141

4.3 based on 141 customer reviews

89
27
8
7
10
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 90 days...

SRS-XB12 19 July 2021 by GSmith23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speaker until it stopped working. 12 emails between Sony and Amazon with Sony saying Amazon needs to resolve this and Amazon saying it's Sony that have to fix this under warranty. Really dissapointed in lack of ownership from Sony and will now avoid this brand in the future. They were a market leader for technology and service, now they are an also ran...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

141 Customer Reviews

0

Small and efficient

SRS-XB12/BC E 30 August 2021 by Bearing (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are less expensive choices to buy but I am happy to pay a bit more for quality. Was a bit upset with the pairing but learnt in the end it's more to do with my old laptop than the speaker. The mini form fits well and once I got to know the connection part, it has never failed to link up. Sound wise it's stable even with only one unit. Strongly recommend.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for realistic sound

SRSXB12/B 21 July 2021 by RAPTOR227 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recieved this first as a reward gift. I set it up (easy) and instantly knew the best placement in my home is Master Bath as the speakers are dust and waterproof. The sound with true speaker separation is awesome. Having two speakers opens the separation of audio as recorded. Nice work Sony! .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stopped working after 90 days...

SRS-XB12 19 July 2021 by GSmith23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speaker until it stopped working. 12 emails between Sony and Amazon with Sony saying Amazon needs to resolve this and Amazon saying it's Sony that have to fix this under warranty. Really dissapointed in lack of ownership from Sony and will now avoid this brand in the future. They were a market leader for technology and service, now they are an also ran...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great speaker overall but...

SRSXB12/B 28 June 2021 by Darko Nikolic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish this speaker came with NFC pairing and Bluetooth battery indicator on connected device and power saving mode but it's generally very compact, robust, delivers great sound quality and battery life for its price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Small but powerful!

SRS-XB12/GC E 27 June 2021 by LCC368 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the wireless speaker during 6.6 Lazada Sale. Didn’t expect the sound quality is as good as Marshall but given the price at $70, i am really satisfied of the product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy tool for emergency speaker

SRS-XB12/HC E 25 June 2021 by Ankh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good as a back up speaker in a classroom or enclosed space. Portable and user friendly. Good buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful sounds

SRS-XB12 23 June 2021 by lexusslk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this for a birthday present, it is small but has a fantastic sound and deep bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit for the money.

SRS-XB12 20 May 2021 by CandyHill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker is just the boost that I needed for my iPad's audio output. I mainly bought it to enable me to hear audiobooks clearly, but it is also good enough quality for music. Robust and has a quality feel. It fell on my porcelain tile floor yesterday and is remarkably unscathed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12/LC E 28 April 2021 by Miniii (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the bass of the speaker. It's loud and clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing Sound

SRS-XB12 24 March 2021 by Cinders57 (United Kingdom)

Easy to install. Well packaged. lightweight and great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound but v.fiddly buttons

SRS-XB12 20 March 2021 by AcousticMatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The waterproofing makes this a brilliant shower companion and the sound is great for the size. But the buttons are impossible to identify because they're just slightly raised symbols made of the same colour rubber as the main case. They'd be ideal for Braille readers. But I'm endlessly pressing the wrong one because they're so small and indistinguishable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony Supremacy

SRS-XB12 10 March 2021 by MRC56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does exactly what I wanted and so I decided to double-up and go stereo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

SRS-XB12 09 March 2021 by Ella1431 (United Kingdom)

Love this speaker, it has perfect sound and bass :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SRS-XB12 26 February 2021 by Chesvin Chacko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two weeks ago and it has good features..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Powerful sound from a small speaker

SRS-XB12 13 February 2021 by Fred100 (United Kingdom)

I bought two of these, they connect wirelessly to play stereo or just to play in two different rooms. Great to take outdoors.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

What a sound from coffe cup!!

SRS-XB12 13 February 2021 by remah (United Kingdom)

Outstanding sound from a speaker no bigger than a coffee cup - it is truly remarkable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0