34

4.4 based on 34 customer reviews

18
13
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11 October 2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom)

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A light weight travel lens

SEL2870 28 November 2018 by PeterFl (USA)

I bought this lens with my Sony A7rii. Since then I have bought the 16-35 F4, the 24-105 F4 and the 70-300F4. All of these lens take much better photos than the 28-70, however, they are all also quite a bit heavier. When I want to travel light, I find that this is a very nice match which gives acceptable images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

34 Customer Reviews

0

Cheap starter lens

SEL2870 03 April 2019 by Dmenace (United Kingdom)

Came with the camera and ideal to start with but a faster lens or prime would have been the better option but it was dictated to by costs..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Features

SEL2870 29 March 2019 by Fotosmani (United Kingdom)

Bought it few weeks ago ... very good back up lens. Good image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very solid and smooth.

SEL2870 28 March 2019 by nostairway (United Kingdom)

this is the standard lens, i wasn't expecting much. I was wrong

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

awesome value for money excellent quality build

SEL2870 22 March 2019 by jj6415 (United Kingdom)

Best value lense iv had for the money it takes fantastic pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and light

SEL2870 06 February 2019 by Reddave999 (United Kingdom)

A typical kit lensslightly bone average for a kitlens

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality of a lens

SEL2870 03 January 2019 by Andy5v (USA)

I bought the lens last month and now is my favorite go to lens in my camera bag . It really has great bokeh and compact size that matches the Sony A7 series !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A light weight travel lens

SEL2870 28 November 2018 by PeterFl (USA)

I bought this lens with my Sony A7rii. Since then I have bought the 16-35 F4, the 24-105 F4 and the 70-300F4. All of these lens take much better photos than the 28-70, however, they are all also quite a bit heavier. When I want to travel light, I find that this is a very nice match which gives acceptable images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This should not be the kit lens

SEL2870 21 August 2018 by FOALEAGLE (United Kingdom)

I finally switched from Canon to Sony and this is the Kit-lens that came with my Sony A7iii. Previously I used a Canon 6D with a 24-70 L IS USM and a 70-200 L IS USM lens. It't early days, but in tems of weight/performance I am not fully convinced about this lens. Sony would do better adding a light prime lens (35mm perhaps) or offering an option for a kit with a more sophisticated lens, as this one does not do the camera full justice.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

NICE LENS

SEL2870 08 July 2018  (USA)

This is a good all around lens Its light weight and has a nice zoom for shooting some jobs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

not bad for a kit lens

SEL2870 01 July 2018 by THANATOXX (USA)

this ens is awesome you can even take some good astrophotography with for a kit lens is perfect totally recommended

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lightweight lens

SEL2870 19 May 2018 by Trailhiker (USA)

I use this lens for hiking, as it is very lightweight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all rounder

SEL2870 14 April 2018 by alanealing (United Kingdom)

Purchased second hand as a general walk around lens, I am surprisingly pleased with the general sharpness and field of vision of this budget kit lens. Light enough to keep in your bag if you are carrying other lenses that do not cover its range.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My Review for FE 28-70 mm F3.5-5.6 OSS

SEL2870 04 March 2018 by Tessace (USA)

The output of this mirrorless camera is wonderful. It is convenient and easier to carry. Only concern is running out of battery after 4 hours. Must purchase additional batteries if you intend on using longer than 4 hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

14

0

Great and Versatile Lens

SEL2870 19 February 2018 by rmg900 (USA)

As kit lenses go, this one is pretty decent. Great lens to have on a budget.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great kit lens!

SEL2870 12 November 2017 by Nikonman2u (United Kingdom)

I was not sure about the photographic quality of this lens when I bought it, however having used it it is a great all round lens which I recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Beginner Lens

SEL2870 03 October 2017 by Tommytreehunnit (USA)

This lens comes as a kit lens when you purchase the Alpha A7. For a starter lens the image quality it is pretty good. It makes for a good general purpose lens and has a decent zoom. The autofocus is very quick and very quiet. For the price, the overall quality of the lens is excellent. Just what you expect to see from Sony. Although the value is very good, I would not have bought this lens if it was not included with my camera. My main issue with this lens is the aperture. With only a maximum of F3.5, I felt limited almost immediately. For my shooting preference, I would like to see this lense with maybe an F2.8 or F2. Don’t be discouraged by this, though. It is still a very well rounded lens. Good to learn on. I would recommend it to anyone that has just gotten into photography with a Sony E-Mount body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent value and performance.

SEL2870 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA)

Surprisingly like the 24-70mm it is “Dust and moisture-resistant design”. Nice touch for a value lens. The lens barely extends at all during its full zoom sweep. Not internal zoom technically, but as close as you could get. Small and light. Silent focus. Fast focusing, especially in good light as is expected. OSS, or Image Stabilization. In their value offering. This combined with the last few bullets lets you know that high content value Sony lenses were possible. Versatile. With its humble aperture specs there is no mind blowing bokeh, nor sliver thin depth of field to be found here, but that is it. It can muster acceptable isolation under the right conditions but is excels at nearly anything else that falls within its focal range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

Love my camera

SEL2870 20 March 2017 by clinton808 (USA)

Longtime Nikon shooter, but not anymore. Just love the optics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Better match for A7II than A7r

SEL2870 01 January 2017 by silkystrings (United Kingdom)

Works very well on my A7II. Very sharp centre performance. Great general everyday lens. Works even better on an APS-C camera, brilliant on my old NEX5N but of course you loose the wide angle 28mm because of the crop factor. Worth considering if you can find a good price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

Nice Lens

SEL2870 24 August 2016 by Flycatcher50 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 12 days ago, And I a very pleased with it, It's well made, quite sharp, light and east to carry around, I can recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Brilliant optical quality, sturdy build quality

SEL2870 07 July 2016 by Marcusrg66 (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade from apsc and also to have a lighter walk around giving superb image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

The Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 A Most Excellent Lens

SEL2870 08 February 2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom)

Probably the best cheap Kit zoom in the standard short zoom lens kit class, very good value for money, the best thing about this lens is optically very sharp, almost silent, the zoom control feels very positive with a classy feel resistance grip, but above all it takes very good pictures and stable videos, It is very light if you don’t want to carry around too much weight. I would recommend this lens over all the other full frame camera standard kit lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11 October 2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom)

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

A very good performer

SEL2870 25 July 2015 by mrNewt (USA)

Personally I enjoy using this kit lens - out there, in real life, away from charts and all that, the IQ is actually very good for a kit lens and performs very well on the a7m2 and a6000.

11

0

0

Great value for money

SEL2870 11 July 2015 by SteveInParis (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go with my new Alpha 7 Mk II. It is a step up from usual kit lenses, being solidly built with a good finish, yet remaining compact and relatively light. It is silent & quick in operation, and produces bright, sharp photos. There is bit of vignetting at the 28mm end of the zoom, but nothing really noticeable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Surprising good for a kit lens

SEL2870 07 July 2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom)

Image quality is very good for a kit lens although it is a little slow thereby limiting low light usage without pushing ISO up.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Suprising Performance.

SEL2870 04 June 2015 by TCGC (USA)

Man, kit lenses have come a far way. I've been pleasantly surprised by the sharpness and overall contrast this lens provides. No issues shooting it wide open, however limited the aperature is in low light. If you can't take compelling pics with this lens, then...well....it's not the lens. Nice and light too. Every 7 series owner should have this in their bag. Just no reason not too. Very happy with mine and I have quite a bit of Zeiss to compare it to. It's every bit as good within it's range. First time I can say I don't mind using the "kit" lens on a day out.

19

3

0

fe28-70mm lens

SEL2870 10 April 2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom)

Very nice lens and a good match with the Sony camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Walkabout lens

SEL2870 19 February 2015 by Xweini (United Kingdom)

Good quality, well balanced with A7. This is the one I keep attached to the camera as a go anywhere lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony FE 28-70mm

SEL2870 19 January 2015 by Philegl (United Kingdom)

Fantastic lens, great weight and feel. Good build quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great lens!

SEL2870 06 November 2014 by SandyW (United Kingdom)

I got this lens with a new Sony A7. It's great and I have acquired some super images, both landscapes and portraits. Can't see why some people knock it as a "mere kit lens".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Great Lens

SEL2870 23 October 2014 by 1blacksheep2 (USA)

This is a perfect lens for anyone who can make do with a limited number of lenses. It has a very useful zoom range and great clarity. It's a little bulky, but no worse than most mid range zooms. If it weren't for the fact that I have other lenses that span above and below the zoom range of this one it would be my go-to lens.

12

6

0

I needed an autofocus lens.

SEL2870 27 September 2014 by oldwithgrandkid (USA)

I knew I wanted an Alpha7 camera and I had no Sony lenses. This lens was within reach when bought along with the Camera. I have no bad things to say about this lens. I like the close focusing ability and the pictures I have taken with it are satisfactory as far as I am concerned.

17

4

0

Nice, Reasonably-Priced Full-Frame Lens

SEL2870 27 September 2014 by AZSkyman (USA)

Perfectly balances my a7r, very sharp and good contrast, and nice on-lens controls. A very good value for a first full-frame lens.

18

10