9

5.0 based on 9 customer reviews

9
0
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29 May 2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not sure was it a right choice

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2021 by Mulgersson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not so sure I am happy about this. Well image quality is quite good. However, things seems to get quite complicated with Sony. For instance, I would like to tether it with Lightroom, but it does not work with it. Of course, I can use imaging edge, yet it does not support my laptop´s 32b system. Furthermore, Imaging Edge neither support android 6 and I can´t use it with my Samsung tablet. And I already had to buy new Godox flash trigger because Sony have decided not to use universal hot shoe. And so on... Honestly, I think I should have stayed with Canon and not to change the brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

133 Customer Reviews

0

As expected from Sony

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 20 October 2021 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 4th Alpha series and has not disappoint so far. However I think Series may be 'overcooked' with too many variants. Stick to basics with the technology and your supporters will keep coming back. Don't make cameras too complex for mass market.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much Faster

ILCE-7RM4 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

On the face of it it has about twice the resolution of the alpha 7Rmk1 but that is not the reason I bought it. The major advantage is the speed of focusing (and its accuracy).

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

'Over the moon' with my α7RIV!

ILCE-7RM4 15 October 2021 by BruceC (United Kingdom)

I’m ‘over the moon’ with my Sony Alpha 7RIV! The image stabilization is superb as the hand-held shot of the moon testifies. The 61.0MP sensor and incredible auto-focus performance make it a great camera for wildlife photography. With its resolving power and colour rendition the 7R4 is awesome for landscapes too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by Bri5 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality ,ease of use ,touch screen would have been the finishing touch

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great results if you can find its sweet spot

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by N10CKK (United Kingdom)

I was torn between this camera and the A9ii as a wildlife photographer. I opted for this high resolution camera in order to get better results from cropping. I would say that it has taken me at least 6 months to learn how to use this camera in a way that gets the best out of it. When shooting wildlife, it needs good light levels, especially when teamed with a telephoto lens; and this means that you have to challenge all your assumptions about speeds and ISO levels and balance them in quite a narrow range for best results (I find 1/3200 and ISO around 1600 with the 200600G lens is the ideal window). Noise reduction software is therefore a must but you would be amazed at how images clean up with ISO up to 8000. When in the operating range the detail is amazing. I would love it to have better AF for birds in flight and (bizarrely) you cannot use animal eye detection on continuous shooting mode, only human eye detection. Sony need to address this and also include bird eye detection in future upgrades as with the A1 In summary, a great camera if you are a confident photographer. If you are not, better opting for the A9ii

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4A 13 October 2021 by MikeW53 (United Kingdom)

I had the earlier A7R2 which was good but not great for action shots of aircraft. Moved up to the A7R4 which as hoped was a massive improvement in speed and the added pixel count for great cropping capability. Fully programmable options are a nice facility which helps when taking action shots. Amazing camera. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Got to be the best camera on the market

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Scouser56 (United Kingdom)

To coin the word one of my American colleagues uses a lot “this is truly awesome”. Picture quality far exceeds my expectations, the image stabilisation has made hand holding my default option, which is good since I do a lot of trekking and keeping things light is essential, on that note the lightness of the camera and quality lenses makes all-day treks a pleasant experience (I was a Canon DSLR and L series lens user prior to this and didn’t look forward to whole day photo shooting since the combination was extremely heavy and thus tiring. The complicated menu system aside (Sony please simplify the menu system) setting the custom buttons and the preset options makes life a lot easier to get the camera set up for a specific use (I do a lot of B&W photography so setting the no 1 to my preferred camera settings makes it easy to swap to that mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning image quality and amazing Autofocus

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Msp1 (United Kingdom)

A year of using this camera and it’s still a joy to use, images are breathtaking and razor sharp. The autofocus especially the eye autofocus is brilliant. Never looked back since switching from Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love this camera...

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by BKDWW (United Kingdom)

I am an absolute amateur so this amazing camera is way better than I need but it is just fabulous. Having had various Sony's over the yrs the controls were very familiar and I bought David Busch's guidebook to this camera...worth every penny...as is the camera. Beautiful piece of kit. Now saving for a new lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic, way more than I expected!

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by TMC21 (United Kingdom)

The Sony a7R4 is absolutely superb; stunning resolution & great features wrapped in camera body oozing quality & excellence. So many features I'm not sure where to start but you can read those in other reviews. For me I particularly like being able to switch to APSC mode when using my prime lenses - gives me additional 1.5 crop reach (e.g. 85mm lens becomes 127.5mm) which is really useful. The massive resolution means I can crop heavily if necessary & the results are still impressive. I'd like to be able to select the RAW file size as you can with JPEGs, not a deal breaker as it makes me more considered when shooting. Customizable buttons means my priority features are at finger tip & adding those plus other key features to the My Menu tab reduces the need to search through the menus. Size & weight is good, not overly large or heavy which makes carrying it around a doddle, grip size is just right. The camera has encouraged me to explore my photography further using the many features the camera offers & has helped me understand the intricate photographic process in doing so. Recommend spending time setting it up (there are some great tutorials on the Sony site) & revisit the functionality every so often, there's plenty to get to know on this camera & plenty to enjoy. Really pleased & impressed, thanks Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of pixels

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by GeoffWil (United Kingdom)

This camera produces the clearest photos and videos so far taken with SLR cameras I have owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by SinaPro (United Kingdom)

I used this camera for more than 18 months, I am very happy with it. This camera is beast for a fair price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera body

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by sjr1403 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, packed full of features.............

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7riii

ILCE-7RM4A 03 October 2021 by JaynCookie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 2nd a7riiii I love this product I use both cameras professionally

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The future of Photography!

ILCE-7RM4A 01 October 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

moved over from traditional SLR systems to the newer Sony mirrorless system, exceptional image quality, and it feels good in the hand too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still the best high resolution camera out there

ILCE-7RM4A 23 September 2021 by VdM photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you want the absolute best image quality then you can’t go wrong with the A7R IV. Overall a 10/10. If I was being nit picky i wish you could track in animal eye AF and the high iso was slightly better but other than that a perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Astounding

ILCE-7RM4 20 August 2021 by Jazzy Bizzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned the camera for a little over two months. I am astonished at its capabilities. I’ve moved from canon and everything is superior on the Sony. A quantum leap in performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Some very good upgrades but at a price

ILCE-7RM4A 17 August 2021 by Feverstockphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are a lot of little changes to the camera that make it a worthwhile upgrade for me coming from the previous model AR3. Exposure compensation lock welcome. A decent jump in mpx is welcome but wish it had a medium Raw lossless option and less noise at the higher iso settings 3,200/6,400 upwards. It has better focusing, dual UHSII cards, better grip which if rounded would be a perfect fit for my smallish hands. Viewfinder and screen are good improvements. The pixel shift and time-lapse functions need better implementation and processed in-camera to be more useful. Having the shutter curtain down when camera is off would be helpful to keep dust out while changing lenses. Focus stacking would be handy as well. Hopefully they can bring some of these through firmware updates and keep us costumers happy and loyal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Mind blown

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 15 August 2021 by pvkr (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of pics and the amount of control it puts in your hands, coming from a DSLR blew me away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic resolution

ILCE-7RM4 12 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony a7riv in May this year and have found it to be a superb camera in the quality of the results achieved. I am strictly a nature photographer using both the Sony 90mm macro and 200-600 lenses both these lenses give work well with the a7riv body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Met my photography needs !

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 11 August 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for birding and wildlife photography. Hope to see future improvement in the animal eye detection via firmware update. With 61MP, you get sufficient headroom for cropping and this is especially useful for bird photos. Hope Sony can release more super telephoto lens of light weight in the future so that user can pair them with this camera to experience the full capability of this A7RM4a.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not sure was it a right choice

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2021 by Mulgersson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not so sure I am happy about this. Well image quality is quite good. However, things seems to get quite complicated with Sony. For instance, I would like to tether it with Lightroom, but it does not work with it. Of course, I can use imaging edge, yet it does not support my laptop´s 32b system. Furthermore, Imaging Edge neither support android 6 and I can´t use it with my Samsung tablet. And I already had to buy new Godox flash trigger because Sony have decided not to use universal hot shoe. And so on... Honestly, I think I should have stayed with Canon and not to change the brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Outstanding image quality

ILCE-7RM4 03 August 2021 by Andy Wasley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moving to Sony after a decade shooting professional photography and video with a different brand. Blown away by the image quality I’m getting from the α7R IV - the sensor gives me so much space for creativity in post, with incredible dynamic range and detail. I wish I’d changed to Sony years ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4 29 July 2021 by Alantq12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but you will need the best lenses to get the most out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great so far

ILCE-7RM4A 26 July 2021 by TGMi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame digital camera having had a A6000 for the few years. So far the difference has been impressive, picture quality, auto focus speed, flexibility/ customisability and robustness. I am still finding my way around it but there is plenty of different support resources on line. Biggest learning point so far; with continuous focus tracking on, and fast burst speeds you can fill up a very expensive fast Sd card very quickly. The results are worth it though.,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant but complex

ILCE-7RM4 25 July 2021 by Wideangle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 months ago and still learning it I have a good book on it but it’s learning not to forget something when setting it up. By that time the subjects disappeared

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent camera with good results

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 14 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with this camera. The design is well executed and it's easy to change the main settings that you use while photographing. The eyepiece viewfinder is really good and everything you need to know is there and the clarity and resolution of the screen is fantastic. The auto focus is really good, very fast and almost always gets it right. I wish the continuous shoot could hold more shots in the write buffer as I sometimes take wildlife which can require a lot of rapid shots to get the right one though by admission, I'm shooting in full raw so am not helping myself out! The camera can be a little unforgiving in not being able to quite get the right exposure settings but the full auto mode is always there to rescue you if you can't work it out. It's as much to do with my own limitations rather than the camera as I'm new to photography. A lot of people complain about the menus and yes they are a little complex but most of the settings you only use once and the custom buttons let you make quick changes, e.g. setting continuous shooting so I don't really find it as much of a problem as the reviews say. I love the picture quality and though there is some debate whether 61mp is too much, all I can say is that I love looking at the pictures that I've taken and feel that the quality is amazing. Anything I can't do on the camera, I can do with Lightroom and some of the bad shots have turned out to look really great - artistic good fortune. Ultimately, without getting into the 61mp debate and whether it's too much - all I can say is that I'm really enjoying my camera, it's getting me outside and is letting me take some really good shots that I like to edit and look at afterwards.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All round performance supetb

ILCE-7RM4 13 July 2021 by Jimmy one shot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All aways had sony cameras and the A7r iv is the best by far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not good, so far

ILCE-7RM4 10 July 2021 by Red Lightbulb Photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very, very disappointed thus far with the A7Riv. Blurry pictures, grainy images and I have tried four different computers (Win 7 and 10) and NONE of them will connect to the camera to download the new firmware and yet ALL of the computers KNOW that the camera is connected and will let me download images. All in all, it's not a patch on the A7Riii (which I also have and absolutely love). I bought the A7Riv for the extra megapixels and the advance animal eye AF (something else that the camera struggles with). On the upside, the larger grip is great and it feels solid in my hand, whereas the iii always feels small. Save your money and get the Riii.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Don’t Hesitate…Just Get It

ILCE7RM4/B 08 July 2021 by chyppyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a lot of research I purchased this camera a few weeks ago and it is everything I expected and more. I considered other manufacturers and Sony full frame cameras, however, in 2021 the A7R IV is still a fantastic camera. I moved up from the superb A6400 and this camera is simply fantastic. The dynamic range, resolution and colors are superb. The ability to crop due to the high number of pixels opens up a whole new world. I am just an enthusiast and this camera is easy to use also. Don’t listen to those that say you don’t need 61 MP or the files are to large etc. I have had zero issues and am constantly amazed at the high quality pictures I am getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It can do everything!

ILCE-7RM4 21 June 2021 by David55555555555555 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera does everything excellently - unbelievable amount of customisation. It can be whatever you want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic!

ILCE-7RM4 19 June 2021 by njp97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using sony cameras for quite a few years now and each change exceeds the last but this one is just phenomenal! The quality is insane in all images! And the auto focus takes a step up from anything i have had in the past!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Best Full-Frame Mirrorless Camera

ILCE-7RM4 07 June 2021 by Pharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

From α7RII,α7RIII and α7RIV is my third baby. I love it. The only thing I'm not very keen is the grip is a little bit big for my hand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant camera

ILCE-7RM4 04 June 2021 by Bashee (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in March after 40 years of using Pentax equipment. It is quite simply the best camera I have ever owned or used. It produces images that are pin sharp over the whole area and even seriously cropped pictures are very good. It is well constructed and after getting used to the layout of the controls, is easy to use. The basic controls of shutter speed and/or aperture, ISO, and focus area can all be easily manipulated without removing the camera from the eye. I have not used it yet for video, but idf that is as good as the stills then it will blow me away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic res, shame about UI.

ILCE-7RM4 03 June 2021 by Ell11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this as an upgrade to my A7Rii for the only reason that I always found the autofocus woeful. The A7Riv makes notable leaps in real life performance so I’m happy in that respect. The menu system is still awful, especially if you are in the Apple Eco-system and get so used to all of your tech working intuitively and smartly. The touchscreen is under-utilised, just tap to focus, and the resolution is low, but the EVF is extremely good and a huge upgrade from the A7Rii. Image quality, especially JPEG straight from camera is excellent though and with the Sony trade-in, sale of my old camera and the cash back from Sony all-in-all I am very pleased I upgraded!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

State of the Art

ILCE-7RM4 24 May 2021 by CW77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did a lot of research before deciding to go for the A7RIV. Compared it to all of the current premier models from other manufacturers and the A7Riv was the obvious choice in the end. It has not disappointed. If quality and versatility is your priority then I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Ignore rubbish you may read from Canon users in particular. I downloaded countless full res images from many different makes and models online. Consistently the sony images trounce anything I saw from other makes, Canon in particular. The same goes for sony Lenses. The resolution and subjective quality is just superb. The high 61mp sensor also has the significant benefit of being able to be switched into a 26mp APS-C camera if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera!

ILCE-7RM4 20 May 2021 by AW1045 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a Nikon DSLR user, but reviews on the web made me want to switch to Mirrorless and Sony looked like the best choice. At first I was a little worried about selling all of my gear but now I know it was worth it! Since changing to Sony, I have fallen in love with photography again and go out to shoot more often than I used to. All of the pictures are always razor sharp and EVF makes it really easy to spot any issues with my exposure of DoF and correct them (instead of finding out in the post-production). Animal AF, which I use the most, works like a charm and I hardly ever need to worry about it while taking a photo. I strongly recommend this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An amazing camera

ILCE-7RM4 17 May 2021 by CJBlues22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was after a sony a99ii but a website had a7rvi at a saving of over £1000.! So choose it and wow what a camera. Still working my way through it ( brought David Bishc's book to help me). Picture quality amazing. Also invested in 2nd hand 24mm to 105mm f 4 g master lens and then bit the bullet and purchased 70-200mm f2.8...go together so well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what it says on the can - superlatively.

ILCE-7RM4 11 May 2021  (United Kingdom)

Have only recently joined the Sony ecosystem. One of the draws was a mirrorless camera that could technically outperform my old Nikon DSLR. This meant that it needed to match Nikon for colour reproduction, have a sturdy form factor, was capable of all-weather use, with a large megapixel count and the technology capable of dealing with it; from low light static shooting to high speed sports and nature photography. This camera has rekindled the interest I have in photography, something reinforced by the online support I've found from accessing the knowledge of the Sony ambassadors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I love r4

ILCE7RM4/B 09 May 2021 by PPK008 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for 2 months now. It is perfect for landscape and portrait photos. My mother looks great in the picture with 61mp. Happy with mega pixels.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My New A7R iv

ILCE-7RM4 29 April 2021 by Rog42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did not intend to buy this mega-pixel beast but am generally pleased that I did. The image quality is excellent and the files are not as large as I expected. The documentation is poor and gives no insights into how the camera can be set-up. The WEb material is rambling and not particularly. The autofocus seems excellent but requires a bit of getting used to as the various settings are tied together in non-obvious ways. The auto-exposure, likewise, is tricky but seems accurate. The level gauge in the viewfinder is faint and needs to be found. I found it difficult to use the finder in bright light - probably not set it up properly yet. This camera will undoubtedly produce excellent images but its initial impact is spoiled by inadequate documentation and some quirks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

One of the best cameras with a minor drawback

ILCE-7RM4 18 April 2021 by rollingneurons (USA)

This still is one of the best cameras for stills 1.5 years after its initial release. I like everything of it except the huge file size. I hope Sony could enable either a "Small Raw" file feature in-camera or develop a raw file resize feature within Imaging Edge Desktop. I think even for professional photographers, 61MP is not always appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, but flawed

ILCE-7RM4 18 April 2021 by Jamsey Boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera new, from a Uk supplier, in late March 2021 only to find that a face-lift version was to be released in the following month. Still, apart from that, the camera is beginning to show me what it's capable of now for the principle reasons I purchased it, which is portrait, product and landscape photography, with back up use as a video camera to my Fuji Cameras. The features and menus are comprehensive and in my opinion those that criticise Sony, for the menu system, fail to grasp that this camera is intended for you to customise in the way that suits your workflow. Once you've set it up correctly, the results are truly remarkable. Even old manual adapted lenses that I have, mostly fast primes, the character and detail retrieval is astounding. I highly recommend it as the best value camera at the moment, with a price point at around 40% of a new A1 with little discernable photographic disadvantage, quite the contrary in my view, although the video features are better in the A1. So, a great camera then, marked down a little for no touch screen and a lower resolution rear screen. Did that stop me purchasing it? Obviously not! Should it stop you from purchasing it? I would say go for the newer version, but certainly, at least for now, the lenses in Sony's line up are often to be had for less than Nikon and Canon's offerings, and that, ultimately, played a large part in my decision making process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A7Riv review

ILCE-7RM4 08 April 2021  (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an A7iii and am glad I did. This camera exhibits insane levels of detail and resolution. One hardly needs a telephoto lens, you can crop as much as you want without losing detail. Simply brilliant once you get used to the over complex menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great photography capability, but video lacks a lo

ILCE-7RM4 14 March 2021 by Dmaiano (United Kingdom)

I have been using this monster of a camera for over a year for photography and I'm fully satisfied! impressive quality, speed and reliability. What I'm expecting is a better video capability like internal 10bit recoding (or at least external) just to have the flexibility to shoot some nice video without being restricted to the very limited 8bit codec which shows too much banging in some circumstances

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

10

0

Change from Nikon

ILCE-7RM4 13 March 2021 by rmande (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been a Nikon DSLR user for many decades culminating with the D850 which is a truely outstanding camera for many aspects of photography - I decide to go for a mirroless camera and chose Sony for wildlife photography because of the lenses avaiable - (ie 200-600mm and 600mm and the high resolution of the A7R IV. It has taken a while to adapt but getting very familar with it and its great felxibility in settings and controls via the many possible function assignment buttons or toggles. At last I am getting truely sharp images in most light settings and have become an admirer of the camera and the 200-600mm lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Great with exception

ILCE-7RM4 11 March 2021 by DR Bow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera, marginally disappointed with higher ISO noise.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

Fantastic quality photos, loads of options.

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021 by Grahammason5410 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have taken many photos of garden birds and wildlife, the images are fantastic quality. I can now crop into a photo and keep crystal clear focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

A 'real camera': technically A1, great to use

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had an A7R2 for many years, but did not use it a lot because it felt like a piece of consumer electronics rather than a 'real' camera. Hence I was dubious about the R4, but decided to go for the extra pixels! I have been pleasantly surprised. I won't go into the technical - there is no doubt that this camera is far more techincally capable than the A7R2, or the RAW image quality which is what you would expect from a 61MP Sony. However, importantly, this piece of electronic wizardry feels like a camera, and is a pleasure to use. I have finally got it set up (the menu's remain complicated) so that everything I need (in A-priority) is at the fingertips of my right hand - hence I can operate this camera fully, for my needs, without removing the camera from my eye. (Aperture, EComp, Drive Mode, ISO, Aspect Ratio (great to have 4:3 and 1:1), Creative Style, Display, Review and Review Zoom - all with one hand!.) This ia an excellent camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus.

ILCE7RM4/B 26 February 2021 by brigancook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus. Still happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 12 February 2021 by zach1992 (USA)

Great camera, easy to setup and use. Amazing image quality. Only downside is buffer fills up quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 04 February 2021 by Mearnshowe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 4 weeks ago and to say I am well impressed would be an understatement. An amazing piece of kit which definitely benefits from good glass on it. It takes a little time to setup but is infinitely customisable to suit your own requirements.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

6

0

A stunning camera

ILCE-7RM4 21 January 2021 by Nate Dizzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot believe how good this camera is! A stunning piece of kit. Great menu system. I was unsure about moving from nikon to Sony! NOT ANYMORE !!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Amazing features

ILCE-7RM4 16 January 2021 by Buyi (United Kingdom)

Bought this recently and it is great! Just starting out the photography officially

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Not surprising, but absolutely top notch.

ILCE-7RM4 24 December 2020 by Anglesey (United Kingdom)

I swore I wouldn't review until I'd lived with the camera for a while, but how could you not be completely wowed by a camera like this. I admit it, I'm a pixel peeper and I have no need to produce massive prints for commercial use, but sharpness is important to me and I've always been disappointed by APSC sensors. Have plasters handy- this is sharp! The EVF is also important to me and this is magnificent. Manual focussing reminds me of my old manual medium format cameras. There's no guess work with focus peaking needed. The magnified image shows you exactly where your focus area is at. The ergonomics are great for me: I've large hands and was concerned it might be too small, but no. I worried about the menu system from reviews I'd seen but I've found it ok so far. The only issue I've experienced was a very dusty sensor from the off- which I'd also read about. It took a few attempts to get it as clean as I wanted and I don't know how it will fair in practice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great mirrorless camera

ILCE-7RM4 22 December 2020 by Brian58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a much loved canon 5d mk 4, which I was starting to find heavy and bulky for carrying for a long time. Initially I found the menu and lack of touch screen a nuisance but you soon get used to the Sony way of working. The af is first class though I would like a firmware update to improve the animal af. Build quality I would describe as adequate, battery life is poor after a dslr but that it to be expected. The lens selection from both Sony and third party makers is great. It is a shame that some of the Sony lenses such as the f2.8 70-200 are so heavy and I found the tamron 70-180 suits the camera much better. Overall a great introduction to mirrorless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Exelent Camera

ILCE7RM4/B 20 December 2020 by Karl61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 12 days ago This is my 3rd Sony Camera love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4 17 December 2020 by Mahmud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really happy with my purchase , i wiwh you good luck Sony !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This Camera is SERIOUS!

ILCE7RM4/B 25 November 2020 by Picsmiths (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a So y a7iii a couple years ago & just bought another one but got the new a7r4 & WOW! The a7iii is an awesome camera but this one is next level! If you’re thinking about buying a camera DO NOT BUY A NIKON OR A CANON! Spend the extra money & get a Sony Alpha & you will not be disappointed. Pictures equal space saving memories & Sony clarity is where it’s at! Thank you Sony for helping me take my photography to the next level, @picsmiths

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

ideal work machine

ILCE-7RM4 09 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had it for two weeks and am happy. also works as a family camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Good Camera...but need option for lower resolution

ILCE-7RM4 07 November 2020 by avng (USA)

While 61MP is a high resolution, it slows down the entire photography workflow from taking photos to editing.  It would be great if this camera allowed options to take full frame raw files at a lower resolution.  Please consider changing software or other things such that the camera can take full frame raw file at a lower resolution.  This would be a great feature and boost more sale if Sony can do it.  Other competitors can do it, no reason why Sony can’t.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

Best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by GMW50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for 9 months and I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

R=Resolution

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by Markn9115 (USA)

The first time is held the new grip, I smiled. It felt as though the camera was shaking my hand. It felt as though, from that day on, this camera and I had made a pact to create some mind-blowing and work. Sounds silly, right. Who has an actual relationship with their gear? I never had. After a year, the camera feels as if it is an extension of my arm. Once all of my customers menus were dialed in, it became a part of me. I know this sounds ridiculous. But I feel quite confident no other camera is configured quite like mine is. It is customized to my style of stills and video. knowing I have this flexibility is extremely liberating. As I grow as a photographer, I find néw and exciting ways to properly customize my camera. Do I feel as if I am the best photographer? Of course not. But this tool has definitely “upped” my skills to a level I hadn’t though possible. The resolution is just a bonus, but blows my mind when I capture a little something special which can be recompose in post. As if I were so good I captured the exposure intentionally...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

good but with flaws

ILCE-7RM4 07 October 2020 by geoff102 (United Kingdom)

SENSOR IS A DUST MAGNET!! Urgently need option to close shutter on power down as introduced in latest firmware for A9ii. No lossless compression despite being asked for multiple times. No focus stacking. Looses bluetooth connection to phone on power save when location sharing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

GAME CHANGER!

ILCE-7RM4 03 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this in March, so I've been using this for personal work and three international jobs now, The camera is awesome! The Image quality is incredible, its fast reliable and just lovely to shoot on, images are great out of camera and great to work with in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 26 September 2020 by Trev12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great view finder ,fantastic picture quality easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Thee best stills, landscape camera of 2019-2020

ILCE-7RM4 18 September 2020 by Chris the Photographer (USA)

So, honestly so much is good with this camera I'll make it quick. This is literally the best stills, protrait, landscape camera there is on market in 2019-2020 and probably will be for 2021. This is comfortable in hand, it takes sharp images, definitely geared for the stills person but I've gotten some great moving sports shots, great 4k video, and everything else. Like you could not go wrong. Heck, 5 years from now this camera will still be a serious contender. All a camera is a tool and you make it work. This "tool" in particular though will really help you do your craft. When shooting with it the camera just works with me becoming an extension of my visual art, when I'm doing protraits, landscapes, photo journalism it disappears and becomes part of me. The only cons are the touchscreen is only useful for selecting focus points. If it worked for menus it would be a huge improvement! The other the other downside is the menus. Which really aren't too bad especially after you get the hang of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One word: unbelievable

ILCE-7RM4 02 September 2020 by IcyMile (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Swapped over after 20 years of Canon, and completely blown away with the quality, lightness, and performance of the Mk 4. It wasn’t love at first sight, but have now learnt the menus and how to set up the camera The resolution and image quality is impressive, and at 10 fps, + the lightness of the body and G Master lenses means it’s easier to lug about, and great results. Very happy with this equipment, not cheap, but for me a massive step to improving useability and love of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

1