221

4.4 based on 221 customer reviews

121
79
11
5
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

I Love My a5000 Digital Camera

ilce5000l-s 26 September 2014 by Elko (USA)

We bought the camera for our family vacation, to Chicago. Small, light-weight, and pocket-friendly. With built-in flash, and automatic settings, talking pictures was effortless, and the picture quality is crisp and dazzling.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very flimsy camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17 September 2016 by WhyDoYouNeedNickname (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony a5000L 4 months ago and have already sent it for repairs. There are burnt pixels on the back screen and the camera now fails to recognise the kit lens. I had much higher expectations from Sony, but it seems this camera is very flimsy compared to other entry level DSLRs from Cannon or Nikon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

222 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Good light small compact systems camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 January 2019 by Williare (United Kingdom)

I actually brought this camera around 4 years ago to sample a interchangeable lens camera as it was selling at a competitive price. I must say its a great small and light CSC which suites me as my other passion is cycling and I take this camera with me most of the time . The large sensor produces some great photos and I am very pleased with them . I have since brought a couple of additional lenses (35mm 1.8 f) and a 20mm wide angle lens and I have now upgraded to a Sony A6500 which is a great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Camera but it drains the battery when off.

ILCE5000L/B 10 January 2019 by egadgetguy (USA)

I've had it for a while but I use it very little because it will drain the battery when it's turned off. It drains it about 30% per hour. That's terrible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BAD

ILCE5000L/B 09 January 2019 by mariebellllll (USA)

Just suddenly gave me notification to install lens properly but when I do it still doesn’t work!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple to use

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02 December 2018 by AlvinLim (Singapore)

I brought a5000 and a6000 within a week. For normal lighting environment both are as good. It shutter speed and ISO make me upgrade to a6000

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best first camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14 October 2018 by Adam30 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for the price and the fact that you can change the lense, this is a great first time interchangeable lense camera for a beginners, the operating system is really easy to use, picture quality is really, highly recommend for beginners.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

a500L camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09 September 2018 by big f (United Kingdom)

after reading the on line reviews i was happy to purchase this item. Howerver having started to use the camera I found that not withstanding the product could be connected by the app so I could use the phone as a control. I find after 3 days of trying that not all sony cameras are compatable. and this appears to be one of them so I am unable to use the mobile for control. I am also disapointed that the screne is not digital so on a sunny day it is not get a clear image on the cameras screen.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Many features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21 August 2018 by Devonprog (United Kingdom)

As a gift this product is currently well beyond my photo capabilities, so it's a little daunting to go 'off piste' with various settings in case I can't find my way back!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Quality Build and easy to use.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 August 2018 by Dodgey (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago and have been spending some time looking at all the features and it is a pleasure to use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony icle 5000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 July 2018 by Daddyandproud (United Kingdom)

Awesome pics very fast and its manual zoom all the functions of your standard camera but has alot more to offer shooting in raw ect alleady picing my telephoto lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a5000L Camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14 June 2018 by rainbloke (United Kingdom)

Bought this product as a second body for my NEX5. It has features not available on my NEX5 including WiFi connectivity and the capacity to download specific apps such as time laps etc. However I have found the standard lens to be less sharp when used in the maximum zoom and I have lost a number of images because they were fuzzy. The standard manual zoom on my NEX5 is sharp throughout the zoom range. This is most definitely a snapshot camera and I don't find it up to the standards I require. The selfie flip up screen is a gimmick that is far less useful than the multi position screen on the NEX5. The absence of a viewfinder is a serious deficiency as in bright light it is difficult to frame the image on the LCD screen. Given the choice again I wouldn't buy one

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

concerned

ILCE5000L/W 18 May 2018 by ed291 (USA)

I usuallly use a Canon DSLR T6 Rebel in Travel and sometimes want a smaller, more portable camera. On recent trip, comparing photos on both, I was disappointed with my Sony, i.e. not as sharp or crisp; just lacking zip

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05 May 2018 by Radio man22 (United Kingdom)

Exactly what I need for compactness and features...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So easy

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 24 April 2018 by Watto (United Kingdom)

I bought this early so I can practice before my holiday. At the same time I’m doing a weekly photography course on line with a view to get off AUTO. So far so good, fits in great with my course, easy to understand and takes great pictures

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 23 April 2018 by visual adventure (United Kingdom)

I bought this as I wanted a travel camera smaller than my DSLR but with the flexibility of interchangable lenses and a great sensor. This does it all at an affordable price. It also has great HD video capability and with the flip up screen would make a good travel vlogging setup small enough to be discreet.Haven't travelled yet so will wait and see how it stands up to wear and tear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great foto quality in daylight

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09 April 2018 by HadesLTU (United Kingdom)

Bought 3y ago. Good foto quality. I am happy. Hard to connect Wi-Fi to PC

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sweet and little mini

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 February 2018 by LP93 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am satisfied. As a beginner I think it's perfect till you choose what exactly will your needs be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A5000

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 18 February 2018 by Hutchybaby (United Kingdom)

I purchased this about one month ago, the size and weight are great, the picture quality not what i hoped for. But i should not expect equal to l series lenses.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super love this camera!

ILCE-5000 KIT 15 January 2018 by kissykithy (USA)

I bought this camera last December as a Christmas gift for myself and I have not regret my decision. This is first mirrorless camera ever and 2 of my friends recommended this particular model for a beginner like me. The super love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice size, weight and features.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 January 2018 by Des001 (United Kingdom)

Camera looks and feels professional. Haven't used extensively yet, still a lot to learn. The automatic setting makes point and shoot so easy. Images are fantastic. I love that I can transfer images to my smart phone or computer without wires. Perhaps could have done with flash unit that could throw light further.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Problemmatic Just One Month After Purchase.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14 December 2017 by myfirstsonypurchase (Singapore)

Had to send it in for repairs just one month after purchase as the screen went 'black' on me and the lens refused to move. The whole unit decided to 'hang' just like that, at a critical moment when I needed to use it for work. Thoroughly disappointing!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

sony

ILCE5000L/B 10 December 2017 by Aldad (USA)

no problem i like sony company is amazing mark in the marketing

0

0

0

good entry mirrorless

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 04 December 2017 by biyan (United Kingdom)

i bought a mounth ago.. body is great, coz i look for camera compact with good image result..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wondeful pictures!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 November 2017 by Fat Cat (United Kingdom)

I was using an 8MP point & shoot as well as an iPhone camera - but - I was getting more and more disappointed with the results (my reference was Kodacolor ...). I wanted to upgrade to a proper camera and started investigating. My first discovery was that most of the cameras with the small lenses have an even smaller sensor behind them! For me this meant that I would not be better off with a compact 20 MP camera. The Sony A5000 looked like the answer: A proper lens, a sizable sensor and just as important, a small body. I also liked the fact that the lens that was included goes from wide angle to some zooming, but without taking a huge volume of space. Once I got the camera, my first subject was of course our cat...I was amazed by the results! Each hair on the nose was visible, even the dust. I then took some more general pictures and then noticed two big differences to my phone camera: - The colours were always just right. Normally I have to edit each picture to get back to reasonable colours. - The other item was that the exposures were also just right. I was used to getting dark shadows on almost all pictures, whereas the Sony A5000 captures what I see with my eyes - which in fact don't see such dark shadows. I tried a picture of some plants that were in front of the window. Here the plants came out just right (of course, the windows over exposed, but that is what I wanted) I come to my main conclusion: That just using the camera in its default settings results in wonderful pictures. Of course, I have the possibility to use the manual settings for some special cases, but the point is that the combination of lens and internal image processing gives excellent results without having to fiddle with anything!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very nice compact camera.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 October 2017 by John653 (United Kingdom)

Have had this camera for two weeks and I am very pleased with the results and quality of the photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor Camera

ILCE-5000 KIT 20 October 2017 by Allie12345 (USA)

Nice camera with good quality, but it broke after only two months of barely being used. I would not recommend this product if you don't want it to break for no reason.

1

1

0

Nice compact camera with extras

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01 October 2017 by shaman1 (United Kingdom)

I have not had time to fully use this camera but my husband has managed to set it jup well. It is very compact and the photos are great, Can see that it would be a good idea to have a spare lens cover as it is not attached to the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs.

ilce5000lb 25 August 2017 by Skippy33 (USA)

This camera offers a great design and good resolution in a smaller package. I specifically did NOT want to move to a DSLR due to bulk, weight of lenses, etc. The 5000 offers a fairly intuitive menu and adaptability with a good range of option/accessories to cover most photographic needs. I recently used this camera on the 2017 eclipse with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great video quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 August 2017 by sincpara (United Kingdom)

I was pleasantly surprised how good the video quality was, and the pictures are also great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11 August 2017 by Msl67 (United Kingdom)

Just got the camera 2 weeks ago so still getting to know it. Reason for purchase wanted small good general camera. So far it look good

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Camera Whe You Need Something Compact

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 09 August 2017 by John DM (United Kingdom)

I'd become a bit disappointed with my point and shoot Lumix but didn't wasn't the bulk of an SLR. The A5000 seems like a pretty good compromise. Early days yet but I'm impressed with the shots I've taken so far. A bit surprised that the flash needs to be raised via a button and setting up the wifi connection is downright clunky, almost last century.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

top marks for a top camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 July 2017 by gr4h4m (United Kingdom)

I selected the a5100 after looking at a lot of reviews and when Ted Forbes from the Art Of Photography gave a great review then I knew this was the small camera of choice. It comes with a really good kit lens but I bought an adapter that enables me to fit my old Canon FD lens which gives me a whole range now. The camera works very well with these lenses and even have a magnified focus screen to get the best results. Very happy but the real test is to come when I take it to a couple of music festivals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 July 2017 by Ssujan (Singapore)

I've been using past two weeks and enjoyed the quality of the product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not For the price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16 July 2017 by sonny215 (USA)

Lightweight and stylish. great picture quality but overheats to quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome camera at an affordable price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16 July 2017 by CEuC (USA)

Super pictures, great design, all at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great pictures and video But Overheats Very Quick

ILCE-5000 KIT 15 July 2017 by sonny215 (USA)

purchased the sony a5000 for vlogging and picture taking. After a very short time of recording indoors in air conditioning it over heated and stopped recording which leads me to believe if taking video outside the time would be cut in half due to overheating. pictures and video are amazing light weight and stylish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

great slim camera

ILCE5000L/B 09 July 2017 by zfarks (USA)

I+ve have 3 cameras and this one have been by far the best. Recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a5000

ILCE5000L/B 08 July 2017 by Trail turtle (USA)

I always wanted a mirror-less camera. Picked the Sony a5000 as my very first. I am completely satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding product

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 July 2017 by Tee28 (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this camera for occasions such as holidays, weddings and overall family events. I am absolutely impressed with the quality of the photos I have tested out. They are sharp and extremely clear which I am excited about. The camera is a good compact shape which is very handy if you are using it to take pictures on holidays etc as well as having a handy grip on the side. Also the camera features are easy to get your head around. The only downside of this is that it doesn't include a camera battery charger which is a shame due to the price I paid for the camera. I would have also liked it to have a case to protect it as it is a heavy-ish camera. But overall very impressed!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06 July 2017 by Buford (United Kingdom)

Great camera and happy with with what i brought would recommend this a5000 to someone who is looking for something a step up from a lower end point and shoot camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

love the time lapse

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 29 June 2017 by Hyduk (United Kingdom)

Cant fault the camera has everything I need like charge with the USB for when your on the go with a power bank, using your phone to point focus and save a copy of what you caputured

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

ILCE5000L/B 24 June 2017  (USA)

I got my a5000 as a gift from my Son and Daughter. I have always loved taking pictures but never had a good camera. Even though I am just learning the settings and when to use different settings, I have already taken some breathtaking photos! I am in love with my new camera and can't wait to learn more about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Cool

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17 June 2017 by Pixels012 (Singapore)

I like the image quality overall and easy its to carry. Wish it had a viewfinder but lcd screen is okay and functions are excellent like a mini dslr. Its great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and lightwieght

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11 June 2017 by Hayden75 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and I have found it very easy to use and already the quality of the photos is excelent. Two negative points. 1) The lack of an attachment for the lens cap.(solved by buying one on line) 2) The lack of a viewfinder,on bright days it is difficult to see the screen. (one can be purchased but it looks bulky and spoils the look of the camera)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera for a novice picture taker

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11 June 2017 by Tyrone TJ (United Kingdom)

Great Price Great Quality No complaints Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0