140

4.3 based on 140 customer reviews

85
33
9
3
10
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great soundbar, but not for everyone

HT-X8500 28 November 2020 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

This is a very capable soundbar with a good, balanced sound presentation. The bass is good but not overwhelming. It has puzzled me why the reviews have been so polarised, either five stars or one. I think I understand why. To get the best from this soundbar, you need to connect it via HDMI to a TV that supports ARC/eARC. Remember that Atmos is only supported over eARC or where a component such as a Blu-ray player is connected directly. If you want bass that will shake the furniture, you need a soundbar with a subwoofer; a soundbar on its own will still produce plenty of bass, but with limits. Please don’t expect this soundbar to produce the same surround effects as a system with several speakers. Having said that, this soundbar produces a decent soundstage with some vertical effects. This soundbar is ideal for those who live in a flat or don’t want rumbling bass to disturb others in the house. It will provide scale and weight to improve your enjoyment of movies, sports events and music. It is a good soundbar, but it won’t be right for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Dolby Atmos for me!

HT-X8500 17 November 2020 by Beach Boi (USA)

just purchased this bar to pair with an LG CX for surround sound. The Dolby Atmos light is lit up on the bar but there is no feeling at all of surround sound or sound bouncing off the ceiling. Yes, speech is better with this bar than with the tv's built-in speakers but I expected to hear surround speech. Can't figure out if i have a bad bar or just bad marketing or human error.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

143 Customer Reviews

0

Sony Soundbar HT-X8500.

HT-X8500 17 January 2021 by Chris P Dy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it last week and works very well. Was very easy to set up and connect to TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awful connectivity

HT-X8500 08 January 2021 by Exasperated99 (United Kingdom)

Will not connect to a Sony Bravia with ARC HDMI, only the optical cable, been through all soundbar and TV instructions and Sony on line help and still no joy. If I am doing something wrong then why do all the instructions and help line not put me right? I would have expected Sony to be a click and play when talking to other Sony products

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Sony HT-x8500

HT-X8500 08 January 2021 by martin1010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago and the atmos function works very intermittently , contacted sony support pretty unhelpful , just send out pages of user manual which don't resolve issue, they then ask you to contact one their support agents , nearest one to me is 60 miles away and also expect you to pay postage costs in my case £30.00 , will never buy sony again , very poor value for the money paid

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

0

0

0

Sound bar

HT-X8500 06 January 2021 by Raph009 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound bar, but I’ve had issues with the sound disconnecting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple and mighty

HT-X8500 04 January 2021 by Kolli44444 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product from Sony if you don't actually want to setup 6-8 speakers in your room. It does a great job with 1 soundbar!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing

HT-X8500 02 January 2021 by Station (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this sound bar for Christmas what a great move. Films, sport, documentaties etc. Makes watching tv a totally different experince would not be with it now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 01 January 2021 by Wozz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my soundbar a few weeks now and I'm still finding things out about it. Great sound and goes great with my sony bravia TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product!

HT-X8500 26 December 2020 by MN07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the product three weeks now. Brilliant product as you would expect from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Use

HT-X8500 26 December 2020 by Grandad2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product three weeks ago as a replacement for my Sony Home Cinema system to be honest this does not give the same sound quality but I got fed up listening to the sound produced by the TV and I linked it to a new 4k DVD player the ease of set up was good and not having speakers all over the living room certainly pleased my wife. For the size of the product the sound quality is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love the compact and sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 24 December 2020 by Meowie Me (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my bedroom... Save space with built-in subwoofer... The sound quality is great with minimal features suited for a bedroom...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb sound, and loud. Fantastic piece of kit.

HT-X8500 23 December 2020 by Robby35 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony is top of the tree as far as I'm concerned. Never had poor equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

HT-X8500 18 December 2020 by RickyR (United Kingdom)

For me I found setting up sound bar was easy following instructions along with fast delivery. The sound ranges are amazing using all its capabilities. For anyone thinking of buying a sound bar at a very reasonable price which delivers a quality sound then I would suggest you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great piece of kit.....

HT-X8500 12 December 2020 by Kirkster18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the X8500 to replace older wired system and haven’t been disappointed. The set up to our Sony TV was plug and play out of the box and easy to synch with SkyQ. Sound is good in an average size living room and Bluetooth connection for music good too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value, fantastic sound

HT-X8500 10 December 2020 by DrMac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely deep rich sound fills the room beautifully. Neat and easy to control

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Do not buy: No Dolby Atmos whatsoever

HTX8500 08 December 2020 by Beach Boi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this several weeks ago to use on a 2020 LG CX and it does improve the clarity of voices dramatically but there was absolutely zero special Dolby Atmos effect from the speaker bar so do not recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

The sound is not as good as it looks.

HT-X8500//M SP1 02 December 2020 by mnibm745 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The bass sound is ok but the mid range and the crispiness is not that clear.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great soundbar, but not for everyone

HT-X8500 28 November 2020 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

This is a very capable soundbar with a good, balanced sound presentation. The bass is good but not overwhelming. It has puzzled me why the reviews have been so polarised, either five stars or one. I think I understand why. To get the best from this soundbar, you need to connect it via HDMI to a TV that supports ARC/eARC. Remember that Atmos is only supported over eARC or where a component such as a Blu-ray player is connected directly. If you want bass that will shake the furniture, you need a soundbar with a subwoofer; a soundbar on its own will still produce plenty of bass, but with limits. Please don’t expect this soundbar to produce the same surround effects as a system with several speakers. Having said that, this soundbar produces a decent soundstage with some vertical effects. This soundbar is ideal for those who live in a flat or don’t want rumbling bass to disturb others in the house. It will provide scale and weight to improve your enjoyment of movies, sports events and music. It is a good soundbar, but it won’t be right for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

13

0

0

X8500 Soundbar

HT-X8500 19 November 2020 by Phil C 88 (United Kingdom)

We are very pleased with our purchase overall. However, there were conflicting connection instructions which was frustrating to say the least The printed leaflet supplied in the box said to connect my existing Sony DVD Player X500 to the Soundbar HDMI slot which caused the speaker to crackle. However,Sony Support on 020 7365 2810 advised me to connect it directly to my AG8 OLED TV and it now works fine. I wish the colour of the Sounbar was Black rather than Grey so that it matches my AG8 TV I have it connected to. The lights on top are difficult to understand and remember, it would be so much better to have a small digital display on the front.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

No Dolby Atmos for me!

HT-X8500 17 November 2020 by Beach Boi (USA)

just purchased this bar to pair with an LG CX for surround sound. The Dolby Atmos light is lit up on the bar but there is no feeling at all of surround sound or sound bouncing off the ceiling. Yes, speech is better with this bar than with the tv's built-in speakers but I expected to hear surround speech. Can't figure out if i have a bad bar or just bad marketing or human error.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Soundbar - Great Value for Money

HT-X8500 16 November 2020 by Swervynmervyn (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my Sony KD55XG8505 TV. It fits perfectly between the TV stand legs. The sound from the TV was very good for a flat screen TV, but I decided I would like a little more depth of sound. The soundbar linked very easily with the TV, although an on screen display would have helped as I experimented with the various sound options. The soundbar feels very well made and gives an excellent depth and field of sound. It provides a real cinematic experience when playing a Blu-ray DVD. If you do not want a number of speakers dotted around the room to give surround sound then this provides almost as good an experience in a soundbar that will sit neatly under your TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT SOUNDBAR WITH GREAT FEATURES.

HT-X8500 28 October 2020 by Goldwater (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT DOLBY ATMOS SOUNDBAR FROM SONY. MOVIE WATCHING HAS BECOME FUN AGAIN WITH CINEMA SOUND. IT PAIRS EASILY WITH A SONY TELEVISION SO YOU DON'T NEED THE SOUNDBAR REMOTE UNLESS YOU WANT TO PLAY MUSIC OR CHANGE SETTINGS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTX8500 28 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from Amazon Australia. I received the American model with incorrect mains plug. Had to find adapter. Registration without a US zip code was prevented as well. Had to find a work around. The sound system is really good though, so, happy with the result. Amazon should send the correct model, they had an order from Australia and delivered to correct address.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disappointed!

HT-X8500 20 October 2020 by NeilS9 (United Kingdom)

So, so disappointed with the HT-X8500 – I expected so much better from a Sony product. I’ve never bought a sound bar before so I was swayed by reading some excellent reviews about this one …but after buying it I found it hard to believe the reviews were about the same thing I’d bought. Physically the HT-X8500 looks and feels good, but the overall sound quality is really poor – there is little clarity and no dynamic range to speak of …my Samsung TV speakers sound better, so for me this was a complete waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Watching movie is never the same again!

HT-X8500//M SP1 20 October 2020 by joeylee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the X8500 about a month ago and it is a must have when I watch a movie or listen to music. The effect is good enough for my living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good listening

HT-X8500 06 October 2020 by Tallone16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent from switching it on. The sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WOW

HT-X8500 06 October 2020 by Stan_of_Saxons (United Kingdom)

What a unit... 1st class. It's better than the Sky Sound box I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25 September 2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

My first soundbar. Easy setup

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 September 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup as I have it working with my SONY Bravia 43 inch TV. On and off sequences are accurate and the sound is good. It tries to give good sound projection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound, love the bass undertones.

HT-X8500 13 September 2020 by Ste701 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality soundbar and this is just the ticket. Lovely bass sound, different sound features depending on what you are viewing or listening to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Difficult to setup

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Mal0122 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Difficult to setup but once it was working with my 3 year old 4K UHD curved Samsung TV, after buying a high speed hdmi lead and starting the setup from scratch, it works fine. The sound quality is adequate but disappointed with Dolby Atmos as it is not as I thought it would be. I nearly returned the soundbar but decided to see how it goes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

So far - very happy

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Bravie (United Kingdom)

We bought this as a partner to our Sony Bravia KD43XH8196 which we bought two weeks ago and so far we are very pleased with it, although I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Product.

HT-X8500 31 August 2020 by Cuke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product to use with my smart TV and I and I am quite impressed with the sound and features. No issues with lip sync at all and the soundbar works well with the tv's builtin apps. I would be happier if there was a little more bass and if I could add a separate bass speaker I would but unfortunately I cannot do this. Over-all though the soundbar is good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great quality

HT-X8500 27 August 2020 by andy d to bad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am happy i bought this item and iam very happy with quality of the item

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Problem not resolved

HT-X8500//M SP1 26 August 2020 by TBTSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using the HT-X8500 with a Sony KD55X8000G TV. The soundbar was functioning well in the first week, able to play 5.1 movie from Netflix. Was enjoying the product and like it. But a week later, not able to stream Netflix 5.1. Change the movie format to original, ie. not 5.1, not able to play the movie at all. Reported the problem to Sony, been close to 2 weeks, no respond. A pleasant experience turn to a bad one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good sound effects

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 August 2020 by Koh HP (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Realistic cinema sound effects. It's enjoyable to watch movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0