290

4.5 based on 290 customer reviews

183
87
8
6
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Well made, handles easily

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08 March 2015 by Triguy (USA)

I am still getting used to the mirrorless camera idea. And it still feels small to me. That said, it is why I bought it. I shoot a lot from a mountain bike and need to travel light. When I want a full feel camera I use the add on vertical position two battery holder. With it the camera feels like a solid pro camera. I am a retired pro shooter and have traveled all over the world carrying heavy 4x5 and RB67 equipment. This is nothing like that.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works great except 1 fatal flaw: AF inconsistency

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12 March 2015 by CAdreamer (USA)

I really want to like this camera. In addition to the camera and kit lens, I also have the 55mm F/1.8, 16-35mm F/4, and 70-200mm F/4 lenses. I like the color and contrast of these lenses. The camera is light and has a lot of useful features. However, there is one fatal flaw: the auto focus is inconsistent and inaccurate at times. I have contacted Sony support and they escalated the issue to Level II support. A few days later, I received a phone call from them at 7am in the morning and left me a voice mail. He asked me to write down my issues in email and sent to them. So I did. But I still have not heard back from them. Let me state my AF issue here. Some of my photos turn out slightly blurry. I have been trying to figure out how to improve it for a few months. Then I did the following experiments and believe that Sony A7II's AF is not accurate and inconsistent under certain conditions: The experiment is as follows. Use the 55mm F/1.8 lens and set the camera at AF-S, aperture priority, center focus, and auto ISO. Try to use the AF function to lock the focus with aperture at F/1.8. Then try again at F/22. F/22 would take longer to focus, which one would think is fine. Then please switch to AF-C. This will allows the camera to continuously focus on the subject. Try to focus with aperture at F/1.8 and F/22 again. You will find that the camera cannot lock the focus at F/22, or take much longer time to lock than AF-S. It also appears to me that the AF-C with F/22 does not lock the focus and it simply times out. This indicates that AF-S does not always give you the accurate focus you need. I can demonstrate the AF problem consistently. Depending on the lighting condition, it shows as early as F/4.0. Mirrorless camera has come a long way. But I am very disappointed that the single most important function, auto focus, is so poor.

27

1

295 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Amazing

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 01 June 2019 by Dlightfull Click (USA)

My husband gave it to me as a gift. We went out on a Photoshoot trip and the Camera worked amazingly. When I uploaded the pictures, everyone was mesmerized by the outcome of the session.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First of all...this camera came with a lens

Body Only 26 May 2019 by this is a sham (USA)

I just bought this camera and now learning it won't read the card...and that this has been a continual problem with this Sony model as well as others

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

My first mirrorless camera and I choose Sony.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 May 2019 by Bryan Chong (Singapore)

Overall is really great camera but hopefully there is an upgrade for focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In 2019 probably the best value camera on the mark

Body Only 07 May 2019 by pvandck (United Kingdom)

I bought the A7RII as an an upgrade from the excellent Sony A7, which bought in 2014. I was so pleased with the A7, and the A7RII, being no longer the latest model, was at a price I could justify. It's a phenomenally capable piece of kit. I was an industrial photographer for more than 25 years and used to use medium format cameras - 6x7 and 6x4.5 formats. Everything was for publication. If the A7RII had been around when I was a working photographer I would have bought it immediately and abandoned my other equipment - the image quality is so very good and it's such a versatile camera. It excels at practically everything except perhaps at the highest level professional fast-moving sports photography. I would have no hesitation is recommending any of the Alpha 7 line of cameras to anyone who takes photography seriously, amateur or professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony A7ii

Body Only 07 May 2019 by Javier_sonya7ii (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as my first introduction into the full frame and I am very happy with the quality of the camera, my only complaint is the fact that as old model it needs a software update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very disappointed with AF in movie mode

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 06 May 2019 by Peeetaaah (USA)

I have this camera for over a year now. I was mainly taking pictures only. Can’t complain there at all. Since I started getting more into videos my frustration builded up. It seems impossible to get moving object into a focus. Tried all different settings, different lenses but the camera still can’t focus on what you need.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 05 May 2019 by raescu9 (United Kingdom)

The camera arrived two days ago, and the pictures they take are extraordinary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharpness is nice

Body Only 03 May 2019 by Dammahum (Singapore)

Bought this a month ago and loved every moment with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first day. Registration

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 24 April 2019 by SteveFoor (USA)

I'm sure the product is fine. Deciding which of the 5 numbers on the box and camera are the model number vs serial numbers is a real challenge. Try larger type and simple verbage like serial number = ; would save a lot of time.

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Try I Again. This is my Second A7II

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16 April 2019 by Hobby Shot (USA)

Purchased an A7II for My wife in 2017, She preferred the RX10 III, so in late 2017 we purchased a RX10 III for her. I started using the A7II and fell in love with this camera. I shoot 99% manually, using back button focus. Unfortunately after about 72,000 pictures the shutter started sticking and having shutter errot issues. I sent this A7II in for repairs and it takes forever for the repairs. Repairs are also expensive. I could not wait for the A7II repairs, so while the 2 YEAR OLD A7II IS in for repairs. My wife and I went and Purchased this New A7II, 04-2019. We love Sony Cameras and as Hobby Photographers, our photos Turn out beautiful without hours of Post editing. Yes even though the first A7II had shutter issue. I love these cameras so much, with an adapter, I use my wives old Minolta mount lenses manually and the camera stabilizer works great. Best combo of lenses for me is Sony 24-240, Sony 90mm macro, Sony Zeiss 35mm. This Camera allows me to have full control with Camera help if needed. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still in " Honeymoon Phase " !!

Body Only 14 April 2019 by notyet100 (United Kingdom)

I bought the 7ii as a present for myself. I have yet to really push the camera but I have taken about 500 images. The detail in the images is exceptional compared to my Nikon, and I look forward to the better weather.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome

Body Only 02 April 2019 by Elica (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago and it's everything I need from then. Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Focus problems for a-mount with Sony adapters.

Body Only 23 March 2019 by Helio_ss (United Kingdom)

I'm using with A-mount lenses and Sony adapters LAE -3 and 4. Experiencing focus problems especially with moving subjects with LAE-4. SmartRemote control doesn't work with my iPhone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

fantastic features Great all rounder

Body Only 21 March 2019 by jj6415 (United Kingdom)

Iv been saving for a few months for this camera and boy I'm glad i did outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disappointed with the A7m2 purchase

Body Only 20 March 2019 by paulA13 (United Kingdom)

bought this camera last year - the most disappointing aspects are the play memories app and the short battery life.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Unbelievable Value in 2019

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 19 March 2019 by iReview (USA)

I made a big decision to sell my Canon 70D and transition to the Sony A7II with the kit lens and I could not be happier that I did! This Sony A7II is absolutely breathtaking with the overall construction, build quality, and user interface. I purchased this camera after reading tons of reviews about the pros of mirrorless full-frame DSLR's, and seeing how this product leads that Market against competitors such as the 6D, which are thousands of dollars more. It feels great in hand and looks even better. Although today I cannot afford to diversify my photographic offerings through another lens, I am confident with the kit lens that came with it and will be sure to save up for another!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17 March 2019 by Frodri (United Kingdom)

Great camera, just missing 4K. But amazing picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pon sharp images

Body Only 16 March 2019 by BigJohn14 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, got fantastic pics on first day. Stabilisation really good, lens gives pin sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 09 March 2019 by MJani17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this A7II body two months ago and I'm so happy i did. I use them a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

weight

Body Only 18 February 2019 by Dejay (United Kingdom)

I am happy i did buy this camera, I will recommend this to friends

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Compact, rugged and has some great features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 18 February 2019 by DStealth (United Kingdom)

Amazing picture quality especially when pair red with the zeiss 55mm lens. Much better than a DSLR to carry around and I use it as my sole camera for shoots. Wish it had touch screen controls. The issues I have with this camera I understand has been totally sorted out with the Sony A7Riii but that's unfortunately out of my price range at this point in time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16 February 2019 by Roger 77 (United Kingdom)

Having upgraded from a nikon d7000 this is lightyears ahead,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13 February 2019 by JulioPC (USA)

I bought this camera almost a year ago, I can say that It's performing really good, sharp images, great dynamic range, I feel happy I switched

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value, good times

Body Only 07 February 2019 by Davie1234 (United Kingdom)

Takes amazing pictures. Has a decent battery life and the stability it has while taking video is superb. The balance through the viewfinder is helpful too. Only issue I have is I feel like you cant raise the ISO very high before seeing large quality dips.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 01 February 2019 by McGuire (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with the product, it has the proformance of a high level dslr but is light compact easy to travel with and you can also see exactly what you are taking befor the do it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 30 January 2019 by Doug60 (United Kingdom)

I have moved up to full frame and I'm pleased that I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Neat features, handy size, excellent performance

Body Only 27 January 2019 by PhilH27 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this to be a back-up/reserve camera for my full-frame Nikon DSLR but it is so good the roles will almost certainly be reversed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 26 January 2019 by Deegray (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera one year ago, I am happy. But battery it is not very good. In general is very good camera. I recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

beautiful object

Body Only 24 January 2019 by GusC (United Kingdom)

I love this camera, coming from a Sony RX1R the focusing is really fast and tight. I've paired it with the lovely Zeiss F1.8 55mm lense and the results are superb. I would have loved to have for the A7iii but this is a good compromise at a much lower price point. Its not "is the camera good enough" anymore, its more, "am I good enough for the camera" 10 out of 10 - I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice entry level full frame.

Body Only 10 January 2019 by fullstereo (United Kingdom)

So happy I join the mirrorless race. I finally move for DSLR to mirrorless and I can't be happier.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery life...time to eat my hat!

Body Only 09 January 2019 by Puredodee (United Kingdom)

I had been considering a new camera for several months after being with Canon for decades. After several chats with other street photographers and the odd camera shop visit and hearing that Sony were "slaying" it I finally took the plunge. It was only after my purchase did the "battery" issue (number of images per battery) rear its head, according to the manual 350/battery! I just hadn't considered that in this day and age this would be an issue and I guess my inexperience with a digital viewfinder showed, it certainly wasn't mentioned at sale. I was sick to the stomach, thinking I had made a huge mistake! Anyway, back to that hat; after pretty much closing everything down on the camera that I deemed unnecessary, I did my first real street shoot yesterday and got 2400 images on one battery with still 15% left. I'll take it fried...Kentucky style!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, poor battery

Body Only 06 January 2019 by DJMR (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent camera, and has given me the improved quality that I was looking for; I switched from a Nikon D5500. I went mirrorless to minimise the weight, and this Sony fitted the bill. It has all the features you’d expect from a camera of this cost, but my (and many others) complaint isn’t the very poor battery life. This is exacerbated by having, as standard, to recharge in camera. What this means in practice is that you must be additional batteries and an external charger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera and photo quality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03 January 2019 by derek168 (Singapore)

I bought this one month ago before my Japan holiday. It outperformed my expectation, and the photo quality was sharp and clean. Really like it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pixel Flare & Bad software for Mac Owners.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29 December 2018 by Simon1967 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera for a trip to Tromso in Norway to capture the northern lights. It did the job quite well. Took some photos of a sunset in Oslo and was very disappointed at the frequent fluorescent green pixel flare in most of my shots where a distinctive green line appeared and ruined the shots. Perhaps this is a manufacturing flaw or a general weakness of the full frame CMOS sensor? Sony, what do you think?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good in the hand.

Body Only 20 December 2018 by Coops21 (United Kingdom)

Bought this last month have used in low , very impressed with the results, using 3rd party 35mm f2.8 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice Machine!

Body Only 17 December 2018 by Sunnybunnyme (United Kingdom)

Nice machine for this price! but the Sony raw file doesn't work for lightroom. that's bit shame!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

battery life is to short

Body Only 16 December 2018 by rdm2 (USA)

great camera overall would recomend it hard to find a good sony dealer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small in size - big in quality

Body Only 12 December 2018 by StreakyPete (United Kingdom)

Compared to my previous camera, (Nikon D750) the A7ii falls a little short. Dynamic range, auto-focus and low light performance are the main areas of concern. However, these slight shortcomings are more than compensated by the camera’s compact size and lovely light weight. In the two weeks I have owned the camera, I am seeing an improvement in image quality as I become more familiar with the different layout. IBIS is a game changer- the ability to shoot sharp shots without using a tripod is an enormous bonus. The small size and weight encourages me to take a camera with me whereas previously I may have left a heavy DSLR at home.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Great Camera but with pitfalls

Body Only 12 December 2018 by scottyshere (United Kingdom)

Great Camera, great images, great video awkward menu, terrible battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Reasonably priced, great features except batt life

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 06 December 2018 by BHLim (Singapore)

After buying, sony days came and my camera price dropped by $100

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Versatile Full Frame Camera

Body Only 03 December 2018 by JEM_ (United Kingdom)

A nicely compact camera body with full frame performance. The image quality is excellent and it has enough features for me. An added bonus is the way that it works with adapted lenses, providing autofocus with suitable Canon lens with the correct adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery Life

Body Only 29 November 2018 by Dodee (United Kingdom)

I know it's very early days (or hours actually!) but this camera appears to have the worst battery in photographic history. What you gain in image quality, having probably the best sensor ever, size, design etc is all lost in a battery that lasts hours. You would more than likely have got longer if the camera was wind up. How I'm going to manage on a shoot taking over a thousand images remains to be seen. How foolish was I to think battery life would be a problem! Apart from that I'm pretty happy.

1

3

0

A7ii Sony mirrorless full.frame camera.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 November 2018 by Mike 09 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the camera.good quality images and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Yet

Body Only 10 November 2018 by Mond the First (United Kingdom)

Downsizing from DSLR, mirrorless is the future. Interested in Nikon Z cameras but way too pricey. Looked at Alpha 7iii but did not need the video features, rarely shoot movies anyway, and with 7ii heavily discounted it seemed the way to go. Camera is well-made and produces beautiful images but user manuals are indecipherable, lucky I am an experienced user.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Astonishing image quality

Body Only 06 November 2018 by Bertiboy (United Kingdom)

I moved from Micro 4 thirds to Sony for the increased sensor size and have not regretted it for a moment. The image quality is so much better and I am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing value for money

Body Only 29 October 2018 by Mark1010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple of months ago and I've never regretted my purchase. I wish it came with a better kit lens though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade!

Body Only 25 October 2018 by Matham (USA)

Great and much needed upgrade to both body inside and out. 5axis stabilizer probably the best feature added. The all metal body shouldnt be overlooked. Improved grip and much more.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

For the pro and hobbyist

Body Only 14 October 2018 by Adam30 (United Kingdom)

Ive had this camera for a day now and am really impressed with the images its producing, im really happy with this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Brilliant all round camera

Body Only 10 October 2018 by CHARCHAR (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from my Canon 60D to this Sony A7MK2 and I am not regretting anything! Not only is it full frame and light weight; its great with low lighting and many other situations. the screen is one down size to the Sony A7 series due to the 360 degrees LCD on the Eos R is a very nice feature and prevents the screen from becoming scratched easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Could be better. Little disapponted

Body Only 07 October 2018 by Badan (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera one month ago and I still d'nt have the camera really in hand. The notice is not always perfectly clear. The 24 -240 lensis not bad but focusing is not always very good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

MR

Body Only 24 September 2018 by Magic74 (United Kingdom)

This is my first venture into mirrorless. I find auto tends to be a little under exposed but have learned to adjust for it. I would have prefered the lens release button to be on the opposite side as the space between the lens and grip is quite tight. This could be because I have always been a Nikon user.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera that opens a lot of new possibilities

Body Only 22 September 2018 by ranej (United Kingdom)

The construction of this camera is very smart and also very precise. I like the firmware but i quite miss a silent shuter mode. I would definitely recomend this product to my friend (i already did) because for me it is litterally the best camera i have ever had in my hands with variety of functions but still very simple and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera!!

Body Only 22 September 2018 by Ian0064 (United Kingdom)

I have owned the Sony A7ii for about a month now after upgrading from a Nikon D7100, and I'am very pleased i did. The picture quality is impressive and it is very easy to use, I read a lot of reviews about the confusing menus and battery life before purchasing but found these to be inaccurate. Nearly all the buttons are customisable with function menu button as well so everything is easily accessible once set up. I bought a cheap £15 adapter and use my Nikon lenses on it fully manually. I own a sigma 150-600 nikon mount and find this works really well on the sony, manual focusing is easy with peaking and magnification, also the IBIS is amazing i can handhold the sigma at 600mm and get sharper pictures than i did with the Nikon. The only issue I'm finding is the price of the Sony lenses and I hope the prices are going to drop otherwise I will only be using adapted Lenses and will be losing out on the full functionality of the native lenses. I would definitely consider upgrading to the Sony A7Rii but this will depend on the lenses! Here are two pictures i took of a Dragonfly with the sigma handheld and using focus peaking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Ideal digital back

Body Only 22 September 2018 by Bobby J (United Kingdom)

Bought this mainly to use legacy MF lenses from the 60s and 70s on (ie from before the AF era), although I do adapt some A mount glass as well via the La-EA3 and I have a single wide AF prime that I use on the camera for convenience. It is a great little camera (although auto ISO behaviour with dumb adapters could be better and I do keep on knocking the compensation dial, which could benefit from a lock of some kind). Peaking works well for the MF lenses and the ability to dial in FL for IBIS is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 17 September 2018 by cd001 (USA)

Although the features of this camera are great, the reliability of this product is terrible. I have just passed the manufacturer warranty and the cameras power supply decided to completely die. The repair is going to cost $445. I called Sony and was told tough luck. For a professional photographer, I can not recommend this camera. The worst part of this product is the lack of customer care. It's not treated as a professional product but more of a super expensive consumer good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A nice camera. Nothing more.

Body Only 16 September 2018 by hopkins (United Kingdom)

i bought this a month ago and i'm quite happy with it. I love the IBIS on the sensor but the camera has moire problem especially with adaptor for a-mount lenses. I just can't use the adaptor a-mount lens combo cause the video is bad. With the e-mount lenses the moire problem isn't bad at all.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Appearances, Good

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14 September 2018 by seaem (United Kingdom)

I have only had this camera 1 month, as yet, finding out how to make best use of it, I have an assortment of Sony cameras and while this one is another Sony it will take time to determine if it has been a worthwhile purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 September 2018 by rebeccaphotography (United Kingdom)

I brought this last month. It’s amazing picture quality and perfect in some low light situations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 12 September 2018 by KMjanez (United Kingdom)

I have a7ii for a week now and I am very satisfy with it, except with battery consumption

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feel

Body Only 08 September 2018 by Classicbryce (USA)

Best camera i had every bought. I love this camera so much.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great upgrade

Body Only 03 September 2018 by Omartxo (United Kingdom)

I used the original a7 for almost 3 years, happy with it but I was missing some features like the stabilization. The mark II it´s better built and you can tell the autofocus it´s much better. The stabilization it´s a big plus and combine with a good lens the performance it´s amazing. At the price that is nowadays you can be wrong buying it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 28 August 2018 by Grisly (United Kingdom)

Terrific camera with wonderful image stability and great features.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Lovely kit

Body Only 27 August 2018 by Marciya (United Kingdom)

Lovely camera takes great photos and fits in your hands well only drawback battery life is short

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use, excellent results

Body Only 26 August 2018 by Pernod (United Kingdom)

I changed to this camera from my wonderful Nikon 810, which sadly was becoming just too heavy for me to lug around and I wanted a lighter, but still full frame option. I have been pleased with all the features so far and was able to buy the adaptor to use my Nikon lenses. It took a little bit of getting used to as everything is so compact, but it is certainly lighter and so far pleased with results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Camera I owed

Body Only 24 August 2018 by Dawid1980 (United Kingdom)

I am an enthusiast photographer (been for over 15 years). I had APS-C (Canon, Nikon and Sony), Canon FF and mirrorless cameras (Fuji, Olympus). However I was always curious about the Sony A7 range. Finally, last month I made the decision and went for it. Only regret? Why I haven’t done it sooner! The build quality and ergonomics are fantastic! Paired with the Zeiss lenses, the 85mm f1.8 and 90mm macro just mind blowing. The lighting, sharpness and detail- just wow. It is the best camera and camera system I ever owned!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use

Body Only 11 August 2018 by bikeman (United Kingdom)

upgraded my A6000 and i am very happy with the new camera takes great pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body Only 06 August 2018 by Neil Evolving Imaging (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera in June 2018, as an addition to my Sony a6300 and Canon DSLR that i use for my semi pro photography work. The build quality is amazing, image quality fantastic and the IBIS (In Built Image Stabilising) is great. I can use this camera with my Canon lenses and have image stabilising on the lenses, that Canon only do on the lens itself. I bought mine with the 28-70 FE Sony lens and they are an awesome combo. It works well with the Sigma MC11 Canon EF lens adapter also so i can switch between Sony or Canon lenses with no issues and they all perform well. Yes that includes the auto focus as well. I find that the AF performs just as well on the A7M2 as my Canon with the Canon 50mm 1.4 lens and Sigma adapter. Eye AF which is available only on the Sony lenses at present, is amazing. It has about a 90% hit rate for me. The battery life is pretty good and better than the a6300 in fact. The video quality although only full HD, at 60fps is great also. Using the optical stabilisation and IBIS together means you get to shoot both video and stills with well controlled camera shake. Not gimbal like control, but very good. I shoot weddings, fashion, corporate portraits and events. The A7M2 covers them all with ease. Ok, so it doesn't have the AF system of the A7M3, but then my Canon (or any Canon DSLR for that matter) doesn't have the AF system of the A7M2, and as I've been a Canon user for around 12 years now, I know the system pretty well. The only gripe I have with the Sony, as with any CSC mirrorless camera, when you press the shutter, it doesn't always fire instantly. There will be an ever so slight (a fraction of a second) delay before it fires. With my Canon DSLR when I'm shooting a wedding, if i see that facial expression i want to catch, i just press the shutter button and it fires instantly. To get round this issue with the A7M2 i switch to burst mode, where it will fire at 5 fps, which is plenty fast enough for most situations at a wedding. If i want faster than that i switch out to the a6300 with it's 11fps shooting (and quieter shutter mechanism, or the option of 3 fps silent shutter). For me the Canon and my Sonys compliment each other and they are my perfect system. (the a6300 is mainly for action and video). Lastly, the A7M2 has great low light performance and shooting at ISO 6400 is very good for noise control, so I don't worry about the ISO when I'm shooting in low light and fast moving subjects (think Bride and Groom 1st dance where you don't want to spoil the intimate moment with strobe lighting in their faces). Ultimately, you have to find the kit that works for you and then concentrate on squeezing the most from it. Once Sony get their CSC cameras shooting with virtually NO shutter lag like a DSLR, That could be the clincher for me to switch out to all Sony. Any one who is still reading this review, I hope it helps you. All the best and thank you Sony for what you do and the fact that you listen and respond to your customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Low light excenlent

Body Only 03 August 2018  (USA)

happy for wedding shoot and excelent for wedding shoot

0

0

0

First camera and it’s way beyond my expectations

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 22 July 2018 by iamxavy (Singapore)

Bought this for approximately a month and I’m loving this really awesome camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20 July 2018 by Jeyaram (USA)

I about 8 months ago in Sri Lanka. In our country the sony support is less and had difficulty buy the apps for the camera. Also the lenses are very expensive compare to cannon

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0