166

4.4 based on 166 customer reviews

100
41
15
6
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

166 Customer Reviews

0

Powerful features easy to use and convenient to ca

DSC-RX100M6 16 July 2021 by Ste2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but the battery needs to be a bigger size for longer battery life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good camera for the money. Poor support.

DSC-RX100M6 28 June 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have extensively explored the menu and yes there are a lot of excellent features but Sony do not make much effort to explain how they can be programmed and used. The best i could find were tube and independent experts who were prepared to share their knowledge. As to the Wi Fi, forget it it, it is useless and I have yet to find a way to make it work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

wonderful results from a pocket-sized camera

DSC-RX100M6 16 May 2021 by PeteAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great to benefit from a larger sensor while keeping the camera hardly any bigger than a typical compact camera. I found the geo-taggging worked very efficiently and quickly with my smart phone. Only problem is that the camera user guide doesn't help much in using it in conjunction with their laptop or smart phone apps. What exists relates to an app Sony have discontinued. Sony needs to write a guide to the same standard as the guide for the camera itself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The lens is the star attraction

DSC-RX100M6 09 April 2021 by Nippa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A cracking lens throughout the focal lengths. It's not that useful in dim light given the constraints of the design but I'll live with it. Processing is fast but Sony's focusing choices are confusing. It would be nice to have in camera Raw conversion or have picture effects and Raw together. Overall a great travel camera if you're happy with a 1 inch sensor.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Unrivaled Picture Quality Due To Lens and Sensor

DSC-RX100M6 10 March 2021 by Terry Ball Snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose the RX100 VI to compliment my RX100 III. I also own a Alpha77 II. I bought the MK3 for my son's wedding and was amazed to find that it rivaled/beat the picture quality of my A77II, depending on the lens I was using on the A77. It didn't take me long to realise that carrying the A77 with a bag full of heavy lens was unnecessary, so I took to carrying the A77 with a 70-300 and my RX100III instead. The Lockdown has resulted in me taking regular walks around my local countryside, when I always take my MK3 and on some occasions my A77II with 70-300. However due to the A77s bulk, I didn't take it most of the time and missed many shots which needed a long lens. This was the reason I bought my RX100 IV, and I'm very happy to say that it has lived up to all my expectations. The combination of fast 1.8-2.8 fast lens on the MK3 and the 70-200mm equiv. lens on the MK6 give me everything I need to cover the vast majority of the photographic opportunities that pass my way. The 8x zoom doesn't compare well on paper with other compact cameras, however the quality of the Ziess lens, coupled with the superb 1" sensor means that acceptable picture quality is maintained even after heavy cropping. I'd advise anyone thinking of spending up to £1500 on a system camera to seriously consider buying a MK3 and MK6 instead. I managed to pick them both up for less than £1200 including Sony's Cashback promotions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, convinced me to stop using my phone

DSC-RX100M6 04 March 2021 by Allansr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was a committed phone user for photographs. This camera has dramatically demonstrated the benefits of a proper camera. It is also a worthwhile upgrade from my original rx 100. Only downside is very poor battery life. The optical zoom lens is fantastic and opens up so many more photo opportunities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 24 February 2021 by Davetytop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to obtain a high quality, easily portable camera, which I could take out when cycling and walking. My phone camera has too wide a lens to be always useful. It has proved highly satisfactory, ideal for my purposes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

As Exspected

DSC-RX100M6 15 February 2021 by Denzzzxxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony have done it again! Brilliant really pocketable compact camera, excellent lens over all ranges, lovely little bounceable flash, more menu's then you could shake a stick at! Also love the pop up view finder, for me the perfect camera love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Built like a tank

DSC-RX100M6 10 February 2021 by sjohnson821 (USA)

I wanted a small, do everything camera so I didn't have to lug around my SLR. I was disappointed in myself when I accidentally ran over the camera with my car. I was absolutely delighted when it still worked, albeit with a broken screen (which also still worked). I replaced the screen bought online, and it works perfectly. Tough little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

RX100m6 selected

DSC-RX100M6 23 January 2021 by Bazza66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I selected this camera after first considering a DSLR then deciding I would be better having a quality camera that i could take with me on bike rides. After reading countless reviews of this one and its rivals i opted for the m6. It does take very good photos especially in good light. But is still much better than the phone in poor light. So far i have only used it on auto but will eventually fathom out the more manual methods. I wanted something that would be much better than the phone so new i would have to spend a significant amount. I also wanted a decent zoom. So this fitted the bill and i am very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A pocket rocket!

DSC-RX100M6 15 January 2021 by Andy DD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still playing around with this, but so far it's just what I wanted. Got tired of carting around my ancient DSLR. The RX100 VI takes amazing shots. Would recommend the Sony leather-look case for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features let down by hopeless wi-fi app

DSC-RX100M6 02 January 2021 by Professional photographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a camera, the Sony RX100 VI packs a huge amount of facilities into a small space. Provided you are happy to work through a fairly complex menu structure the camera itself delivers a wide range of features to a high standard. Having owned an earlier version of the RX100, one of my reasons for buying this model was its heavily-promoted ability to use Wi-Fi and Bluetooth functions to save, transfer and view images, as well as adding smartphone location information to images. All of this is supposed to be done through Sony's app PlayMemories Mobile. The app simply does not work. This is confirmed by the dismal experience of other users which is evident from user forums. I wish I had checked the user forums before I made my purchase. I tried Sony's other imaging app, Imaging Edge Mobile, with no better results. Having believed Sony's marketing literature, and read a number of product reviews before I made my purchase, I am surprised that the product reviews were silent on the performance of these apps. I can't believe that the brand as big and trusted as Sony has let itself down by a combination of over-hyped marketing claims coupled with dismal apps. Sony should face up to this and urgently fix their apps so that they work as intended. For me, I have to face the hard fact that I am now left with a new camera which does not do the one thing which I wanted it to do.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Compact Camera on the Market

DSC-RX100M6 31 December 2020 by Ric75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the original version for 8 years since it was first released, I know that the Zeiss lenses can capture superb images, equivalent to an DSLR but in pocket size. This camera has no external mic socket or GPS which I don't use, but are now available on VII. These cameras are so easy to transport in a pocket or handbag and even using them on point and shoot, you can guarantee fine images. I bought the VI because of the extended zoom knowing that I might sacrifice a little in very low light circumstances, but the 24-200 zoom more than compensates. Great for street photography, I use mine in RAW mode and can easily get great A3 size images as good as my full frame DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent zoom range and optical resolution

DSCRX100M6/B 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a professional documentary photographer. This SONY camera is the best compact camera I've ever used. The optics are superb and the RAW files have remarkable range of tonality. I'l taken award-winning photos with this camera. The focus is rapid and 10:1 zoom range permits well-defined framing of distant people and objects. Two items worth addressing. I periodically by accident activate the not-recessed enough video button. This button could be better protected or recessed. The second is the battery. More work should be done to develop higher power batteries in this size configuration. I never go out to a long shoot without at least two to three fully charged batteries. This design has been so successful that my last desire is for the same configuration in a full-frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super full of good features

DSC-RX100M6 17 October 2020 by AlanR1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks ago, after a fairy steep learning curve, this little camera has a lot to offer and is a fairly accomplished piece of photographic equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A small camera which produces sharp photos.

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2020 by CameraJane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera just over a week ago and I am thrilled with it. I wanted a compact camera which shot in RAW, with a viewfinder and a long zoom. It has all these things and more. This is the first Sony I have used so I'm finding my way around the controls. It has a one step viewfinder and live view histogram. The only extra wish I have for this camera is that I would like to be able to adjust the settings via the touch screen, rather than the Fn button. I love using it, small and light, it fits into my pocket and handbag and the images are so much better than those taken on my phone. I'm seriously thinking about changing my other camera to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

DSC-RX100M6 09 September 2020 by RobertTelford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought at a very good price, still quite expensive but worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it but lack of wifi transfer disappointing

DSC-RX100M6 04 September 2020 by tomric22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this model to replace my older one. It lives up to the reviews and hype. However, I was VERY disappointed to learn that Sony had not yet amended the image transfer software to cope with the latest MAC software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features.

DSC-RX100M6 15 August 2020 by MrP2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a Canon G7X. Good move on my part.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in class, but variable quality lens

DSC-RX100M6 12 June 2020 by joe cap (USA)

Love the range and features, I actually recommended Sony extend the range on my MK5 review years ago. My version of the MK6 loses edge sharpness if stopped down from f2.8 to f4 or f5.6. This is very odd it tells me that the aperture blades are either not centered or defective.. For a $1,000 point and shoot this should not be the case, otherwise it is sharp enough wide open and a perfect camera. perhaps Sony should go back to manufacturing in Japan not China. My MK1 was made in Japan and is tack sharp everywhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great image quality

DSCRX100M6/B 26 May 2020 by fchixon17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for a trip so that I would not have to carry as much gear. Image quality in RAW and JPEG was great. 4k video is very good as well. Mostly I use it for photos though. The menus are deep though and you have to use them a lot to navigate effectively. My father bought one as well but it got stuck in shutter delay mode and he was unable to figure it out. He was frustrated. I find the low light vision stuff is strange since the delays in pictures are long and I don't know what I will get. My wife prefers her iPhone since it just magically does it all. I prefer a real lens and sensor and take my time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Awesome

DSC-RX100M6 16 May 2020 by kitkant (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Impressive variety of ways to control the photo you want to take. Superb lens quality. Fantastic remote control from you phone with WiFi and Bluetooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Be very careful!

DSCRX100M6/B 14 April 2020 by pcgphotographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Be very careful with this camera! I love this camera. It takes amazing pictures, but it's easy to damage. I damaged my first one by... I don't know. One day the lens would not open and I found a tiny dent on the edge of the exterior shutter that covers the lens when the camera is turned off. I do not recall dropping it or banging it against anything, but obviously it hit something. The camera was not repairable and the damage was not covered by warranty. I had no choice but to buy another one. Soon after I bought the second one I received an email from Sony Protect, advertising a 3-yr accident policy for the camera. At first I thought no, because from now on I was going to be very careful with the camera. Then I decided to purchase the plan. Less than thirty days later, while kneeling down and examining an animal track in the dirt, it slipped for my hand and fell maybe six inches face down (while off and lens was closed) into soft powdery sand. I picked it up and shook and brushed as much of the fine dirt off the camera as I could. At first it would not open properly. After a couple more cycles it opens, but there is no view through either the viewfinder or on the scree, other than menus, etc., and I get a message that says to turn the camera off and then on again. Still doesn't work so I'm sending it in for repair. So yes, it's an amazing camera, but IT IS FRAGILE! Be very careful with it. I wold give it a 5 rating, except for this one weakness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Amazing All Rounder - RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 05 April 2020 by DeePhoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The RX100 VI ticks all the boxes for a general pocket-able go anywhere family camera. Great for general use, holidays and just about anything you could think of. Think of it as sitting squarely in the middle ground between a full DSLR and your Phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Everything you need to capture any type of photo

DSC-RX100M6 12 March 2020 by Reg Srudees (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So portable for when an SLR would be impractible yet all you need to get almost any picture without any loss in quality for the majority of situations. Ideal for travel when travelling light is a consideration

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M6 11 March 2020 by noapp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My one disappointment is that the phone app is no longer available, or if it is then it is impossible to find

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing zoom

DSC-RX100M6 06 March 2020 by Ben10000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was worried a bit about losing the aperture from the previous model but it turned out not needed nightpictures were great after I found the superior auto. The only negative point is the price and the fact that iPhones by now are astonishingly good. But still the details in bigger screens and the zoom are a huge difference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Good camera, poor reliability.

DSC-RX100M6 24 February 2020 by Mikedperrett (United Kingdom)

I have been taking photos for most of my life using SLRs and then DSLRs usually taking 2 or more different lenses with me in a camera bag. However, just over a year ago I retired and started travelling more. Taking a large bag was not always easy and you could often say goodbye to spontaneity as it took too long to prepare. My delight was complete when I read the reviews of the RX100M6. It was expensive but worth it as it did the job of a DSLR with several lenses in a small compact, put in your pocket camera. I must say I got excellent results. I went to the Czech Republic in the Autumn for a festival and I got excellent results with over 300-400 photos taken; many of them spontaneously. It was a real delight to take and use. At the other extreme, on my daily walk with my dogs through the Welsh forests I can take wonderful macro shots of mosses which when blown up look amazing. Imagine my dismay when just 6-8 weeks out of warranty the camera failed: it would not turn on. I got a new battery and charger and they were okay. It so it looks like it's down to the camera. A big disappointment as I have a number of Sony products and all have been reliable and given excellent service. Apart from this disappointment I am delighted with the camera. I can slip it in to my pocket and use it very quickly and get wonderful shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Fantastic little camera!

DSC-RX100M6 17 February 2020 by Jollyandy (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on the recommendation from a friend, and what an amazing camera it is. Stunning picture quality, fast auto focus, this has it all. In fact I very often use it in preference to my DSLR, it’s so good. If you’re looking for a top quality compact camera, look no further as you’ve found it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Nice camera, shame about the cashback process.

DSC-RX100M6 05 February 2020 by paul683 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the camera for a few weeks now and whilst the performance is generally quite good I do think the out of camera JPEGs are over sharpened and slightly unrealistic. The price is too high for this type of camera. The agent dealing with the cashback process seem to everything in there power to avoid paying out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

good all round

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2020 by Peterct (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

light weight and easy to carry around. good handling

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 19 January 2020 by MickGil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony RX100 VI a month ago and have had no issues with it and stunned by the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible experience sharing via iPhone

DSC-RX100M6 E32 18 January 2020 by Improvement needed (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have not been able to transfer photos to my iPhone. Disappointing expreince! Photos are not exceptional.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera but the app.....

DSC-RX100M6 17 January 2020 by Roveruk (United Kingdom)

Bought the RX100 VI to take on a 5 week trip to Australia, great photos and a pleasure to use. The menu's are complex and I have to regularly go through them to learn and remember all the functions. The downside at the moment is the latest Imaging Edge Mobile app which has completely failed and there are lots of us reporting issues of failure to connect phone to camera for transfer of photos, this means everything stays where it is in the camera. I feel Sony has let us down on this and my new found excitement has quickly waned especially as its Christmas when I was looking forward to taking loads of photos. Why build quality products then let your customers down with inferior quality software and backup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, but well featured.

DSC-RX100M6 10 January 2020 by Enigmabg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been a Panasonic user for many years, the change to Sony, in particular the menus have taken some learning time, but I am now at a level of reasonable user. The biggest shock is the diminutive size of the camera and how to hold it best, in particular for viewfinder videos. Not everything is to my liking - for instance the tilting screen - I`m used to fully articulated and I can`t understand the logic of the the significant hinged framework to tilt up and down when a hinge would have offered more with no grater bulk. Having got over such differences, I find the camera a pleasure to carry around and use, though winter is not the best time to explore all the options. For me the main things to consider before buying are: Size, it is VERY small; need for customisation of settings, especially for video, there are many "pro" options; Touch screen - is this important as the feature is limited; is 4K important - record time is limited. The camera does not force ME into unacceptable compromises and I like what is does very much. Just check your key needs before you jump. If it suits you will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Huge range of features

DSC-RX100M6 09 January 2020 by Romogape (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used it for a couple of weeks, I'm getting my head around the range of features and settings. The quality of photos and videos are both excellent even on the Auto settings. The very rapid multi shot and slow mo both produce good results too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 07 January 2020 by MarcG54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great compact camera, giving a lot of the functionality of a larger camera but in a compact easy to carry and use size. Great image quality and very fast focus make this an ideal camera to carry when on holiday or weight / size is a consideration.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful

DSC-RX100M6 02 January 2020 by ASR1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I’ve owned a number of cameras in the past, they often tended to get left behind, especially when mobile phones could do a similar job, with greater ease. However mobile phones have never been brilliant with high levels of zoom, and I’m someone who likes to fill the frame. I’ve previously owned a couple of Sony QX lens cameras to address this, which clip onto the mobile phone, but these tended to be unreliable talking to the phone. However, I did like the image quality from the QX100, so decided to go ahead and buy the full RX100. It’s been great and I particularly appreciate being able to wirelessly transfer the photos to my IPad at the end of the day. I then use Snapseed to do final editing. The advantages are the image quality and compact size for a decent zoom. As with most cameras, the interface is not as user friendly as on a phone, but is generally OK. The flip up screen allows me to shoot from hip level, which is something I find can be quite creative. In terms of disadvantages - the automatic mode tends to overexpose the sky in landscapes and not show shadow and mid tone details as well as I would like. I generally find Snapseed can correct this even with JPEG files - but should I need to do this? I don’t shoot RAW much because you can’t transfer RAW to the IPAD wirelessly, which I would say is the cameras biggest downside for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early days but impressed so far

DSC-RX100M6 24 December 2019 by jag1808 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is small therefore some of the buttons a bit fiddly but you can't have it all ways; the picture quality is outstanding; the build quality is very good; the number of options in the menus can be overwhelming but I don't shoot video so that's half of them dismissed; my one gripe is that at this price level they could have included the optional stick-on finger grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great piece of kit in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M6 20 December 2019 by Ginner57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it 3 weeks ago as I was fed up lugging my DSLR around. Loads of research before buying as it’s not cheap. Although it’s early days, I love it(although still learning). Zoom is fab and allows close, candid shots-gives huge flexibility. Camera includes most I’d expect from my DSLR. Getting used to proximity of buttons. I’ll update this review as my experience grows.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This is an excellent all-round camera

DSC-RX100M6 12 December 2019 by Fred100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used RX100 cameras since they came out and decided on an upgrade with the cashback offer. Excellent camera, picture quality and the additional zoom range is welcomed. I do hope that the time lapse feature from RX100mk7 will come with a software upgrade...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great photos

DSC-RX100M6 11 December 2019 by dwiaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for use on dog walks because it slips in my pocket, it versatile, takes good photos of insects and at the other end of the spectrum of birds. I love the tilt back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2019 by mickb73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 6 weeks ago and so far no problems. I found it reasonably easy to set up and take pictures. Some parts of the more advance features will take a little longer. The picture shown was my first picture with the RX100vi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Small and very powerful.

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2019 by Nostromoship52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for carrying around.Great zoom for capturing visiting UFO's.Superb functions,just slightly finnicky to hold at times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

All in need in one tiny camera

DSC-RX100M6 07 December 2019 by Diverdave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Read various reviews of this and similar Cameras this came out best but pricey So you need to shop around.the 2 auto modes are so good I will find it hard to beat them with my settings.if you are not a photographer use auto and get great shots if you are or want to be this model has everything for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Magic!

DSC-RX100M6 29 November 2019 by Joe03 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously had the M4 version snd loved it. The addition of a significant zoom range improves the camera immeasurably. It produces excellent quality images in a wide range of lighting conditions. It has good dynamic range ann low light capacity. I love the addition of an EVF as well as large screen. AlsoZi can carry it in my pocket and am rarely without it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Camera

DSC-RX100M6 28 October 2019 by MalcolmJ (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my Mk2. Great improvement on an already excellent camera, especially the improved zoom range and the brilliant one-touch pop-up/down viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 24 October 2019 by Stevenallen99999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After looking at around 10 different compact cameras, I was looking to upgrade my Old Lumix camera. I choose the Sony HX100VI. I am very impressed the this little camera and the photo quality is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent little camera

DSC-RX100M6 20 October 2019 by Fred the shred (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from a mark 3 to this mark 6 and do not regret it. The extra zoom length is very useful. My only quibble is that when scrolling through the display on review pressing the down arrow brings up some volume setting which I have no interest in or even knowledge of the use of.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

High precision

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2019 by JustOne Click (United Kingdom)

I bought this in July for a long trip and the quality of photos are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not £1000 worth of camera

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2019 by AXB8152 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera as an "upgrade" to a DSC-HX50...and it really doesn't feel like an upgrade. Sure the specs are infinitely superior, but the "real world" results are less impressive. The good points are: a) Pop-up viewfinder, b) 4K Video (time-limited to less than 5 minutes!), but the disadvantages are more lengthy: a) Price b) Video severely time-limited to stop the camera over-heating c) inadequate zoom (previous model had 30x optical). I was hoping to be able to take this new camera to Venice in a few weeks time, so I didn't have to take my Canon DSLR...but I am not sure I trust it to produce as good a result as the Canon. Having said that, it is well-made, and I would have been exceptionally happy with it if it had been my first Cybershot...but as an upgrade from the DSC-HX50 it really wasn't worth the expenditure.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can’t upload

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2019 by Davida_in_ksa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a Month ago and haven’t got it to work yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great spec!

DSC-RX100M6 10 October 2019 by Pocketrocketman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Swapped to the RX100VI from a Sony Alpha77 with two lenses. Transformative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M6 08 October 2019 by vivski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a camera which I could put in my pocket that can be with me most of the time, and removing the need to carry a camera bag. It is great for street photography as it is less obvious that I am taking a photo. As I have an A7R3 it did not take long to get to know it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top class compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 29 September 2019 by antsandmo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a replacement for my previous DSC-RX100 and what sensible improvements this VI model has. The flash is infinitely easier to use, the viewfinder great, the tilting screen also far easier to work with and thank goodness the camera has entered the modern age with Wi-Fi connectivity that my old one did not have. The lens is fantastic and low light pictures are the best I've had so far. There are so many features that it is going to take me months to get to grips with just the ones I want to use, but that's fine by me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent RX100 mk6

DSC-RX100M6 27 September 2019 by GoanPat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few days ago. Pictures are of an excellent quality, but there are 100 menus items to peruse to get the camera working to my liking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Fabulous all round camera

DSC-RX100M6 27 September 2019 by geekymac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are serious about wanting to take good photos, but don’t want to have to carry around the kit, then this is a terrific camera. Don’t think of it as an expensive compact camera - it’s functionality and output quality is way beyond that of any compact I’ve used in the past, and equivalent (for my purposes) to that of my A6000. In fact, my only concern is that now I have this great little camera is that my A6000 will see even fewer outings, but I won’t think twice about carrying the RX100 VI with me wherever I go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

How do they do it?

DSC-RX100M6 19 September 2019 by JonT2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A superb follow on from my Mk 4. OK, the lens is slower but for the reach it is so worth it. Appears to have a quicker start up time and the newly engineered EVF makes life a lot easier. Quality of the output from the 1 inch sensor is very good with low noise. Controls are obviously small but as the camera is do configurable you are able to program buttons and dials so that operation becomes second nature. All in all, excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The Sony RX100-6 Just gobsmacking!

DSC-RX100M6 31 August 2019 by Tad Eastman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had my Sony RX100-6 for two months now and it’s just amazing. The quality photographs I’m getting are as good as my mirrorless Fujica, but without the hassle of carrying a heavier camera and all the lenses. My only disappointment is that a month after I bought it, they brought out the RX100-7 with a mic input. Can I get a free upgrade?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M6 31 August 2019 by PR19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera for 3 weeks. Really impressed with the image quality and focussing on both stills and action pictures. Really like the fact that even with the leather case it fits my pocket and is great when I don't want to lug my DSLR around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazingly compact digital camera

DSC-RX100M6 30 August 2019 by Jeremy116 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own an earlier version of the RX 100 which continues to work well. The V1 has a welcome increase in zoom range and the pop up viewfinder is also much improved. The camera has many other improvements and feels as small and well built as ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Wow!

DSC-RX100M6 29 August 2019 by TimSuffolk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for three weeks and am delighted. I can pop it in my pocket and get brilliant results. The ability to upload to smartphone is great too. I would have preferred a longer zoom but this one is already pushing boundaries. I just need to work out a way to quickly focus on wildlife in a grass area. This is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New purchase of small camera

DSC-RX100M6 16 August 2019 by CMAH (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my latest visit to family very happy with results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 11 August 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I think this little camera is truly superb and one of Sony's best models! I normally use a Sony A7lll full frame, but sometimes I don't want to be carrying the weight of the body plus three lenses. I had been looking for a truly compact, pocket sized camera that I could carry anywhere, and that would give me the image quality that I need to submit to the stock libraries and agencies that I deal with. A lot of research brought me to the RX100 Vl. Opening the RAW files up in Lightroom initially was a bit of a disappointment compared to the A7lll files, obviously, given the difference in sensor size. In no time at all I worked out how to get the best out of the images that it presented. Pros: 1. Light weight and small, literally fits in your pocket. 2. Build quality excellent like all Sony products. 3. Superb image quality for the sensor size. 4. Renders well in Lightroom 5. Good zoom range. 6. Broad range of features that should keep everybody happy. 7. Pop up viewfinder, very useful. 8, Fast accurate AF. 9. Built in Zeiss zoom lens is good corner to corner, edge to edge at around 5.6/8 depending on the effect you are trying to achieve. 10. Auto white balance extremely good. Better than A7lll in fact. Cons: 1. Sony menu system, can be irritating unless you spend a lot of time familiarising yourself with it. Small price to pay I guess. 2. Fiddly little buttons, but it's a small camera so, unavoidable. 3. Battery life. Again it's a small camera so it takes a small battery. Buy two or three spares.. 4. Had to buy an add-on self adhesive grip, which I think should have been incorporated into the camera as part of the original design. 5. Doesn't come with external battery charger. All in all, exceptional little camera. Highly recommended for the serious photographer who wants/needs a truly pocket sized solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Greatly improved lense and picture quality

DSC-RX100M6 29 July 2019 by Bucket (United Kingdom)

The mark VI is much better than the mark 3 The camera has a lot better picture quality and control options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent partner to DSLR

DSC-RX100M6 23 July 2019 by Rick 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using the RX for two months I can say it has filled its role perfectly. It makes a great companion to the DSLR and being light, compact and having a fantastic range of focal lengths means pre-shoot work is now a pleasure.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Nice camera but has some drawbacks

DSC-RX100M6 20 July 2019 by chism2019 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the MK6 as an upgrade from my Mk1. I wanted the extra reach the lens on the MK6 could give and not to have to carry my DLSR and heavy lenses everywhere I went. When comparing to the MK1 there are a lot of nice new features such as wifi and bluetooth (for GPS). However the basic camera appears little better although I've only had it for a few weeks. The biggest weakness is the lens and autofocus system - which is primarily why I bought it. Using the lens at maximum zoom on subjects not too far away gives reasonable results however once the subject goes beyond a certain distance the focus is not brilliant - all pictures tend to be 'soft'. At any zoom setting getting 'pin sharp' images is very difficult although possible with fast shutter speeds - maybe I'm expecting too much but for the money this is very disappointing. However it is still early days and perhaps some with some prolonged use I may change my mind. The wifi is a neat addition and works well (once I figured it all out). The GPS tagging is not very user-friendly and requires action on my phone each time I switch the camera on - which in reality means I forget to do it or for that 'quick' shot it doesn't happen. The ability to control the camera from my phone is a great addition over the MK1 and very useful. The sensor appears to be 'noisy'; subjectively little better than the MK1 which is disappointing as I would have expected a big improvement. This means the camera is great on a good day but less so in dull weather or indoors. But again it is still early days and I need to play around with it a lot more. I didn't buy the camera for video and have only tried it a few times. The results have been fantastic for a little camera with no problems using the footage with Adobe products for editing. I have some friends who have a competitors camera which is £400 cheaper than the RX100M6 - their pictures and features seem no worse than the RX100M6. This tells me that the MK6 is premium priced and not worth it; something to weigh up if you are considering the RX100MK6. Having said this I have managed to capture some lovely pictures which says the camera is capable of some great results.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Good specification ( reason for buying )

DSC-RX100M6 17 July 2019 by Notknown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good photo's, but difficulty with Eye Piece and poor visibility of the monitor, particularly in sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great travel camera but now at the service centre

DSC-RX100M6 16 July 2019 by DevonGordie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a model 3 but traded it in for the 6 as I wanted the longer lens. It really produces sharp quality images and the longer lens, in the same compact body, is fantastic. For a year it has been my go anywhere camera but just before the warranty finished I had an error E91 01 and the flash and EVF didn't work. After trying a few online suggestions it has now gone back to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

better with time

DSC-RX100M6 09 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently to bring my model up to date. I for years have been using one of these compacts to subsidise my DSLR. I was glues to the Panasonic LX series, that was until Sony released this. Wow I was blown away and continue to be. Initially I upgraded to each new model. This time I skipped a new model. The improvement in the lens to include 200mm was fantastic. I really like the camera a lot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0