 70-200 you can accidentally bump it and it will move with no effort. I don't know which one is correct but I prefer the tighter ring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent optics

SEL70200GM 28 February 2018 by David1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to go with 16-35 and 24-70 GM lenses and specifically wanted excellent optical quality on an A7Riii and it doesn't disappoint. I also wanted excellent autofocus. I haven't had a chance to test this fully yet but it looks promising so far. The only matter that has put me off slightly was a LensRentals strip down of the lens that shows a comparatively soft metal joining ring at the centre of the lens construction and I imagined the lens splitting in half! I waited three months to see whether any reports of this happening before buying and there don't appear to be any such reports, so went ahead with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The best 70-200

SEL70200GM 21 February 2018 by Paulinfocus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned and used 70-200f2.8 lenses from all the major manufacturers but the Sony version is the best. Coupled with my a7r3 the results are nothing short of spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Diminishing enthusiasm

SEL70200GM 16 January 2018 by Mike in ANC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial impressions very high in first weeks of use. Found out the hard way that the manual focus ring will override all auto focus setting selections, i.e. on lens and in camera. This has a negative impact when inadvertent rotation during action sports causes out of focus images. Customer support suggests this is part of lens design which is indifferent performance of my Sony FE 2.8/24-70 GM (SEL2470GM), where the manual focus ring is isolated when in "AF". Lens was used in manual focus once since new for landscape stills.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

20

0

Lovely piece of kit

SEL70200GM 16 January 2018 by Spotteddog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a job and I wasn’t disappointed, focusing was quick and precise and the images were great. Love using it with my new So y A9 R II

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL70200GM/QSYX 21 December 2017 by yeshwanth (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this lens for a month now & it's very fantastic piece of glass..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only buy the best

SEL70200GM 15 December 2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only buy the best The G master is a great lens but expensive not quite as sharp with the teleconverters on but overall great lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Outstanding product

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens approximately 6 months ago and have used it on numerous occasions with my Alpha A9, main reason I bought the A9 and this lens was the weight, compared with the Canon 1DX and the Canon 70 to 200 its an excellent lens in all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lighning speed autofocus

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by dynot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product that suits my photographic needs perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp and Fast!

SEL70200GM/QSYX 13 November 2017 by LandofSnow (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is sharp and fast. It outperforms many FE-mount prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL70200GM 30 August 2017 by MPount (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've done a few shoots with this lens so far, attached to the A7RII, fast AF producing clear, pin sharp images in low light conditions. Amazing lens, expensive, heavy but Great Quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Super sharp !

SEL70200GM 21 July 2017 by MPics (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Expensive but top quality and can focus on moving subjects, delivers on all counts !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Love the small window on the lens hood

SEL70200GM/QSYX 28 June 2017  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can now attach lens hood all day even I need to PL filter on it allow me to fine tune my end result .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

White Wonder

SEL70200GM 14 May 2017 by kensom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hardware - Sony FE 70-200 2.8 GM OSS and A7R2. Stunning results and coming from the Nikon (almost) equivalents! Colours, bokeh, sharpness and I am just speechless at how this combo performs. Nothing in this range of equipment, no matter what brand, can compare. Every penny spent on this lens will be repaid in your satisfaction at the end of the day. As they say; 'Forget the rest, buy the best' - and it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Amazing lens.

SEL70200GM 12 May 2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing sharp, great colours. Only hitch for me is that the tripod mount isn't completely removable collar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Stupendous!

SEL70200GM 02 May 2017 by aorobert (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exceeds my wildest dreams. I have shot all the best lenses, this one tops them all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

A Great Lens

SEL70200GM 19 April 2017 by Freddyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this lens for a week but already I've had some amazing results using it on my A7RMk2 !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2