E 30MM F3.5 MACRO

Product Reviews

30

4.5 based on 30 customer reviews

17
10
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03 May 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08 April 2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

30 Customer Reviews

0

Light, portable and durable lens

SEL30M35//C SYX 14 April 2019 by GK008 (Singapore)

This lens is well built, amazingly light so that makes carrying it around a breeze. Is able to get near to objects for that macro shot. Please consider adding this as a must have lens if you are into macro photogpraphy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL30M35 24 March 2019 by Mick 85 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 3weeks ago it’s not been off my A6300 fantastic street lens and macro is great but why not black

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Product for Catalog Photo

SEL30M35//C SYX 12 December 2018 by AlvinLim (Singapore)

I bought this len using it on my a5000 and a6000, the result is similar as mainly for product shoot for the website. The lens produces the expected result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like this lens

SEL30M35 25 October 2018 by Jeff53 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of years ago. The focal length is perhaps shorter than I'd like for macro work - but the autofocus gives me something that my older macro lenses lack. It's also a pretty good standard prime lens on the A6000 or A6500. 49mm filters can attached to the lens itself but then the lens hood cannot be used, however the same 49mm filters can instead be screwed onto the end of the lens hood.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the details

SEL30M35//C SYX 03 October 2018 by Luc Lam (Singapore)

Enjoyed using my a6300 and decided to take it further with macro photography. This product is fairly straightforward and easy to use. Initially, I wished they had another colour other than silver. On hindsight, this helps to differentiate from my E50mm F1.8 portrait lens (which I got in black). Great with still objects (obviously), but I tried it on moving ants with AF-C and captured a few great shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A unique and versatile lens for Sony APS-C camera

SEL30M35//C SYX 13 August 2018 by ShrekSG (Singapore)

I bought this one about a month ago and has a pleasant experience so far. The minimum working distance is merely 95mm, making it possible to capture very small items. Sometimes I use it as a low-magnified microscope. As the forcal distance is 30mm, quite near the 35mm f1.8 lens, it also can be used as a general purpose lens. The centre sharpness is great, and the distortion is minimal. The size is also compact enough to carry around. Anyway, it is a nice and unique lens to keep for my A6000 camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early Days

SEL30M35 01 August 2018 by LJP52 (United Kingdom)

This is still a new accessory for my camera and I have not put it to full use yet, but will be later this weekend. I did a quick trial and was amazed by the initial quality of the close up photos that I took.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

On the Sony a6300, a wonderful lens

SEL30M35 10 July 2018 by Outdoorman (USA)

Bought this lens several months ago to use on my a6300. Great results--sharp subjects, wonderful bokeh. Not just a macro lens, but also a nice walk-about one too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens fo jewelry photography

SEL30M35 30 June 2018 by 1bwana1 (USA)

Great size, easy to use. This lens produces very sharp images, and the focal length gives a decent depth of field for my primary use of gemstone, and jewelry photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Standard macro

SEL30M35 03 January 2018 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

Generally good, however using the lens hood with a filter is virtually impossible due to the fit of the hood - if this was not a problem, I'd have given the lens 4 stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Love this macro

SEL30M35 17 September 2017  (USA)

Haven't had a true macro before, and some are saying this is to short to be considered a true macro but it focuses so close that even at this short 30 mm (35mm equivalent to 45mm with APS-C sensor in my a6000) I can see pollen grains, so whats the issue! Fabulous resolution! Haven't worried about edge to edge but getting great stuff with florals and insects

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great macro lens

SEL30M35 05 September 2017  (USA)

I've been using this lens for ca. 2 years already, mostly underwater. The pictures are extremely sharp and I actually adore it. I really like the focal distance - 30 mm, thus I'm not also able to make nice pictures of small critters, but also film some average size animals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great macro lens that doubles as a standard

SEL30M35 19 July 2017 by SteveB1959 (United Kingdom)

I've had this over a year and it's brilliant for all types of close up or landscape with my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

This is a good lens

SEL30M35 19 July 2017 by Nyoongen7 (USA)

This is original file Im just try to use this lens to hunting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens for the price

SEL30M35 21 June 2017 by luke72 (USA)

I am just an amateur when it comes to photography, but I have really enjoyed using this lens for closeups of flowers, insects, etc. I love just how close I can get and still get a great looking picture. On the flip side, I've even used this lens for portraits with great results. The photos I've included are some of my favorites as a beginner. Only the first two photos have had some minor enhancing done in editing. The others are JPEGs straight from the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great value but not a perfect macro

SEL30M35 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Affordable Sharp center Good as an allrounder Cons: Too wide for a macro (limits use to non moving subjects) Soft corners Ugly appearance

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

testing phase

SEL30M35//C SYX 19 September 2016 by mr chia (Singapore)

not that easy to focus, blur pic than current non macro lens

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good value macro

SEL30M35 18 July 2016 by deegee2006 (United Kingdom)

First tests suggest it does a good job at a realistic price. Works well with the A6000

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Nice little macro lens

SEL30M35 20 September 2015 by Norbee (United Kingdom)

It's an affordable yet quality built macro lens, perfect for close up pics and videos. Using it with Sony A7S I'm happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Value for money

SEL30M35 14 July 2015 by DavidH6269 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my daughter a month ago and she is so pleased, it is great value for money. The lens takes amazing, crisp photos. After you have taken a photo, when you zoom in the picture is just as crisp as when you were zoomed out. It is worth the money, she is so pleased with the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Light weight

SEL30M35 15 June 2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom)

Have been using the lens for almost two weeks mainly for botanical close ups. Brilliant. Works so well with my Sony a6000. The best macro lens I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03 May 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Great thing, nice to use

SEL30M35 12 September 2014 by Dalia G (United Kingdom)

It's a great macro lens. Great quality of photos, it's also sharp. I'm happy that it's also quite small, so doesn't make any problems often carrying it with me. The only drawback that I know is slow autofocus. And often when I want to focus on something rather small it doesn't get it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great Camera for Aspiring Photographers

SEL30M35 14 December 2013 by TheMortallyWounded (USA)

I purchased the Alpha A3000 on a whim, after having looked at it for some time and imagining the possibilities. I've been hoping to find an inexpensive camera to do some long-exposure photography, and this baby has impressed me immensely. It may not be a high-end Nikon or Canon, but the quality of the photos is very impressive and I think the final product will rival most professionals. With that in mind, this is NOT a professional camera. You may be able to attach it to some very, very nice lenses, but it is still a high-quality entry level unit. The features are kept to a minimum but it has some interesting creative options, stuff that you can do better with the right software on your PC. For me though, it's all I could want in a camera for now.

4

22

0

The next level

SEL30M35 12 September 2013 by Teamdeez (USA)

I always wanted a macro lens and had tried out reverse rings in the past. The experience with this lens blows them away and is totally worth it... Does well as a prime portrait too. I use this with the NEX 3n

13

1

0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08 April 2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

0

A macro Lens I love

SEL30M35 27 February 2012  (USA)

There isn't a moment I love using this lens :) I took a picture of this fern in the process of unrolling. This is a macro lens you can't pass up with the nex-5n :) - Armando

23

7

0

Swell

SEL30M35 25 February 2012 by DalekSec (USA)

I really enjoy this lens, I have been using it on my VG10 to take head-shots and the results are stunning. The images come out nice and are easily editable in photoshop if I want to remove/change the background or touch-up the subjects.

6

1

0

SEL30M35 19 November 2011 by mikofish (USA)

No noise when focusing, completely silent. Front doesn’t extend when focusing as in the Sony 100mm macro, it keeps its original length. This makes it easy to "fit or use" in underwater housings. The image I uploaded shows the results when used in landscape photography.

42

3

0

Makes my NEX even better

SEL30M35 05 November 2011 by photokid (USA)

All I have to say it amazing. I love this lens. I'm not a pro photographer by any stretch. I don't know much about f stops and all that jazz but I do know that this lens and my NEX-3 were born for each other. I bought the nex because I wanted to take my photography to the next level it does that better than expected. Then add this lens and we have amazingness. The lens produces crisp photos that are stunning. I love macro photography, and it works great with flowers and nature. The lens itself not only looks great but feels great. The metal used is a little more shiny, and lighter than the 18-55 mm lens that I bought with the camera. it also has more of a, light and almost hollow feeling . Over all if you like simple macro photography and own a NEX camera, then this lens needs to be in your colection.

72

4