275

3.9 based on 275 customer reviews

136
62
32
14
31
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by CD427 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

WASTE OF MONEY!! SUBWOOFER CUTS OUT!

HT-Z9F 03 January 2021 by EAchicago (USA)

Three months after I bough the HTZ9F sound bar the subwoofer cuts in and out. According to reviews I have read, I am not the only person who has issues with the subwoofer. I have try everything I have come across online to try to fix this issue but nothing works. It is terrible that this unit was SO EXPENSIVE and it broke on me right away. I expected better reliability from a brand such as Sony. Even more when they are selling a sound bar for $700 that broke right away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

268 Customer Reviews

0

Cant get rear speakers anywhere for this model

HT-ZF9 21 September 2021 by Brand85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar and subwoofer have great sound but I bought this thinking I could add rear speakers to it but I cant find them anywhere to buy in the UK

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good, but not as intense as my hard-wired system

HTZ9F 15 August 2021 by musicalhockey guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup. Good main channel, sub woofer sound. Added the wireless surround speakers. Kind of hit and miss sound quality there. Definitely not the quality of my previous Sony hard wired system (it would shake the glass off my bar), but new floor made the wires go away. Still better than all the other systems I shopped, specifically looking for wireless rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good sound

HT-ZF9 10 August 2021 by Ray Brown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To replace a ht-z9000 with excellent sound but very poor vocals gets drowned out by movies music, this sound bar has a centre speaker which makes up for it, better vocally, only had a month still getting to grips with it there is a voice button to make louder but would have liked a feature the same as a amp the option to increase the volume more but then its only a bar I am happy with it any way so is the wife.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Sound - Lousy directions

HTZ9F 03 August 2021 by CliffTheTechGuy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from Best Buy - and of course without buying a service contract I'm on my own with figuring out connections. By following the directions and using the Sound Bar as a bridge between an HDMI video/audio device - to the HDMI 1 on the sound bar - HDMI out of the sound bar to eARC on the TV...results: Audio only, no video. Of course if I use a separate HDMI port on the TV it works, but the directions purposely call out using the sound bar as a bridge for the best results. I put a call to Best Buy - sorry but we charge to send someone to you, but feel free to return it. Post a message to Sony community page - hopefully I get some answers and not just sympathy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 31 July 2021 by delboy213 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this item at the same time as a 49" XH-80/4 Ultra HD (HDR) Smart TV. The two together, absolute perfection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great furter

HT-ZF9 30 July 2021 by simon1983 (United Kingdom)

Glad I bought this product, serves me well and I am satisfied with its capabilities

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Atmos TV Gaming and Movies, hard to buy satellites

HT-ZF9 27 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Atmos, eARC, 3 front speakers with 1 woofer in a very competitive price. It is made in Malaysia. Satellites hard to come by. eARC (2ways) solves TV app sound out sync problem. Beside eARC port, there are 2 HDMI inputs. Don't follow the attached quick installation manual if your TV has eARC. Just connect TV eARC to this bar eARC. Reasonable sound quality and control functionalities, not shabby at all. Sony does put some efforts on the virtual sound stage and those sound category buttons on the remote. It is pleasant even for music and vocal. Nite button also useful, so your next door apartment neighbour won't be hit by bass so bad at nite hours. I listened to B&O Sound bar woofer(double the B&O bar price) , and Bose 700 with woofer (optional). Bose 700 with woofer (optional) maybe sounded better stronger and harder but without Atmos and priced at a different level since woofer sell separately.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-ZF9 25 July 2021 by Smify (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar, easy to setup and use and certainly sounds better and louder than my previous home cinema system it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Theater like

HTZ9F 21 July 2021 by Brookie46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great movie experience. Superb for Amazon unlimited music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought in conjunction with a KD-49X8096

HT-ZF9 21 July 2021 by delboy 213 (United Kingdom)

This item connected to the above television - excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Expensive Soundbar, with sound dropping issues

HT-ZF9 16 July 2021 by Ecxx (United Kingdom)

This Soundbar is expensive, I was very disappointed with the hassle in setting it up. The HDMI ports are in an awkward place. The main issue I've had is with the sound dropping while watching content from various sources. I spent far too much time trawling the internet looking for solutions to this problem. I'm astonished a soundbar at this price has this problem. I always buy Sony, but I will be looking at alternatives in the future! When I did get it problem sorted, I have to say the sound is impressive, but the shine was taken off due to the hassle getting it set up. If you are looking for a soundbar, I would look else where, make sure before you buy to check AV forums for potential problems, not that you should have too when you are spending £600!.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Disappointed.

HT-ZF9 07 July 2021 by 55Charlie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I considered this purchase for sometime before I finally went ahead with the purchase. I found the quick setup easy to follow. Unfortunately you really need to go into the advanced settings to improve the sound experience and I found this confusing. I found the vertical sound a disappointment, or perhaps I haven't got the settings right. So I'm left wondering if the problem is me or the system. It left me thinking I should buy the rear speakers, but at £299 and difficult to source that's not really an option. The sound I have is great, but not sure I could describe it as home theater.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice design

HTZ9F 01 July 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this sound bar to go with my new 77” Sony A9G flat screen. Nice design and pretty good sound quality, offers plenty of features and most up-to-date audio signals

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-ZF9 21 June 2021 by Ikram Rehman (United Kingdom)

Good Sound and Excellent Build Quality. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Remote Problems

HTZ9F 21 June 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have no complaints about the sound of the he system. I have a brand new 85 inch Sony TV, I have constant problems with the tv remote controlling the sound bar. You would assume that both products being Sony they would function easily together. I don’t understand it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

the sound is good

HT-Z9F//M SP1 19 June 2021 by wch83 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

the sound is good. and over all all is good. pricing seem good too

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Product has defects and reliability issues

HT-Z9F//M SP1 15 June 2021 by EddieGBS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sub woofer intermittent problems. Have been monitoring to detect possible causes and also time to ascertain the reliability issues is correct. Will be liaising with Sony after sales support staff soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Terrible Product! the worst Soundbar!

HTZ9F 09 June 2021 by AngryBeaver83 (USA)

I bought this back in 2019. When I first had it hooked up to a 2017 model Sony X720E TV, I never had a problem with it. But ever since I bought a brand new 2020 model Sony X950H and hooked it up to that , it frequently completely stops working and when I finally do I get to starting again working it's incredibly terrible. Now after four months of owning the Sony X950H TV, the Soundbar has completely stopped and i can't get it getting working. I only bought this because I thought it would work better with a Sony TV seeing as there both Sony. But I should of known better. Because the only quality product Sony makes is their TVs. The rest is garbage!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

good quality

HT-ZF9 06 June 2021 by PJC14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchase this unit around a month ago and I am sure I will be pleased with it once I get it set up properly

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound will not stay on

HTZ9F 05 June 2021 by Jherrera (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this not even 6 months ago and it has been giving problems, sound goes in and out and now will not e en turn on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Sound combined with TV

HT-ZF9 04 June 2021 by Hoodyman17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this system the sound is amazing for a £500 unit, whover it does have a couple of minor bugs.... the subwoofer can be intermitent and cuts out due to conditions i.e being 2 inches to far from soundbar or interference from surrounding brickwork etc.... my other minor niggles are sometimes when switching from HDMI 1 to 2 it sometimes goes to the home screen and also the base can at times be a tiny bit OTT and havent found a way to adjust this...... but for these minor little niggles it would have been 5stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The extra punch for I needed for movies

HT-ZF9 31 May 2021 by Old boy down south (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this simple litte package , ideal for my needs so I can watch movies with more punch, saddled this with the KE55 A8 and seems a very effective package for my needs easy to set up and use with enough features and connections , would not use for my music listening as I have a system more dedicated to this already but I love this with the awesome Sony A8 .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound and great design

HT-ZF9 25 May 2021 by Kaveeraj (United Kingdom)

This is the best soundbar i can recommend with the price..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great ease of use and good sound

HT-ZF9 14 May 2021 by kevin21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item to replace a large home cinema system which was taking up a large amount of space. This soundbar bar and bass speaker are compact and produce a good sound. The soundbar integrates seamlessly with my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by Flip flop phil (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting for the end of lock down to purchase this sound bar and rear speakers. The wait was worth it, super sound,easy to set up. Super product again from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All the sound you'll ever need.

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by wheelo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this Soundbar and Wireless Sub for two weeks and I'm thrilled with my purchase. Easy to follow instructions and all the sound you'll ever need. A high quality sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy owner

HT-ZF9 01 May 2021 by Toom0123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this fantastic product to anyone looking for sound for their TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reasonable soundbar, with poor surround features

HT-ZF9 23 April 2021 by Rob7777777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use with TV, PS4 and Bluetooth vinyl player. 1. TV & PS4 - sound is ok, until you add surround sound speakers. These are great, and they need to be standard, but very expensive for what they do. 2. Bluetooth music - sound from bar and sub is good, once you play around with the settings, and I like that it hooks up to google assistant. BUT, the extra surround sound speakers don't play music. This is really annoying and why I ultimately returned them. Really poor functionality from an expensive system, and had I known this was the case I would've gone down a different route. The TV sound needs the surround speakers to really shine, but they're not worth the price if they don't play music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A nightmare on every level.

HT-Z9F 08 April 2021 by Martin D (USA)

Let me start the review by saying that I have very low expectations for a soundbar. I don't expect to be impressive and playing music, or need a home theater experience to wow me. I was just looking for good compatibility with my new Sony television and improved dialogue sound which is allegedly one of the selling points of this sound bar. Frankly, if this $900 sound bar was compatible with the new Sony TV, boosted dialogue somewhat, and sounded as good as a $100 soundbar, I would have been fine. Instead, I got a soundbar that sounds weaker and thinner than a $20 Bluetooth speaker, or a ten year old $250 television. I know this because I compared both side by side. Also music streamed from any source sounds dramatically worse than the $20 Bluetooth speaker. As mentioned in other reviews, the subwoofer (which is 5 ft from the soundbar) constantly becomes disconnected. The soundbar also frequently becomes disconnected, no matter which method you use to hook it up. Resets don't help either. How can It be so completely incompatible with my new Sony TV? Unfortunately, I had gotten Covid shortly after buying it, so I didn't get to hook it up and check it out before the return period ran out at Best Buy. Now it now sits unplugged on my mantle, just so that we can watch TV with sound. It is literally a $900 piece of junk that will end up in a landfill, which is an environmental nightmare. I wish I could at least recycle it. I don't now what has happened to Sony. They used to make quality products that worked. Instead

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Good sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 07 April 2021 by JLPHOTO (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Value for money and love the design, easy to clean.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Dolsy Soundbar

HT-ZF9 06 April 2021 by SwLondon65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this soundbar for around a week now and am so far am extremely hasty with it. The build quality is great, as you'd expect from Sony, set up it fairly straight forward, I'd advise that you use good quality Interconnects, it comes with 1 x Optical cable but I'd recommend using quality HDMI cables where possible. There are 3 x HDMI ports, as follows: - 1 x HDMI ARC / EARC - Connect this to HDMI port on TV ( marked Arc / Earc) in / Out 2 x HDMI ports, connect 1 to Sky / Virgin box etc. and 1 to Blu Ray player / Games console 1 x Optical port 1 x 3.5mm Aux Port 1 x Wired ethernet port Once all connections have been made, following the instructions, set up is fairely easy. Connect to WIFI network etc. (Wireless Sub connects automatically.when switched for the first time). Sound quality is great, although I think it will take a while to tweak the settings and find which suit your own taste. The Sound from the sound bar is easy on the ear for film and music and had more than enough power to fill a large room, I do think the optional wireless speakers will be well worth adding attached later date though. All in all I am very happy with this soundbar. Once connected set up i

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just plug and play, easy to install.

HT-Z9F//M SP1 04 April 2021 by Popong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the purchase, great buy, great entertaiment, very satisfied with the music quality produce.. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28 March 2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Great sound, awkward user interface

HT-ZF9 14 March 2021 by Jaylo33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound from this, it's got great bass and really clear dialogue. My only negative is the user setting screen that comes up on my Sony TV, it is really small and the navigation keys really don't work very well, with the screen going blank intermittently. I need to speak with Sony to understand if this is a fault or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

GREAT QUALITY

HT-ZF9 12 March 2021 by Spursy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my new Sony TV and to replace an existing Sony home theatre to save on space. Works very well and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sound bar

HT-ZF9 10 March 2021 by Ray 56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar fill in so many sounds that you miss when watching normal TV. Quality product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Better than most

HT-ZF9 08 March 2021 by Allan65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Heard this on a demo instore and just had to buy it. Amazing clarity and sound quality. Also well made. Remote could be a bit more upmarket if I’m going to be picky. Overall really happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good depth of sound

HT-ZF9 05 March 2021 by Davy20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with Sony Bravia TV. Size length wise is a good fit for the TV. Setting up was not straight forward but contact with Sony solved the problem. (Info bar kept popping up randomly. A factory reset on the TV was needed. There is plenty of power. I don't have the rear speakers so can't comment on their effectiveness.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

very very poor performance

HTZ9F 27 February 2021 by hamidjj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound bar always disconnect from the TV and force me to restart the TV

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 25 February 2021 by TonyT23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A massive improvement in sound quality over my previous system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Awesome when it works...

HTZ9F 19 February 2021 by TonydJalisco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this to go along with my Sony TV since I'm OCD and felt it would be wrong to mix with another brand. This unit gives great immersive sound that fills in our open concept living room so good I wanted to get another one for our bedroom. I was so happy until it started acting up... so this unit will run like a charm and then just cut out for lapses of 1-4 minutes while it reconnects to both the wireless subwoofer and the television. So imagine watching a movie or a series and then loosing sound as if someone hit the mute button. The best thing I have found to work around this is disconnecting the home theater system threw the tv settings and then switching back from tv to home theater, but having to do this 2-4 times threw a 2 hr movie is unacceptable for a unit of this price point. No fixes for this have been found on Reddit or other forums as of yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Didn’t Last A Month

HT-Z9F 17 February 2021 by Cowtown (USA)

This sound bar lasted three weeks and Sony will not replace with a new sound bar. I am completely underwhelmed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Excellent Sound Quality - Tricky to Use

HTZ9F 15 February 2021 by Terrysz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchase this unit approximately two months ago, and are more than happy with the sound quality and features it provides. We have it connected to a Sony XBR55X950G smart television, and a Tivo Bolt. Installation / connection instructions were vague and confusing for this set up and not what we were expecting for a Sony-to-Sony connection. We eventually stumbled upon a set-up that works, kind of. Switching inputs to the Tivo requires multiple menu selections as well as setting changes EVERY TIME! There is a momentary delay between each menu selection, while (I suppose) the devices recognize each other, so if you press buttons too fast the changes don't work. Nothing's more fun than looking like a tech moron in front of family and friends. Once you make the connection, everything is great. Switching back to TV mode requires but one press of a button, and is instantaneous. I expect that the elaborate ritual involved in switching to Tivo will eventually become second nature. Until then, this unit must be rated as extremely frustrating to use, while producing excellent audio. We are very happy with the quality of the video and audio from all of Sony devices, but they have all suffered from vague,confusing and quirky set-up and use issues. They remind me of the bad old days with computer peripherals, before Plug-n-Play.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

TRULY NEXT LEVEL TECHNOLOGY!

HT-Z9F 06 February 2021 by Buckbuck 1 (USA)

I was persuaded by a Best Buy sales rep to take this soundbar with the purchase of my XBR65X950H television. He said to try it out, you have 15 days and if you don't like it return it. I own a Bose cinemate system that was installed with the previous TV that I was very happy with and I would use that on the next TV that I purchase. I hung my new 950H TV on the wall and installed my Cinemate system and was Very satisfied with an awesome picture and great sound, No need to really try out HTZ9F. The next day I decided to take it for a test drive, I installed the Soundbar and subwoofer got everything working and I have to say I was not impressed, I tried all the speaker modes, and to me, it was your average soundbar. It was when I pushed the button on the remote that read Vertical S, this is what separates it from being just your average soundbar, "Game Changing Technology". How you are able to get surround sound out of the front-firing speakers is very impressive! I will continue to move forward with the HTZ9F and also add the Z9R wireless speakers for that room-filling experience. Thank You Sony for your continued efforts to be the "One & Only!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great all round performance

HT-ZF9 06 February 2021 by Johnboy65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from a sony and q acoustic separates which are going in a dedicated room and remodelling the living room I must say I am really impressed with the sound quality and scale this bar produces.Also bought the wireless rears to go with it.Had no issues with the wireless connection of speakers.Over all really happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Love the sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 01 February 2021 by Nugizo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

For something small it's really impactful. Bluetooth connectivity is great. Would recommend this for movies and music. The only thing i'd prefer is if I can tweak the eq more and voice clarity can be better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage - aweful sound

HTZ9F 30 January 2021 by jd1969 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I hooked this up, which was very easy, I thought I needed to adjust the EQ. Tried all the remote 'settings' (cinema, voice, etc.) but there is ZERO midrange response from this system and at full volume, the sub is woefully inadequate for a 10x10' basement. Better for a coat closet. My 20-year-old Yamaha/Polk Audio 3.1 runs circles around the Z9F, save for the sound reflecting tech. Even our first gen Bose Soundock sounds better. Only registered the product so I could write this out of sheer frustration. Back to Amazon... Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound Cuts out for 1 second a few times per Hour

HTZ9F 28 January 2021 by Ryan29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have connected with an optic cable and eArc hdmi to a 950G 65" Sony TV, wired internet connection at 300 mbps, and still cuts out sometimes. The sounds great, but it cutting out randomly is very frustrating and would not recommend unless this is fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love the sound when watching sports or movies.

HTZ9F 18 January 2021 by Tommy M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received the sound system as a gift and love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So much better than expected!

HT-Z9F 18 January 2021 by Aufderheide (USA)

The system set up was so easy. The system settings give a wide variety of configurations for cinema, music, gaming, etc. Once I had it all set up, I tested with Demos for Atmos on YouTube! WOW! The system packs a punch! Now all we need is more content supporting Atmos!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, sound cutting out issues galore....

HT-Z9F 13 January 2021 by TyrionL (USA)

No much to add to other reviewers mentioning this unacceptable issue, the sound bar sound will cut out randomly, sometimes very frequently others every 5-20 minutes, it seems to me that it gets worse with Dolby Atmos content? Not sure, but whatever the cause it's unacceptable that Sony pretends to charge a high price for a flawed product. By the way I bought it, like many others, thinking that it would work better with my Sony TV (9000H) and what a fool I feel now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

great value for the oney

HTZ9F 11 January 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few weeks ago and already enjoying the theatre like sound....watching movies with surround sound amplified/multipied many times than simply listening the sound of TV...worth every penny and does not have to spend thousands to get that experience...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does not sync properly with my Bravia TV

HT-Z9F 09 January 2021 by Pete01460 (USA)

I have been a loyal Sony customer for years. Although this sounbar is listed as compatible with by Bravia XBR65850F, it will not sync properly. Sony telephone support had me reconnect and said they would call back; the connection was not maintained and the tech never called back. Email support was worthless, and the telephone support is not available on the weekends - which, for someone working Monday - Friday is not a viable option. If this was my first experience with a Sony product it would also be my last.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Nil

HT-Z9F//M SP1 07 January 2021 by Anthony888 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dialogue is too soft when watching movie. How to improve this ? Bluetooth sound also not good as what I expected.

Design

Average

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-Z9F//M SP1 05 January 2021 by Bd7469 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great upgrade from the built in TV speakers. A whole new experience and getting the surround speakers will complete the whole experience. Can’t compare with a full fledge Dolby Atmos system but the Vertical S does the job somehow. Love the simplistic & manageable design and form factor - does not occupy too much space on my console. Love it and no regrets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WASTE OF MONEY!! SUBWOOFER CUTS OUT!

HT-Z9F 03 January 2021 by EAchicago (USA)

Three months after I bough the HTZ9F sound bar the subwoofer cuts in and out. According to reviews I have read, I am not the only person who has issues with the subwoofer. I have try everything I have come across online to try to fix this issue but nothing works. It is terrible that this unit was SO EXPENSIVE and it broke on me right away. I expected better reliability from a brand such as Sony. Even more when they are selling a sound bar for $700 that broke right away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

0

Leaps and bounds better than the competition

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Coatsy79 (United Kingdom)

Tried this in a local store and it was noticeably better than anything else at the same price, sound is rich and balanced with good punchy bass and the virtual surround is very convincing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Jagged speech

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Stevew7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this (Sony's top end) sound bar to go with Sony's 55XH9505 Hi end TV. It is connected via the ARC HDMI sockets on both devices and TV speaker are set to OFF (Audio system speakers enabled) The sound bar can certainly pump out a lot of volume with depth, but speech from regular TV channels, in particular like the News or Game shows, is very rough, jagged and prickly. Using the Voice option makes it worse. In TV costume dramas the speech is marginally better, but this impediment detracts heavily from getting engrossed in a program. If there were a EQ available, perhaps some of the speech high frequencies could be reduced, but that may have a detrimental effect on other sounds All of the many sound modes, effects and compatibilities, on this device, fade into irrelevance when trying to just improve the speech. This isn't a cheap sound bar, and it's very disappointing

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Problem with sound. The sound was paused 1-2 secon

HTZ9F 02 January 2021 by Narin94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound was cut off 1 second every 5 minutes. Try to fix but it does not work

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Too much money, Too many problems.

HT-Z9F 28 December 2020 by vbm85 (USA)

I purchased this soundbar and rear speakers and when it works it is amazing! The Atmos leaves something to be desired but the sound is in general is just fantastic. Powerful sub, voices are clear and, setup was extremely simple. However, for whatever reason when I cast media to my A9G everything will be fine and then the sound just disappears. Reboots of the TV and soundbar don't fix the issue. Fiddling with the eARC, PCM, everything just don't fix the problem. I thought perhaps it was the app (Disney+) because when I played a different movie sound was heard. When I switched apps and even going to the cable box there was sound output. We watched WW84 and every 20 mins or so the sound would cut out for about 2-3 seconds. This soundbar costs too much dang money to be having these problems. I will be returning this unit very soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Reboots itself every 30-60 minutes

HT-Z9F 28 December 2020 by Dan_photog (USA)

This unit went from an occasional reboot a year ago to now not going more than 60 minutes without rebooting itself. Followed Sony recommended procedures plus some internet ones and getting worse. Sony told me to contact their authorized repair facility for a repair for what looks like an engineering problem that many are seeing. Very disappointed in Sony!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Favorite Brand

HTZ9F 27 December 2020 by Edaj12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this brand when it comes to electronics (tv, camera, amplifier... ) love the sound quality. hope i get the surround speakers today. can't wait for the tv tomorrow....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 17 December 2020 by SG son (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the same as a Sony TV and the total package is excellent quality and we are very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good product

HT-Z9F//M SP1 13 December 2020 by BobbySG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product suits my need in listening to good music and having good sound while watching a movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound

HTZ9F 09 December 2020 by pastort (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on Cyber Monday, I had a demo a couple of weeks earlier and I am very pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound, poor connection

HT-Z9F 29 November 2020 by kidfastball (USA)

I've had this system for about two months. The sound quality is great. There is an issue where the subwoofer cuts in and out. It is not consistent and I can't pin down a reason. Maybe interference, but I've moved the subwoofer around and it hasn't helped.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Horrible Long-Term Buy - Buyer Beware!

HT-Z9F 24 November 2020 by ThePrEPDoctor (USA)

This item seemed OK at first, and for the first few months, it worked as promised and delivered solid sound. I purchased this item with a SONY Bravia TV thinking that they would work well with each other. Then, after a few months, the sound started going out for a few seconds. No matter what I tried (unplugging, updating software, factory resetting both TV and soundbar, replacing the cables), nothing worked. I cannot get this to resolve to the point where I had to buy another company soundbar and magically it works. Buyer beware!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

12

1