8

3.0 based on 8 customer reviews

3
0
1
2
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and features

MEXM100BT 01 April 2019  (USA)

This unit has great sound, and has enough features to keep up with all your needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not easy to use!

MEX-M100BT 31 March 2019 by jonash78 (USA)

I had mine professionally installed never even made it to the water in our new boat and Bluetooth don’t work , I keep a morning cover and a custom cover that ratchet straps around the boat and I see moisture in the screen , keep in mind it’s located in the glove box and in storage with 2 covers! Wished they would rewind technology and go back to the good old stereos that was user friendly ! #backtotheshop!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Unit Resets (Turns Off): Using Ph BT & High Volume

MEX-M100BT 02 September 2018 by Doug WM (USA)

Sep. 2, 2018: I just bought this unit and installed it in my boat. I have the exact problem as described by the person on the 8/22/18 review post below. I bought this unit for the same reason he did - it's the highest output (watts) marine stereo you can buy without buying a head unit with a separate amp. Problem! When you are playing music off your phone (I have a Samsung Note 8) connected by BlueTooth and you put the phone volume up to maximum output or 1 click below maximum and then you turn up the volume on the Sony MEX-M100BT after a minute or so, the head unit will shutoff and reboot; then, you need to restart everything. Also, I agree with the 8/22/18 post below, the work around is to put your phone on about 75% or, I found, about 2 clicks into the red zone. Then, the system seems to work great, but then the max. volume is not very high!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best head unit ever. I have 1 in 3 of my cars!

MEX-M100BT 27 August 2018 by Du2202 (USA)

This unit is great all around. To the gentleman that wrote about it resetting, I too had this problem and had it installed professionally. However, I personally did some research and after reading the manual more closely this unit requires a dedicated power wire direct from the battery. It does say that in the manual and on the Sony website. I had them run this wire (despite their disbelief and pessimism bc they had never heard of a unit needing this they grudgingly did it and low and behold it worked great and still does. I’ve had minor hiccups with them as again I have 3 of them but it has been a simple fix and something i had done wrong that caused it. Try this idea out with the wire straight from battery and see if it helps. Good luck!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound / poor design

MEX-M100BT 22 August 2018 by rdy_csci (USA)

I purchased this stereo because it seemed to have the most overall power of any marine grade stereos that I could find. My goal was to get great sound clarity and volume without having to purchase a separate amplifier. This unit somewhat did the job. Let me explain..... So after first installing the stereo it seemed to work well. I had great volume and sound clarity while using the tuner / stereo. However, once I started to play music through my phone using either Bluetooth or auxiliary I started to run into problems. If I had the volume turned up over 30 on the head unit, the system would reset after playing for awhile. I double checked all my wiring and it seemed fine so I contacted Sony support. They were semi-helpful and we tried doing a hard reset and firmware update. The unit continued to work just fine when running the tuner / stereo no matter how high the volume, but would reset when playing over Bluetooth or auxiliary once the volume surpassed 30. It appeared to be a faulty unit. After working with Sony support I had a new unit shipped to me. The new one arrived and I installed it. It worked fine for the first 7-8 minutes and then the same thing. So now I was forced to contact a professional to see what the issue was. He confirmed all wiring was good and was at first stumped himself. So I demonstrated how to reproduce the issue. He hooked up a voltmeter and we watched as the system would reset. Apparently if the voltage to the unit dropped to 11.8 volts or lower, it would reset. This was very surprising to him since he said in all of the 100's of installs he had done, he had never seen a stereo so sensitive as to reset with such a small drop in voltage. Most wouldn't reset until the voltage was in the 10.x range. The work-around isn't ideal, but will work until Sony makes an update to firmware (if that will fix it) or issues a recall. The work around is to only set the volume on my phone to about 75% output. This seems to keep the unit from resetting since it doesn't try to pull that extra power to output to the speakers. It is disappointing since I feel I am not getting all the benefit of the built in amplifier for which I paid all that money, but at least I can listen to my music without it resetting every few minutes. Other than that, the controls and settings are not intuitive but after reading through the manual and playing with it a little bit I can now navigate through the menu fairly easy. Of course, with how small some of the labels are on the unit a bright glare can make it hard to read the small print as well. Sony tried to fill a void that was in the market with a powerful unit, but didn't put the amount of testing and thought into the design that they should have with the product. If you are dead set on not running an amp with your stereo this will work. However, if I had this to do over again I would have simply purchased a less expensive unit and an amplifier to go with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Sounds Great. Non-Intuitive Features.

MEX-M100BT 15 July 2018  (USA)

The title says it all. I am technical (an engineer) and own a home theater company. The engineers at Sony need to drop 10 of the ubber-small buttons, give a bigger display (you are screwed in the sun and you better have 30 year old eyes), drop the colorful flashing lite features and stick to the core features. For instance have an on-off button bigger than 3 millimeters.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

falls short on music adjustment

MEX-M100BT 27 September 2017 by fousemouse (USA)

I bought this radio off of a friend to put in my ford focus with a full system behind it. I love the positive display, I haven't had a hard time seeing the screen even in bright light but i would have liked to have seen separated high pass filters for front and back and i would have liked to have an actual db number for slopes instead of modes (1, 2, 3 etc.) i find it hard to use without reading the manual first. Also, the built in amp is fantastic and without boosting modes on there is little to no distortion even all the way up in volume. very very happy with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Won't Last

MEX-M100BT 26 September 2017  (USA)

Bought this radio at the beginning of the summer. Last about 2 months before buttons stopped working and without a tuning knob you could change the stations. Display eventually fogged and couldn't see display. I have a cover and it was never submerged. Sony did send me my money back after calling tech support.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0