26

4.9 based on 26 customer reviews

24
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

26 Customer Reviews

0

Favorite lens i have used

SEL35F14Z 28 November 2019 by Prestomatic (USA)

This is my main lens. Super clean, crisp and detailed. Af is excellent. Love the aperture ring. Smooth bokeh. Ive read reviews saying this lens is overpriced and that there is inconsistency in the build quality. Maybe I got lucky but this lens is incredible and absolutely worth the price. Ive used lenses 10x the price that are not as clean.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 15 February 2019 by Lowey (Singapore)

A very versatile lens for family, portrait and street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesomeness

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 08 November 2018 by Skyways (Singapore)

Read awesome review before purchasing it . If you have the $$, highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ZEISS Classic feel integrate with new technology

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 21 May 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore)

Like the class Zeiss, it is practical, elegant and has a delicate meaning. Real colors, beautiful bokeh, precise and fast focusing are all in line with my expectations. If add on AF / MF On-lens controls, like Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA It's even more perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

My first prime lens - a great choice!

SEL35F14Z 03 March 2018 by KevinR (United Kingdom)

Bought my first prime with my new Sony A7r III. Loving the sharpness!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent Prime Lens

SEL35F14Z 24 December 2017 by Yudia (USA)

If you want to buy a travelling lens, buy this one and only.. This lens is very very sharp...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 20 December 2017 by Baitotti (Singapore)

Had this glass for two months. It is just a superb piece of lens, versatile enough for me to do landscape and even portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fixed focal length detail...

SEL35F14Z 11 November 2017 by Mal360 (United Kingdom)

I've only owned this lens for a couple of weeks and was keen to test out both its landscape capability and its ability to capture a close up when the lighting and texture asked you to take that shot. The in hand balance of the A7r2 with this lens attached is also impressive...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

WOW - SONY FE 35MM F1.4 ZA Distagon

SEL35F14Z 12 September 2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom)

The FE 35mm F1.4 ZA is an outstanding lens, I would rate them the best portrait lens and is perfect for Weddings & Low-light. If you're thinking of buying this Lens, you should. Yes it is very expensive, but you're going to end up having outstanding images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

S. Africa and Zimbabwe bound!

SEL35F14Z 01 September 2017 by AshvEd (USA)

I purchased this in late July for low light game drives in Kruger National Park. All my "at home" testing has been superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My instagram game is at a all time high

SEL35F14Z 27 May 2017 by calcaliente (USA)

I bought this camera about 2 weeks ago. And all the pictures I post on my Instagram i get amazing comments and people asking if i used my phone. I lie and say its the iPhone because i don't want people to know. @calcaliente

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

45

0

This lens is permanently glued to my camera

SEL35F14Z 16 December 2016 by LifeDezigned (USA)

I couldn't be happier with this lens and the color rendering. It's sharp throughout and performs quickly and quietly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

My workhorse!

SEL35F14Z 12 September 2016  (United Kingdom)

I've been using the lens since the day I bought it and can't get it off my camera. Its just too perfect! The declick feature is just so convenient if I want to shoot videos. The lens is so sharp and the bokeh on this one is on unreal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Great lens!

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 08 September 2016 by KDHH (Singapore)

Best 35mm lens ever! Just right for my needs. Super fast!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid built and image quality!

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 15 July 2016 by Hotzone (Singapore)

My first full frame prime lens. Absolutely no regret and very pleased with this awesome lens. Though it may feel a little heavy initially, but I have no qualm about it. Who wants to hold a light weight plastic or rubber-feel lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My favourite Sony lens so far.

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 15 May 2016 by Salihin Salim (Singapore)

I am a full-time wedding photographer by profession, and whenever I'm free I like to do some street photography. If I could only keep just one camera body and one lens, it would be the A7ii and this lens. 35mm has always been my go-to focal length because of its versatility and regardless of whatever camera brand I've used before, I had to have a 35mm. This Sony FE 35mm F1.4 ZA however, beats all of them hands down. Nice contrast, very creamy bokeh, and a very distinct Zeiss "pop". Things that I wish could be better though, are its size and weight. This is the exact reason why I still keep my Sony FE 35mm F2.8, as my everyday-carry lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A great lens

SEL35F14Z 19 March 2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom)

The 35mm FE format is great for group shots, street and just general photography. Evey one should have at least one of this length in their bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb Quality Glass

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 19 March 2016 by light bandit (Singapore)

- Excellent resolving power - Image stays sharp from corner to corner even when shot at f/1.4 - Minimal to no Chromatic Aberration at f/1.4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning Images

SEL35F14Z//QSYX 06 March 2016 by Farn (Singapore)

Sharpess 35mm used. Useful aperture ring for manual adjustments

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

BIG LENS with BIG QUALITY

SEL35F14Z 11 September 2015 by Chris_lyle21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a few weeks ago for adding to my Landscape Photography kit, but also to take good quality images of my on the way baby and partner. I feel that this lens would be a good addition to fill the gap between my Sony Alpha Mount 20f2.8 and 50f1.7 lenses. Yeah the lens is big, but the Image Quality that I have already seen from this lens is amazing. When I first got it I walked around with the on the lens adjustable Aperture rotated to F1.4 and noticed quickly how precise the focusing was (I was getting blurry pictures at first!) However after a bit of playing and magnifying via the evf this was no longer an Issue and managed to get some cracking shots. I, like many people were toying with the idea of this lens or the new Zeiss Loxia 35mm F2 manual focus. Although the Loxia would be similar IQ and a lot smaller and discreet, It never had the f1.4. I have never owned an f1.4 lens and wanted this from day one. The autofocus for me, was never really important, as I don't usually use this for Landscapes, I prefer to use manual, but it is there If I ever wanted it. I'll be honest, after a few hours of carrying the camera and lens, I wonder if the Loxia would have been a better choice, but then I get the images home and I see the quality, so I am also happy with the 35f14.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

33

3

0

Top lens for a7R camera

SEL35F14Z 18 July 2015 by 7Rtist (USA)

Can’t add anything new than what others have said about the incredible sharpness and bokeh of this lens. Best lens I own so far. My comment will rather be around the weight of the lens. It is definitely heavier than the Zeiss 55mm f1.8, but it is lighter than the Sigma 18-35 f1.8 Art lens, which is another very good lens that I own for another camera system and which has almost the same size in length and diameter (10.8 oz for the Zeiss against 28.6 oz for the Sigma). If you carry your camera and lens in a messenger bag as I do, the weight of the combo will not be an issue. So don’t be frightened by the weight of this lens, it is not as bad as you may read.

10

0

0

The Best 35mm glass out there!

SEL35F14Z 28 June 2015 by Pinoyflayv (USA)

Got this lens last month, and now I want to permanently mount it on my A7s. Since the day I mounted this, my 55mm 1.8 is collecting dust. Just love the character it renders. One standout is, when fully wide open this lens is tack sharp. It easily isolates your subject, which gives you that pop. I mainly use this lens as my everyday lens. From capturing landscapes to photographing my kids. If you could only own one lens, this is it! Built like a tank and it is weather proofed. I would highly recommend this glass!

14

6

0

Fantastic lens

SEL35F14Z 25 May 2015 by Gangforever (USA)

If you are shooting photos with the A7 platform, this lens is a must have for your kit. Yes it's pricy, and yes it is a bit large and heavy, and yes it looks so cool, but it's performance as a prime lens is remarkable. Colors just pop, corners are as clear as the center even at f1.4, and that's why you buy a fast piece of glass like this. The bokah is smoother than Dary Queen soft ice cream and only Superman can hear the AF drive motor. It is my go to lens in my kit, the IQ can't be beat.

29

7

0

Great Images, but too big and heavy for me.

SEL35F14Z 08 May 2015 by suttus (United Kingdom)

Does produce great images, but it is too large and heavy to use as an everday lens. Compared to the Sony Zeiss 55 f1.8 it's not a order of magnitude different in terms of image quality and for the price I couldnt justify keeping the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

11

0

Early days

SEL35F14Z 03 May 2015 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Not yet had an opportunity to use the lens on a day out. Otherwise, looks promising.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

33

0

Super shallow depth of field

SEL35F14Z 19 April 2015 by infynity (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent all round lens with wafer thin depth of field at f1.4. It is sturdy and quite large but not out of place on my a7s. The focussing time is good but not as quick as some mf3 lenses I have used. Never the less, the shots this 35mm can produce are extremely impressive and certainly the best I've seen from the native emount Sony lenses. I have read some reviews suggesting issues with right side blur at f1.4 but I have not experienced this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

0