72

3.6 based on 72 customer reviews

31
14
6
10
11
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

73 Customer Reviews

0

Crystal clear

WI-1000X 24 June 2019 by Jack1640 (United Kingdom)

I purchsed these head phones a week ago on the recommendations of a friend. I must say there the best clearest head phones i ve ever owned. Listening to old albums brings out sounds id never hear before.. highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not reliable design for Sony WI-1000X headset

WI-1000X 19 June 2019  (USA)

only use 8 month, Sony WI-1000X already detach, can't charge and turn-on unless I stick it with tape. And warranty sucks, it is design issue.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Best earphones I have every bought!

WI-1000X 19 June 2019 by FreyCL (United Kingdom)

I bought these earphones whilst I was in hospital as I knew I was going to be in for a while and I was in a bay! All I can say is the noise cancelling feature saved me from going mad!! The level of noise that it blocked out shocked me, I wore them all night and most of the day! The quality of the sound is brilliant, crisp and clear! The app is really good and easy to use. I would 100% recommend these to anyone whether you are looking for noise cancelling or not because you won’t regret it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

noise cancelling very poor

WI-1000X 08 June 2019 by jackthelad (United Kingdom)

I must say that I'm really disappointed with the noise cancelling performance of these headphones. I have owned much cheaper noise cancelling headphones than these with far better performance, in fact i'm not even sure that the noise cancelling feature on this product is even working! Somy suggestion is buy something that does actually cancel ambient noise. regards alan

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PC USB Required for Charging

WI-1000X 05 June 2019 by DonD1 (USA)

I did a thorough online review and decided to buy two of these, one for my wife and one for me. We both travel extensively, but seldom with our computers. I was excited to try them when they arrived, but much to my dismay the instructions say they must be charged with a USB cable connected to a pc. Why not provide an adapter or set them to charge with my smart phone adapter? I'd try that, but am afraid I might ruin them. And the specs don't show the charging requirements for amps and volts - just must use a pc! It amazes me that I haven't seen this requirement anywhere except in the instructions. I'm hoping someone can tell me I'm wrong so I don't have to return these. From the reviews, they seem like exactly what I'm looking for. I'd love to change this to 5 stars. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Excellent product

WI-1000X/BM E 20 May 2019 by Loo47 (Singapore)

Excellent product. However, auto change of noise cancellations mode react too slowly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound.

WI-1000X 17 May 2019 by JayRay (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago and have been using them non stop, the sound is absolutely amazing, awesome bass and the app is great too. Well worth the cost. I would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

so so

WI-1000X 03 May 2019 by me27 (United Kingdom)

I bought it off line, I currently live in China. I am disappointed that the language is in Chinese and I cant change it to English. Also the ear buds are not big enough for my ears.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Quality sound anywhere

WI-1000X 25 April 2019 by greycode (United Kingdom)

Bought these at Schiphol airport. Charged them on the plane and watched an in-flight movie using these for sound. Fantastic sound and the noise cancelling reduced the aircraft noise to unnoticeable. I use them at work when I need to cut out general office noise to concentrate and get into the coding 'zone' (I am a computer programmer). No music, just noise cancelling. And I use them at the hotel bar to cut out a lot of the ambient noise or to listen to some music of my choice. And I use them when on my own for listening to music or an audio book. They are very comfortable, you can forget they are round your neck sometimes, and there is no chance of the ear pieces falling out and losing them, which is a big worry (for me anyway) with seperate blue tooth ear buds. The phone app gives so many configuration options for setting the sound and the noise cancelling even to setting spatial delivery (where you want the sound to appear in your head).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

More volume. I couldn't use them on the plane.

WI-1000X 17 April 2019 by Luscious (USA)

I bought these mainly to wear on the plane. Delta comfort+. I turned them all the way up and was unable to listen to my dowloaded movies. Noise cancelling doesn't work very well. Sorry I bought them. Head phones might work better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointed - Unusable for calls

WI-1000X 09 April 2019 by sprabhu (USA)

I had heard such great stories about this model and bought it. Really bad decision. I just cant use it for calls. The person on the other end can hardly hear me. It has all fancy features but doesnt serve the basic purpose of making a normal call. The complains are that it echoes, cant hear, not clear at all, voice very low... It so frustrating. I invested so much in this model.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic sound, good noise cancelling

WI-1000X 02 April 2019 by Amplion (United Kingdom)

I've been using these for just over a week now and am delighted. Like anyone investing in a pair of noise cancelling headphones, I did my homework, and decided on these over the nearest Bose equivalent for three reasons: price, build quality (a common complaint about the Bose QC30s) and a USB to 3.5mm audio jack connector which allows you to use them when the battery runs down or on an aeroplane, say. I bought them primarily for the noise cancelling feature, and didn't play music through them at all for a couple of days - but when I did, I was greatly impressed. Listening to a lot of 1950s jazz as I do, I can't say much for what modern music sounds like, but the overall clarity and bass with a small combo or big band is impressive, and they have a fair bit of power. The effectiveness of noise cancelling is always subjective, and a pair of over-ear headphones will always do more to block sound than an in-ear pair, but I've been impressed with how it works. Don't expect total silence, but it does a lot to cancel low rumbling and droning (bus engines, clothes driers, jet engine) while allow higher intermittent frequencies - a flight attendant asking if you'd like a drink, say - through. The ambient noise feature is handy too if you want to hear what's going on without removing your headphones. Battery life has been good - easily eight hours on the go, more if you switch off the noise cancelling feature and rely only on Bluetooth - and while charging by micro USB isn't going to set the world on fire, it's not too shabby. They feel solid enough and comfortable to wear. All in all, a very pleasing bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

They Brand tell it's all

WI-1000X/BM E 31 March 2019 by KBNg (Singapore)

It's a great Product with great Sound Performance & it Feature that You love

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing-almost unusable for business use

WI-1000X 26 March 2019 by 42Niner18 (USA)

I did some research before buying this In-ear headphone set and have bought the Sony instead of the Bose. Very bad decision. Noise canceling is almost not existent. The headphones are constantly dropping out of the ears, unless you use glue to keep them in place. Microphone quality is really, really bad. When talking to people while driving in a car, the peer does not understand a single word. I want my money back. Seriously, Sony, why are you selling the worst headphone set ever designed and charge more than € 250,00 for that product? I usually don’t write reviews at all, but I would have loved some warning from other buyers before making that stupid investment. So, here we go. Don’t buy these headphones!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

Good - if they fit.

WI-1000X 16 February 2019 by BrianExCIS (United Kingdom)

These earphones provide good active noise cancelling and quality sound but are hampered by the limited size of the ear buds. Although 7 pairs are provided, the size of the largest ones is too small, with the result that external sound reaches the ears via the gap between the earphones and the ears. This is a shame because otherwise they are very good, and can be used with both Android and Apple devices

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but Flawed

WI-1000X 07 February 2019 by ukdoodlebug (United Kingdom)

The ‘phones perform very well but if I actually followed Sony’s charging instructions they would be unusable whenever I’m out of the home and/or on holiday.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Comfortable and light

WI-1000X 06 February 2019 by Andreas43 (United Kingdom)

Nice, lightweight, great app and convenient but fails to deliver in noisy airplane environments. Noise Cancelling is just ok, and it doesn’t get loud enough, so quiet dialogues in films are sometimes hard to hear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound and features

WI-1000X 09 January 2019 by Eddie24 (USA)

The sound quality, noise cancellation, and features are great! LDAC is amazing on Android smartphones. NFC pairing is easy. Sadly the dark paint on the stainless steel neckband is already chipping off! I've only had them for a month.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bass

WI-1000X 08 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very happy bought it 3 weeks ago although volume could be louder

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 06 January 2019 by Sparks27 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with these headphones, build and sound quality are excellent. I was unsure about the collar design originally but the convenience of access to controls and being able to put them in and out so easily with the short wires and always having them to hand is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does not work very well

WI-1000X 20 December 2018  (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Left air bud produces NO SOUND and now I get a buzzing noise when connected to a call

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

One major flaw with missing PS4 compatibility.

WI-1000X 20 December 2018 by Shamurai (USA)

These things are great! Good (not excellent) cancelling but about as good as you’ll get with an ear bud. The battery life could be better (won’t last on a long international trip but did happily take me from SF to Taiwan. No ALAC support. BUT the main problem I have is that this top of the line Sony headset won’t pair with a PS4 Pro! Says it’s not a supported device while trying to connect. Really!?!? Come on Sony, it’s your device! You have to tether it to the controller which is annoying at best.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality

WI-1000X 16 December 2018 by PhoneDoctor (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my old broken SBH-80s. The sound quality is to please even the mos picky audio file, they stay put round my neck (the SBH-80s kept on falling off), the NC is not as great as my Bose QC25i 's one but is very effective and not having the wire and the huge control box of the Bose is way better. The Ambient ON thing is not that great and not making much of a difference hearing voices while listening to music...I still have to take one earbud off to hear what someones has to say, so I don't use it (save on battery consumption too). The battery life is very good if I don't use NC or Ambient ON and fair when NC is on. Buying at a Black Friday offer price from ebay Curry's PC World I could not have asked for a better deal. Overall this set beats all 2018 in ear wireless NC headphones I believe (except possibly for some very expensive exotic sets that I am not even familiar with).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great headset ever

WI-1000X/BM E 15 December 2018 by James13 (Singapore)

It becomes my daily necessities! Love it so much!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

WI-1000X 08 December 2018 by Splendid Alex (United Kingdom)

These are great sounding headphones, clear and with good noise cancelling. They come with useful cables and a carrying pouch and a good range of earbuds tips. The battery life is really good. LDAC connection on Android Oreo gives great sound, but works fine with loads of other codecs. Connection range is good. Niggles: Google assistant often cuts out before it finishes speaking. With assistant enabled you lose the ability to change the noise cancelling mode from the headphones. The Android app for Sony headphones is feature rich but a bit clunky. Though easy to connect, it can't pair with two devices quite as easily as I'd like, you have to fiddle with settings each time. No windows settings app. The mic picks up a lot of noise if you're eg. outside by a busy road. These are all small issues for me though, overall I would highly recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good idea but can't get earbud to stay in ear

WI-1000X 05 December 2018 by BlakeDale (United Kingdom)

I really like this but the earbuds are too big for my ear. I didn't have the small ones that usually come in the package unfortunately and don't know where to buy them. Otherwise, an excellent product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound, excellent noise cancelling, portable

WI-1000X 02 December 2018 by YZ47 (United Kingdom)

Bought these after reading many reviews and was not disappointed, the sound is fantastic especially from such a compact headphones. Noise cancelling is effective, togeter with compact size and portability make them especially good for travelling. Just one possibly improvement is to use memory foam tips which do improve sound insulation and comfort

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed!!

WI-1000X 22 November 2018 by MrPauly (United Kingdom)

I’d read many reviews & purchased at a great price in John Lewis, however I’ve decided to take them back as they are not fit for purpose from my perspective. No matter which of the 5 in-ear pieces I try or combinations I can not get a snug fit and consequently the left ear piece constantly works lose or falls out and the right side the same but less so. I have owned other manufactures in the past and not had the same issue and as I direct comparison to Bose in ear noise cancelling headphones the Sony, whilst less expensive is less comfortable and does not come close in terms of the noise cancelling. Sony have an App to allow the tweaking of settings but it’s not hugely effective, more of a gimmick than an aid.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

NC has annoying low frequency hum without input

WI-1000X 21 November 2018 by yoginero (USA)

Noise cancellation has persistent low frequency hum into my right ear, that only stops when music is being played. You can tolerate it if you are outside on the street, but indoors, I cannot keep the Noise cancellation on or I'll get dizzy. When classic music plays at low volume, it keeps toggling between quiet and humming many times within a few seconds. Noise cancellation has a problem when there is low volume input and it's very annoying. I updated the headphone firmware as suggested, but no improvement, possibly worse.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Bad Mic, died after 6 month. But still good sound.

WI-1000X 15 November 2018 by Kirill D (USA)

TL;DR Buying premium headset doesn't mean premium design and long-time reliability which you usually expect from expensive headset. I've bought my pair in April 2018 from flagship store in EU. I've read about charging issues so I only carefully charged them from my MacBook. But here we are, mine WI-1000X died after 6 month. Pros: + Great sound and fairly clear sound for that price pair of headset. + Good ANC. + Fairly convenient neckband design and overall better materials quality in comparison to rubber parts at Bose QC30 after 6 month of use (pah!). Cons: - Critical. Both mics are in-ear and while they do a good job in ANC-mode, they are poor on call-mode. In that case ones need to keep one plugged into ear, and one tucked into neckband or hold it in front of your mouth when speaking. It makes you look ridiculous with a premium headset for that price. And your listener can barely hear you. Even 5$ pair of Apple headset with a mic over chest is doing better on mic recording. - Charging issues. A lot of people complain about it. Mine died after 6 month of gentle use and proper charge. - Connectivity. Paired mine with MacBook, iPhone and iPad. I usually switch between those 3 devices during the day. It often shows WI-1000X is paired and connected when in fact you need to tap on connect again. Or choose 'forget device' and pair headset again. - Battery holds 6-7hr at mid volume and ANC. Still enough for 1 day but you had to recharge it quite often in comparison to other 100$+ no-ANC neckband headsets. - Earplug's embouchures tends to disassemble and get lost when tucked into neckband (when accidentally hooked by topwear, scarf or backpack's strap). Good news there are +7 exchangeable pairs of embouchures within a box. Bad news – you can't purchase a spare one. - Anodized engraved metal part with Sony logo at the back is easily scratched by headrest at office chair or transport. Still better than QC30. - Mini-USB cap is weak, easy to tear. What could be better for that price: • Additional Mic built-in into neckband and/or Bi-DIRECTIONAL Mics built-in into earplugs. Otherwise there is no need for Mic at all for that price. • 3+ year warranty • x2 Battery life and/or cordless charge. • Wind-proof barrier for earplug. Wind sound in ear could be annoying when driving a bike. • Splash-proof design (rain-proof). • Spare earplug's embouchures available for buying. Not sure if I will ever pay that much for professional headset from Sony. I expect a way better design and build quality for earplugs that expensive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Dissapointing headset function

WI-1000X 14 November 2018 by FRD89 (USA)

I bought this over a month ago, and it is really really dissapointing the headset function (mic. quality). Sony service rep. told me that that is normal for them, a design flaw. Unbelivable for an expensive Sony headset.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Forgot how terrible Sony can be

WI-1000X 07 November 2018 by Foolmeonce (USA)

Bought on impulse 8 months ago. Sound ok, noise cancelling useless, microphone unusable and blinking lights can't be turned off which is surper annoying at night. My fault for buying a Sony, going back to Bose

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great sound let down by poor in-call microphone

WI-1000X 28 October 2018 by FredBC (United Kingdom)

I have been more than impressed with the sound quality and noise cancelling of my new Sony’s. The rub, however, is that I needed something for both business and pleasure. the ability if the microphones to pick up my voice when in a call is poor, and people really battle to hear me. The current solution is to remove one earpiece and hold the mic closer to my mouth, but then that is not hands-free. My Bose QC 35 delivers a much better in-call experience. The Sony’s just need an engineering design review - find a position for a dedicated call mic on the neckband and then they will be perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

cheap

WI-1000X 26 October 2018 by ralexander (USA)

They suck and the warranty sucks! Will not buy any more Sony products.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

sub par microphone and blue tooth connection

WI-1000X 24 October 2018 by zsiberian (USA)

I'm on the phone constantly, switched to this set from Plantronics over-the-ear

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Give Bose a run for their money!

WI-1000X 22 October 2018 by SozzleChopper (United Kingdom)

These have a great feature where it can auto detect the noise and change the level of noise reduction required based on this making desk conf calls in an open (noisy) environment not sick a bad thing anymore. No more looking for a quiet zone to have that conversation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Headphones

WI-1000X 16 October 2018 by Mickie69 (United Kingdom)

I never expected in-ear headphones to sound so great. These have everything one needs - bluetooth connectivity, noise cancelling, ambient sound, wired option and airplane connector option. Use as standard headphones, or noise cancelling or wireless with/without noise cancelling. The Sony headphone app opens up a whole new world of experience. Music has never sounded this good. The noise cancelling is good enough to help when using a vacuum cleaner. I look forward to my next flight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent sound quality and battery life

WI-1000X 23 September 2018  (USA)

Yes, they are pricey, but the sound quality and battery life are truly excellent. The build quality is very good. Noise cancellation works very well but it's, of course, important that the earbuds are inserted tightly into the ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall excellent

WI-1000X 23 September 2018 by Xrd8d (United Kingdom)

Compact, practical for light travellers. Excellent noise cancelling. Bluetooth works great with my S8+. My current concern is the flashing noice cancelling button. I can't figure out to turn off the flashing light when the NC is off. Not a big problem. I still would like to get this solved. Overall a absolute great product. Make sure you choose the right ear buds for optimal quality. There are plenty to choose from. For future version I'd like to see a wireless charging solution. Sony, you did great. Over and out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in-ear headset

WI-1000X 13 September 2018 by Kevlah (United Kingdom)

I originally bought the BOSE QC30 as I the Sony Wi 1000x was out of stock. After returning 2 sets of these, due to the microphone being to noisy for people to listen to calls, I decided to go back to Sony. The WI 1000x was almost £50 cheaper than the BOSE but more importantly worked exactly as I wanted it to. The music quality is great, and although I have heard better noise cancelling on over ear headphones it fits the purpose for these headsets. The call handling and quality is excellent and the Google Assistant feture being able to read notifications is very handy. Very comfortable to wear and seems a strong enough design. So very happy with the change of mind, I would definitely recommend these headsets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Battery very long lasting

WI-1000X 09 September 2018 by Roy91 (United Kingdom)

I fully charged once for over 3 hours and it lasted for more then a week by using for just an hour each day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing sound..a bit too pricey

WI-1000X 22 August 2018 by Humanity (United Kingdom)

Amazing sound and features, best headphones so far...a bit on the pricier side

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What's Not To Love?

WI-1000X 17 August 2018 by pjkelsey1 (USA)

SOUND: Outstanding. I did not expect the level of customization that the associated app gives you. After some playing around with different settings these now sound as good (or better) than all the other headphones I've tried. NR: Very good. Effectively kills outside noise (airplane, traffic, office background) to the point you can forget where you are with your eyes closed. I like the ability to adjust the ambient noise filter so I can easily hear voices without having to take them off. For those of you who've never had NC-ear buds before, it's very important to try all of the different sized buds that are included to find the right fit. If you don't use the right set, the NR's effectiveness can be seriously impaired, or negated completely. COMFORT: Outstanding. Once I decided on the right size bud to use, I wore them on a 5 hour flight non-stop and didn't get any of the "ear fatigue" other ear-buds gave me. BATTERY LIFE: As advertised. No problem getting a full 10 hours with the NR on. Haven't had a chance yet to see how long they'd go with the NR off. Charging time seems to average around 1 1/2 hours. CARRYING CASE: This is the only negative I've found. With the associated price tag for these, I'd wish they could upgrade it to a solid case. The loose, floppy nylon bag is an unfortunate add on. For travelling I'm worried these could be damaged too easily if in a carry-on. Would be nice if they could at least offer the option of upgrading to something more solid. DURABILITY: I can't speak to this yet as I've only had them a couple of months. Hopefully the negative things in some of the other reviews are one-offs. ADD-ONS: The app is outstanding. Easy to use and really gives the headphones a level of customization lacking from other high-price ear buds. Also love having the 3.5 mm cord included, especially when flying, don't have to use the airline's cheapo's to watch a movie. OVERALL: I love these, they do everything I had expected and more. I definitely feel I've gotten my money's worth (this, of course, is based on the expectation of more than 5 months problem free). However, I'll still put in my request for a hard storage case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Missed the mark for this frequent flyer

WI-1000X 16 August 2018 by PLShutterbug (USA)

Bought at a Best Buy last night and returned this evening. I currently own a competitor’s wired in-ear NC buds and want to go wireless. Wires get tangled in blankets and seatbelts, they jerk if you move the wrong way, etc. In 2018 we should have great wireless options. Not here ... after purchasing and trying different “fixes” I found online I’ve been told by a Sony support rep that these ‘phones require either an active BT connection or a wire connected to source, or they turn off after five minutes. Other Sony headphones share the same “feature.” Please, Sony, realize that this is not desirable! The rep said they do this to save battery ... I just want a wireless solution that cancels jet engine noise whether I’m listening to something or merely want to close my eyes and enjoy silence, and I don’t want to have to drain my phone’s battery with a needless BT connection to do so. I will take responsibility for battery management, ok? You just give me a headphone that keeps out the noise.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

7

7

0

Loved them until left side died after 8 months.

WI-1000X 27 July 2018 by mark508 (USA)

I bought this in November 2017 and 8 Months of light usage at an office desk and the left side has just died. I split my time using these and the 1000xm2. I usually love my sony products but this has been a HUGE disappointment considering the cost. I don't sweat on them, i don't abuse them, I don't even use them everyday. These should've lasted YEARS. It'll make me think more twice before ever dropping this kind of money on a Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Excellent sound great comfortability!

WI-1000X 11 July 2018 by Mark44444 (USA)

Got this headphones 3 months ago in Japan and never regretted my choice! I had owned alot of headphones because im very particular with how sound is delivered but this is the best i had so far compared to more pricier headphones I have tried. What i dont only like a about it is its travel pouch which is only a sack that doesn't protect it from bending. They should have made a hard case for traveling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Headphones

WI-1000X 09 July 2018 by SteveDux (United Kingdom)

I've had these for around a month and after a few changes on the app these are now brilliant. Great look, sound and feel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

DO NOT BUY - MINE DIED AFTER JUST 7 MONTHS

WI-1000X 09 July 2018 by foodie561 (USA)

The quality of these headphones is just aweful. I bought mine from Best Buy on November 24, 2017 and they have been used sparingly as I mainly used my Bose QC35. Today, July 8, 2018, these headphones just died during use without any warning. I could no longer power them on or charge them. Neither resetting nor restoring factory setting work. They are just totally, completely dead!!! I guess that's the reason why Sony only offers 90 days warranty on them - they aren't supposed to last much longer than 90 days. I should probably consider myself lucky for getting 7 months of sparing use out of them. I am horrified by the poor quality of these headphones and will not be buying any Sony product in the foreseeable future.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Disappointed

WI-1000X 30 June 2018 by CantTalk2018 (USA)

Spent twice the money and they work great for music and noise cancelling however call quality is bad! I can hear them but they hear everything around me, while I sound muffled and low. I miss my LGs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

0

Good quality Headphones

WI-1000X 21 June 2018 by Kiwi cd (United Kingdom)

Great sound and noise cancelling. Probably the best on the market for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great quality sound

WI-1000X 09 June 2018 by Northernren (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago to replace in ear wired bose noise cancelling headphones. I am pleased I did. The quality of the sound coupled with the freedom of not having to be tied to the device by wires is great. I like that you can change the ambient settings so when I'm in the noisy office I can put these on and concentrate on my work. When I leave to commute I like that it still keeps you alert to your surroundings. The battery life is good as well I probably charge every 2 days with all day usage

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality

WI-1000X 08 June 2018 by shafiek (United Kingdom)

Either Bose QC30 or Sony 1000X..i have QC35.I have no regret every time when i put my Sony in it's a great experience full sound low /high all very clear and present. And the Noise cancellation is amazingly good. Very surprising as i am used to Bose. There so many useful features that i have not 1sec regret. Well done Sony..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent NC for In Ear headphones

WI-1000X 30 April 2018 by DavidBlaney1984 (United Kingdom)

These sound amazing and the noise cancelling works excellently! Okay, it’s not to the standard of the over ear model but these are small in ear buds; better than any other competitor easily!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very nice headphones

WI-1000X 28 April 2018 by Wille396 (United Kingdom)

The best headphones I ever had. Great sound. Perfect fit. Noise reduction is very good, however there is a slight noise when there is no music playing. That is why I can give only 4 stars. I hope Sony makes a update to salve this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good, not great - a couple issues

WI-1000X 23 April 2018 by Michael 8888 (USA)

I have had these for a couple months now and am a very heavy user. Quick disclaimer: I was a Bose user for several years, most recently using the Bose wireless noise cancelling ear buds, which is equivalent to this product. I stopped using the Bose because they simply stopped working - multiple times. The good: I find the sound quality very good for listening to music. The battery life is amazing. I don't know if I make it 10 hours or not, but I think it's very close to that. The not great: These ear buds are not all that comfortable. Listening for long stretches begins to irritate my ears, and they don't stay in very well. The noise cancellation is just ok. Here's my ultra scientific evidence: I have a white noise maker next to my bed, and another in the hall. With the Bose, I could not be certain that either noise maker was turned on. With these, I still hear the noise pretty well, although at a reduced level. Auto shut-off: On a regular basis I forget to turn off my earbuds only to come back hours later and find that they had been on the whole time. I use the app to set the "Standby with power saving" set to "on" but it still happens.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Fairly good product

WI-1000X 15 April 2018 by Magnus10000 (United Kingdom)

I recommend it for office and listening to music. Not ideal for working out or sports. Points of improvement: to be able to connect it to devices simultaneously, better battery, to be able to use it while charging.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Quality Neckbuds

WI-1000X 10 April 2018 by JxxB (United Kingdom)

They could be classed as ‘expensive’, but then, you tend to get what you pay for. These are a quality product. The neck band is very comfortable and hardly noticeable, as is the fit in the ears. They are easy to connect via Bluetooth and can also be used via a wired connection. The sound quality is excellent, and they have various really good noise cancelling settings. The app works very well and can be used to make many adjustments to the sound, the sound direction and noise cancelling settings. Battery life is very good. Overall, for me, they are well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Unbelievable

WI-1000X 28 March 2018 by Yournicknameruleisdumb (USA)

I am wearing them right now in a noisy work environment. Streaming Alison Balsom's Royal Music of Purcell and Handel. I can hear the bows of the background strings making contact,. Its unbelievable! Worth every penny. Went straight to Van Halen Unchained. I'm beyond impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very Impressed!

WI-1000X 24 March 2018 by mmp1953 (USA)

I'm very impressed with the sound quality of these earbuds. I've just listened briefly and still trying to get used to the ear buds but there's no question about how open and spacious these headphones sound. Once again another product that just let's the music come through. I ordered the WH-900 and they're charging right now, I can hardly wait to listen to music through those. I also have quite a few cans and wireless cans earbuds, from Plantronics BB Pro 2 to Bowers & Wilkens PX to Audio Technica's pure digital. The earbuds I have are just too many to list. I love the evolving technology and having access to so many great products. I'm really impressed with the WI-1000X. I haven't even played with all the options these have, noise canceling and sound shaping. Wow...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fantastic bluetooth headphones

WI-1000X 02 March 2018 by SeanMon (United Kingdom)

These were for using at work and I wanted wireless to avoid cable getting in the way on my desk. So glad I got these as a gift as they are stunningly good. Sound quality is great as I listen to a lot of lossless and hi-res music. Don't notice the band on your neck and its really handy to be able to pause sound so quickly using the buttons. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bluetooth not always working

WI-1000X 28 February 2018 by Kjell01 (United Kingdom)

I am not able to connect the 1000X with a new Sony TV 43X8305C. Strange.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1