109

4.5 based on 109 customer reviews

80
16
6
3
4
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant steep forward

WH-1000XM5 30 May 2022 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

## Design - No folding available in this iteration, just the usual cup tilt and pan. Works for me, don't mind the lack of foldability. - I personally appreciate the new design and can describe it as far more sturdy and quality feel. No more plasticy sounds when adjusting the headphones or moving your head - The cups are comfortable, with memory foam, coated with some kind of artificial leather - The proximity sensor is no longer visible(compared to M4), but is still there - Headband is comfortable and narrower. However, when at the gym and bench-pressing/dumbbell fly they still slide back off my head. - Approx. 5gr lighter on the scales than previous models. I can't really tell the difference when wearing either model, so doesn't make a difference to me but appreciate the change. Overall a welcome change. The cups seem a bit thicker in profile than previous iterations but overall with same comfort and nice fake leather coating material. Those are a fingerprint magnet(if you have the black headphones). Yet I prefer this design. The mics are quite visible though and given the grills are the trademark bronze/gold colour they stand out. Not really a fan of that color choice but given what it provides in other departments I have made my piece with it. Might not be for anyone. Definitely though would prefer the mics grills color to be same as the cups color. ## Active Noise Cancelling and mics - 7 visible mics positioned strategically around the ear cup for noise cancelling and voice calls - wind noise reduction is significantly improved (in NC mode only) - while listening and for the other side of a phone call - voice calls recipients no longer complaint about muffled or unclear speech, difference is quite audible. - Adaptive mode is very accurate in changing profiles both action and location based. Super useful in your everyday commute, gym, run/walk and in the office due to personalised ambient sound levels available through the app. You can save frequent locations with predefined ANC/ambient sound levels. Manually entered several of those and all worked well. But that is more on usability and the mobile app, yet worth mentioning. Overall very happy with the improvement in noise cancelling, especially in windy conditions such as the one I encounter every day in my park walks. Gym feeling is the same top notch. ## Buttons, controls and inputs - Same two button operation plus the same gesture controls as before: double tap, swipe up/down/left and right and tap and hold with palm - Still no dedicated button for multipoint connection control. You can pair the headphones with two devices and switch between them but only through the app. I really believe a dedicated button provides far better user experience - Same USB-C charging with fast charging available - Same audio cable provided to connect to your device if you do not want to use wireless - Same touch controls on the right cup, quite responsive and with nice sound feedback ## Connectivity - BT 5.2 - I appreciate that every iteration is supporting the latest BT protocol - Same frequency response as previous models in wired or wireless mode ## Features - Supports most Digital assistants - Google/Alexa/Siri - Connected apps option - chose what connected and supported app to run when double or triple clicking the NC button. I am using Spotify and when double click the NC button music starts playing from that app. - Speak-to-chat feature where once you speak transparency mode is activated until your voice is no longer picked by the headphones mics(5/15/30s or auto timeout). No more sing along in this mode :) - Battery life claimed is same as previous models - around 30h. I managed to get ~22h(100% down to 20%) with adaptive mode on and volume 30-50% . Quite a good deal. It could be different for you based on your prefered volume levels, EQ and NC mode. Worth noting that I received a firmware upgrade(1.1.1) right after the test. ## Sound - Playing the same song with default EQ seem to give this new XM5 a clearer mid-range than previous iterations(XM3 and XM4). For the casual listener I doubt it would make any change. For me personally I always use the EQ to adjust mid-high frequencies and also crank up the Clear Bass to +7. You must hear it for yourself with your favourite track to be able to appreciate the difference. - Quite a big technical change is the new drive - 30mm down from 40mm but with some better insulation and lighter mats such as carbon. Frequency response is same both wired and BT. All that signifies a change in the drive cavity and how bass resonates to produce the same quality low frequencies. - Each and every one of us has slightly different sensitivity for different frequency bands and self preferences as well therefore a head to head comparison of the output over a microphone(with different frequency sensitivity bands and possibly remastered post recording) gives some perspective but is in no way a fair depiction of what you, yourself, might take out of those headphones(or any audio device for that matter) and classify as "good" or "bad". Overall seem like an improvement(in the mid-range frequencies) and very much so appreciated. An audiofile will definitely hear a difference if comparing with predecessor. I still do and yet I am not a professional audio engineer. Given everything I mentioned, if you had any previous WH1000X model, I can describe this new one as a good step forward. In any other case prepare to be blown away. Coming from the other two brands competing with Sony will still feel very different and an improvement in most aspects. A very welcome upgrade I'd say - noise cancellation, audio quality, connectivity(with the exception of multipoint management) are all top level. A must have for travel on the tube, going to the gym or for a walk in the park. Adaptive ANC is brilliant. I very much want to see a hardware change for multipoint device management on the headphones themselves. Maybe a dedicated button to switch between connected/registered devices. Also, can't wait to see what Sony can offer in future iterations with regards to further improving noise cancelling, especially dynamic wind noise removal and would they offer multi-drive and true DD5.1(that would be amazing!) version of this product one day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not comfortable for glasses wearers

WH-1000XM5 29 May 2022 by Me_me (United Kingdom)

Previous models are more comfortable. If you wear glasses these make a rubbing creaking sounds around the leather surround on the ear. It's actually annoying and frustrating. The top head band is thinner and less cushioned that older models and less comfortable for longer periods. Unable to use dual bluetooth if you want LDAC and high quality which is the whole reason you just spent nearly £400 on these headphones. So all in all actually feel disappointed, the MX3s were pretty decent albeit mine are falling apart after a few years usage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

110 Customer Reviews

0

Good but …

WH1000XM5/SME 06 August 2022 by Nalaoey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yes been using it almost everyday … the cups tends to get warm. App not optimized for iPad format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb. Great sound quality.

WH-1000XM5 26 July 2022 by Roger Lord (United Kingdom)

The best and most comfortable headphones I ever had. Well done Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Quality on the market

WH-1000XM5 25 July 2022 by Kiki0327 (United Kingdom)

Best quality headphones on the market, great sound quality and ANC

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound !

WH1000XM5/BME 20 July 2022 by jfynwa (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received it the day before it’s launch and it has been a joy to use for my commute & inside my room.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality NC Headphones!

WH-1000XM5 19 July 2022 by KingyJ (United Kingdom)

Most comfortable NC headphones I've won! Easy to set up and especially impressed with no plastic packaging!"

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Nice to have…

WH-1000XM5 19 July 2022 by Boris the 2nd (United Kingdom)

I bought this one month ago. Still questioning the style even if technologically this makes me smile

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fabulous sound and so easy to use

WH-1000XM5 18 July 2022 by Rhacsyn (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago after much reading, testing and research. My time researching was well spent and I am extremely happy with the quality and sound. I use with an Android phone as well as a high end dtac system. My previous over ear pair were B&O which I had and enjoyed for 8 years. I am now using the new Sony and am thrilled. Looked at the Apple equivalent, which also had great sound, but in my opinion were too dedicated to apple products

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THE NOICE CANCELLING IS AMAZING

WH-1000XM5 14 July 2022 by roxjohnny11 (United Kingdom)

This is a really good headphone. Easily the best in the midrange market. It sounds amazing with and without the provided cable.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

WH-1000XM5 14 July 2022 by Mansy (United Kingdom)

Got fed up of Galaxy Buds Pro constantly popping out of my ears. You can never go wrong with Sony. Bought these headphones and it does all that I want at a high standard. They don't fall off. They are comfortable. Sound is amazing. Easy to use. Taking mobile calls is so easy and convenient with excellent sound quality for the person on the opposite end of the phone. I have yet to charge it despite using them for hours.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Headphones

WH1000XM5/B 12 July 2022  (USA)

I love these headphones, they have amazing sound quality and the battery life is great. the noise cancelling is great and works extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not Controversial but subjective

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by 3DHombreezle (United Kingdom)

The look was amazing, it was indeed smarter and a better mic-call quality with ANC. Just one thing that made me wanted to return it was the so called wider sound stage , it made the sound signature terrible compared to XM4. I could not believe my ears, i think it's underwhelming for £379. The fact that water resistance still NOT considered for this pair of cans in 2022 is amazing. Overall, this is a really smart and great looking headphone, if you aren't sound freak you definitely would love it.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Headphones

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by Adam in Knutsford (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with these headphones. Although I am no audiophile, I think the sound quality is superb. The noise cancellation is also excellent. Really comfortable to wear for long periods. Did a lot of research before buying these and I am really impressed.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product

WH-1000XM5 10 July 2022 by Andreabocca (United Kingdom)

Bought it last week, very easy to use , good noise cancelling

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fastastic and Awesome!

WH1000XM5/BME 07 July 2022 by Nori1429 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this beautiful and awesome product. Love at 1st sight!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Left side of headphones no longer working

WH-1000XM5 06 July 2022 by Simon4641 (United Kingdom)

I pre ordered these headphones looking for an upgrade however I am beyond dissatisfied being given a faulty pair of headphones that no longer work. Will not be ordering future headphones.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Master pice

WH-1000XM5 06 July 2022 by Raggi (United Kingdom)

Happy happy happy I like it a lot. Best sound ever and the noice chanselig is the best

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new go-to headphones

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by The_Scient1st (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are absolutely amazing. I recently took them on a trip and first of all the noise cancelling made it so I could barely hear anything of the plane engine while I was flying. The sound quality is crystal clear, and all of the smart functions are very very cool. I also like this case a lot compared to older ones (I also have a pair of h.ear MDR-100ABN) because it is flatter and has a nice compartment for the wires. Overall, it feels like Sony has thought through every aspect of how to make an excellent headphone and executed it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great mobile headphones

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by Goansipife (United Kingdom)

Since a while i was looking a mobile headphones that maintain the sound quality I'm used to with living room headphones. I bought these and i think i reached there

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by buckers (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and very comfortable , brilliant technology in making these headphones

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost the best

WH1000XM5/BME 05 July 2022 by Ah pui (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The smudges on black colour ones.... Sony, why do this to us?

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

overall, great

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by alfunzoA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the headset it's self is amazing. the sound is wonderful, they are very comfortable and they look amazing all while having the best Active Noise Canceling around. 4/5 because of the app. the interface is not comfortable and more customizable widgets would be greatly appreciated

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent headphones.

WH-1000XM5 04 July 2022 by Tammy02 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a little while ago and I've used them every day since! They are truly amazing!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling and Comfort.

WH1000XM5/BME 04 July 2022 by Oceantan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase the 1000XM5 after hearing so much how good M4 was. ordered it during the pre-order. The pre-order came with a very nice charging stand for the headphone. But most impressive was the headphone itself. The noise cancelling is superb and able to drown out a lot of external noises. And it was very comfortable to wear. It is not heavy and the ear pads are comfortable without creating too much heat. I highly recommend it.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM5 03 July 2022 by Ellp (United Kingdom)

Amazing piece of kit. When it comes to headphones you can't beat them

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise cancelling and battery life

WH1000XM5/BME 03 July 2022 by SportyTng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling, battery life and comfortable to wear long period of time.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY HAS DONE IT AGAIN!

WH-1000XM5 02 July 2022 by DC1971 (United Kingdom)

Coming from the XM3s I thought it would be a good update. The soundstage is epic compares to the 3s, the low end is more detailed and defined this time round. Mids and highs are present, not muddy. Call quality with the extra mics are amazing, also cancels background nice and wind. Also the new design is great, no creaking with this design. If you're coming from XM3s or earlier, or your in the market for a great sounding headphones IMHO just buy these along with the Sony app, they work amazingly well.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I upgraded from the M2 to the M5

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pabloz (United Kingdom)

I've only had the product for about a week now. So far from my ungrade from the M2 there is no going back. I can't say much in terms of sound quality of but m5 sound way better to me but these are on train ears, I also feel the the noise cancelling is by far away better but again I'm not a professional. What I can say for certain is when taking a phone call all the clarity on both ends is way better. My 1 negative is I do believe the price is a bit high maybe £300 instead of £380 would be a better price point.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pablo27 (United Kingdom)

I would give 6/10 sound quality not that impressed good controls Too big for my normal sized head on min setting and have tk move head slip to avoid moving them Battery life is good But expected more sound quality and lack of volume not good also

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great product

WH1000XM5/BME 29 June 2022 by Josef1421 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last few weeks and it was incredible. Love it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cool

WH1000XM5/BME 27 June 2022 by Shhh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sleek design, cool features. Happy with my investment.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!!

WH1000XM5/BME 25 June 2022 by lancerlot (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Splendid performance!..Excellent bass for Rock Music!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Sound Quality and Great Noise Cancelling

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by IvanTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am still wearing this head phone as I write this review. I am happy to be able to trade in my XM3 ear buds for this new set. Thanks Sony! I don't mind this headset cannot be folded like the XM4. I just hung it around my neck! Battery life is super good.The only complaint is wearing too long builds up heat like every other over the ear headphones. Good thing this headset is light and cushion is comfortable. I was also able to make calls in a noisy environment with my voice sounding clear to the other parties. Overall, this is the most expensive headset i owned but it is worth every cent!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best ANC

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by 31242 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from XM2 to XM5. The ANC on XM5 is way better than XM2. MRT track noise was cut to the minimum. Bus engine noise was reduce to a comfortable level. Headphone is comfortable for long listening.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

By far this is the best ANC headset by Sony

WH1000XM5/SME 24 June 2022 by Sunny Tang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from XM3 to XM5. Excellent ANC and sound quality in Ldac format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony does it again!!!

WH-1000XM5 22 June 2022 by Daz101 (United Kingdom)

Amazing product, highly recommended. Love the build and sound quality.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The best ones

WH-1000XM5 21 June 2022 by PaoloPz (United Kingdom)

I was thinking about buying the 4th version, but when the 5th version came out, I just bought them, and im really happy with them. Nice build quality, best music quality, and best NC.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing product - much better than XM4

WH1000XM5/B 20 June 2022 by joshv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I accidentally broke 2 pairs of the XM4's but with the build quality of the XM5, I feel safer taking this on and off without breaking the metal/plastic band holding the headphones together. Sound quality is on another level but noice canceling could be a bit better compared to the Air Pods Max.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Grat Noise cancelling and sound

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by sjefkevalk (United Kingdom)

I am a fan of Sony headphones and I've possessed the previous versions as well. I started with the XM3 and was impressed by the sound (which is the most important feature in a headphone for me). With the XM3 I also discovered the ANC for the first time. The XM4 was an upgrade of the ANC but I found that the sound quality didn't change, though it kept an high standard. With the XM5 both sound and ANC quality increased together with the price, which is the reason for the 4 stars.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best ANC headphones on the market.

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by Zen_Shot (United Kingdom)

Upraded to these from my WH-1000XM3's. So much better with many improvements.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0