73

4.1 based on 73 customer reviews

38
22
3
1
9
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A Tiny Little Heavy Hitter

HDRAZ1VR/W 09 November 2014 by sandiegodom (USA)

As Sony continues in its attempt to make in-roads into the Go-Pro dominated POV camera market the HDR-AZ1VR is a very good entry. There are some all-to-typical Sony ‘stumbles’ but overall this is a fun little camera. According to Sony, at this time, it is the smallest POV camera in the world. I don’t doubt that. BUILD This is one tiny camera at approximately 3”x1”x1.5” and 1.7 ounces. You can mount or hide this thing almost anywhere. For any POV camera a housing is required to make them shock proof. This is definitely the case with the HDR-AZ1. The outer shell feels very plastic to the touch. A metal alloy case, I believe, would be preferable and add to it a sense of ruggedness (even if some weight would also be added). Sony’s first tablets also suffered from a perception of being cheap because of the material they were made of -- even though Sony stated the cases were very strong. In the same way I don’t doubt the case is strong but it doesn’t necessarily feel that way. Sony’s new line of tablets are strong and lightweight but the feel of the material is upscale. A similar approach should be taken with the POV cameras. BASIC FEATURES The unit provides all the basic functions you’d expect in a POV camera: video recording (1080p), still photography (11MP) and time lapse capability. It also offers Burst mode which allows you to take a series of shots continuously, as well as another called Motion Shot that combines Burst mode images onto a single still frame. The unit seems to eat through batteries when connected through a mobile device or the wrist remote control. Fortunately the battery is user serviceable so you could always buy another if this proves to be an issue. Also note that when either the camera or remote are submerged, due to the fact water absorbs high frequencies quite readily (which is what Wi-Fi is) the connection is dropped (once no longer submerged the camera and device reconnect automatically). WATERPROOF One area where I believe Sony is simultaneously on the right and wrong track is with ‘waterproofing.’ In the past year they’ve released smartphones and tablets that were purportedly waterproof yet did not stand up so well to these claims. When placed inside the water/dust proof housing the unit is said to be waterproof down to 16 feet. Unfortunately buried elsewhere in the manual is the warning that autofocus does not work underwater. So it is possible to shoot underwater as long as you don’t mind blurry image! Yes it is possible to use the camera in very wet settings (like a surfboard) but I feel the 16 foot under water designation is a bit deceiving. REMOTE CONTROL Nearly all functions of the camera can be operated using the PlayMemories Mobile app available for iOS and Android. It can also quickly connect via NFC on your mobile devices. (I was able to easily pair the unit with my Android tablet). Your device also becomes the viewfinder and playback device for the camera. This works great. Also available bundled with the HDR-AZ1 is a remote control called the Live-View remote. It looks very much like a Casio watch and controls the same functions as the mobile app. It is also waterproof and is more suitable when using the camera in more active settings. Once the camera is mounted to a helmet or some other objects this would be the preferred method for monitoring the images and changing settings. NOTE: due to the limited Wi-Fi range the camera looses it’s connection beyond about a five-foot radius. If there is any metal between you and the unit the range is even less. CONNECTIVITY All of the usual players are here: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and USB. This is excellent and means that theoretically you can download your images to practically any device you have in your home. There’s also a cool streaming feature that allows you to do a live broadcast via the streaming site USTREAM.com. I tried this out and it works. The setup took a bit of time but once you’ve gone through the initial steps connecting to unit to USTREAM is ridiculously easy. VIDEO QUALITY The standard MP4 video quality (AVC/h.264) is good for nearly all consumer purposes. There was one very complicated scene where the CODEC ran out of bits to throw at the scene (my car tire rotating very quickly). This is where the XAVC S format will come in handy. At 50 Mbps this is considered on the low side of “professional” level compression rates. Using XAVC S also gets you to 24 fps, which will intercut with professional cameras much better than the strange 25fps frame rate that POV cameras seem to commonly use. Be sure to get a fast enough card to handle XAVC S if you intend to use it. XAVC is capable of 4K UHDTV (3840x2160) but Sony chose not to enable it for this camera. They should have. SOUND QUALITY Sound quality is good but I was not expecting much from a POV camera (and you shouldn’t either). It’s intended to gather whatever sound is going on around it. If you are trying to shoot a feature film with your POV camera you’re going to need external miss…of course. OPTICAL Sony continues its partnership with the legendary Carl Zeiss Corporation and this lens is the usual testament to the engineers at Zeiss. My complaint though is that at 17mm (35mm equivalent) the focal length is too wide and has crept into fish-eye lens territory. Where this type of wide-angle distortion will look cool for action sports, it would be nice to have the option to zoom in a bit. Several of the Go-Pros do allow for choosing three different focal lengths. I believe this is absolutely necessary. Auto gain takes a bit of time to recover when going from dark to light areas. Steady shot works very impressively! With the unit mounted just behind my front tire very little vibration was picked up driving at about 40 miles per hour on uneven pavement (see video). This without the mount having any shock absorption qualities whatsoever. Great job Sony! CONCLUSION This is a great little POV camera that is so small and lightweight it can be used for countless applications. Coupled with the Zeiss lens, 50 Mbs XAVC CODEC and the available cinema frame rate I can see this camera easily being used in professional applications where a more costly camera would not be risked or may not fit. And of course it will work just as well on your snowboard or mountain bike helmet. The Live View remote control is also handy. I just wish the Wi-Fi range extended beyond a few feet. My biggest complain is the camera’s inability to focus underwater. Even at 16 feet depth it would still be a nice capability to have. But this is not necessarily a deal breaker. I am already imagining all the things I’ll be able to do with such a little heavy-hitter.

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

sound and video very good, rest not so good.

Body + Waterproof Case 17 September 2015 by Fenny (United Kingdom)

I was given this as a present, and thought it was excellent. Sound and video recording very good. I use it for travelling to and from work, I have found that the battery has a life of about 1.5hrs. and today the card was full so I deleted the video clips now the camera will not except the card. The on/off button is very small and doesn't always seem to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

74 Customer Reviews

0

For paragliding

HDRAZ1/W 10 November 2018 by Alatarod (USA)

I am a paragliding pilot and have been using the camera for many years , I love this tiny action cam but I wish I would have bought the bigger one with longer battery life .

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

HDRAZ1VR/W 10 September 2018 by Danny Hydro man (USA)

Great product use for videos, presentations, etc. Works good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for me...

HDRAZ1/W 02 January 2018 by Romy_R (USA)

I play airsoft with my team and we use to post short movies form every event, so we decied to have more action-cam (same model) to have the best angle of action.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

best cam

HDR-AZ1 KIT 30 December 2017  (USA)

The best cam ever. I love her. Good stability and image

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great for most hunting

HDR-AZ1 KIT 17 October 2017 by Wyattdf (USA)

I go hunting a lot and it works great when I am duck hunting. When I am archery hunting however the beep it makes when I hit the record button is loud. I would leave it recording the whole time but the battery only last's an hour to an hour and a half if I do that. Other than the beep and the battery, it works great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little cam

Body + Waterproof Case 05 July 2017 by Gsx1400uk (United Kingdom)

It does all I can ask for an action cam To do It gets a hard life on top of my crossbow doing 3D shoots most week ends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome action camera! Outstanding build quality!

HDR-AZ1 KIT 30 June 2017 by Nexi (USA)

Awesome action camera. Outstanding build quality. Using it for 3 years without any problems. Highly recommend product. Well done SONY!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

HDR-AZ1 KIT 25 June 2017 by Hornet88 (USA)

love it. use it for airsofting and other things and it works like a charm!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I can't get this product to work.

HDRAZ1/W 25 June 2017 by Culandun (USA)

I bought my grand daughters the larger version of this product and was impressed so I indulged myself with the HDR-AZ1. I simply can't get it to link to either the wrist worn remote or my iPhone or to any of the Android devices that I have.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Useless

Body + Waterproof Case 22 April 2017 by VanillaGorilla (United Kingdom)

Received the Sony Action Cam as a gift and have only been disappointed. The pack came with the wearable live view remote kit, adjustable dog harness and various mounts all of which are useless. The camera won't save video despite the 32gb microSD, the live view remote has a pitiful range of less than 3m which is reduced even more if there is any obstructions. The wifi range of the camera is exactly the same. The dog harness fell off every single time it was used on either dog, large and small. However there is a positive note - the adhesive base on the mount is pretty strong, it can be removed from whatever surface it is placed on but not without some effort.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Tiny size. Great picture quality.

Body + Waterproof Case 07 April 2017 by Herbalrich (United Kingdom)

Bought as a cycle safety camera. Picture quality is great but battery only lasts 1HR. The size is perfect but mounting options are not great so have made my own mount with dual lock Velcro.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beautifully constructed,features '+' , manual '-'

HDRAZ1VR/W 31 January 2017 by TioB (USA)

I bought this two months ago, the included instruction sheet was so tiny with a minuscule type face, I waited until this month's ski trip to try to use it. Downloading online pdf manuals really helped, but, apparently Sony's engineers never had a problem with it that would cause them to provide an online, or printed solution to. I finally gave up on the wrist monitor, finding the connection to my Android phone was adequate (to start and stop the camera, once you've removed the phone from your inside jacket pocket... awkard). Today, I transferred the videos to my PC, and Win Media Player is unable to read them. I did NOT see any notice that I had to Dl Sony's software to make this all work. But I have, and with God's grace in a few minutes it will. Like Hewlett Packard, this is a product well designed and constructed (on a lift, another skiier brought the safety bar down with out warning, snapping the camera off my head!!! I retrieved it when the lifts closed... Hat Off to Sony, there was absolutely no indication of any damage, neither to the camera, the plastic case, nor the clip that secured it to my helmet. So, I am Really looking forward to getting it to work. .. Cincinnati

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

compact size

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 27 January 2017 by Deme (United Kingdom)

its compact and light, picture quality is very good although its not 4K, would have been better if it had a HDMI socket. I got the one with live view which i thought was a bit cumbersome, but one i was wearing it i soon forgot about it. the mounting system is good but again i thought it was a bit big compared to the size of all the Sony action cams and compared to other brands. overall I do like it and think its a great bit of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good picture quality

Body + Waterproof Case 09 January 2017 by Sc00by (United Kingdom)

Not had a real chance to test to the max but so far so good! Picture quality is good as is the sound capture. Battery life is poor as is the lack of a screen meaning a phone or tablet is required! But then in return the camera is tiny and has some great features! Overall a great compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So small but brilliant pictures

Body + Waterproof Case 24 December 2016 by DMacDMac (United Kingdom)

I use as a head cam to to work on my bicycle. I forget it's on my head

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera ever

HDRAZ1/W 26 November 2016 by arocha424 (USA)

only because of the sizew they removed the micro hdmi to connect to my TV, and the GPS features all else excellent, easy to operarate and best the switch thats prevent the camera from turning on by itself

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice cam

HDRAZ1/W 14 November 2016 by rmoeini (USA)

i am happy about my purchase, like the remote, highly recommend

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love the size and how easy is to handle

HDRAZ1/W 05 November 2016 by EPEMAMA (USA)

this product is something completly diferent to what I use before is very easy to use and what I love more is that for me being as old as I'm no matter how much I move my camara the picture is always perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

handy little action cam bad remote viewer

HDRAZ1VR/W 24 October 2016 by Frank8716 (USA)

Easy to use. Not a lot of mounting options. Great video quality. The viewer stopped working twice. The store replaced it the first time after I had owned it only two months. The replacement which was new stopped working almost immediately. Worth buying without the viewer unless Sony fixed the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 07 June 2016 by Jusam (United Kingdom)

Light and small, can be hold in hand or stativs. Handheld control unit makes use simpel and easy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

Body + Waterproof Case 05 May 2016 by Davidoo (United Kingdom)

Very happy with it, connects easy to your mobile delivers great pictures/videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 18 April 2016 by R08mky (United Kingdom)

Been looking at the Sony cameras for a while, seen a good deal on the mini one(albeit without the remote) so bought it. It's so small and light, fits on the underside of my full face helmet so well. The video quality is superb and the play memories app works well to stream and save straight to my phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD CAMERA - POOR SOFTWARE

Body + Waterproof Case 05 April 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought this thinking it would be good for capturing tennis games with my family. The camera does well but I'm really disappointed with the poor quality app from Sony. Live streaming is almost impossible for some reason (the biggest reason for its purchase). What Sony promote isn't as easily achieved as you come to realise. Haven't used it for 3 months, just sat in a draw doing nothing. Thoroughly disappointed with the experience. The live streaming would have given other family members a chance to see how well our children's tennis games are improving and watch them play from many miles away. I hope you can fix this.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great easy to use action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 24 March 2016 by Tolosan (United Kingdom)

I bought this to video my motor cycle ride outs, it is a small compact camera easy to set up and use and has a great smart phone app to apply the settings. The quality of the film is first class, also use this in my car a a dash cam and again the quality of the film is first class.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Action Cam

Body + Waterproof Case 14 March 2016 by Gypsy Jon (United Kingdom)

Extremely small but powerful, easy to use and totally user friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

really great piece of equipment

Body + Waterproof Case 29 February 2016 by Eamonn6907 (United Kingdom)

i brought the action cam to replace my older version. i take it overtime I ski, video quality is great, and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

left feeling a little dissapointed

Body + Waterproof Case 24 February 2016  (United Kingdom)

received as a gift (promo purchase with mobile ophone) relatively easy set up though editing software from Sony felt a bit basic. Accessories - eg helmet mount had no adjustment, adhesive pads on mount we=rent as flexible as those on competitor (eg gopro) resorted to using an after market stick. Actual picture quality was good though not quite as vibrant as the gopro i didn't think. This is a reasonably cheap alternative to a go pro so is worth considering but I felt accessories let it down. If using wifi to phone or remote - this seemd to eat battery life Had to repeatedly re insert memory card when snowboarding as seemed that relatively minor jolts caused it to unseat

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great, versatile little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 12 February 2016 by StretchArmstrong (United Kingdom)

The size of this camera makes it great for time lapse projects where you don't want subjects noticing the camera. The video quality although not as good as some other action cams is perfectly usable and the phone app is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

What a package!

Body + Waterproof Case 21 January 2016 by BionicBenjy (United Kingdom)

Wifi connection is great - see what you record. Cheapest 120fps quality video camera I have found so far - and rather tough as its already taken a bashing and still working fine! Super easy to use by anyone whether they are a wizz kid or a technophobe. Doubles as a remote camera for monitoring something - in my case a secretive animal that wont perform with a human audience!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality.

Body + Waterproof Case 09 January 2016  (United Kingdom)

This was a surprise Christmas present for me. The camera comes with very basic, hard copy instruction manuals and I found it difficult to connect the camera to my phone as I do not have the additional Remote Monitor. I am not at all familiar with any movie making software, so I cannot say if the Sony PlayMemoriesMobile and Action Cam software are any good yet. What I can say for certain is that I would have liked to have received a more robust, mounting method for the camera. The camera clips snugly onto the base plate but that is expected to secure onto my contoured, cycle helmet adequately with just a sticky pad. A pair of reusable cable-ties would have been nice.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great camera

Body + Waterproof Case 31 December 2015  (United Kingdom)

Very good quality of video and pictures, not the best though. The shape of the device really helps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camera

Body + Waterproof Case 23 December 2015 by psymon71 (United Kingdom)

Only downside is you can't link it to a windows ph

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great device

Body + Waterproof Case 29 November 2015 by Rmguk (United Kingdom)

Works well would recommend this product to a friend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice piece of kit

Body + Waterproof Case 03 November 2015 by Codhead (United Kingdom)

I got this with my new phone have used it once to record casting teqnique over grass easy to use and transfer to my iPad results were average as am learning how best to use

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mounts are limited

Body + Waterproof Case 01 November 2015 by Chris D (United Kingdom)

Camera is compact, getting video to work on the software required a call to Sony helpdesk which they resolved. B careful that your Mobile phone supports NFC, or you won't be able to watch the video wirelessly on your phone, only via a usb lead.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

The best small action camera!

Body + Waterproof Case 09 October 2015 by paulotex (United Kingdom)

I needed an action camera to put on my helmet while motorcycling. I needed a small and light camera, but I also wanted good battery life and good image quality (1080p @ 50fps). This is the only camera that has all these features, with a caveat: the battery life isn't very good (I get 90min of 1080p @ 50fps with image stabilization on and wifi off), but it is replaceable. I am very happy with the camera and would buy it again! Here are my pro and cons about this camera: What I like: * 50/60 fps @ 1080p * light and small * replaceable battery * splash proof without case, water proof with case * image stabilization * image preview via mobile * configurable using the phone * time lapse * good low light performance * under £200 This is what it doesn't have, and how I got over it: * No external mic. That's ok, I never used it anyway. If I really needed it, I will have to record the sound on my mobile and then sync it. * Short battery life. 1h30 with 50/60 fps @ 1080p. But since the battery is replaceable, I bough an extra battery and a charger. * No GPS, no screen info. That's ok, I never used it anyway, and it saves battery. Configuration and preview are done using the mobile phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Underwear photography is useless

Body + Waterproof Case 05 October 2015 by doniluga (United Kingdom)

The picture underwater should be on the box, and then I wouldn't waste my money. Without the flat lense or dive door camera price should be 50% off

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

3

4

0

Simple to use great picture

Body + Waterproof Case 05 October 2015 by The great white Hawkins (United Kingdom)

I bought this to film skydiving and have only used it a couple of times. However, I found the picture quality and sound exceptional, the wireless monitor really good and being able to stop and start the record function via the monitor really useful. For me the down side is that to charge or access the files you need to take it out of the waterproof housing, and when this is attached to a heavy duty helmet mount, means you have to take it all apart and this in my opinion is the only thing I don't like. I haven't used the gps function to comment on that, but that is not really something I bought the camera for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sound and video very good, rest not so good.

Body + Waterproof Case 17 September 2015 by Fenny (United Kingdom)

I was given this as a present, and thought it was excellent. Sound and video recording very good. I use it for travelling to and from work, I have found that the battery has a life of about 1.5hrs. and today the card was full so I deleted the video clips now the camera will not except the card. The on/off button is very small and doesn't always seem to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Unfortunately, no good for motorcycling

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 18 August 2015 by harleyg98 (United Kingdom)

I'd been undecided for months whether to go for a GoPro or one of the host of sports cams out there. I'm a big sony fan - there digital cameras are great products. Having mounted this on my helmet (in the waterproof case) I went out to test it. The first few frames were excellent – both video and audio, unfortunately as the bike gained speed, the audio became worse and worse - sounded like a rattlesnake. I took it back for an exchange - thinking it was a faulty model. Sadly, the replacement was just as bad. There isn't any 'padding' in the waterproof jacket so I can only assume that the camera vibrates against the case - resulting in the awful noise. If Sony could sort this issue out I'd happily try again. I'm confident the camera will perform well – as long as it's not placed in a situation where it vibrates – then it's a dog.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

More Than It Can Chew

HDRAZ1VR/W 12 August 2015 by spike55 (USA)

This camera and the wrist control unit are great except for the limited by battery life. I ride off-road motorcycle and we go for more than 1 hour between stops. The camera battery doesn't last that long, so recording stops at approx. 30-40 mins into the next leg. The camera comes with a 640 mAh battery and I bought two more 640 mAh and two 1,000 mAh, so I now have 5 batteries. I have the camera set at the least energy intensive settings (Standard) to maximize the battery life, so using the anti-shake mode is out even though it would be ideal for my purposes. One might suggest that I buy additional camera batteries to extend my recording but it is of no use. After 5 camera batteries, the wrist unit's battery is dead too and none of these can be effectively recharged while in the field under extreme conditions of dirt, vibration, some times precipitation. Now don't get me wrong, the picture quality is very good but it could be better if I could use the anti-shake while bouncing on the motorcycle. Again, anti-shake mode would kill battery life even quicker. I need to figure out what foam and how to attach it over the front facing microphones to cut the wind noise. The wind noise might be the reason so many motorcycle videos have a loud music sound track. Again, having the camera rolling as I ride is very desirable to me but I think all of these adventure cameras suffer from limited battery life and wind noise issues when attached to a motorcycle helmet.

1

3

0

Pretty sweet!!

HDRAZ1VR/W 28 July 2015 by Kingtutmn (USA)

It was very easy to use, I took it snorkeling the day after I bought it. I had the bone head moment trying to use the remote features underwater. (Radio frequency devices don't work well in water). I would like to find an external charger for the battery.

0

0

0

Excellent Performance and Quality

HDRAZ1VR/W 09 July 2015 by MrPhoto (USA)

The compact camera and image quality and stabilization are excellent. The wrist viewer is a real plus during recording. It performs just as advertised with Sony quality

0

0

0

Awesome cam

Body + Waterproof Case 05 July 2015 by bigguns84 (United Kingdom)

I bought this cam about a month ago it is a good cam dose everything i want it to, not jumpy due to the steady function on the cam good, sound quality in the case is good, my only problem is the editing software available it is not really up to pare with others but that is it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great skateboarding camera

hdraz1vr 19 June 2015 by 2002814 (USA)

I skateboard a lot and i think this is better then a gopro. yes, it does have less accessorizes but you can get creative. it uses a universal screw so you can buy a random tripod and use it. it's also short/small enough to mount under your skateboard. you can get very cool shots with this. it also weighs around 10 grams lighter then a gopro hero 3. if your planing to use it for underwater filming, your out of luck because it does not have a underwater filming case. the included case is just waterproof. If it goes under the image gets blurry. well, i guess well need to wait and see

2

0

0

Best action camera!!

HDRAZ1VR/W 15 May 2015 by BTriplett (USA)

I have boat load of action cameras however the Sony mini is my go to! I can not attest to the Sony mounts as I use third party mounts. However the camer with its remote is amazing!! The Sony steady shot take care of the jumpy video while snowboarding, wakeboarding, drone footage, etc. the footage is great as I am not a video editor I send the raw footage to family and friends and they are amazed. The "video watch" as people explain it when they see it, is amazing the video is live and is handy (needed) to change video modes on the mini action cam. Using it while on the stand up Jetski is easier than messing with manually changing camera settings as your floating in the water reaching up onto the ski. The Sony action cam app is great!! Now after filming the friends waterskiing I can send it to them right away without needing a computer. All in all great!! Buy extra batteries take it with you everywhere and you'll be able to capture those priceless moments that you would miss while your fumbling around for your iPhone. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.

2

3

0

ActionCam It is

HDRAZ1VR/W 15 May 2015 by JaydP (USA)

Great camera for action/adventure shots/videos. Quality is good and easy to use. Would like to be able to change modes between video and stills w/o the need for the Live View Remote. Otherwise, it is all I need for water sports, biking and future drone videography/photography. Too bad the range between the cam and remote is quite limited. This is a fun piece of equipment from Sony.

1

1

0

best camcorder over every had

HDRAZ1VR/W 07 May 2015 by atomicjake (USA)

I love this camera. I've used it every day since I purchased it. Great battery life on both devices and amazing picture and sound. I really like the editing software out comes with as well.

0

2

0

No under water lens

HDRAZ1/W 21 April 2015 by Reykooks (USA)

I purchased this camera thinking that Sony will also release an accessory like the lens for under water soon after they released it, but sad to say that up until now there's nothing, and I think they dont have any plan of producing one. Very disappointing because using the camera under water wont provide you a good video. I take a lot of underwater videos, that was the reason why I decided to buy this cam.

9

10

0

Missing GoPro - (But not really...)

HDRAZ1/W 18 April 2015  (USA)

I let my teenage son take my GoPro 3 Black to Austin, TX for a regatta. Over the course of the weekend it was either stolen or lost. I was very frustrated with him for losing my camera and was dreading the thought of having to shell out $350+ to replace it. So I spent some time researching options out there. I took a flyer and purchased the Sony Action Cam. I was skeptical but tried to keep an open mind. Well I am to the point where I am not really missing my GoPro now. The picture quality is amazing. I love the smaller size. The mount setup is so much better than the GP (I love that it takes a threaded mount). The software works flawlessly. Remote control via my iPhone is as good or better than the GP. I would buy another one of these in a heartbeat over a GP. Thank you Sony. My son just might survive my wrath during the teen years. :)

2

1

0

Perfect for hang gliding - nearly...

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 26 March 2015 by Hang glider pilot John (United Kingdom)

I need to mount a camera out on the wing, or on a boom in front of the aircraft wing. I need to start and stop recordings remotely so I can capture the interesting phases from a many hour flight (take off, landing, exciting landscapes, etc.) I need a wide field of view. Pros: Very small. Very light. Very wide angle. Good outdoor video quality. Remote recording start/stop. Con: There is no way to put the camera into a low power standby mode remotely. Even when not recording, the camera broadcasts live video over WiFi and there is no option to disable it. Max standby in this state not recording, is about 2 hours. If my flight is over 2 hours, I can't record the landing. Please SONY, add a low power standby feature in the next software release!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do not purchase for snow sports.

HDRAZ1VR/W 24 March 2015  (USA)

Pros: Video quality is excellent. Very compact size. Can mount on side of helmet. Connection to Live View Remote works and is easy to change from video to picture mode. Stabilization feature really works. Cons: Only rated down to 23 degrees F which is not low enough for snow sports; impacts battery life. Battery life is very short; Sony recommends turning off the camera (not standby) to preserve battery life but then you have to turn it back on before recording. Turning off the camera disconnects from the Live View Remote as well. On/off button is too small to turn on/off with gloves. Every time you want to record you have to pull off your glove, turn on the camera, and press the record button. To record periodically through a full day of skiing you need replacement batteries, and to find a dry place to install them.

4

1

0

Big things come in small packages

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 20 March 2015 by Westy117 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant little camera that is extremely versatile, the live streaming feature is great and the picture quality rivals that of cameras twice its price range!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Full Underwater Case

HDRAZ1VR/W 20 March 2015 by slfate41 (USA)

I am hopeful Sony reads these reviews. I need a underwater case capable of 30 meters similar to the MKP-AS3 for this awesome camera.

9

1

0

Great Camera that needs a few tweaks

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 16 March 2015 by Zorbal (United Kingdom)

Great except for a few (small) niggles - I would like the ability to power the camera from USB whilst in use and a lack of a hard lens protector - the curved front element is prone to being knocked. Otherwise the 50Mbps image is superb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

HDRAZ1/W 16 March 2015 by df900999 (USA)

I love my mini. Take great videos. In par with Gopros but the audio is far superior.

1

0

0

Great Little Action Camera

Body + Waterproof Case 03 March 2015 by Ronski Torski (United Kingdom)

I bought this in January 2015. I have only used it once and found it great. It has good sound quality and film footage. It didn't come with manual so I have watched others using it and reviewing on youtube in order to use it. It would be helpful if Sony provided some helpful suggestions on what settings to put the camera on for didn't types of filming. The most surprising thing about this camera is how small and light it is. The water proof housing unit is handy although I see that other sony cameras have a new front cover which is square rather than round which I assume is an improvement but haven't see one available for this little camera yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Reliable.

HDRAZ1/W 13 February 2015 by nfinit100 (USA)

For the last several years, I have been using POV camera's. I have recently been converted to an ActionCam fan because of the reliability of the product. I have used the GoPro (hero 2, 3+, etc) for much of the filming we do. I had been looking at the ActionCam for it's profile, and once the mini came out, it was perfect to toss in with all the backcountry gear. This winter, the gopro has been shelved. The gopro takes excellent quality video, but the software is constantly causing issues. The camera, with a fully charged battery, will shut down 10 seconds into recording, it will automatically stop recording. I have dealt with their customer service for hours on end and I am through with it. The actioncam does exactly what I am looking for, it records the video I want in excellent quality. It does this reliably. This isn't a movie where you get 30 chances to redo the same shot. I need the camera to work as stated each and every time. I can deal with battery life reduction on the mini. So the ActionCam is now my go to POV camera, it has a great image, but it works when it matters. So thank you Sony for developing a reliable product. Now let's just a few more mounting options...

10

3

0

Total waste of Time and Money!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 12 January 2015 by David C (United Kingdom)

Unit and controller do not communicate at all. One shows it working the other does not take any video or still images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

Magic action camera!!!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 24 December 2014 by Ratis (United Kingdom)

Bought one month ago, excellent camera ,good quality!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent product!

Body + Waterproof Case 14 December 2014 by Euge (United Kingdom)

I have been extremely happy with this Action Cam from Sony. The product features and quality (image and sound) have exceeded my expectations! I have been using the cam for mainly mountain bike footage which I share with friends and family. The product has also received allot of interest from fellow mountain bikers! Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 December 2014 by WildKnight (United Kingdom)

I own the HDR-AS15 Action Cam & the Action Cam Mini is a great evolution from that, good features & very light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Awesome Camera

HDRAZ1VR/W 30 November 2014 by Skiology (USA)

This camera is a great POV option. Really good quality in low light or dusk times and the image stabilization really is noticeable when watching playback. Cameras mounted on top of a helmet can be quite jerky and can seem less fluid, but this camera helps eliminate that to a point where it makes it seem like the video was shot using a regular camcorder. Live View + Remote is a great addition to the whole setup with being able to control everything from your wrist (choosing between video and still picture modes, start and stop recording, etc) and it's neat to be able to see what your camera is viewing on the display. Small and lightweight definitely is a plus. Overall, more than pleased with what this camera has to offer as everything was well-thought through.

2

0

0

Very good video capture but GPS Overlay is broken

Body + Waterproof Case 19 November 2014 by Bike A Ride (United Kingdom)

I like this sony camera a lot, its small size does very good video and photos, but there is a problem with the camera the GPS Overlay Data for your videos does not work and sony does not seem to have a fix yet for this issue, which is a shame because this was one of the reasons I went for this model in the first place, so come on sony get this GPS problem fixed with firmware update or some other fix and you'll have one the very best action cameras you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Hello

Body + Waterproof Case 13 November 2014 by hewa (United Kingdom)

It not good coz if you damage your teass lenses you can't buying the don't have any part

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

18

0

Wait a short while...?

HDRAZ1VR/W 10 November 2014 by Jaghund (USA)

Still need a few accessories before this camera cuts the mustard. First off the line : an underwater lens for the housing, so any footage taken below the surface doesnt go blurry. C'mon guys, you had this with the bigger one, why forget to include this with the little brother? Othrwise does much the same as big bro except for some finer points. Will be fun now I have more than one to link together.

6

3

0

Simply the best

HDRAZ1VR/W 09 November 2014 by Bobby12345 (USA)

I have tried other pov camera including the famed Gopro, simply put the Sony Action Cam is the best. I bought this to capture my activities such as skydiving, paragliding, climbing and more. After watching the moments I captured I am glad this was the camera I got. Amazing quality and sharpness and so easy to use, not to mention cheaper than gopro. Simply the best all around. Do your research and you will see what I am saying.

3

0

0

A Tiny Little Heavy Hitter

HDRAZ1VR/W 09 November 2014 by sandiegodom (USA)

As Sony continues in its attempt to make in-roads into the Go-Pro dominated POV camera market the HDR-AZ1VR is a very good entry. There are some all-to-typical Sony ‘stumbles’ but overall this is a fun little camera. According to Sony, at this time, it is the smallest POV camera in the world. I don’t doubt that. BUILD This is one tiny camera at approximately 3”x1”x1.5” and 1.7 ounces. You can mount or hide this thing almost anywhere. For any POV camera a housing is required to make them shock proof. This is definitely the case with the HDR-AZ1. The outer shell feels very plastic to the touch. A metal alloy case, I believe, would be preferable and add to it a sense of ruggedness (even if some weight would also be added). Sony’s first tablets also suffered from a perception of being cheap because of the material they were made of -- even though Sony stated the cases were very strong. In the same way I don’t doubt the case is strong but it doesn’t necessarily feel that way. Sony’s new line of tablets are strong and lightweight but the feel of the material is upscale. A similar approach should be taken with the POV cameras. BASIC FEATURES The unit provides all the basic functions you’d expect in a POV camera: video recording (1080p), still photography (11MP) and time lapse capability. It also offers Burst mode which allows you to take a series of shots continuously, as well as another called Motion Shot that combines Burst mode images onto a single still frame. The unit seems to eat through batteries when connected through a mobile device or the wrist remote control. Fortunately the battery is user serviceable so you could always buy another if this proves to be an issue. Also note that when either the camera or remote are submerged, due to the fact water absorbs high frequencies quite readily (which is what Wi-Fi is) the connection is dropped (once no longer submerged the camera and device reconnect automatically). WATERPROOF One area where I believe Sony is simultaneously on the right and wrong track is with ‘waterproofing.’ In the past year they’ve released smartphones and tablets that were purportedly waterproof yet did not stand up so well to these claims. When placed inside the water/dust proof housing the unit is said to be waterproof down to 16 feet. Unfortunately buried elsewhere in the manual is the warning that autofocus does not work underwater. So it is possible to shoot underwater as long as you don’t mind blurry image! Yes it is possible to use the camera in very wet settings (like a surfboard) but I feel the 16 foot under water designation is a bit deceiving. REMOTE CONTROL Nearly all functions of the camera can be operated using the PlayMemories Mobile app available for iOS and Android. It can also quickly connect via NFC on your mobile devices. (I was able to easily pair the unit with my Android tablet). Your device also becomes the viewfinder and playback device for the camera. This works great. Also available bundled with the HDR-AZ1 is a remote control called the Live-View remote. It looks very much like a Casio watch and controls the same functions as the mobile app. It is also waterproof and is more suitable when using the camera in more active settings. Once the camera is mounted to a helmet or some other objects this would be the preferred method for monitoring the images and changing settings. NOTE: due to the limited Wi-Fi range the camera looses it’s connection beyond about a five-foot radius. If there is any metal between you and the unit the range is even less. CONNECTIVITY All of the usual players are here: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and USB. This is excellent and means that theoretically you can download your images to practically any device you have in your home. There’s also a cool streaming feature that allows you to do a live broadcast via the streaming site USTREAM.com. I tried this out and it works. The setup took a bit of time but once you’ve gone through the initial steps connecting to unit to USTREAM is ridiculously easy. VIDEO QUALITY The standard MP4 video quality (AVC/h.264) is good for nearly all consumer purposes. There was one very complicated scene where the CODEC ran out of bits to throw at the scene (my car tire rotating very quickly). This is where the XAVC S format will come in handy. At 50 Mbps this is considered on the low side of “professional” level compression rates. Using XAVC S also gets you to 24 fps, which will intercut with professional cameras much better than the strange 25fps frame rate that POV cameras seem to commonly use. Be sure to get a fast enough card to handle XAVC S if you intend to use it. XAVC is capable of 4K UHDTV (3840x2160) but Sony chose not to enable it for this camera. They should have. SOUND QUALITY Sound quality is good but I was not expecting much from a POV camera (and you shouldn’t either). It’s intended to gather whatever sound is going on around it. If you are trying to shoot a feature film with your POV camera you’re going to need external miss…of course. OPTICAL Sony continues its partnership with the legendary Carl Zeiss Corporation and this lens is the usual testament to the engineers at Zeiss. My complaint though is that at 17mm (35mm equivalent) the focal length is too wide and has crept into fish-eye lens territory. Where this type of wide-angle distortion will look cool for action sports, it would be nice to have the option to zoom in a bit. Several of the Go-Pros do allow for choosing three different focal lengths. I believe this is absolutely necessary. Auto gain takes a bit of time to recover when going from dark to light areas. Steady shot works very impressively! With the unit mounted just behind my front tire very little vibration was picked up driving at about 40 miles per hour on uneven pavement (see video). This without the mount having any shock absorption qualities whatsoever. Great job Sony! CONCLUSION This is a great little POV camera that is so small and lightweight it can be used for countless applications. Coupled with the Zeiss lens, 50 Mbs XAVC CODEC and the available cinema frame rate I can see this camera easily being used in professional applications where a more costly camera would not be risked or may not fit. And of course it will work just as well on your snowboard or mountain bike helmet. The Live View remote control is also handy. I just wish the Wi-Fi range extended beyond a few feet. My biggest complain is the camera’s inability to focus underwater. Even at 16 feet depth it would still be a nice capability to have. But this is not necessarily a deal breaker. I am already imagining all the things I’ll be able to do with such a little heavy-hitter.

19

0

0

Best Action Cam Available!

HDRAZ1VR/W 09 November 2014 by samtheman2013 (USA)

Unboxing and Setup: The camera came in a store display type of a box that was extremely well packaged and easy to take out. All Sony products seem to come packaged very well, giving a quality touch and a good feeling when you open them up. The camera is tiny compared to other action cameras such as the Go Pro Hero 3 (or 4). It is also a good looking camera that is like a miniature version of a large video camera, unlike the odd and boxy looking Go Pro. There is only one micro USB charging cable for both the camera and the remote, But any other household micro USB charger would do (such as from a smartphone or camera) I used my Sony Z1 smartphone USB cable/charger so I could charge them both at once. The paring of the camera with the remote did not work right away and took a few times before I got it to work (I was getting worried it might not work). I am not sure if the instructions on the manual are correct. But you only need to do this once, the next time you turn on the camera and remote they pair up automatically. Also I used the NFC to pair with my Android Smartphone thru the Sony PlayMemories App and that worked on the first try. This is also the first time I used the Play Memories app or the Play Memories application on WIndows and I was pleasantly surprised how functional and easy to use they are. The instruction manual is not helpful but the link to an online manual was much better: http://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1410/v1/en/index.html There might be some English translation issues in the manual and the online link. Also the manual does not describe things in too much detail such as the various settings the camera has and what they actually mean (use the online link instead) No adjustments can be made thru the camera itself. You need to use either the Remote or your smartphone. This is not a big deal as the camera is tiny to have any display or buttons on it, so this makes sense and a good design approach in my opinion. The following items were also used for the review and did not come with the camera: - Sony BLT-HUM1 - Universal Head mount kit - Has a couple of straps and attachments for different types of helmets (can go on head directly as well). These work extremely well and easy to install. - Proforma PF-VCT-SC1 - This is a suction cup mount for car, boat or motorcycle - again a very strong vaccum/suction mount and well made, works well. I had the camera mounted outside my van near the side mirror Note that you can also use a "Go Pro Tripod Screw Adapter" as another reviewer suggested on Amazon to mount the Sony Cam on any Go Pro mount/attachment. A link to a YouTube on how to do that: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dLbyeycUok Design and general use The camera is tiny like I mentioned before and hence you feel more comfortable wearing it compared to other action cameras that are bigger in size or just look bulky due to design although the size maybe small. Also the mounts are extremely easy to use and did not take much time to figure out how to use although the manuals were not much help. Both the camera and the battery charges quickly (use a proper charger instead of your PC). The camera lasted about 2 hours but the Remote died quicker. So basically once you start recording the remote should be switched off. I find the remote to be extremely useful. The remote on the Go Pro does not even come close to the Sony. So Sony has done a pretty decent design with functionality of the remote. The Go Pro Remote/functionality is archaic to this design. It fits very well on your wrist like a large smart watch and very easy to operate. Also it communicates at a fair distance from the camera (as I mounted it on my daughter's bike helmet and was running behind her at about 10-15 feet away. If the connection is lost then once you get near the camera it connects to the remote quickly. The video on the camera can be downloaded/imported on to your PC using the Play Memories application that needs to be installed on your PC/Mac. You can then import the video to your PC using the Play Memories application (which supposedly imports the GPS data etc) You then use the Action Cam Movie creator to make your video with the GPS and Speed etc (or you can use the Play Memories App itself). Refer to my uploaded video with the Speedometer, unfortunately I was not able to get the GPS/Map or the Speed to show up properly on the edited video. I need to spend more time on that. You can also just copy the files directly from the camera (which shows up as another drive on your PC) and the use some other Video editing software like Pinnacle Studio. The quality of the videos were phenomenal, the sound was also excellent (unfortunately I cannot upload some of those videos due to Privacy). Note that some reviewers have indicated that there is no external microphone input. But really the audio is so good I don't see the point of having an external mic input. That will only increase the size of the camera. The waterproof case works, I tried it out in my small fish tank and it worked (unfortunately I did not want to upload the video as the tank has not been cleaned up for awhile  ) The waterproofing is good for 15 feet so if you don't plan going on going Scuba diving then it should be fine. Conclusion When I received the camera I had doubts about the usefulness of it compared to using a regular Video Camera, DSLR or my smartphone. But there are lots of situations where those cameras cannot be used. After getting it I can see a whole bunch of new ways I can use it. I can use it at Six Flags with your kids the next time, they can wear it on their head and I can see how bad the rides were . Or when you go on a scenic trip mount it outside your vehicle. It is no comparison to filming from inside your car. I am not into any extreme sports but I can now see many uses for this camera. The quality and design of the camera is exceptional. Some of the videos I took were in low light and they still came out excellent - which was a pleasant surprise as I have heard/read otherwise from others who have used the Go Pro. It is also very decently priced at 350$ compared to the Go Pro Hero 4 etc that is about 150$ more. I spent about an hour talking to a sales guy at Best Buy who was trying to sell me a Go Pro. He was under the impression that Sony action camera was nothing in comparison to the Go Pro and said the Go Pro has a lot more mounts etc. This is true, however note that the Go Pro mounts can be used with other cameras when you use the adapter I mentioned previously. Sony really needs to market and inform sales folks at retail stores, else no matter how good the product is the general population is unaware of them. When you compare the price, size, the design, looks and functionality of this against what else is out there (such as the Go Pro) I'd have to say this is the best choice. Both the video and audio are exceptional. Now I just have to get into one of those extreme sports! Uploaded Videos: Mounted on Bike helmet: http://youtu.be/olpZUkfKxew On Van with GPD/Speed overlay (but could not get it to work on Play Memories – just sample): http://youtu.be/YF_TmXgOXvY On Kids Bike helmet: http://youtu.be/tle-U_3UeS0 http://youtu.be/-PmRJTgmV3Q Kids Helmet at park: http://youtu.be/ky4o9WNKfoU http://youtu.be/hh23x7DlHQk

13

0

0

Can finally see what I'm capturing

HDRAZ1VR/W 05 November 2014 by DianaE310 (USA)

Having owned the original Action Cam, there are many things I like about this mini-version that Sony has improved: - 2/3rds the size, it is noticeable (3" across) - Live-view remote feature (wrist) in addition to the smartphone app ability - Slow motion option (6 video modes) - Wide ZEISS lens can see170 degrees There are other features listed on the product page, but those are what I found useful in the improvements. The wrist band live-view feature is convenient for placement and also security while participating in the sport - the wi-fi preview on a tablet or smart cam was nice like in the previous Action Cam but this is more secure with no accidental drop or mobile battery drain. Attached to this review are two photos (1) an iPhone pic of it connected and (2) the actual captured image (original is over 5MB) from the miniSD card.

7

0

0

SONY HDR AZ1VR

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 25 October 2014 by Chadster (United Kingdom)

What an awesome mini action cam. In my opinion it blows the gopro black 3+ out of the water. Very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Loving it!

HDRAZ1VR/W 23 October 2014 by jarvis808 (USA)

This camera was well worth the price. Hooked it up to my phone within a minute as well as the live view remote. Both showed a very clear view of what the camera was capturing. Tried it at night, and the lighting was pretty good. Haven't had much time to use it yet, but from what I have, I love it.

5

1