449

4.5 based on 449 customer reviews

277
130
22
11
9
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great camera just gets better...

Body Only 18 January 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only recently jumped to Sony from Panasonic (Nikon before that) and only had my A7 for a few months before the A7 II was released but I'd already fallen for the A7 so I took the plunge. In all honesty I didn't have any issues with the build and setup of the original A7 but the A7 II really is a much more DSLR feel without the DSLR size and weight. Sony are clearly listening to their customers with small but much appreciated cosmetic changes. The BIG thing for me though is that headline 5-axis in body stabilisation but the new grip and shutter placement are welcome improvements. I got my camera the day I was flying out on a holiday to Disney World in Florida so I knew I'd get the chance to try out the camera while having some fun and I can honestly say that this is a killer camera for anyone wanting a serious camera without the bulk. Even though I was still getting used to the Sony system and I'm also nothing more than an enthusiastic photographer and not a professional I was over the moon with some of my photos (attached). I've only had chance to play with JPEGs so far but I took RAW+JPEG so I'm looking forward to see how better they will be with some processing. My advice to anyone who wants an all-round camera with the great image quality and ease of use without the bulk, buy this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Shutter button failure

Body Only 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the 2 year mark, my a9’s shutter button does not work correctly. It a defect in the model as I have seen many complaints about it online. For Sony not to address this problem is a problem in itself. I’ve been a professional commercial photographer for 38 years and have never had a shutter button malfunction. They should repair it free of charge. I own 5 Sony Mirrorless cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

454 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great Features!

Body Only 16 January 2023 by DyanaGG (United Kingdom)

I bought my camera this mounth. Very kindly customer service ! It contact us instead. I would like to share my photos with you Thank You Diana

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Epic Camera. Rubbish battery life

Body Only 15 January 2023 by Phil Clay (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for years. Produces a beautiful image and I love using it for family and street photography. It just works. The battery life is appalling and I have 6 in total. I have heard they sorted it for the mark 3 & 4. I think I will get many more years you just have to keep the open sensor clean which is very difficult

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

beautiful and high quality camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 January 2023 by johna7 (United Kingdom)

This camera is beautiful and stunning and very high quality manufacturing from sony. I would high recommend this camera for a photographer of any level the images it produces are amazing quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Starter Professional Camera

Body Only 19 December 2022  (United Kingdom)

Great Image Quality, stabilisation and video functions and had lots on lance option Available. All Round good Camera

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Lovely camera

Body Only 15 December 2022 by smithgj (United Kingdom)

Bought this along with Sony Zeiss 24-70mm F4 lens to dip my toe in the full frame mirrorless market without breaking the bank. I currently use Nikon D850 cameras, but really appreciate the smaller size and weight of this mirrorless combination. So far I am very pleased with the results from raw images. Dynamic range is very good, detail from the Zeiss lens and 24mp full frame sensor is better than I thought and noise suppression is very good. My only complaint is re battery life, but I was aware of this and purchased several spares. I like the handling and sturdy feel of the camera. Any negatives have been resolved in later models, Hence my bargain purchase of £760 including the 28-70mm kit lens, which allows me to experience Sony mirrorless without a great expense to see if I like the system, which so far I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great product

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 07 December 2022 by Bhargav146 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first camera from sony, and I feel it different from the other cameras. I just started and I am loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body Only 16 October 2022 by Mahdi_g_17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month and I am glad that I got this

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I love it

Body Only 14 October 2022 by Rettie777 (United Kingdom)

Quality camera with loads of features. Feels solid and rugged. Brilliant photigraphs and video. It has rekindled my interest in photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Camera is amazing

Body Only 02 October 2022 by concretebungle (United Kingdom)

They say the camera doesn't make the photographer, I beg to differ with the a7 range. The camera makes taking pictures an absolute joy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Enough for Most

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10 September 2022 by GGhad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sold all my canon and Switched to Sony. It won't feel like a 7-year old design. It's fast enough for my need. if you're a full-time pro you know what you need to get, but this wouldn't be a bad backup. Would I be more impressed with newer models, of course? But a brand new full-frame kit around $1000? it was a no-brainer. I'm happy with it, and the e-most lineup. Will I end up upgrading? Yeah! But till then the a7ii will get the job done. I think its awesome that you can still buy one new.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great camera for beginners and pros!!

Body Only 05 September 2022 by Bankey (United Kingdom)

Happily recommend for anyone from beginners to pros!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera BUT…?

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 30 August 2022 by James247London (United Kingdom)

I’ve been a photographer for over 35 years, I decided to upgrade to a Sony a7 II camera package. I bought it from LCE Strand London, brand new and sealed, but when I took pictures. I was amazed by the amount of dust and a large smudge inside the camera. Returned it after providing proof that the dust and smudge came out on my images. It’s a great camera, but totally disappointed to find this on a new camera..

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 14 August 2022 by GizmoFreak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. I think one of the best mirrorless camera out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid full frame

Body Only 18 July 2022 by J15000 (United Kingdom)

Bought this little gem just over a year ago brand new, more than pleased with it. Not able to register it with Sony, due to it not being sold any longer?? However my first ff digital and I'm happy with, picture and video quality, it's only 1080p but it's stunning what can be done with it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, complicated to start with

Body Only 09 July 2022 by itsamandared (United Kingdom)

LCD screen was off and I thought my pics were terrible until I transferred to my laptop so... Make sure you just the screen. Also, I came from Canon and I struggle with the digital view instead of reality, IDK if I'll ever get used to but I think I have to

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

well arranged controls

Body Only 01 July 2022 by Quality King (United Kingdom)

I always think a review should tell readers of the review a little insight of the reviewer. So with over 58 years of photography and hundreds of cameras feel I know my way around a camera. So I buy a camera which will give me the control I need things like depth of field ease of use a product that has been in manufacture for many years albeit updated models of the same design. So lets see why I choose this particular model. I use all my control camera functions and like the freedom of being able to use a lens suitable to my needs, This camera allows me to use a lens designed for a smaller sensor so crops accordingly and for the photos I have taken picture quality is good . Personally I don't like a touch monitor and prefer to use the menu and navigate around one really nice thing is the position of the menu button it's on it's own and makes for a quick operation. All the drop down menus are good and once you learn how to navigate them it's good, The card slot being on it's own is also easy to get to. Most of my photography is taken flowers and with the manual settings a good depth of field can be acquired. Most people will know what this camera can achieve but actually reading professional photographers reviews and seeing what they have taken sells the camera. The battery charging was not design very good to charge the battery it's done by plugging the camera in, a stand alone charger would have earned this review 5 stars .

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent camera

Body Only 22 June 2022 by MrB65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent camera to own to get into digital photography and video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Dream Camera

Body Only 15 April 2022 by Jmanita (United Kingdom)

I bought this one for about two weeks ago, and i´m completely in love with her.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent Quality To Begin

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 07 February 2022 by VKVision (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm able to capture the exact parts of action like no other

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great ful frame camara

Body Only 25 January 2022 by tell21 (United Kingdom)

good upgrade from other sony camaras i own as i wanted a full frame to enlarge pictures and more detail

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great entry product

Body Only 28 December 2021 by Elijahvgugcnkb (United Kingdom)

I got this for Christmas and it’s the best camera I ever got

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good effort Sony

Body Only 06 December 2021 by Norrisr4 (United Kingdom)

I bought second hand so great value. Early observations are that it is very capable. A tad heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

First full frame

Body Only 27 November 2021 by John John 2 (United Kingdom)

I have had 6 sony cameras 4 Alpha. My last was the Alpha A77, I had it for 7 years and loved it. I have wanted the A7ii and eventually bought it 2 weeks ago. Its been well worth the wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Feels great in my hand

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 04 November 2021 by StephL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera, just need to learn how and when to use all the setting. Menu is a pain in the butt though

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Bargain full frame camera

Body Only 21 October 2021 by Philminster (United Kingdom)

Bought new for £800 last year has been a delight to use and results have been great used as a stills camera with amount lenses from my old sony a99 with sony adapters. Don't use it at all for video preferring my a6500 for that purpose

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera but terrible battery life

Body Only 13 October 2021 by High Noon (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera June 2020 with a 25 - 105 Sony lens to replace my Sony A77 Mk ii DSLR. Really liked the camera especially the dynamic range and image stabilisation which made hand holding during the Pandemic a breeze in comparison to my old DSLR. However I soon realised that the batteries were draining at an alarming rate and if I intended to use the camera for any length of time, I would require many more batteries. After owning the camera for about 9 months, I traded the camera for the A7 iii !! I no longer have the A7 ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed with image quality

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Cityview (United Kingdom)

Compared side by side and using the same lenses I am getting better results with my Pentax K3ii APSC than with the Sony A7II. Not so easy to use for action shots as a DSLR

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

You won't be disappointed!

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Caretta22 (United Kingdom)

Very good camera that takes some getting used to. Once familiar, very versatile, ergonomic and intuitive to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Vast improvement on the A7ii

Body Only 13 October 2021 by TimB126 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a full-frame mirrorless hi-spec camera. Upgraded the A7ii to the A7iii, and it's a huge improvement: battery life is awesome, improved functionality in the processor, AF, etc. The sensor still has the fault on the A7ii - attracting (and retaining!) specs of dust. This is not a problem with the other brands of camera I use, I can only assume it's a Sony "Feature"...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05 October 2021 by Biggrim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is great, I've always bought minotaur and now sony cameras. The only downside is the price of lenses, you need to remortgage if you want to buy a lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera to have

Body Only 14 September 2021 by LouBB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just slighty over priced especially for this model anyway

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All that you need nothing that you dont

Body Only 13 September 2021 by WAGLER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has a solid build with good erganomics and is full featured without the over complex nature of many cameras .it was years ahead of its time at launch ,and is still perfect for your first venture in full frame and to learn the basics, You wont regret your purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic for stills photography.

Body Only 11 September 2021 by Opetaja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I originally purchased an a7ii in 2018 and was very impressed by the IQ. I bought a couple of large lens and after a year I decided that the set up was too big for my ageing shoulders to carry round, so I sold my full frame kit and went the micro 4/3 route. However as much as I wanted to turn my back on full frame, and I've nothing against smaller sensors, the quality you get from the a7ii is just superior. So I saw that you could get some really good deals on new a7ii's and I just decided to try again, this time paired up with a couple of smaller 'tiny' primes. It's a brilliant combination and I'm really happy I went backwards! Could have got the a7iii of course, but why pay a grand more for what are essentially marginal improvements for stills photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good.Value

Body Only 11 September 2021 by RHarr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago after extensive reading of every review I could find. The consensus seemed to be that for the enthusiastic hobby photographer the A7ii is excellent value and I have to agree though by the time I had purchased the highly regarded 24-105mm Sony lens I had spent rather more than I had budgeted for! I have only taken a few photos so far but I am pleased with them. Setting up the camera took quite a while and I made much use of a couple of illustrated guides. Looking forward to using the A7ii at our local Wetlands Centre and hope to purchase a longer zoom telephoto in the next few weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 29 August 2021 by Maddie009 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive have sony cameras before and have always been happy with them a very good camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GOOD

Body Only 26 August 2021 by Ibrahim Alhendawi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this cam a month ago and I can say it is beautiful and sharp on the street except that it doesn't support silent shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but needs a Eye AF to be perfect

Body Only 26 August 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it few weeks ago. I really like the build quality. Like the customizing. Like that is has almost everything that you need for video and photo. Just I'm still the beginner. And I think autofocus could be better. Even tho I ask for better af I still like it. It really helped catch great moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Camera Marred By Poor Electronic View Finder

Body Only 22 July 2021 by Vincent73 (United Kingdom)

My Sony A7 excels in its handleability, its size and weight and the superb pictures it produces. The rear screen is pin sharp which compensates somewhat for the poor shimmery electronic viewfinder. I like the classic design and the large dedicated control knobs. The micro USB port is fiddly to use but I now use the WiFi connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great usability, steady shot, sharp images

Body Only 21 July 2021 by JacquesFouche (United Kingdom)

Great usability, through the body and lens stabilisers I get a very steady shot, the full-frame sensor gives me really sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20 July 2021 by TimothyB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm looking to make a career out of photography and was looking to get into the full frame side of things without breaking the bank. And i could not be happier with my decision. The quality of my photography has improved because of it. Thankyou.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 16 July 2021 by Denis photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think this camera is amazing, it’s my first 35mm full frame and I’m already having a good time with it! The only problem I have with it, is the constant hanging when a picture is taken, the camera has to wait for the system to write to the SD card, which is quite annoying when you just wanna check out your photos or delete somthing quickly Another weird thing is that, when the EVF is showing a bright image, it seems to flicker a bit? Just a bit odd, but I’ve read that this is common on all models, which is a little disappointed But overall, this camera is great, I’m moving from 1300D to this A7 ii is a great move!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD ALL-ROUNDER

Body Only 21 June 2021 by Le Phantom (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months back, but I've only just started using it. Overall I'm very pleased - the camera takes great pictures, has an excellent viewfinder and handles well (I have big hands, so this is an important issue). I could have gone for the A7III, but the additional features it has didn't justify the extra expense for me. The money saved went towards some good lenses. As I'm getting on and a bit shaky, the IBIS was a major factor in my purchase and the A7II met all my other criteria, so it was an easy choice. I don't understand why SONY don't advertise this model as still being available new. My only major gripe is the cost of buying into the system - the cost of some of the lenses and accessories make you wince! However, the A7II is still one of the cheaper ways into full frame mirrorless, so "you pays your money and you makes your choice". Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am very happy with every product from Sony

Body Only 12 May 2021 by Miroart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very satisfied ...............................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7ii bought a few weeks

Body Only 12 May 2021 by CC01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony A7ii a few weeks ago and I am very pleased with the picture quality and how much you can customise it, once you have dug into the menus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it until it broke during a shoot

Body Only 10 May 2021 by Kathryn1234 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2020, and I loved it! The af is great using back button, it's super light and easy to use once you get used to the menu system. However, the viewfinder has a proximity sensor which is crazy sensitive. Often I'd be looking at the screen and move slightly and the viewfinder would activate. Fine, I can adjust and live with it. However, during a shoot just yesterday my camera suddenly stopped working. Took 4 photos absolutely fine then gave a 'camera error, please power off and on' ... this didn't fix. I tried removing the battery, charging etc but no joy. Upon removing the lens it's clear to see the shutter is stuck. I could still navigate the menu and thankfully retrieved all the pictures from my earlier shoot that day. Really dissapointed with having to lose part of my income due to now sending a 6 month old, very well looked after, camera away for repair. I bought this as a starter camera but made the investment rather than going for the a600 range as I thought durability would be better. Seriously gutted, as I loved the camera quality and was looking to get an a7riii as my second body but now I'm concerned about reliability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good camera but the lenses are very expensive!

Body Only 09 May 2021 by Archina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good camera that is still very relevant despite a newer version being available. It was easy enough to get the hang of and the picture quality is incredible. The only downside I can think of is that you'll be paying out the nose for additional lenses as they certainly take chunks out of your wallet compared to other brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7ii

Body Only 24 April 2021 by You12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy about it is the only the battery dry Quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade

Body Only 12 April 2021 by Tr3v (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to another Sony product! I accidentally damaged but the ease of use helped in my decision.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great features

Body Only 11 April 2021 by Wesoły tuńczyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera for beginers, good price with lens....

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerful, usable and affordable

Body Only 07 April 2021 by wareham_photographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for 2 years now and love it. I swapped over from a Canon (5dMii) and loved the reduced weight I was carrying round, the quality of the viewfinder, especially that it gave me a view of exactly what I was going to get including exposure variations, the movable rear screen and the user-configurable buttons to change settings in an instant and above all the size and quality of the raw files I get - all excellent features. Not so keen on the menu system, although I have got used to that. The choice of available lenses has grown and grown and make the whole package outstanding value and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera, Needs 2 changes.

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 31 March 2021  (USA)

This Sony a7 II was bought as a platform for my old Rokkors for which it's nearly perfect. 5-axis image stabilization for 45 year old lenses? Pretty cool. I wish the overly large and way-too easily moved exposure dial was on the top left part of the camera, out of the way but where it belongs. Also, it could use a fully articulating rear screen. Boo hiss!! Also, the Pre Auto Focus option will infuriate you. Get your shot framed, focus, and the camera will refocus and refocus and refocus and... Grrr. I finally found that option embedded in the menu and disabled it. I still have plenty of APS-C Alpha gear that I absolutely love using, but for my old Rokkor lenses, this camera is da bomb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera with great features

Body Only 28 March 2021 by Jim1941 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since acquiring this camera I have had a great time shooting great images of mostly landscapes and wildlife using wide angle and telphoto lens, all with superb results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 14 March 2021 by Rosifatina (USA)

I bought this camera some months ago, the quality of the pictures are very bad, this is the worst camera I ever had in my life. I’ll try to use the raw format, that supposed to be the best quality and even in this case the pictures was dark.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Product - Learning The Menus Is Frustrating

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09 March 2021 by Pomsteroonie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image quality and build quality is amazing however, learning the overly complicated menus is a little frustrating. Not as clear and simple as the Canon that I've transitioned from however, with perseverance I've managed to get some fantastic pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

This is my first camera but wow is it amazing!!

Body Only 05 February 2021 by Amalaska12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is honestly like nothing I've ever experienced before. It even performs great in low light! But there are better cameras for that. I just wish that the auto focus was better. But that shouldn't be a problem once I upgrade my body since sony keep on improving their auto focus systems! Overall great detail and colour reproduction when shouting in RAW. Would recommend to anyone starting their photography journey with sony. This is a great entry level mirrorless camera from sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very impressive all round

Body Only 03 February 2021 by Dermish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera with low shutter activation only 10 days ago and have been very impressed so far. The particular features I wanted were full frame and in-camera stabilisation. I use legacy lenses and these don't have inbuilt stabilisation. I previously had a Sony A6000 which was very versatile but the A7ii is definitely a step up. The camera sits nicely in the hand, there are loads of programmable features and the results so far have been impressive. The only downside I have found is that it is easy to accidentally move the exposure compensation dial, which sits near the thumb when holding the camera. This is a minor inconvenience, though, and overall I am very pleased with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture Awful menu

Body Only 02 February 2021 by MarkLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kit lens better than expected. Great still images, good video, poor menu. Battery life is poor, build quality is good. Wish screen swivelled differently so It could be seen from front view and that it could power from USB. Still happy I bought it though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Value

Body Only 23 January 2021 by Lukasz1983 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value ... this is the power of Sony products...they beaten all other brands in this area...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 02 January 2021 by Silver Fox 17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only bought this camera less than 2 weeks ago but happy with it so far. My first DSLR was a Sony A200 then an A58 but an issue with its sensor made me go for a new camera and with very few A mount ones for sale now I went for the A7 11 with the E mount. There are lots to this camera, a lot of which I will probably never use, but so far it seems very good. The old A200 had a wireless facility for the flash which was brilliant but unfortunately the A58 and the A7 11 lack this facility, that to me was a big plus. The first thing to notice was how much heavier the camera, and lens’s are, than the previous two. Having said that, the camera feels right, possibly because for many years I was used to standard SLR’s. The movie recording looks to be fine, better than the A58, but I had to alter the white balance for some reason although more practice is required for this. Likes - I prefer to use Manual rather than any of the other options for most of my photographs so particularly like the 2 separate thumb wheels for the shutter speed and aperture. The menu and function buttons are basically the same for the A58 so easy to get around. Thankfully my old flash works fine as I had to get an adapter for it when I bought the A58 so it uses the same adapter. Also it uses the same hand remote which is a plus for long exposure shots. The A7 11 has taken the best night time photo of the 3 cameras I have so cannot wait to get to Blackpool again for the lights. A good image with less noise when higher ISO settings are used. Dislikes – A lot more expensive than A mount cameras, and lenses are too. The manual focus system seems to be a retrograde step by having to move a lever then pressing and holding a button in the centre of the lever with one hand while focussing with the other, and having to keep the button pressed while I take the photo. Not happy that the A mount lenses are not autofocus using a Sony adapter which led me to have to buy a 55-250 zoom. As mentioned earlier there is no wireless connection without buying more equipment. There is a wireless facility in the function but it will not recognise the flash channel for it. A big issue was no battery charger with the camera, and, battery life quite poor compared to the other two. Please Sony, bring out a heavy duty one. Not keen on the “level” symbols in the view finder and have not worked out how to disable them yet. The electronic viewfinder is good in most situations but not at night time when doing space photography as it is very difficult to see a star and then focus on it, ideally it would be good if the rear screen could be set as a normal one for times like this. Although the flash works it does not seem to be TTL as it did on the old A200 so have to take the same photo on different settings to get the correct exposure. Although there are a few negative comments here I am still very happy with the camera so far and hope to have some better weather to test it in different conditions outside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great feel, great photos from day 1, room to grow

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31 December 2020 by Eroc333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago and it has made this gloomy winter seem like a summer holiday. Really enjoying my Sony. With gratitude

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good but not great.

Body Only 14 December 2020 by Nopenope (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price this is a good piece of kit. But I think sony could do more to improve the operating system through firmwares updates. For example, there are reprogrammable buttons, but some key ones aren't available on the a7ii, but are on the 3. There's no reason I can see why. Another is the ability to quickly turn on and off apsc mode without having to go through the menus. Again, would give more flexibility to using prime and zoom lenses but isn't available. Biggest frustration is it not having a fully articulating screen. Especially when working in portrait with the camera low or high. Other than that, it's a good camera and got it at a good price. Pretty happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabuous image quality

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08 December 2020 by Rob305 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I once thought full frame was overkill. After trying a number of apsc sensor cameras, I found them with some deficiencies (noise, no IOS), or overpriced. I finally sprang for A7 ii after seeing it discounted. After some use, I am dazzled by video quality and photo quality. The body is solid, and reassuringly well built, but not too large. So far, no complaints at all. Now I'm fairly spoiled on full frame, I don't want to ever go back to a smaller sensor, unless it's my phone. The A7 ii is a fantastic buy. Extremely pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Features

Body Only 27 November 2020 by Valdiune (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it so far Amazing staff easy to use love setting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 09 November 2020 by imsofknhi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera I am glad I bought a Sony a7ii for a entry level camera. Thanks Sony!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 06 November 2020 by Orlblue (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In love with this camera and I’ve only had it for a day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Shutter button failure

Body Only 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the 2 year mark, my a9’s shutter button does not work correctly. It a defect in the model as I have seen many complaints about it online. For Sony not to address this problem is a problem in itself. I’ve been a professional commercial photographer for 38 years and have never had a shutter button malfunction. They should repair it free of charge. I own 5 Sony Mirrorless cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Some good, some bad

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26 October 2020 by SonyAreShite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as a replacement for my Nikon D7000. It's ok, that's all. I Like: Full frame sensor Lighter than Nikon Solid build quality Not impressed with: Inability to consistently gain focus Far too sensitive eye sensor for viewfinder Low light capability

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 21 October 2020 by Allistairg1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the transition from Canon to Sony and wasn’t disappointed image quality is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19 October 2020 by MTBVanLife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to up the photography game at MTBVanLife and cannot wait to use this beast of a camera. Photos incoming on @themtbvanlife on instagram

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use. great features

Body Only 04 October 2020 by Rutilus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera for three weeks, I am impressed by the quality of the pictures and the ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0