47

4.6 based on 47 customer reviews

35
7
2
3
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Atmos in one!

HTA5000.CEK 24 October 2022 by Haiiro (United Kingdom)

I have been looking for an all in one soundbar solution to get perfect Dolby Atmos from the cinema at home. Well, I can safely say, that Sony has smashed it out of the park with the HTA5000. Although the product is quite large and spans the full width of my 65 inch television, I am easily able to accommodate this soundbar and forego the need for any additional rear speakers or a hefty subwoofer. In my current living room, I do not wish to have additional bulk. So I was really happy that this one bar alone does everything I need, including height with sound bouncing off the ceiling to add the sounds coming from above, just like the cinema. What's great is, if I ever move out, or wish to add the additional speakers for true surround sound, I have the option to upgrade later and buy these later. Great choice! The bass is surprisingly rich, the tweeters are very detailed. Vocals are clear and I'm never struggling to hear the full range of sound from movies. The surround effect is amazing. Plenty of volume. The looks of the product are great too, very stylish. It was extremely easy to set up, and the online functions are perfect. I use the chromecast built in for music from my phone. For me, this is a no brainer recommendation. Bravo!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

HT-A5000, hissing S-Centre Channel

HT-A5000 28 January 2023 by Hoops2603 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A5000 soundbar 10 days ago. Easy set up out of the box and a great sound Until connecting up the S-Centre speaking feature to my Bravia XR, at that point the bar hisses constantly. Sony CS responded with troubleshooting which didn’t work. Purchased a ground loop noise isolator which killed the hiss but resulted in a completely muffled sound, purchased a high quality screened 3.5mm stereo cable to replace the one supplied, this reduced but didn’t cure the hiss. Having bought it for this feature I’m now returning the soundbar, disappointed at the outcome!

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

40

3

47 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

HTA5000 16 November 2023 by Tob8123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3 weeks ago and absolutely love it the sound is so immersive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A5000-Soundbar

HTA5000 28 August 2023 by FrankS52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sounding soundbar makes it feel like you are there. Sound is full, rich, and deep with the 360 Spatial Sound Mapping. Now is the time to develop more media utilizing the spatial sound model to make you feel you are at the concert.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-A5000//C SP1 20 August 2023 by hancj (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had review a few soundbar and found this Sony a5000 was so impressive without an external subwoofer. I surely highly recommended for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing sound with the best audio clarity.

HTA5000 10 August 2023 by Mello09 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You just have to buy it because words alone can't express how amazing the sound bar is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-A5000 04 May 2023 by Amil75 (United Kingdom)

Bought mine 3 weeks ago and have had no issues . Great sound and pretty good bass output..surround sound is very good in general but I was hoping for a bit more sound for the up firing speakers.. if you have a smaller living room space you don't need the rear speakers or subwoofer as the bar on its own more than holds its weight.. I personally will get the the smaller woofer and rear speakers so I can utilise the 360 spacial option

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Soundbar with Good Soundstage

HT-A5000//C SP1 06 April 2023  (Singapore)

I bought it 3 months ago. Having it matched with subwoofer SW5, the soundstage is good with enough bass. The soundbar has Google Chromecast and Bluetooth, which makes it easily to play music from my phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A5000 sound bar

HT-A5000 17 March 2023 by A7000 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant device excellent sound quality easy to set up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

I love this!

HTA5000 17 March 2023 by rondwenzel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after going through three different manufacture companies sound bars and picked the best.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall GREAT Soundbar!!

HTA5000 05 March 2023 by JFLP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the HT-A5000 during the holiday season and wanted to hold of giving a review until I could put through its paces. 3 months later I must say THIS is one heck of a sounbar!! To any average listener this fits the bill!! The sounds are rich and fluid and once you pair with with a Sony's subwoofers meant for it and equip the surround modules you got one heck of a package!! About the only reason I have it 4 stats is not a knock on the performance of the HT-A5000, BUT rather what it misses compared to its bigger brother the HT-A7000. I believe Sony SHOULD equip the HT-A5000 with APP support to give users a bot more control on adjusting some sound levels like the HT-A7000. You're given some adjustment freedom but not much. If Sony is listening PLEASE GIVE THE HT-A5000 APP SUPPORT!! However, in my opinion this was not a deal breaker when we purchased the bar as I was impressed by the overall sound quality. Still Sony can do this with an extensive software update and I HOPE they can and bring a unified app experience like the HT-A7000. For us normal listeners THIS soundbar rocks!! Don't overlook the minor omission of the app support as the price point is a little better on the wallet and in terms of size a bit more manageable compared to the HT-A7000. You won't regret the HT-A5000!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony HT-A5000 soundbar

HTA5000 14 February 2023 by Nor55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased to replace my old theatre system which was a wired system. It was low end and wasn’t such a great sounding system. After some research and looking at alternatives I was given a demo of the soundbar the rest is history. It produces rich sound in my family room that has 20 ft ceilings, the set up was a breeze out of the box I was enjoying a totally immersive sound experience that I never had with my old system. This is truly an amazing system that I invested in even with my music and the Bluetooth connectivity, this is a solid buy. The price is great compared to other brands and overall it’s the quality of a Sony product. I’m truly enjoying it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTA5000 13 February 2023 by Motormandline (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was very pleased with the sound and the prices and the looks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great!

HTA5000 13 February 2023 by McGyver9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saw the demo on the store (best buy) and HAD to get it. But, I guess that switch that was supposed to turn the subwoofer off wasn't working... So, I'm saving up to buy one, because it really needs it. Also, that display is obviously playing an ATMOS signal....there's nothing on "TV" that is going to make this system "shine". Going to have to find some sources "in the wild" for that content.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Sound Bar

HTA5000 10 February 2023 by Flying Friar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this product. I did purchase the Subwoofer SW3 a few weeks after the initial purchase. The subwoofer fills the room with a richer sound. This is very evident when playing music on the device. It also has an impact on certain television content like movies and live sports.Overall though though I am very happy with the performance of the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HT-A5000, hissing S-Centre Channel

HT-A5000 28 January 2023 by Hoops2603 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A5000 soundbar 10 days ago. Easy set up out of the box and a great sound Until connecting up the S-Centre speaking feature to my Bravia XR, at that point the bar hisses constantly. Sony CS responded with troubleshooting which didn’t work. Purchased a ground loop noise isolator which killed the hiss but resulted in a completely muffled sound, purchased a high quality screened 3.5mm stereo cable to replace the one supplied, this reduced but didn’t cure the hiss. Having bought it for this feature I’m now returning the soundbar, disappointed at the outcome!

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

40

3

0

Great features and excellent

HT-A5000//C SP1 20 January 2023 by Shaik123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month ago enjoying the sound really love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional!!!

HTA5000.CEK 18 January 2023 by Trev (United Kingdom)

The sound from this Spacial Sound MappingDolby Atmos Sound Bar is superb. It fills the room with either dialogue or music. Exceptionally clear rendition, lovely to hear music as it should be heard. Although rather large it tucked away behind the tv and wasn’t obtrusive, we didn’t lose any sound quality , wonderful piece of workmanship. Anyone thinking of buying a sound bar should go to a Sony showroom to hear this before deciding. You certainly won’t be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

3

0

Great sound

HT-A5000//C SP1 18 January 2023 by Dylvin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best sony sound bar with reasonable pricing and styling is appealing

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bravo to Bravia

HT-A5000 15 January 2023 by Clarabel (United Kingdom)

Fantastic picture even for a 77 inch. Love the look of the tv too. The finish on it is superb. It has the wow factor when mounted on the wall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

A5000 soundbar

HT-A5000 29 December 2022 by TTP77 (United Kingdom)

Brought as a gift, but after hearing with the combined setup with the RS3S (surround) and SW5 (subwoofer) I want the setup myself, ;)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Sony HT-A5000 Dolby Atmos Soundbar

HT-A5000//C SP1 21 December 2022 by Miketkf (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it on 30/11/22 with promotional discount. This soundbar have Dolby Atmos, DTS Audio, Dolby Vision, Bluetooth, Spotify Connect, Chromecast built-in and 360 Spatial Sound Mapping support with 200W SA-SW3 wireless subwoofer and SA-RS5 total 180W wireless speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product and exactly what I wanted.

HT-A5000 12 December 2022 by ValleyWanderer (United Kingdom)

Very happy as it sounds terrific and is/was exactly what I wanted when I ordered it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Static connecting to Bravia Center-S

HTA5000 04 December 2022 by okwhatever (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Static connecting to Bravia Center-S. Need to discover a fix or return.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound

HT-A5000 22 November 2022 by Chris 550 (United Kingdom)

Very good sound. As good as the 7000 for which l have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Outstanding sounds

HTA5000 20 November 2022 by Battleship (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Last month purchased and very happy I got this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great job Sony, but only with optional accessories

HTA5000.CEK 06 November 2022 by MJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

Thank you Sony for providing new A5000 soundbar for review. I have reviewed several soundbar models in the past and i can clearly say that technology has improved significantly. You can actually hear 360 reality audio sound effect and bass is pretty convincing. I would say for a small room or limited space it might be enough. But if you have a larger rooms and looking for a proper Dolby Atmos set-up optional accessories are a must! Sorry Sony, but you still can't replace actual separate subwoofer and rear speakers... I had to buy a new Sony SW5 optional subwoofer and RS5 rear atmos speakers to give appropriate feedback this system deserve! For actual sounbdar i give 4 stars for a great effort, but only with optional subwofer and rear speakers it's a definitely 5 stars! I would recommend to buy additional accessories for a really incredible bass, more clear dialog separation, top sound quality, especiallty for a punchy low bass and to enhance 360 reality sound with rear atmos speakers. Sony should include subwoofer with this soundbar and offer optional upgrade for rear speakers. Yes, I know its significantly more expensive, but oh boy - it's definitely worth it! Main benefits of a A5000 soundbar alone: 360 Spatial sound mapping Integrated Bass Dolby Atmos (upfiring speakers) DTS X High Resolution Audio 120Hz pass through Slim compact design I hope my review will help you with your optional choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

5

0

The foundation to a high end home cinema

HTA5000.CEK 03 November 2022 by Kingeman7 (United Kingdom)

Straight out the box, with any Sony product you can already tell the quality of the technology just from looking at it. It has a premium feel with some weight behind it, as this is more catered to 75” TV’s and higher in my opinion. In the box, Sony provides all the necessary cables and included wall mounts if you prefer to mount it. Overall paired with my 75” TV, the length is just as long which gives it a nice aesthetic look. Overall, I was really impressed with the sound ranges, the 360 spatial feature works well with Dolby atmos. Although, there were a few moments that left me to be desired in terms of reaching other parts of the room. The top firing speakers do help with that aspect. In conclusion, the soundbar on its own is perfect, if you’ve just invested in an expensive TV. Whether you are looking to add a subwoofer is up to you and do remember there is the HT-A7000 above this, if you are looking for the best in a soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Superb!

HTA5000.CEK 02 November 2022 by John (United Kingdom)

Sony HT-A5000 Sony HT-A5000 packaged in Sony’s normal excellent quality materials and feels sturdy and a good build with everything in the box to get you started. I was connected in a very short time and placed the soundbar along the front of my cabinet equidistant to my TV, wall brackets are provided which I though was excellent if needed or store for the future. I connected via a optical lead, all other leads and connections are provided along with remote although once set up worked seamlessly with sky remote which is so convenient. This soundbar comes with Sound Field Optimization, which adjusts to your room automatically, to optimise the sound this giving a great depth to the bass and good top notes in the treble. It supports a host of streaming services and also supports Dolby Atmos content, calibration was easy automatic and quick we were up and running in no time at all and absolutely loved this feature. I was blown away with the sound especially 360 spatial audio which is available on streaming services, the speakers are front and upward facing giving a better listening experience. Synch took a while to get the right setting but when set up it was fine and the sound bar I felt was at its best with a movie. Apple airplay is my preferred streaming method and works superbly. I was enjoying music, and a better TV sound experience, or if needed bluetooth connection is available. Another quality from Sony with great sound giving me a superb listening experience from multiple sources. Superb!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

6

0

Sony 360 sounbar

HTA5000.CEK 01 November 2022 by Martin7A (United Kingdom)

Received my soundbar from the courier, first thought’s were it is quite heavy. I was looking forward to see it out of the box. Once unpacked it is quite impressive, it feels sturdy and well made, I suspect it is made with quality materials which accounts for the weight. It took some time to get it set up to my TV and once set up all was fine. It runs through set up program to get the correct setting for the room, this can be rerun if you change the room furniture around as this would change the sound quality. I then paired my ipod to it which was very easy to do. The sound quality from the TV is enhanced so makes TV programs much more watchable especially films. Music via wifi is very good, I am impressed.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

The Sony HT-A5000 5.1.2ch Sound bar

HTA5000.CEK 01 November 2022 by Jafster119 (United Kingdom)

Just took delivery of my new Sony HT-A5000 Sound bar to which will replace my now aging Sony CT800 Sound bar and Sub set up which have served its purpose over the last couple of years. From taking it out from its packaging the first thing that strikes you is the solid build quality of these models as you grasp it you could think even if you dropped it nothing would happen to it ‘but please don’t try that lol’ I placed it onto my low profile Display unit just in front of my Sony 55xe9305 Tv and as it happens it is more or less the same the width as the tv, it looks great and what I really liked about it was the tough textured finish on the HT-A5000 and not high gloss black as found on so many appliances in the past so this is what I prefer. In the box you get the speaker, a remote, Hdmi cable, a Center speaker cable for the new and upto date Sony tv’s so I could not get the benefit from using this with my aging xe9305, brackets for hanging the speaker on the wall. The paper work start up guide and a free trial of the 360 reality audio which takes you to the likes of Spotify, Amazon music etc. with a 4 month on each of the apps so you can listen to tracks and albums which are compatible with the 360 audio profile. Attach all the cables the fire it up. From the start it searches for any additional wireless speakers and sub if you are to buy them to go for a full surround set up. Then takes you through the process of connecting to your home network, updating the system and linking and music account you have like Spotify etc. I had a little play around with connecting it to my Amazon Music and trying a few tracks to which was ok then a bit of Tv and demo’s on some of my channels on you tube just to get a feel of it and thought it was nice enough. There is a Sound Field Optimisation mode on the HT-A5000 like found on high end amps which automatically optimises your rooms unique acoustics which is great to see now available on these systems finally. Used this on my Onkyo-Dali 7.1 system in the past where you place a microphone in the room then let it do its work by optimising each individual speaker around the room by balancing them so when you walk through the room what ever size it’s just filled with beautiful sound ‘It is great really’ so it’s nice to have it onboard here on their sound bars. I mentioned earlier that I had a Sony CT800 sound bar and individual sub woofer package so though I would try and get it to connect it to the HT-A5000 because the sub is wireless but no such joy with trying that. It just will not find it to connect too which is gutting really because now if I wanted to get a dedicated sub for the system it’s gonna cost me another £450 for the sub to connect with the speaker system which is compatible with it which these sound bars really do need to be perfectly honest because even though the HT-A5000 has two build in sub speakers either side of the Center speaker my older CT800 with a separate dedicated sub sat behind give a more dynamic bass which filled the room so if you really want to get the best out of these system is to have the sub and satellite speakers to get the full benefit from the set up. This is my opinion on this as we are all different aren’t we so pick your poison by there. I hope Sony will listen to its customers and add some much needed features in the menu to where you got more control over how you would like to have you own unique sound profile like an EQ mode for one considering the premium on these systems. It does a good all round job though when listening to what ever you’re watching on it or some music you fancy does a fine enough job. The dialogue is very clear I must say even with my hearing trust me I have tinnitus in both ears so it did impress me for that reason alone (good job Sony big thumbs up) overall really happy with it so far. One other thing to consider is there is only one HDMI input port for connecting things like PS5 or Tv box like Apple TV or something like that but at least it comes future proof with a 2.1 HDMI that is upto 8K 30, 4K 120, 4K 60 so no worries there in that area. All in all the overall sound will please most People buying this system for overall multi use being movies, music and Tv but hardcore users with defo need the sub separate and satellite speakers to really get the most out of this sound bar and would defo recommend these to people who really want quality in their room. Its simple menu system is easy for anyone to pick up and great build quality on anything Sony builds so you know you are fine by there. My whole house is full of Sony gear from games machines to radio alarm clock, Sony quality lasts for years to come. It does the job for me so I hope Sony will out us some important updates in future to the system regarding more control to the user and at this price point they should. Will update more info in near future about this product till then take care.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Immersive sound from an amazing soundbar.

HTA5000.CEK 30 October 2022 by Bobtil (United Kingdom)

The sound bar is on the larger side at just over 1.2m but it is a very sleek design with the build quality being second to none. It is supplied with wall brackets and fixings but considering the size of the soundbar, it only involves 2 screws to a wall and 2 screws to fix the sound bar to the brackets. The soundbar is very easy to set up, with a walk through guide supplied. There are only 2 cables from the bottom of the soundbar to the TV and power supply, making the cables easy to hide if required. Once set up, the sound quality will literally blow you away! The 360 spacial sound mapping works superbly well. I have started to watch films again that I have seen many times before but I'm just starting to hear sounds that I haven't heard in films before. The soundbar really does give clarity and voice emphasis like I have never heard before, apart from in a cinema. The bass within the soundbar is second to none and there is no distortion, even when the volume is cranked right up (and it does go very loud!). Two excellent features, are an emphasis on voice mode and a night mode. This means even at a low volume, the clarity is excellent and it won't disturb anyone who is trying to sleep in another room. This has really improved my personal viewing experience, as I do tend to watch a lot of late night movies. The sound bar has also led to a vastly improved experience for watching sports and gaming. The surround sound experience vastly improved first person gaming and watching football made me feel like I was in the stadium, without actually being there. I have also spent a lot of time just listening to music through the soundbar, effectively using the soundbar as speaker. I have streamed music seamlessly from various streaming platforms via Bluetooth, Airplay and Chromecast and the audio quality the soundbar provides, just makes me want to listen to music, even more than I already do. Overall, I couldn't anticipate not watching films, or T.V. without the benefit of the soundbar again. When you add the experience of using the soundbar for music and gaming as well, it's really very highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Unbelievably good

HTA5000.CEK 30 October 2022 by DentalMental (United Kingdom)

This sound bar is amazing. The sound is so realistic, the bass is powerful without being too overbearing in our room. The balance between speech and music/effects is great too, you can hear everything clearly unlike other speaker products I have used in the past. I don’t know how we ever listened to the sound just through the TV speakers before we got this! Warning though : The Walking Dead and American Horror Story might keep you awake all night with how realistic the surround sound effect is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

1

0

HT-A5000 Sound Bar- a fantastic performer

HTA5000.CEK 30 October 2022 by Skelly (United Kingdom)

What’s in the box? As soon as you open the box, It is easy to see that the HT-A5000 is a very high quality, premium product from Sony. From first inspection it’s design is impressive with everything in the one unit and no massive black box (subwoofer) to place in a room somewhere. I thought this could be detrimental to the overall performance but this is definitely not the case as I will describe later. The instructions were easy to follow and everything needed to install and set up the Sound Bar are included, including a high quality HDMI cable. The remote control is to the normal high Sony standard. The unit was unpacked and installed in under 15 minutes using the “Startup Guide”. The included wall mounting template made the wall fitting really easy. Initial impressions The HT-A5000 also looks very impressive when installed, and when you first power up, the typical Sony display lights up and tells you exactly what mode you are currently listening to. The HT-A5000 is connected to my Sony 65X9 Television which itself has a very high quality sound capability with its own built in Dts and Dolby vision Atmos system. However, that said, as soon as you turn on the TV with the Sound Bar attached, the quality of the HT-A5000 is immediately apparent. It outperforms both the TV sound which is not really unexpected, but it also significantly outperforms my 2 year old Sony Sound Bar with a separate stand alone black box “woofer” It delivers exceptional performance at all sound levels and the clarity, separation and bass (from the built in subwoofers) is really impressive. To really experience its capabilities, the HT-A5000 comes with 2 built in demonstration modes. Pressing either the Dolby Atmos or the 360 Reality Audio demonstration buttons sends the HT-A5000 into a different level delivering all the best performance out of the unit and delivering quite astounding wrap around crystal clear sound. The brochure is not exaggerating when it says “Powerful speakers work together to deliver clear, wide-ranging sound throughout your room. Two up-firing speakers for overhead sound, two beam tweeters and three front speakers for surround and a subwoofer for rumbling bass”. It does! The Bluetooth connectivity works well and connecting the HT-A5000 to an iPhone was easy and effortless. The sound quality from either my audio streaming service or my own music collection give very impressive results. But, press the Music sound field and the result is a significantly change to the output of sound-bar giving you a fully immersive concert like delivery, but then play a 360 reality recorded track and it’s a different level again. Your room is filled with superb highest possible quality audio I have ever experienced. A really impressive feature for music lovers. So far so good, the Sound Bar performance from the TV is extremely impressive, but then I played my favourite Dolby Atmos UHD BlueRay (Mission Impossible Fallout) from my Sony UHD BlueRay player connected directly via the second HDMI connector. Again the HT-A5000 just came to life. Suddenly you are totally immersed in the most impressive wrap around sound giving a real cinema like experience. In conclusion The HT-A5000 is a great Dolby Atmos Sound Bar from Sony which I would fully recommend. My personal highlights include premium build quality, easy connectivity, amazing performance especially 360 Reality Audio and Dolby Atmos delivery. But everything that the HT-A5000 does, It does extremely well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

2

0

A superb Sony Soundbar Gem.

HTA5000.CEK 29 October 2022 by Jrobo100 (United Kingdom)

The Sony HT- A5000 360 Spatial Sound Mapping Dolby Atmos/ DTS: 5.1.2ch Soundbar is brilliant. I reviewed a Soundbar for Sony previously this model is a 100% better. When I retrieved it from its box you could tell straight away that is was very good quality and very well put together. It was very straightforward to connect and simple to operate with the remote provided. We have placed it in front of our TV, it is fairly long but fits perfectly in the space we have. It is provided with hinges to fit it on the wall if required. The speakers are front and upward facing which gives a real immersive sound. This Soundbar is a huge upgrade to the Sony Blueray player we were using for our television sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

What a soundbar

HTA5000.CEK 27 October 2022 by adamwilliamr (United Kingdom)

I love this sound bar. The sound stage is amazing, the set up is easy to follow and the results are outstanding from a single bar. Design is plain, but will go with just about any set up. If it fits as it's pretty long. It's pretty loud and gives great bass in our small/medium sitting room. So much so I'm debating if I need the separate sub. Definitely could do with the rear speakers for that true surround sound. Some might say it's a little expensive, but for the price to get a similar experience with separates would cost a lot more. Even better if you have limited space like myself. The addition of Google assistant and Amazon Alexa is a welcome feature.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

2

0

Perfect Dolby Atmos soundbar

HTA5000.CEK 26 October 2022 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

It arrives in very compact packaging and inside you'll find HDMI cable, an audio cable(for center sync, if your TV supports it), power cable, remote control, two mounting brackets and the soundbar itself. It's very sturdy, all black with aluminum protective grill. Blends in perfectly, amazing engineering. Bare in mind it is quite large 1.21m wide, 14cm deep and 6.7cm in height, so make sure you have enough space infront of your TV. At the back there are 2 HDMI ports, a USB, an Optical IN and a S-Center port. # Speakers It has: - 2 woofers - 3 front speakers - 2 tweeters - 2 upfiring speakers(for Dolby Atmos) # Settings and options Best to connect your eARC(ARC) HDMI from your TV to the respective one in the soundbar. Set your TV's HDMI audio to bitstream. The settings menu is accessed through the remote control. There you can enter quick settings, sound optimisation(very important for Dolby Atmos support to map your walls for optimal experience) and more advanced settings such as network and adding more speakers to the soundbar. Yes, the soundbar supports adding more wireless speakers. # Verdict Look for movies with 7.1 Dolby Atmos in the audio description in your favourite streaming service to experience sound on another level. It is incredible! The product provides amazing voice clarity, music sounds decent out of the box as well. Supports up to 8K passthrough! But the most impressive feature is Dolby Atmos support - the ability to create immersive spatial sound based on where the sound itself should be coming from naturally. It is very impressive, not just as a technology but how it is delivered from just two upfiring speakers from a single soundbar. The fact that the product is a soundbar means that although it supports Dolby Atmos its it's surround capabilities is not as prominent as with some extra rear speakers paired to it. Bass is adequate yet a subwoofer can be purchased separately if one prefers the extra punch. Overall impressive Dolby Atmos soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

0

Review of Sony HT-A500 Soundbar

HTA5000.CEK 25 October 2022 by Sweep500 (United Kingdom)

After unboxing the Sony HT-A500 soundbar I connected to av box and to my sony bravia. There are 2 hdmi sockets 1 for av in and the e arc to the tv. It was relatively easy to set up and get working. The setup was all done on screen and it also does an auto sound test to get the correct sound for the room The soundbar is solidly built and fitted perfectly under my tv. I did not have either additional speakers or a subwoofer which are optinal extras I watched several tv programs some films on tv channels some football withvatmos surround and several films on blueray. The sound through the Sony vertical surround engine is clear and feels that the programmes come alive and on several folms the sound could be heard around the room giving some really good effects The voice button also gives very clear speech. Football in Dolby atmos felt as if the crowd was in the room. My room size is approximately 4m by 6m I also listened to some music through Bluetooth from my phone with the Beatles playing in Dolby atmos which again sounded clear and precise. Some music listened to using the 360 spatial feature and the music sounded as if it was live and the base was enough in my room without the subwoofer the same for the films I have to say the sound from the soundbar for me is excellent certainly adding another dimension to the sound from films tv and music I would certainly recommend to friends and discussed with several on the soundbars benefits

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Amazing sounding soundbar with lots of options

HTA5000.CEK 24 October 2022 by GreenMekon (United Kingdom)

This soundbar sounds amazing and has lots of options for connectivity. Setting up the soundbar was very easy with the on screen guide which took you through the setup process. The Dolby Atmos sound is very impressive for a soundbar and the demo mode is very helpful. The bass from this soundbar is very impressive considering I was not using a subwoofer at the time. This soundbar is also very compact considering it has two subwoofers and two separate tweeters. I am replacing my current soundbar and subwoofer with this one as the sound is much better, and I can save space as I will not be using a subwoofer. I may purchase a subwoofer in the future and I am very tempted for the rear wireless speakers which come in two flavours. I can highly recommend this soundbar and would not hesitate recommending anyone to part with their cash for this soundbar. Another great product, well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Atmos in one!

HTA5000.CEK 24 October 2022 by Haiiro (United Kingdom)

I have been looking for an all in one soundbar solution to get perfect Dolby Atmos from the cinema at home. Well, I can safely say, that Sony has smashed it out of the park with the HTA5000. Although the product is quite large and spans the full width of my 65 inch television, I am easily able to accommodate this soundbar and forego the need for any additional rear speakers or a hefty subwoofer. In my current living room, I do not wish to have additional bulk. So I was really happy that this one bar alone does everything I need, including height with sound bouncing off the ceiling to add the sounds coming from above, just like the cinema. What's great is, if I ever move out, or wish to add the additional speakers for true surround sound, I have the option to upgrade later and buy these later. Great choice! The bass is surprisingly rich, the tweeters are very detailed. Vocals are clear and I'm never struggling to hear the full range of sound from movies. The surround effect is amazing. Plenty of volume. The looks of the product are great too, very stylish. It was extremely easy to set up, and the online functions are perfect. I use the chromecast built in for music from my phone. For me, this is a no brainer recommendation. Bravo!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Sound and picture is Incredible

HTA5000 24 August 2022 by X3fan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought our Sony TV and sound bar at Best Buy in Tulsa and absolutely love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing sound bar

HTA5000 22 August 2022 by RichMercy24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago from Best Buy, along with the sa-rs3s surrounds, and the sa-sw3 sub. Went in fully expecting to buy the Sonos Arc and sub, but after listening to several different systems, I was really impressed by Sony system. I also listened to the Sony ht-a7000 with the larger sw5 sub, but for the difference in price I couldn’t resist the 5000. After 3 weeks of television, movies and music, I am very happy with the quality and sound of this system, and highly recommend it to anyone with a small or medium sized living room.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTA5000 02 June 2022 by James808 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 months ago and am so glad I did. I added some rear speakers and a sub woofer to my home theater with it and Dolby atmos all day from here on out! Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound!!

HTA5000 16 May 2022 by RansomsMagic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have a 2 story loft type living room and the sound is awesome in this big space

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

HDMI port blocked

HTA5000 13 May 2022 by TimmyD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this from Amazon & the hdmi out port has a plastic object blocking it, I can't go into it with pliers that would void the warranty & Amazon won't let me return it so now I can't add a turntable ?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

Love it!

HTA5000 17 March 2022 by PaulGB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fits perfect with the Sony 65” OLED TV, works well with the TV controller, iPhones and Alexa.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great but took 3 hrs for settup

HTA5000 18 February 2022 by Bigbrown (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best sound bar I’ve ever heard. But due to lack of knowledge on Sonys support staff it took over 3 hours to have it working

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

5000 sound bar

HTA5000 17 January 2022 by BillT1952 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best sounding sound bar I've ever owned. Looking forward to adding rear speakers and sub.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excellent sound bar

HTA5000 18 December 2021 by Ben001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Performs as advertised. No problems. It is a wonderful upgrade from my previous Sony sound bar from 5 years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2