186

4.2 based on 186 customer reviews

111
42
14
6
13
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25 September 2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony HT-x8500

HT-X8500 08 January 2021 by martin1010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago and the atmos function works very intermittently , contacted sony support pretty unhelpful , just send out pages of user manual which don't resolve issue, they then ask you to contact one their support agents , nearest one to me is 60 miles away and also expect you to pay postage costs in my case £30.00 , will never buy sony again , very poor value for the money paid

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

2

0

186 Customer Reviews

0

not bad

HTX8500 28 September 2022 by JarrodH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker to go with the Sony X85K and PS5. I'm really glad I did. The combination of the 3 is very,very cool!!! They all communicate with each other.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, great features

HTX8500 28 September 2022 by HFS716 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to install. Gives you a great variety of sounds, game, cinema, surround sound, voice and more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sounds

HT-X8500//M SP1 17 September 2022 by Ronald McDonald (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago and I really like the sound bar and enjoy the bass

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

HT-X8500 07 August 2022 by Craig79 (United Kingdom)

Great sound and brilliant for movies. Not that simple to setup with the Sony tv. Which thought it would be simpler.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Value

HTX8500 24 July 2022 by Algaer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is extraordinary on this soundbar. It totally immerses and envelopes you in its sound when watching movies. I am very satisfied with its performance but I wish it had clearer indication of the modes that your in. It can be somewhat obscure concerning this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not what I would expect from sony

HTX8500 22 July 2022 by Jake 57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this on Amazon in April it stopped working periodically and would have to unplug and plug back in this happened periodically for 2 monthes till it stopped getting power all together. Called Sony”customer service” and was told I had to box it myself and ship it to New York to be repaired.After 2 more phone calls I was sent a shipping label fir fedex. I sent it to New York where I found out that fedex had damaged it in shipping no big deal it was cosmetic. I received an email each day saying that they were waiting on parts each day the expected date was extended the final was fir 2 weeks later which would have made it almost a month I was without it. I then attempted to contact a real Sony customer service which does not exist. I kept getting forwarded back to the original number I called to get a repair approval. After 3 phone calls I was touted to “a supervisor “. My request was since I only had the soundbar fir 2 monthes and they agree there was a problem to please just send a new sound bar instead of waiting for a month to get mine repaired. I was told there policy was to get it repaired I asked how long do I gave to wait she said we will make a decision after 14 days what we can do to just replace it. From all the emails I was getting it was going to be 30 days so I asked please just bake the call now and replace it she said I have to wait and that she would call and authorize the repair facility to expedite the repair. So my response was why would they be making me wait until you tell them to expedite it I told her that a company ad huge as Sony should treat their customers like Amazon and make them happy. So literally the next day I got an email from fedex that it was on its way back to me 2 weeks before the repair place was even supposed to get the part to fix it. Literally the part was the power cord so why was I lead to believe it was going to be so long. In all it took 2 weeks but their customer service was terrible also Sony tried to blame it on the repair facility which I talked to twice and they were nothing but nice and said they can’t make any decisions without Sony approval. Also this was a gift to me after all this I read the reviews on this soundbar numerous people have had the same issues with it not working and power issues

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great features in one piece of equipment

HTX8500 14 July 2022 by GPaa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was so pleased with the quality of this item that I bought a second one to place in another location in my house

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A superb sound. Value for money.

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 July 2022 by HGopalan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am thrilled to have chose this soundbar. It has met my expectation.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant sound

HT-X8500 14 June 2022 by Brian22574912 (United Kingdom)

Great purchase-really pleased with the enhanced sound it gives

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

awesome sound in a simple unit

HTX8500 09 June 2022 by dkrkff64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this because i have a sony bravia tv, and the soundbar matches the tv perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great design

HT-X8500 06 June 2022 by Anthony24 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this a few months ago, as usual Sony delivered another quality product , well done Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for the price and simplicity in design

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 May 2022 by When one asks (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

When comes to TV & audio…always a Sony, have not been disappointed yet!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

HTX8500 06 May 2022 by Rosner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the sound bar quality and features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointment.

HT-X8500//M SP1 31 March 2022 by 1ndi0 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought less than 2 months only and spoilt. Even the Sony service technicians have never encountered this issue. Now item with them for about a week. Not sure when I can get back.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Power Plus

HT-X8500 21 March 2022 by Plus 1 (United Kingdom)

First bought Sony television, now Sony sound bar to match. What more do you want.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Audio now

HT-X8500 15 March 2022 by Ferrett (United Kingdom)

I bought this because my old sound bar had broken. I am delighted with the sound it produces especially the surround sound it sends out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

BOOM

HT-X8500 17 February 2022 by Errolflynn (United Kingdom)

I wish I had purchased this item at the same time I bought the Sony Bravia TV it not only looks good but enhances what ever you are watching,the bass rumble you get when watching films at the cinema is replicated without any distortion a great asset to any film buff.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice sound. Love it for me a beginner.

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 February 2022 by Babylon6822 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it. If increase or decrease the sound volume while watching. The sound level is in number instead of +/-.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Sony High-TeX 8500 soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 24 January 2022 by Ris319 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in last year December and tested with my xperia mobile and the tv. The user friendly equipment is producing a good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good sound effects

HT-X8500 15 January 2022 by Rwd9 (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with new UltraHD to. Great sound reproduction and facilities for various formats eg music, cinema, news etc. Also looks good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the sound!

HTX8500 14 January 2022 by Bazedog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ought this to match up with my A9f and am happy so far. Only issue is sound pauses during streaming ( Prime, Netflix, YTTV, etc.). Have tried some troubleshooting but no help yet. Otherwise happy!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great & Portable Device

HT-X8500 09 January 2022 by JesseJ (United Kingdom)

I bought the HT-X8500 a couple of days ago. It’s a cool sound bar, so far I am loving its productions. A few setbacks, connecting the Arc HDMI - from the TV to the sound bar has not been working, I got an HDMI cable from Sony yet no sound or display from the HDMI ports. Apart from these setback which I will try and figure it out, the device and production is amazing .

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good sound

HT-X8500 08 January 2022 by PB50 (United Kingdom)

Easy set up with Sony TV Good sound. Decent value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor sound

HT-X8500 04 January 2022 by Mr Rickard (United Kingdom)

i purchased a sony htx850 sound bar beginning of Dec, sound quality is poor played through my sony kd49xh9505 direct but perfect played through my Panasonic dvd recorder, can you explain why

1

0

0

Very neat soundbar

HT-X8500 03 January 2022 by Skulldog (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound with many features, would highly recommend for a medium sized living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great

HT-X8500 20 December 2021 by Nerijus78 (United Kingdom)

Perfect bar for this price. Good for small room. Recommended

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ht-X8500

HT-X8500 14 December 2021 by Soups 88 (United Kingdom)

I thought I would wait a couple of weeks before leaving a review. The good..it's easy to set up, it fits under my new Sony TV, the sound is decent for the price and size. The bad, bass is not good, but was not expecting this too as it's built in to the bar. There is also no led screen to review settings etc. The sound does not go high as it states. But on the whole it's not bad for the price and if you have a small room to fill up with sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Much better than expected

HT-X8500 16 November 2021 by James 111 (United Kingdom)

Again another well designed product with enough features at a price point that makes it very compeling piece of kit. Having it hooked up to my Sony XH9505 & Sony bluray player UBP-X800 you do get the max AV experience when playing UHD discs that streaming can't match. Also with it's bluetooth means you can beam the radio or other devices through it without the TV being on, again less clutter, no seperate speakers. A very solid and weighty component.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Smaller Room & TV Speaker

HTX8500 21 October 2021 by FMS82 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best all-around small room and TV speaker! Boosts volume and sound projection, decent subwoofer. Sleek looks! Excellent value!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sounds

HT-X8500 24 September 2021 by Rjjjj (United Kingdom)

Works well wired, less so Bluetooth - too many RF devices in small area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality, great overall

HT-X8500 14 September 2021 by arpan57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like the sound quality, surround sound system. Comes with a set of presets on remote which is quite handy. Sometimes, dialogues are not too clear and sometimes there is a lag in lip sync. However, I like this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it!

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 September 2021 by Shoedog96 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this month ago, had initial problems connecting it to my older Samsung TV. But once connected with the required cables, worked reliably and wonderfully!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So far I love it.

HTX8500 06 September 2021 by DonJW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a couple of months now and am happy with the sound it plays. Haven't been able to test the Atmos yet as I currently have an older Samsung tv that does not have an eArc input. I have a new Sony 77 inch tv coming which has one and can't wait to get that hooked up to the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound in bedroom

HTX8500 26 August 2021 by James808 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added to my Sony x90j in bedroom. Speakers surprisingly come close to surround sound. Sound has some height to it and at times sounds come in from left and right beside you. Used in a smaller space like a bedroom or office type space is probably best for this model. Bass hits quite well for being built in. I would like a few more bass level settings then just 3 though. Only issue I’ve had arise is when watching HBOmax movies that have Dolby atmos sound will blip then turn off. I have not had this issue with any other apps that I use that offer Dolby atmos though. So I’m pretty sure it’s something to do with the HBO app not the soundbar itself. Over all excellent product great for movies, video games, and regular viewing shows.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It was great for 1.5 years, then got worsen

HT-X8500 17 August 2021 by Ice_machinE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound wise, it has a wonderful sound and very good bass. Performance wise: I connected everything through it so I could have 1 source of sound (everything goes through an HDMI splitter because I wanted all of my devices to work through it), for the first 1.5 years, it worked flawlessly, then it started giving me crackling sounds and turn off the sound all together with all the lights flashing. The only way to fix this was to either disconnect all the cables from it or pull the power plug from it and turn it back on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor performance.

HT-X8500 16 August 2021 by Juanmaizq (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes the TV slower to work and the quality of sound is not much better to compensate for this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Nice soundbar

HT-X8500 14 August 2021 by Dekker54 (United Kingdom)

I bought this mainly for Dolby atmos and Iam extremely impressed. I know it’s a 2019 model but it perfect .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good mid priced Soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 August 2021 by clishic (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite good sound reproduction. Dolby Atmos works great too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just dandy

HTX8500 02 August 2021 by Oink (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it a month......... cccvv v. Bb no. No. Mmm

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not bad

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 July 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far the sound quality is good. Value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 July 2021 by Fllim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Less than a month from date of purchase, now I need to send for repair. I can’t on the sound bar. I’m quite disappointed as I trusted SONY!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Improved sound on TV 100% right out of box!

HTX8500 11 July 2021 by Bob 74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Soundbar is exactly what I needed for a Toshiba C350 Fire TV. This is used in a bedroom and improves the sound of the TV dramatically. Sony hit a home run with this unit. Could not be more pleased! Currently using all default settings with a HDMI earc connection. Have not even tried any options and still very impressed with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Sound

HT-X8500 25 June 2021 by Mary the Cat (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up, looks good, great sound. good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Life is never the same again!

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 June 2021 by Kate2021 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

We had the previous model for 3 years and only went into the SONY shop for a stroll and didnt intend to buy anything, but the salesman is very patient, courteous, meticulous and has answered all of our questions without being pushy on the new model. So we went back to the shop 1 month later and bought it instantly from the same salesperson! Life is never the same again when you watch your SONY TV, and we can never go back to the old and traditional sound again especially when we watch any films on Netflix or Amazon, or even watch any news. The 3-D sound effect adds another layer of listening-ability and pleasure to the ears and heart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome

HT-X8500//M SP1 10 June 2021 by B Tay (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality was great even though it had a built-in sub-woofer. Perfect for a small apartment like mine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very detailed controls tailor listening

HTX8500 05 June 2021 by Ldmaster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mulriple configuration options are truly best in class. Ive owned some expensive audio bars - wish I'd found this first

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0