185

4.5 based on 185 customer reviews

116
55
8
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is reliability an issue?

Body Only 07 November 2018 by no one 111111111111111111 (United Kingdom)

This is the third a6500 that I have tried, the other two cameras had, or quickly developed faults. The first refused to focus and was returned, the second worked well for about 6 months before succumbing to a software error message. When I got the money back for these purchases I decided to add the extra insurance of buying the third camera from John Lewis, I know they will fix any issues. I persisted with this camera as when it works it is outstanding, image quality, portability, and functionality are better than expected. Image quality is almost as good as my full frame DSLR, very hard to tell equivalent images apart. So far this last version has behaved impeccably and is the camera I now use as my default choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

186 Customer Reviews

0

Good all rounder

Body Only 21 July 2019 by Peres123 (United Kingdom)

I got this a few weeks ago because of the new features . I already have the original A7,this is just another lighter option to the full frame camera with the latest updates. My only quibble is the screen, it should swing out instead of over. Or perhaps the camera could be a bit taller so the screen could come all the way up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good camera

Body Only 18 July 2019 by Sinclair (United Kingdom)

I bought this one month ago and am very happy with the purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and powerful

Body Only 14 July 2019 by normanf (United Kingdom)

Solid-Modern sophisticated camera with massive specification. Should be supplied with an external battery charger due to poor battery life. Full hard copy manual should come with camera (some of us only have a desktop pc, which you cant take on holiday with your new camera. The manual itself is poor, and needs someone able to write a manual- difficult to understand therefore cant tae advantage of the high spec.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Fast focus

Body Only 05 July 2019 by Gamgam (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera a short time but am very pleased with the pictures that it has produced so far.The focusing system is very good and allows you to capture scenes that lesser cameras would have missed.Build quality is high, it feels like it will travel well which is important to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera i ever owned

Body Only 30 June 2019 by ColiCol (United Kingdom)

Bought it for my daughters wedding and got great results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great color rendition

Body Only 15 June 2019 by DarkRican (USA)

Compact, lightweight, maneuverability. Impressive colors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 13 May 2019 by Trevor Trev (United Kingdom)

Having moved from Nikon as I wanted a lighter set up, I wasn’t disappointed. The build quality is excellent the features too numerous to mention but was able to start shooting straight away. I find the downloaded apps useful and the wireless picture transfer is amazing. No need to get home and stick them on a computer and adjust etc. Overall having only had it a short time, I would definitely recommend it. My only negative is the camera manual is useless and you have to review on it on line.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A6500

Body Only 20 April 2019 by Keithathome (United Kingdom)

Good all round performer BUT don't like the control wheel, it's too sensitive. I'm forever hitting the ISO when trying to adjust shutter speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

my time with the 6500

Body Only 03 April 2019 by amarko (United Kingdom)

I previously owned the 6000 and it has been a good camera , I read all the reviews for the 6500 and decided to upgrade , so far the camera is performing very well, however I was a little annoyed to read about the 6400 and the fact that several items are much improved with the not premium 6400, feature like automatic eye AF , after all the PREMIUM 6500 should have all the best features or be upgraded in software. get a grip Sony .. that aside the camera performs well in most photo applications ,however for video if i'm honest the IBS is not as good as I expected it to be (and was a main reason for buying it) and the menu system even though i'm fairly well up on it, is still clunky and not intuitive, and the TINY rotary / select dial can too easily be mis-moved and settings changed with gloved hands in cold conditions..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

fantastic

Body Only 31 March 2019 by brum1234 (United Kingdom)

upgraded from my a6000. ibis was a great feature has I am unsteady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Travel Camera

Body Only 30 March 2019 by Happy Jack (USA)

Just getting back into Photography after many years. Great camera to learn all the new stuff.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great auto focus and built-in stabilisation

Body Only 26 March 2019  (Singapore)

Switching to sony from a dslr is one of the best decision i’ve made. It’s so convenient to carry around and the image quality is awesome! The only concern for me is the battery life is too short.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has the features I need.

Body Only 25 March 2019 by PhilPhantom (United Kingdom)

I have previously owned the a6000 and the a6300. I loved both of them, but the a6500 takes things to another level. I don't shoot video, so the main improvements over the a6300 are the in body stabilisation (I have some non stabilised lenses) and the larger continuous shooting buffer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features.

Body Only 25 March 2019 by Stephen333 (United Kingdom)

I’ve bought this camera 2 days ago. I traded my Nikon D610 for it. I haven’t regretted it. Great pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ideal companion

Body Only 18 March 2019 by andy19 (United Kingdom)

had my A6500 for about 6 weeks now and still much to learn but was up and running taking quality photos within minutes .... the image quality of the camera and teh 18-135 sony lens is spot on sharp making good quality crops when i need to get closer. not used video yet as mostly a stills photographer...but i have total confiidence the quality would be just as good. currently being used on our travels in Australia, its light enough to be carried around all day without feeling heavy. this setup with be my primary equipment for sometime.....impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by golan3 (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with this Camera. I now have some amazing pictures without having to carry lots of heavy equipment around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Useful upgrade

Body Only 05 March 2019 by anothermyob (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade to my well used A6000 and a supplent to my A7M2 It is a significant improvement in focus performance and the in-body stabilisation is a great benefit as I use a lot of unstabilsed lenses. The new menu system is a slight improvement on the old chaotic system. It's no object of beauty giving a warm feeling of pride in its ownership a good functional camera which should give good service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worth everything!

Body Only 19 February 2019 by Mcgarcia13 (United Kingdom)

I bought this unit to start my videography business and I am really happy with the output!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small camera with Big features

Body Only 18 February 2019 by Dal T (United Kingdom)

Working as a professional photographer, I had a job come up working with a client who wanted pictures taken in the 02 at a concert, professional cameras (large DSLR) cameras are not permitted in the 02. So u did some research, price Vs quality Vs size. The Sony A6500 was a small camera packed with features, I was pleasantly surprised, having always had a Nikon, I even purchased Nikon Coolpix cameras for my kids. After purchasing the Sony I put it to the test, and was very impressed the quality of the pictures given it's size we're very good. Reasonable low light capability. On the day of the assignment, the Sony was small enough to fit in my jacket pocket, and I was able to take some great pictures. The client was very happy. Moving forward, I carry this little camera when I'm out with the family, never any complaints. I have also used it to capture video at a professional level for clients amazing results. However longer periods of constant capture this camera will over heat so do be careful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect, excellent quality, long lasting

Body Only 18 February 2019 by Sarahv (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for 10 months, it is such a lovely compact camera to own, so much to learn. The slow motion features and low light features are two of my favourites to name a few, if you invest in this camera you will not regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good buy!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 16 February 2019 by Salopian (United Kingdom)

Excellent images. I am finding it difficult to set up as I want but pleased I purchased it. Would welcome some more Sony lenses just for APSC format especially telephoto zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good equipment

Body Only 13 February 2019 by Narumi (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my son as christmas, so I am answering considering his comments. He lives in Brazil.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best cam I ever had

Body + 16-70mm Zoom Lens 12 February 2019 by Nisg (United Kingdom)

I'm so impressed with the picture quality. This is the best camera I ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 08 February 2019 by nananananana (United Kingdom)

You have a nearly unlimited choice of settings to suit all types of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good overall package

Body Only 29 January 2019 by Big foot (United Kingdom)

Bought two months ago and love the quality in a small package

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great good size CSC Camera

Body Only 28 January 2019 by Williare (United Kingdom)

I have just brought this camera which is a upgrade from my Sony a5000 . I love the features of this camera the dial for the shooting mode is nice and it clicks into the operation you require and stays in position the dial next to this is great for changing your aperture etc. The camera is very fast to focus and automatically focuses without any issues and takes great photographs. The camera is a good size and is reasonably light with some great features I am still getting use to the camera but the menu is very similar to my a5000 which is helpful. I can fit the camera in my backpack when I go cycling as it is reasonably light and compact so I’m sure I’ll get some good shots in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First mirrorless camera

Body Only 27 January 2019 by brannen6 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera a couple of weeks a go for photography and videography. So far, happy with the features and flexibility the camera offers over my previous point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great step up for an amateur photographer

ILCE-6500 24 January 2019 by MNDads (USA)

We had an a6000 when they originally came out. Sadly, we lost the camera during the holidays. I liked the a6000 enough that I would have gladly replaced it, but since the a6300 and a6500 were newer since I originally bought, I decided to do some research. After a lot of reading, I upgraded to the a6500. So far, the experience has been great. Image quality is impressive. Can't wait to try out more features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 30 December 2018 by Andy 66 (United Kingdom)

its a good camera. feels more solid than my a6000. I'd like a simpler menu and I think the video record button is too fiddly, otherwise, difficult to fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great upgrade

Body Only 30 December 2018 by Yippip (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade from my much used and loved NEX 5. Very pleased to find it as easy to use and the image quality and extra speed of response has justified the upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fits my requirements.

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 20 December 2018 by PRRkent (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for some weeks and am now used to its systems. It was purchased to replace my GX8. To date, apart from the lack of a pivoting viewfinder, I am pleased with its systems and quality. I need something compact & lightweight, for when I need to use a system camera, to fit in rucksacks & bike bags. I like a clean shape with no bulges to catch when removing it from the bag. The image quality is good with a good dynamic range, enabling me to bring out detail in difficult conditions. I would have preferred to have a second knob to control some functions and to add further functions, but I can live with it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome camera but needs improvement.

Body Only 15 December 2018 by Abhi722 (United Kingdom)

I brought this camera about a month ago, replacing my good old A6000. The A6500 is a huge improvement over the A6000. Lots of new features in the same form factor as old was the reason I was attracted to it and brought it after using my A6000 for nearly 2.5 years. Looking at the video improvements I think I can finally get into making videos as well. The only thing which need improvement is i think is the IBIS & battery life. Other than that I think that the camera is good for both professionals as well as amateurs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Easy to use, fast with multiple shots

Body Only 13 December 2018 by Mark Ardern (United Kingdom)

I switched from a DSLR of another brand to an A5000 and then upgraded to the A6500 More megapixels (24 vs 19.8MP), Better image quality in very dark and bright conditions. It does 4K video vs 1080. It shoots at higher frequency of shots so more FPS, it’s weather proofed and has a silent shutter mode so you don’t frighten the birds. IS is built in so allows for a sharper image. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Professional camera in compact size

Body Only 09 December 2018 by Diodio (United Kingdom)

I am in knowledge phase of the camera settings. I used to own Rx100 M1 and part of menu is familiar to me. Very disappointed from the LCD visibility, not able to see anything outdoor. Only solution the viewfinder use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic !!!

Body Only 24 November 2018 by BernieS (United Kingdom)

I really love my camera !! My first camera and I 'm super happy about. super light to carry around and with all the feature I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 22 November 2018 by JAndie (Singapore)

Bought this less than a month and still trying to get used to it, but I’m loving the features and quality of the images and videos I can take with this mirrorless camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

6500 E mount camera

Body Only 20 November 2018 by Ycpaul (Singapore)

I brought this Camera about 1 mouth ago and I had use it very often because I just retired. I find this camera is very useful and easy to use and also help me pass my time .I learn how to take good pictures from internet and YouTube

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Is reliability an issue?

Body Only 07 November 2018 by no one 111111111111111111 (United Kingdom)

This is the third a6500 that I have tried, the other two cameras had, or quickly developed faults. The first refused to focus and was returned, the second worked well for about 6 months before succumbing to a software error message. When I got the money back for these purchases I decided to add the extra insurance of buying the third camera from John Lewis, I know they will fix any issues. I persisted with this camera as when it works it is outstanding, image quality, portability, and functionality are better than expected. Image quality is almost as good as my full frame DSLR, very hard to tell equivalent images apart. So far this last version has behaved impeccably and is the camera I now use as my default choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Feels great

Body Only 25 October 2018 by JeffG53 (United Kingdom)

I bought this almost a year ago and remain impressed. The camera feels solid as a rock. The steady shot is brilliant, the steady shot manual settings that allow me to hand hold some vintage telephoto lenses. Silent shooting is which had absolutely nothing to do with my reasons for purchasing the camera has proved to be of great use. The only downsides are the camera strap which feels terrible and the lack of Linux/Ubuntu support which involves me booting up an otherwise defunct laptop in order to down load Sony apps or to update the firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good upgrade on Alpha 6000

Body Only 23 October 2018 by Richard McL (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade to the Alpha 6000 which I have used for a few years. One of the triggers was that I upgraded my Alpha 7R to the Mk 2 model and found that the in-body stabiliser made a huge difference to getting perfect results first time. The added 4K video is another big step up. Results seem excellent, the various tools in the viewfinder display are great and the touch screen opens up lots of new possibilities. Looks small and a bit of a toy, but being small and fairly light I carry it very often, unlike say a bulky Nikon SLR with a similar sensor and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A good friend for everyday photography

Body Only 05 October 2018 by franci91 (Singapore)

I bought it one month ago and I'm very happy with it. I always bring it with me since it's very compact and can easily fit a bag. The quality of the photos is pretty good and I cannot complain. I've only been using lenses for full frame a7 series so far and never had any problems. The autofocus too is very precise and fast.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Premium Camera for the Price!

ILCE-6500 01 October 2018 by Sacalait (USA)

I started researching video cameras seriously about July, 2018. I narrowed it down to this bad boy. I'm happy with the purchase! The quality of the 4K video is off the charts! I know there are better cameras but man, I think this technology may finally be catching up to audio! This camera rocks! I'm using it mostly for Youtube content and it's all I could actually want. I can't say spending a lot more money would get me exponential results. Anyway, I'm a happy a6500 user. The only slight drawback is the menu system but I have a Nikon D3300 and the menu system on this camera is better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Stunning Camera

Body Only 03 September 2018 by proud dad (USA)

I have had many Sony cameras and this one by far is the best one yet...Took pictures of my daughter with ease but with pro results ....She already wants me to become PRO..lol Great camera thanks for the memories...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Brilliant little camera

Body Only 02 September 2018 by Hector the Bear (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality yet compact CSC and after considering many I opted for the Sony a6500. I previously owned the Olympus OMD EM1 MkII, nice camera but the MFT sensor can't match the Sony. What I like is the compact size, ok the menus can be a pain but in may experience all cameras suffer the same issue. I'm getting used to it though. Image quality is the key priority for me over features though this camera has features in abundance, but if the pictures aren't good the features are pointless. Im please to say the images from the Sony are excellent and better than I expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing 4k videos and reasonalby sharp photos

Body Only 01 September 2018 by challengerlpf (Singapore)

I brought this for both photography and videography (with 4k in focus) to fit my budget.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So much easier to carry around than my DSLR,

Body Only 16 August 2018 by Justjeff (United Kingdom)

I bought this 6/7/18 just enough time to get used to it before my holidays

Features

Excellent

0

0

0

My best camera yet.

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 16 August 2018 by Dh47 (United Kingdom)

Pleased with all the features and results of the Sony A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Cam

Body Only 10 August 2018 by Flinny (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera round about three month ago and I'm very happy with this cam. It is very easy to take wonderfull pichtures with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A step change

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 08 August 2018 by Stephen R (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a couple of months and have now had chance to use it in anger. It is an upgrade from my Nikon D3200. It has overcome the lack of ISO performance, the lack of critical focus due to lack of lens calibration, gives me image stabilization. Then there are all the other bits like you can see what depth of field you are getting and the exposure rendering on the image before you press the button. Ability to detect and focus on the subjects eye, I have some amazingly sharp portraits as a result. Small Negatives/ opportunities to improve I expected it to use a lot of battery power to drive the view finder and so bought a spare battery as you do. However out of the box I found there was no separate battery charger. The camera was the charger and could not be used for hours whilst charging the battery, after paying all that for the camera I thought it a bit off to buy a separate charger. Infrared remote release; The Nikon has the sensors front and back this does not. So if you are shooting landscapes from a tripod and naturally stand behind you have to reach around the camera to get the remote to work. We all don't want to use the remote to take selfies! Instructions; Your products come with a vast amount of paper but finding the bit in your language takes ages and then it's not comprehensive. It was a few weeks before I found what I needed to know on the internet and I still have not managed to get it to work with my Sony Experia phone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 01 August 2018 by Zqtam (Singapore)

My friend and I having a great experience with the image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 31 July 2018 by Grip1 (United Kingdom)

Early days yet and I've not put it to a full test, but I reckon this is a good upgrade to my a6000 (which I was seriously impressed with). I particularly appreciate the added weight, the in-body stabilisation and the levelling indicator, and, of course, the excellent image quality. A couple of minor negatives: the lens mount is very tight and, as a user of prime lenses, I find the stiffness - particularly when removing a lens - somewhat disconcerting. The menu system, whilst better than before, is still something of a maze. The worst thing about the camera is the poor battery life. The claim is 300 shots - even with the a6000, I never achieved anything close to that and the a6500 is no better. Given the demands of the camera and the price of Sony batteries you would expect much more. As it is, you need to splash out extra cash on extra batteries. That said, this is a brilliant camera and I'm glad I have it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great little camera

Body Only 30 July 2018 by big gar1 (United Kingdom)

bought this to update A6000. very happy with upgrade

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light and excellent AF

Body Only 21 July 2018 by Kamasoto (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with the camera. I had to study a bit its characteristics and how to use it to get the most benefit of it. I am still waiting for other lenses to optimise the results. Very bad user interface with the iPhone X. I could not get it to work wireless. Clumsy software in this aspect

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Decent camera, awful LCD

Body Only 18 July 2018 by Chris Wiles (United Kingdom)

I'm sure this camera is fantastic. No issue with the quality of the images. Moved up from a Canon 80D. My issue, since moving up, is the LCD. It's borderline unusable in very bright warm weather.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Perfect companion

Body Only 16 July 2018 by Edgart (United Kingdom)

Having had a Nex 7 and a a6000 this was an obvious upgrade to use my alpha lenses and the E lenses. There is little to dislike about the device, I added a battery grip to get a better balance when using heavier lenses like the 18-200 E lens, which mainly lives on the camera for walks in the red squirrel inhabited local woods. The camera is amazing in low light, the colours are still good, even at 6400 ISO, and the focus is fast and accurate. The low weight encourages me to take it, rather than heavier more bulky micro 4/3 cameras with long lenses. The Sony autofocus alpha to E adaptor allows me to use one of my favorite lenses from my a77mk2 the 16-105 lens, with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Unacceptable picture quality

Body Only 09 July 2018 by Sverm (Singapore)

Bought this a month ago and took it with me for my travel photo shoots. The photos look good at the back of the camera screen .... but when you load it on screen ........ the noise at ISO 400 onwards is unbearable. The super hyped auto focus is useless. My old Nikon foes way better job than this camera does. I would not waste any more money on Sony products anymore ..... big talks no delivery

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Best camera I could have purchased

Body Only 07 July 2018 by Y24SAD (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera for family pics and holiday I am not a professional photographer but have seen many professional wedding photographer use this camera. Image quality is best you can get with a camera this size. A lot smaller than a dslr but quality is same. You buy lots of different lens. I’ve always used my mobile for pictures and video but moving to this camera has changed the meaning of pictures and videos. The pictures and videos even com out amazing in the dark which suprised me. I know some people say camera has too many settings it does but you just get use to them and they are there for a reason. If you thinking of buying this camera trust me do it you won’t regret it and it’s worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best Crop Camera for the Price

Body Only 06 July 2018 by Jimmy7777 (USA)

Once you learn the complex menus and set it up this little gem is spactacular...and the video is even more amazing in 4K.....10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for Money APCS Camera from Sony

Body Only 30 June 2018 by REM01 (USA)

Bought December 2017, so far it doesn't disappoint me. Encounter a minimal issue but I'm glad the service center able to repair faster than usual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing photo quality

Body Only 22 June 2018 by DS442 (USA)

I love everything about this camera. The photos it takes and the feel in my hands. It is very easy to use. I had 2 break in 2 weeks when I first got it. The 3rd one has been great. I had some bad luck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tiny but powerful

Body Only 22 June 2018 by LeDung (United Kingdom)

Since I step into the photography world, I'm a Canon user. But after 3 years holding a big dslr camera, I decide to give a try on mirrorless camera, especially sony mirrorless camera. After selling my canon 6d and all my gear, I decide to buy this sony a6500. Step down from fullframe to crop body is make me really nervous. Yet, I'm still a student and dont have much money to bump into sony fullframe camera. But the quality of this sony a6500 really amaze me. That's why i take a risk to step down to crop body. I really love the image quality i get from this camera. Besides, the filming features is really good on this body. I'm quite happy with my decision. But, It is not perfect and still got things to fix. The first thing is the design of this camera, i wish the size of it could be similar to sony a7 III. So it could give the holding feeling much better and more secure. Besides, the battery is another thing need to upgrade or can you guy sell it at a lower price. Compared to other brand like canon, nikon, they sell the battery at the same price with sony but the capacity of it is much bigger (1800 vs 1020) and it could shoot up to 900 shot and even more. Another thing i need to mention is the screen. Why you only make it touchable only for focusing and not for other features. This a little bit weird. Besides, i wish the screen could flip like the canon 80D or fuji xa5. One thing i need to mention is the menu and the feature, the sony a6500 has better menu than the a6000 or a6300 but it still need time to get familiar with, still quite hard to use. Overall, this is a good camera and i'm quite happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

What it can do

Body Only 07 June 2018 by Chinaman (United Kingdom)

Only have it less than 2 weeks but like what I can do Regret it and other Sony cameras can record only 2 size formats . I love square former and 4x3 so have to take time to crop my pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lite and great images.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06 June 2018 by Jaz18 (USA)

Only owned the a6500 a short time, but easier and more versatile to use than my older DSLR. Easy to use for street shots, videos, etc and many features found on more expensive cameras. I have been a photographer for many year, this is a great camera for a beginner or pro. Takes a little time to adjust to the smaller size and learn features to fully use this camera. Worth it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a6500 is AMAZING

Body Only 05 June 2018 by jim27 (United Kingdom)

fabulous camera. great build quality and the image quality and software are fantastic. after a bit of practise with this camera the results are very impressive indeed. the only down about it is it doesnt come with a very good battery charger, i dont like having to have my camera physically plugged into a usb to re-charge the battery. but apart from that the camera is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera within a compact size

Body Only 01 June 2018 by BrunoGil (United Kingdom)

The Sony A6500 camera combined with the SEL18135 lens is a great asset. It's compact and offers superbe features. The RAW images quality is impressive, even in low light. The JPEG pictures are excellent too. The autofocus is very fast and accurate in many situations. Great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality

Body Only 28 May 2018 by Johnbrandie (United Kingdom)

Bought a 6500 and a 16-70 Zeiss lens in December 2017. By April 2018 a fault occurred which required removing the lens for 30 seconds to clear. This fault became intolerable so both items were returned for repair. The camera was finally replaced with a new item but the lens had 5 items replaced. Totally gone off sony products due to this fiasco...expensive equipment and all had faults !!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

great camera

Body Only 26 May 2018 by Thanatoxx (USA)

Just got this camera like 5 day ago and I love it! I love this camera is super compact the built quality is awesome doesn’t feel cheap feels really good In your hand even for me that I do have big hands,menu settings is a little complicated but you get use to it,it has so much setting and so many great thing in menu that you gonna love it, so many pictures profile oh man the video quality is beautiful the battery life is average is your taking video so make sure you get a extra battery for photos I never run out of battery !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

I love this camera

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 22 May 2018 by Peewee3568 (United Kingdom)

I find the a6500 very easy to use and nice and light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 May 2018 by billw917 (USA)

I bought the camera a few weeks ago, upgrading from the a5000. I am still learning the differences, but what I have so far justifies the expense of the upgrade. Focus happens quicker. I do find the flip screen more limited than that on the 5000. Also, when in Intelligent Auto, I seem to have fewer options, but I only rarely use any Auto, sticking to P for nearly all shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My great compact mirrorless camera,,ever,,,,

Body Only 13 May 2018 by Kahimo (United Kingdom)

Im very happy to have this little monster, very worth of money, im very happy to this beast,,,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0