10

4.4 based on 10 customer reviews

4
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

10 Customer Reviews

0

A very good lens,at an affordable price.

SAL55300 13 February 2017  (United Kingdom)

I am so far impressed with this lens. Image quality, flare control, contrast are all very good on this lens. It feels well made and balances well on the camera. It is early days yet, with this lens. However, initial impressions are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

SAL55300 05 April 2016 by Luckydi (United Kingdom)

Used it on a sunny afternoon at a nature reserve taking close ups of birds

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great deal.

SAL55300 10 August 2015 by Rosalitro (USA)

Sincerely I prefer use it on manual, is not that difficult and focus what I really want it. Try to buy a 18-250 and the price escalate too much.

0

0

0

DT 55-300mm F4.5-5.6 SAM Zoom Lens

SAL55300 17 April 2015 by PittsfieldDoug (USA)

I would not recommend this to a 'beginner' .. however a Photog on a budget would find it useful and satisfying. ..Cons: 1. Front lens turns while focusing, not useful for filters. 2. Hunts a LOT particularly in low light. 3. No 'instant tuning' .. Easy 'focus peaking' would help a lot. 4. 'Barrel Lock' only works in fully retracted position. 5. No 'Macro capability' ..Pros: 1. Picture Quality is excellent (for price point) 2. Easy to use in 'Manual Focus' Mode .. has on lens MF/AF switch sufficient damping for quick positive focus. Generally Speaking I've been able to improve most shots by manual tuning. 3. Has 'Lock' to prevent lens creep while carrying. 4. Metal Mount, solid and secure. 5. Very LOW CA in high contrast situations really amazing at this price point. 6. Good PQ across the range. 7. 55-300mm range .. Decent close focus (4-5') throughout the focal length range. 8. Nice looking, great feel and handling is very good. 9. Superb Lens Hood. 10. Very hard to beat at this Price point .. A shooter who knows his or her camera will benefit more than a total newbie.

5

1

0

excellent lens very quiet

SAL55300 13 April 2015 by MadCheekyFella (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens to replace a faulty zoom lens item. the lens has the quality feel of a sony product. its easy to use, has a great zoom range and produces some outstanding photo's. the lens is quick to focus and quiet whilst it does so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SAL55300 20 January 2015 by Cecil (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a month and have been out taking photo's more than I have before. Brilliant lens for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Big fan

SAL55300 18 October 2013 by roymondus (USA)

Excellent image quality, which is the most important to me - great sharpness. I haven't experienced any frustration with the autofocus, though I can see it isn't the quickest. Overall, I'm very pleased with this lens and for the price, would heartily recommend it for the fantastic telephoto range, compact size, and IQ.

25

2

0

Good Lens But Not GREAT

SAL55300 08 May 2013 by Mark1328 (USA)

First I am hardly an expert right now but more a "prosumer" this lens for the price is a great deal. The pictures are sharp and clear and the 55-300mm gives great options with 1 lens. My only complaint is the "hunting" when using AF in anything past 200mm. So if I know shooting far away I immediately switch to MF since most likely lens will "hunt" for something to focus on and second you get what you want it hunts to something again. Even for the picture for this review I was in full auto and tried AF but had trouble staying on the bird house with nothing around it so ended up in manual. But for the price I am not going to complain about this lens.

42

0

0

SAL 55-300

SAL55300 15 January 2013  (USA)

Super lens.

9

13

0

Well worth it.

SAL55300 12 October 2012 by abedi (USA)

Superb image quality. Very fast outdoors. Rich color tones.

27

9