CLOCK RADIO

Product Reviews

91

4.1 based on 91 customer reviews

44
28
7
7
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best purchase ever!!!

ICFC1BLACK 05 December 2014 by markngvl (USA)

Simply the best clock radio to buy if you are looking for simplicity in an alarm clock. Nice size - just right for a nightstand. Easy to set the alarm. Dimmable clock. Radio is not bad either! The DST is a plus... one less clock to reset when you have to "fall back" or "spring forward". Great purchase! I'm getting more for Christmas gifts!

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Are they kidding?

ICF-C1 21 March 2018 by Aakar (USA)

The 50 year old transistor radio tuner is absolute insanity on a 2018 radio. my 15 yr old Sony radio had a digital tuner. You need 3 hands to change the station, 1 to hold a magnifying glass, 1 to hold a flashlight, 1 to turn the tiny knurled wheel. The station you are listening to, does not correspond to the station indicated on the tuner(example- I listen to am890, but the tuner indicates am1100) The clock was always 2 minutes fast, but in 5 weeks the hours started readjusting themselves, keeping the incorrect time, no matter how many times it was corrected, then adjustments simply stopped working. I am a lifelong Sony customer, many times selecting products simply by brand name alone, The build quality on this radio is very alarming, and has forced me to reevaluate my trust in Sony quality, something that is very important to me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

91 Customer Reviews

0

Doesn't keep time accurately!

ICF-C1 27 May 2019 by Adlpated (USA)

I bought this clock radio to replace my original Sony Dream Machine. I loved it and used it until it gave up the ghost. I think 25+ years was a good run for the product. I looked for a replacement, and the closest I could find was this item, so I bought it. I was surprised it cost less than the original (that one was $34.99), but I think I know why. The darn thing loses minutes regularly. At first I thought it was because we had a thunderstorm, so I just pushed it ahead a couple minutes to the correct time. Well, now I've had to do it at least five times, and yesterday I was nearly late because I hadn't verified the time in a while, and it was three minutes slow.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Works Perfectly

ICFC1BLACK 20 April 2019 by WontTakeMyName (USA)

I bought this to replace 20+ year old radio. It was up and running in seconds. Works perfectly. I would have preferred a digital tuner, but this is adequate. Reception is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says on the box

ICF-C1 29 March 2019 by Netty 42 (United Kingdom)

Got this clock a few weeks ago.it does the job nicely

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Horrible Alarm Clock

ICFC1BLACK 01 February 2019 by Doris5 (USA)

I bought this in July 2018 and have given it plenty of time to "get used to" the alarm, while I like the graduated alarm feature, even at the height of the alarm sound, you cannot hear it if there is any background noises at all, such as traffic, fans, heat coming on. I dont know if I received a defective one, but Its not usable, being out of the return window since I tried so hard to like it, now I am stuck with it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

May The Cube Be With You

ICF-C1 29 November 2018 by Critter (USA)

I love radios. I don’t mind saying it. I don’t think it’s at all unfair to say that I like them way better than I will ever love a television. Theater of the mind, and all that. I could give a lot of other obscure reasons, but it would be boring and besides, if you don’t get it, you never will. So I’ll just talk about the Cube instead. This was purchased at a local Big Box to replace an old Emerson unit we’d had for probably fifteen years. That one had a cassette player on it, which will testify to its age. Briefly that cassette player even worked. The sound was never great, and it could be dicey to get my favorite stationed tuned in, but hey, it was a clock radio, and we live far enough from the city to make reception tricky at best. Fast forward then to a few weeks ago, when said Emerson radio decided it was no longer going to tune to ANYTHING except one specific Christian station. Nothing wrong with that, except when you have to wake up to it preaching to you... Time for a replacement, then. I harkened back to the days when a Sony Dream Machine was my radio of choice. Remember those? I think I got mine at Service Merchandise in Clarksville, Indiana and gave ten bucks for it That was in 1987. I ended up gifting it to my brother when he needed one and he in turn handed it off to my son many moons later. Son thus spilled a glass of milk into it a few years later. Even after that--all THAT--the Dream Machine somehow still worked, though we never trusted it. Also it smelled like a dairy barn. Thus, the Cube. I brought it home, set it up, and yes, it ticks all the boxes. It’s tee-niny, four by four by four. Inches, of course. One third the size of the Emerson (yay, more room for books on the nightstand!) It’s a Sony, so even if I do spill milk into it...well, you get it. Reception is kinda amazing for the size, 90.3 sounding like it’s right next door instead of fifty plus miles away. And for a tiny thing it sure does pound out the sound. I like the fact that it’s got AM as well, some clock radios in this price range don’t. At night I can even pull in distant stations like my favorites in Chicago and St. Louis. It's no DXing powerhouse, but it definitely punches above its weight. More importantly perhaps, it succeeds in waking me up this morning..but, gently, gently. Setup was a breeze. Plug it in, change it to the correct time zone, presto...you’re done. Couldn’t be simpler. Station selection is by an analog dial...old school, but if you’re remote like us, it pays, as sometimes you have to fiddle a bit to get it perfect. No, it doesn't zero in on a station like my beloved Sangean PR-D5, or have multiple presets, but it's one fourth the price. Also, I can reach it from my bed. At 4:30 AM that's kinda important. I expect to be using the Cube for many years to come. Providing my son doesn’t bring a glass of milk into the room...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Impressed so far.

ICF-C1 21 November 2018 by BazzaM (United Kingdom)

Lived with this clock for a week so far, fairly intuitive to use, and well built. Loud enough to wake the neighbours on full volume !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0