FE 24mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

20

4.6 based on 20 customer reviews

18
0
0
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

20 Customer Reviews

0

Best investment

SEL24F14GM 08 August 2019 by kenny2000 (USA)

G Master lenses are expensive but rightly so. This beast is sharp and extremely lightweight so travel and walk-arounds is less stressful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Astrophotography Use

SEL24F14GM 27 July 2019 by gpsranger (United Kingdom)

Used for astrophotography on my A7s incredible photographs my best ever for detail and pin point stars also used it for a few snapshots on my A6300 again very good clear clean photographs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding for landscapes and astrophotography

SEL24F14GM 20 May 2019 by Loic Reunion (USA)

I am an astrophotographer in Reunion Island, and own many f1.4 or f1.8 primes of other brands, from 14 to 50 mm range. The first time I made a photo with this lens (of course it was at night and at f1.4 ) I was simply shocked by the sharpness of the image, even in the corners. Pinpoint stars everywhere, even in the corners, moonlit landscapes perfectly rendered and tack sharp at f1.4. Just couldn't think this would be possible one day... Definitely a new standard for fast wide angle prime lenses and by far the best wide angle astro lens I own. Just hope now it will soon have fast G Master sisters like this in the 15-50 mm range for night photography and landscape photography in general !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant lens does everything I expected.

SEL24F14GM 16 May 2019 by Nick_B (USA)

Still getting used to the lens in terms of composition at 24mm. But brilliant sharpness, bokeh with good colour and contrast. Sometimes knock the aperture ring, but now aware, it's not a problem, cant fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice travel prime.

SEL24F14GM 10 April 2019 by Amateur Sketch (USA)

Recently used this lens on a trip in se Asia. This lens is sharp and performed superbly in low light. The only lens I brought on my trip. Size and weight of the lens is a positive for travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

24mm f1.4 G master is excellent prime Len

SEL24F14GM 17 March 2019 by Andy2019 (USA)

It’s small light weight sharpness bokeh also fit right on my a7iii and my bag for travel perfect for landscape vacation photography I’m so in love with 24mm f1.4 G master.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The Prime

SEL24F14GM 10 February 2019 by Fitz Michael (USA)

This lens is very light and sharp and the manual focus is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb lens. Light and sharp

SEL24F14GM SYX 20 December 2018 by Anthonygmh (Singapore)

Brought it a month ago, bring it for a trip. It a very sharp len. Good walk around and landscape lens. No regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall a fantastic lens!

SEL24F14GM 01 December 2018 by fltotx18 (USA)

I bought this lens a month ago and could not be more happy with it. Sharp, good AF performance in both still and video. The size and weight is a good balance on the A7RIII. Love the bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

The best 24/1.4 you can buy from any system

SEL24F14GM 15 November 2018 by TheTog (USA)

It's not an exaggeration to say that Sony just made the best 24/1.4 out there. The most important points are that it's lighter than all modern 24/1.4 (including the Leica 24/1.4) and smaller than most (bigger than the Leica). Here is my own list of pros, so-so, and cons ***Pros*** + Lightest and smallest for its class so more enjoyable to use, more suitable for small Sony mirrorless bodies + Sharp corner-to-corner from WO, great stop down as well + Lowest sagittal coma in it class, great for wide-field astrophotgraphy. + Mild pincushion distortion (unusual for a wide) that is good for portrait + Very minimal focus breathing, not just great for video but also for focus stacking + True to the GM design philosophy: prioritize sharpness and bokeh with highest Sony construction quality (aperture ring, customizable on body button, de-click) + Great manual focus feel, quite comparable with the best manual focus lenses + Cheaper than Canikon and Leica 24/1.4 ***So-So*** + Above average flare resistance and when it happens, flare and ghost can be ugly + Above average chromatic aberration suppression: they're there, but not to the point of uncorrectable in post-process. + Fast focus speed: faster than the GM 85 and FE 50/1.4 but slower than say FE 55/1.8. I expected blazing fast like the FE 55/1.8 due to the new 3x torque AF motor. ***Cons*** + Baked in vignetting and lateral CA correction: I prefer to fix these my own, especially vignetting. I have been saving up to own a set of Leica Luxes for small size/weight, but this really quenched that need. Looking forward for more GM like this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

5

0

A great Sony GM len

SEL24F14GM SYX 13 November 2018  (Singapore)

I bought this len recently and I'm very happy with the len performance. I also own and love my Sony 85mm f1.4 G-master but it is too heavy for Sony mirrorless camera. In 2018, Sony is putting effort to produce smaller, lighter, competitive price and the most important is great IQ lens. Good job to Sony team!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL24F14GM SYX 13 November 2018 by RichardLKT (Singapore)

Very happy with the IQ of this lens! My new favourite prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fav wide angle lens!

SEL24F14GM SYX 10 November 2018 by Keithbandit (Singapore)

Got the lens when it is available in Singapore. Been the most used lens due to its short focal length and sharpness. Fav lens now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

IT'S A 100% YES

SEL24F14GM 08 November 2018 by Mystro (USA)

I bought this lens and i've been totally happy. i own about 10 lenses and this is one of the best. It's a 100% yes

26

1

0

I waited a long time for this to come

SEL24F14GM 03 November 2018 by LEE1989 (USA)

After being a Sony camera user and switched from their A-mount to the E-Mount, I have been waiting for a 24mm or wider prime for so long, and this finally come! It's smaller and lighter than I thought it would be but it has the best optical performance I could imagine. I used to own the A-Mount Distagon 24mm F2.0 ZA SSM lens, that is a lovely lens but it's slower and less sharp on the corners. This new 24mm GM lens has met my expectation in every aspect. I would love to see Sony strive on to make more lenses like this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

2

0

Excellent resolution

SEL24F14GM 03 November 2018 by Wilby (USA)

Just received lens, well worth it. Took some pics, great resolution, very satisfied with lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

9

0

Superior optical quality, excellent build.

SEL24F14GM SYX 03 November 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

Been using this lens for the past few weeks and was really impressed with its weight and size. Loved the bokeh that this lens produces, creamy and buttery. Very sharp wide open, very quick and accurate focusing. Comes with the Sony features Af button at the side and the click and click less aperture ring is great for those who is doing video work. Really loved this lens and will highly reccomend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beyond Expectation

SEL24F14GM SYX 03 November 2018 by Trenyan_photo (Singapore)

I've had this only a few weeks but it is already a featured piece in my camera bag. It lives up to the GMaster name tag and sharp edge to edge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Star eater included in body.

SEL24F14GM 22 September 2018 by Jakub32 (USA)

The manufacturer never fixed old optimizations that end-users wanted to be disabled.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

14

338

0

Star eater issue included

SEL24F14GM 20 September 2018 by a7rii (USA)

Fix old firmware issues first so that products of this kind might be usable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

12

327